Athens

Sunset at the Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half Day Tour

Athens, Greece
Sunset at the Cape Sounion half day tour

From $41.27

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 4 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Watch one of the most majestic sunsets in Greece with a half-day twilight tour to Cape Sounion. Travel along the Saronic Gulf and Athens Riviera to the cape, which sits atop a sheer sea cliff and was a sacred site in the ancient world. Tour the Temple of Poseidon, dedicated to the mythological god of the sea, and see the sun dips below the horizon and several islands in the distance.
  • Sunset tour to beautiful Cape Sounion from Athens
  • Take in stunning views of the Athens Riviera and Saronic Gulf along the way
  • Visit the ancient Temple of Poseidon perched high atop a dramatic sea cliff
  • See up to seven different islands from the viewpoint on a clear day
  • Watch the sun dips in the Aegean sea
  • Free hotel pickup and drop-off included

What's Included

  • Transport by luxury air conditioned bus
  • Professional and licenced guide
  • Hotel pick-up and drop-off (selected hotels)
  • Entrance fees (if option selected)
  • Gratuities (optional)

Meeting and Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Athanasiou Diakou 26, Athina 117 43, Greece

    Our office is located 3 min walk from Acropolis metro station, beside Royal Olympic hotel. We offer free pick up service from selected Athens centrally located hotels. Please call at least 24 hours before your travel date in order to confirm your pick up time.

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Complimentary pick up/drop off service from/to selected Athens centrally located hotels.

What To Expect

Temple of Poseidon

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Departure time of the tour depends from sunset time and is as following:  18 Apr-5 May at 17:45, 6-31 May at 18:00, 1 Jun-21 Jul at 18:15, 22 Jul-5 Aug at 18:00, 6 Aug-22 Aug at 17:45, 23 Aug-7 Sep at 17:15, 8 Sep-21 Sep at 17:00, 22 Sep-5 Oct at 16.45, 6-29 Oct at 16:15, 30 Oct-20 Jan at 15:00.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 42 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Reviews

4.0
126 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 126 reviews
Great guide and driver
Charles_M, Apr 2024
Unfortunately the most memorable thing about this trip was that we did not get to see the amazing sunset like we did a couple years ago. I know you cannot control the weather only God can do that. The tour guide was very good as was the driver.
Amazing sunset
Mark_A, Apr 2024
The views and the sunset are amazing......lots of photo ops along the way.....the bus ride was a little long but so worth it.......sit on the right side of the bus for ocean views
Temple of Poseidon
Marilyn_G, Feb 2024
Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate and the trip was cut short by one hour. Price wasn’t though.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that our tour did not met your expectations. Our team member tried to provide you the best possible experience but unfortunately, the weather conditions is a matter out of our control. We feel sorry about your disappointment. Kind Regards, Margarita Karavasileiadi
Great tour!
Jenna_J, Jan 2024
Tour guide was good, bus picked us up on time and unfortunately the sun was out and it was a beautiful sunset so I couldn’t rate it one star. Had to do 5!
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and we hope to see you soon in one of our future experiences. Best Regards, Margarita Karavasileiadi
Awesome views
Umang_D, Dec 2023
Really breathtaking views of the sunset and different shades of the sky. Temple is a marvel by itself and gets a golden glow during the golden hour.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and that you had a memorable experience. We hope to see you soon in one of our future tours. Best Regards, Margarita Karavasileiadi
Confusing
Sandra_M, Oct 2023
Our guide talk all the way to the end and t we could not see what she was talking about. Many were asleep. Also very confusing when no one know about the drop off points.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We feel sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what we would like it to be. Although we always try and succeed in offering high quality services, we understand that sometimes we cannot meet each traveler’s taste. With all the respect, we would like to mention that our team is composed of professional experienced guides, experts on storytelling and with great passion in their job. Regarding the drop off, kindly note that, as it is mentioned on the tour description, this activity ends at the same place where we picked you up. In any case, we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards, Margarita Karavasileiadi
It didn't meet my expectations
Tarek_A, Oct 2023
The place is worth it and a very nice Tourguide but : - Not enough information as to where to find the place before you go - Few hotels included - you cannot enter the temple - as you are not high enough you cannot see the complete sunset - 80 minutes delayed at the return from what the experience description
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Guest, We feel sorry to hear that our tour did not met your expectations. With all the respect we would like to mention that all the information about the meeting and pick up are stated on the tour description. The pickup is available from selected centrally located hotels in Athens. Moreover, this activity includes a guided tour and access to the archeological site of Cape Sounio and the Temple of Poseidon. Regarding the delay, the day of your tour there was unexpected extreme traffic, which unfortunately was out of our control. In any case, we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards, KeyTours Team
Totally worth it!
Suzanne_W, Sep 2023
So I know that it sounds and looks a little kitschy to do this, but it’s totally worth it. The temple of Poseidon is quite well preserved and make s nice backdrop to amazing views at sunset. Hint: you can get adult beverages at the restaurant, just put it in your water bottle as they only allow ‘water’ up at the site. It was quite lovely sitting on some rocks, enjoying a beverage, and watching the amazing views as the sun set.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour and we hope to see you soon in one of our future experiences. Best Regards, KeyTours Team
Definitely a trip any tourists should take so worth it
Susan_H, Sep 2023
It was a perfect night a lovely bus ride, well organized and they dropped me off very close to my destination as it was not in Athens
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour and that you truly appreciated our services. We hope to see you soon in one of our future experiences. Best Regards, KeyTours Team
Stunning
Margaret_M, Sep 2023
I was lost for words. What a wonderful way to end my trip to Athens. The view as the sunset was just beautiful.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and that you had such a great time. We hope to see you soon in one of our future experiences. Best Regards, Margarita Karavasileiadi
No refunds for last minute injury
Sally_E, Aug 2023
I was afraid you would ask me to review this. A couple of hours before the tour was to begin, my husband fell and got a pretty large gash in his arm. He was bleeding quite a bit, and a concerned passer-by gave him a large towel to wrap around his arm. We proceeded to a pharmacy where they wouldn’t sell us any first aid products because they said he needed to go to a hospital. The hospital was a taxi ride away, and he had to wait for treatment. All this time I was asking Viator to refund our money because it looked like we wouldn’t be able to get to the pick-up point in time. We finally arrived back there, but only after the tour had departed. Viator said this didn’t meet their criteria for a refund! We just couldn’t be two places at once! So after all these years using Viator, I will now hesitate to use them again.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Guest, We are very sorry to hear about your husband's injury and we hope he gets well soon. Based on Viator's cancelation policy, this activity is refundable up to 24 hours in advance. Unfortunately since you made the reservation through Viator this issue is out of our control as we must be aligned with the guidelines of the platform. We feel sorry for any inconvenience caused and we remain at your disposal for anything else you may need. Best Regards, Margarita Karavasileiadi
Excellent experience. ...
John_V, Aug 2023
Excellent experience. The tour guide communicated all information well and was an excellent guide throughout. Highly recommend.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and that our tour guide provided you with an exceptional narration. We hope to see you soon in one of our future trips! Best Regards, Margarita Karavasileiadi
Lovely photos!
Casey_W, Jul 2023
This was really nice! I would recommend. The only thing was the drive out of Athens. We ended up driving an hour and a half there and then two and a half hours back due to traffic. We were only at the temple for maybe 1 hour. You definitely spend more time on the bus then at the sight. The tour seemed a little disorganised at the ticket. Some people had tickets and some people didn’t. Overall I would recommend but just be prepared for the traffic!
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour at Cape Sounion and that you had such a great evening. Regarding the itinerary, kindly note that there is a detailed description of the excursion, so that guests know in advance the schedule of the tour and the time they spend on the site. We hope to see you soon in one of our future activities. Best Regards, Margarita Karavasileaidi
Lovely sunset tour
James_R, Jul 2023
Really nice tour at sunset, amazing pictures and our guide was full of stories and knowledge on the drive. Really enjoyed the tour
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and that our guide provided you a memorable experience. We hope to see you soon in one of our future activities. Best Regards, Margarita Karavasileiadi
Excellent
Matthew_p, Jul 2023
The views, the experience, loved everything about it. Our guide was excellent and very personable. And the sunset was amazing with the landscape and cove being as picturesque as anything I’ve ever seen.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and that our guide provided you a memorable experience. We hope to see you soon in one of our future activities. Best Regards, Margarita Karavasileiadi
Horrible tour guide, not worth the cost and view
shital_m, Jul 2023
Our tour guide was awful, she was not very fluent in English, soft spoken and elderly lady.. it was very difficult to hear what she was saying.. the drive to temple was longer than the visit to the temple.. sadly due to the clouds, we did not see the sunset as anticipated.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what we would like it to be. Please with all the respect we would like to mention that our team is composed of professional experienced guides, experts on storytelling and with great passion in their job. However, we will take your comments under serious consideration as we always try to improve our tours and serve our customers in the best possible way. We hope to give us a second chance to make things right for you. Best Regards, Margarita Karavasileiadi
good tour!
Pat_L, Jul 2023
I would have given 5 stars but, unfortunately, there was an accident in Rome and our tour guide was 35 minutes late getting to our already loaded and waiting bus. We missed all that time at the site- which was the prime time for taking pictures. We still got some decent pictures, but, the best time for the colors was missed. We only had 40 minutes at the site. For safety reasons, the site closes at 9 and they kick you out to enforce the closing. Guide was very knowledgeable and gave great background information. Hopefully, you will get the full time at the site!
Be careful with this tour
Ken_H, Jul 2023
Would I recommend this tour from this company? Absolutely not. It's really a 6 hr trip. The first hour is picking people up at hotels (about 40 people in total). It's then a 2 hr drive down and back in heavy evening traffic, with about 35-40 minutes at the actual site. It a really really long journey. Be prepared if you go at night to be sitting on the bus for 4 hrs in total. Marie the tour guide was terrible. You could barely under her thick accent and she gave very little background on Poseidon. I really recommend skipping this and getting a private tour. The site is beautiful, but there are other ways of getting there than on this tour bus company.
This was just ehhh.
Samantha_P, Jun 2023
This was a very long trip for one hour at the site. The bus was just ok. Every single seat was sold and some families couldn’t sit together. I was hoping our guide would have more information to share. She was brief. There was nothing additional said on the way back from the site so it felt like a longer ride. If I had to do over again, I would have considered a private car/tour instead of a 50+ person tour.
Nice Evening!
Kathleen_P, Jun 2023
Stavros gave a great history of the place and also pointed out interesting sites during the bus trip. There is also time to wander on your own. The day was overcast but we still were able to see a sunset.
...

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Sunset at the Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half Day Tour

124

4 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$41.27
No Photo
Athens: Sunset Tour to Cape Sounio and Temple of Poseidon

262

5 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$21.18

Explore Similar Things to Do