Cancun

Chichen Itza, Ik Kil Cenote Swim, Lunch & Valladolid Visit

Cancun, Mexico

From $129.00

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 12 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Explore spectacular Chichen Itza on this full-day tour of the UNESCO World Heritage Site. Stop for a swim in a nearby cenote before a certified guide leads you through the ancient capital of the Maya Empire, considered the most important archaeological zone of the Yucatán. Visit the ball court, El Castillo (the Castle), Pyramid of Kukulkan, and Temple of the Warriors. Then, indulge in a buffet lunch of regional dishes. Your Chichen Itza day trip includes round-trip hotel transport from Cancun.
  • Explore the observatory, a sacred cenote, the ball court, and the castle
  • Enjoy a delicious buffet-style lunch
  • Visit the UNESCO World Heritage Site and its fascinating temples
  • Complimentary pickup and drop off from most Cancun hotels

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Cool off at a cenote on the way to Chichen Itza, where you explore with a guide and independently.

What's Included

  • Certified bilingual guide
  • Visit to Colonial Valladolid
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Swim in Cenote Ik Kil Lockers and Life Vest Included
  • Lunch Buffet (drinks not included)
  • 2 Water Bottles during the tour.
  • Gratuities ( Optional )
  • State Tax $35 Adults Child $ 15 (usd )
  • Pictures or Souveniers

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

07:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Our trained staff will go to the lobby of your hotel or if you are staying in an Airbnb or private home we will see you at a meeting point.

What To Expect

From your hotel in Cancun, you’re picked up in the morning for the drive to Chichen Itza, considered the most important archaeological zone in the Yucatán.

Start your tour of significant locations at the UNESCO World Heritage Site, including the ball court, el Castillo (the Castle), the Pyramid of Kukulkan and Temple of the Warriors. Learn from your certified guide why the extraordinary architectural beauty and geographical location have led to Chichen Itza's designation as one of the New7Wonders of the World.

Then, stop to explore the natural wonders of a nearby cenote. Play in the deep, aquamarine waters of an underground swimming hole formed from a collapsed limestone cavern.

Head to a local restaurant for a buffet lunch of fresh salads, soups, rice, meat, chicken, fish, vegetables and other regional fare (drinks at own expense). 

Stop in the “magic town” of Valladolid on the way back to Cancun for a brief tour of its town center.

Your Chichen Itza full-day tour ends with return transport to your Cancun hotel.

Chichen Itza

2 hours Admission Ticket Not Included

Kaua

1 hour 20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Cenote Ik kil

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Valladolid

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children ages 3 years and under are free, but their seats are subject to availability. They may have to ride on their parents' laps if seats are not available
  • Comfortable lightweight clothing
  • Good walking shoes or sneakers
  • Hat
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Sunglasses
  • Biodegradable sun block
  • Swimming suit and towel
  • Extra change of clothing
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 55 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Reviews

4.0
1,502 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 1,502 reviews
Unforgettable experience with fabulous guides!!!
Alona_T, Mar 2024
What an incredible experience! Recardo and his team are not only fabulous guides but absolutely knowledgeable, super charismatic, and just really good humans who love to share their knowledge and take care of people. You won’t want to miss this outstanding excursion. It is an all day experience but so worth it!
What a great time we had!
John_S, Feb 2024
Our tour guide was so passionate and informative about the Mayan culture and history. He has first hand knowledge of the current progress of the site. Absolutely, a must see when visiting this part of the country.
Good tour guide, disappointing order & organization
Brittany_H, Dec 2023
Overall, this trip was a little disappointing! I will start with the good things. Pros: our tour guide, Francisco, was very informative and nice. The food at the Mayan reservation was pretty good. The three destinations were beautiful and great experiences. Cons: the day is 14 hours long, not 12. We were picked up at 7:30 and did not get into the bus until at least 9:30. It was a waste of time and not very organized. You spend the majority of the day on the bus. The first leg of the trip was over 2.5 hours long. The itinerary of the trip on Viator also did not match the order in which we did things. First, we went to Valladolid with only 30 min to get out. We were advised not to buy anything because the crafts/food at the Mayan reservation will be better (don’t listen to that!). Then it was 30 minutes to the Mayan reservation. We were told we would have 20 minutes to shop and then eat, but it took more like 45 minutes to get food. Then we were told it would be 20ish minutes to Chichén Itza but with the traffic, it took over an hour. On the bus they tried selling us Mayan liquor. Then lastly we went to the cenote but it was DARK outside. We arrived to the cenote at 5:45 pm despite the place saying it was closed at 5:00. We were extremely rushed and all of the restaurants/bars were closed. It was so dark that you couldn’t see anything or take photos of the cenote. Overall, I was disappointed in the organization and order of the trip. The cenote should not have been last and less time should have been spent at the Mayan reservation.
You get up at 7 only to...
Joshua_P, Nov 2023
You get up at 7 only to wait 2 hours for everyone to check in. Other than that it was good. Good tour guide.
Although the website said...
Ippei_Y, Nov 2023
Although the website said two bottles of water will be provided, it never happened. I asked a guide about it, but he insisted this tour does not include any water. I was always dehydrated through the tour.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Thank you very much for sharing your comments, we will verify the reason why the guide did not provide water, it is included with the tour, we hope you enjoyed the rest of this amazing experience.
Remarkable experience
Fernando_P, Sep 2023
I'd like to thank all the people involved. You guys provide an amazing, unforgettable experience. I am so glad to have taken this trip and that I used you to be my tour guide. I had a blast, cannot thank you guys enough for all you have done. May god repay you
Ricardo was a great and...
Reyes_P, Sep 2023
Ricardo was a great and knowledgeable tour guide!!! Definitely recommend him As a guide! He shared his knowledge and was able to keep a group of people engaged thought the whole tour!
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Thank you for sharing your comments, so glad you enjoy the tour and had a great experience
Its not worth it for that Long of a trip wasted in travel time
aaron_f, Aug 2023
Chichen Itza, Cenote and Valladolid trip Chichen Itza is ok but too many vendors inside. I feel that government could do better to make the ground area with less vendors and or organized. The Cenote i think is the best part of this trip but we were rushed. Valladolid was 30 mins stop and it could be longer. This is too long of a trip from when we were picked up, where we were gathered. We first made a stop in a Mayan Village where we had lunch(buffet lunch is terrible). Wish we had more time to enjoy the Cenote and Valladolid. Overall - i think this is Overrated trip and be ready for the upsell on things here and there. I would not recommend and if i am to suggest, look for a private tour and have a better meal somewhere of your choice.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you very much for your review, we are sure this will be useful for us to enhance the points you mention. we are really sorry that you do not like the buffet. We will definitely analyse and take action pretty soon,
NOT THE WORST, BUT CLOSE
PETER_C, Jul 2023
The day was way too long with hard selling not only at the stops, but on the bus . The bus was sub par, with a non working toilet ( for solid waste), a severely cracked windshield and non working individual light & air controls. Our guide was more interested in selling than in ensuring that we had an enjoyable transportation experience. We had one family (one person in it the worst) who made the trip miserable for the rest of us on the bus, being loud, obnoxious and talking about inappropriate subjects without ever being addressed by the guide. The stay at the cenote was too short, at the lunch location (and hard sell souvenir shop) too long, and the stop in Valladolid unnecessary. Having been a travel agent for over 40 years having been on hundreds of excursions world wide. I would advise this company to address these issues and to rearrange the trip order to go to Chichen Itza first, then go to the Cenote and then lunch and souvenir stop and then return to Cancun. AND STOP SELLING ONBOARD THE BUS. Several people we're not aware that the $25 "Mayan birth certificate" was OPTIONAL. Also, I would include any MANDATORY fees in the up front cost. ( This would also benefit the tour operator as well as any no-shows will have already paid. Those fees and you would not waste time collecting from every passenger.)
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you very much for your feedback, we will take this review as a serious opportunity area to enhance the way the drivers make sales of extras on board the bus. As you mention, the purchase is optional, however the way how the guides did is no ethic and we will take measeures
Mayan Adventure!!!
Samuel_L, Jul 2023
The Chichen IIza was wonderful. The guide Victor was very knowledgeable and funny. He was great with explaining in Spanish and English. He also taught us some Mayan phrases.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
We are very happy to learn that your activity was a pleasant one and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We strive to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guests. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared them with our team.
Francisco and Roberto...
Michael_H, Jul 2023
Francisco and Roberto were great guides; got to see many different things and they made the long bus ride fun and entertaining.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you! Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our team to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.
Great day
Giulia_F, Jul 2023
Our tour guide, Roberto, was amazing! He was very knowledgeable and he made the experience a marvel. The only little thing was that we didn’t have a lot of time in the Cenote.
Disappointed
Gwenaelle_C, Jul 2023
Chichen Itzà and the Cenote were awesome but the organization was awful! The shuttle came to pick us up at 6:40am as planned but then, they dropped us off in a mall where we had to wait more than 2h!! Then we took another bus and we picked up more people on the side of the road! The first stop was in a tourist place with stuffs to buy and we had lunch without a drink. It was mandatory to buy a drink. A lot of extra expenses during the day (drinks at the restaurant, life jackets and lockers at the Cenote…) It was very disappointing! Because we waited so long before our departure we had only 1h to spend in the Cenote, a beautiful place where you can easily spend 2h.
Bad organisation
Christophe_T, Jun 2023
Being picked up at 6.40am and finally departing Cancun 2 hours after is not a great experience at all… poor organisation, for an expensive trip.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience, as this is a shared tour we concentrate all our passengers leaving from Plaza la Isla, this probably takes a while but it is important to us. We will take in consideration the comments on this review.
Extraordinary time, Luis gide and Jesus driver excellent human beings
Magdalena_V, Jun 2023
The trip on time the explanation on the chicken itza site exelent, my husband and I, enjoyed every moment
Response from Host, Jul 2023
So glad you had a good time and enjoy the experince, thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share with us.
Incredible tour
Malin_H, Jun 2023
Beautiful tour, we saw many great things. The guides gave us a very detailed information of the Maya people and their culture, as-well as an informative guided tour at the archeological site.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
We would like to thank you for choosing our company as your host on your recent tour in our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor
Amazing experience and tour
Amanda_S, May 2023
I thought it was an amazing tour for the time we had. They picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel, which was amazing. 3 hrs drive to go have lunch. Then drove to Chichen Itza. We were partnered with an amazing tour guide Caeser! Learned a lot!! We had 2 hrs there. An hour tour and hour of playtime. They have a lot of vendors. Bring lots pesos with you on this day trip. We then went to the centotes. Was crowed the day we went but still very nice. We only had an hour there which we thought was plenty. Did some jumping into the centote and hang out. Then we went to the Valladolid square. More vendors, amazing food and snacks. Get the street corn!! Great end to the trip before the 3 hr drive back. Bus had AC, seats were comfortable, bus was clean, had a bathroom in the bus, whole crew was amazing. I would recommend this trip to anyone's first time going!!
Trip to remember
Danielle_B, May 2023
Our tour guide was amazing! Pick up and drop offs from hotel were easy and smooth. The lunch stop was fantastic. Definitely a memorable experience.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience on this activity
Very nice experience. ...
Victoria_S, Apr 2023
Very nice experience. A little confusing when tax and admission are listed as two different things. We spent a great deal of time figuring out that it was actially the same. A bit long stops in the heat. Great memorable day
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Thank you for sharing, we are so glad you enjoyed and had a good time.
Fantastic
Tarachand_V, Apr 2023
Simply awesome. Well arranged. Picked up on time and walked us thru entire history of mayans. Great fun.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
We are very happy that you have been able to fully enjoy our history and the importance of Mayan history, we hope that you have been able to have a wonderful experience on this magical tour.
...

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Chichen Itza, Ik Kil Cenote Swim, Lunch & Valladolid Visit

1,502

12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$129.00
No Photo
Chichen Itza, Ik Kil Cenote and Valladolid Tour with Lunch

450

12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$147.00
No Photo
Chichen Itza Tour: Pyramids, Cenote Ik Kil & Valladolid

8

10 to 14 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$240.00

Explore Similar Things to Do