Dubai

The 10 Tastings of Dubai With Locals: Private Food Tour

Badge of ExcellenceDubai, United Arab Emirates
Dubai Private Food Tour including 10 Tastings
  • 3 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Take your taste buds on a journey around Dubai’s multicultural cuisine on this private food tour. Learn about the city’s historical culinary influences while exploring souks and traditional eateries, and trying local specialties and goodies. Sample falafel, savor camel milk dates , and more.
  • Enjoy food stops in eateries and markets around Deira and Al-Fahidi
  • Visit Spice Souk, and ride an 'abra' across Dubai Creek
  • Learn about Dubai’s multicultural cuisine and food hotspots
  • Choice of departure times and personalized attention from a private guide

What's Included

  • Private Tour
  • Local Guide
  • Food & Drinks Tastings
  • Vegetarian alternatives
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Al Ras Metro Station
    Baniyas Rd - Deira - Al Ras - Dubai - United Arab Emirates

    Exit 2 (outside) of Al Ras Metro Station.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Book your preferred start time and meet your guide in Dubai’s Deira district for your private tour. Learn about Dubai’s multicultural culinary repertoire as you set out to enjoy local specialties: from savory to sweet and local drinks.

Enjoy tastings handpicked by a local guide passionate about food. Try one of the Middle Eastern favorites of falafel. Explore the aromatic Spice Souk. Haggle for herbs and spices (own expense), and nibble on an unusual delicacy — dates coated in camel milk chocolate.

This food tour is more than just about food! As you enjoy authentic local bites you’ll also discover the city and its highlights. Stop to admire the Spice Souk, Textile Souk, and the Indian Temple Street and hear about their local relevance from your private guide.

Dubai Spice Souk

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Textile Souk

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Al Souq Al Kabeer

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Private tour: only you & your local guide
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Includes city highlights in between food stops
  • Alternatives offered for those with dietary restrictions
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Linda_V
The food was amazing, Ali is very good to work guide. He took us to the places we wanted to go and help us negotiate. He was very willing to accommodate us for what we wanted to do. We tasted a lot of new foods and had a great time. I highly recommend booking this tour with Ali.

Reviews

4.5
123 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 123 reviews
perfect tour tailor made for us
Linda_V, Jan 2024
The food was amazing, Ali is very good to work guide. He took us to the places we wanted to go and help us negotiate. He was very willing to accommodate us for what we wanted to do. We tasted a lot of new foods and had a great time. I highly recommend booking this tour with Ali.
Awesome night in Dubai backstreets
Tracy_P, Nov 2023
Sandy was the perfect guide. He offered the right balance of history, culture, and fun! We totally enjoyed our tour and highly recommend it to anyone.
Delightful food tour
Amber_R, Oct 2023
Ali was a wonderful guide and the food was delicious! The tour was the perfect mix of history-walking through Old Dubai and the souks- and delicious local dining. We ate food that we probably would not have chosen on our own, so we were thrilled with the experience. We’re already wondering where we can find this delicious food back home when we return. Spending time with Ali was like hanging out with a friend- he was kind and funny, he made sure we were always comfortable, and he stopped to inquire if we needed anything. If you’re looking for a private tour and a fun and novel way to enjoy both dinner and an educational tour, then the local food tour is perfect. We are so happy we did it! Thank you Ali!
Very disappointing - NOT recommended
Phillip_P, Aug 2023
We did not get anywhere near value for money on this tour. This was supposed to be a food tour, but we spent more time being pressure-sold tea and spice (very expensive) than eating. During the tour, we were told about the ‘highlight’ at the last stop - Camel Burger. This was built up as a major part of the tour throughout. When we arrived at the restaurant, it was closed due to an electrical problem earlier in the day. The guide told us we would go to the restaurant next door (not sure if camel burger was on their menu), only to find it was closing time. With that, the guide said, ‘well, this brings us to the end of the tour’ and placed us in a cab. There was no apology nor was there any alternative to the non-camel burger offered. We were simply sent back to the hotel. The food we had was nice, but was the equivalent of one starter course each. It consisted of some dips and bread, and some deep fried items only. We had a small cup of ice cream and that was it. We paid almost $500 Australian for this tour. For this, we could have had a lavish meal in a restaurant and still had change. We do food tours in every location we visit and after tonight, I feel very ripped off and let down. I would hope the operator would contact me to offer some refund on this tour.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Phillip, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the tour of The 10 Tastings of Dubai With Locals. We're genuinely sorry to hear about your less-than-satisfactory experience. To further investigate this matter and address your concerns, please provide us with your booking ID by contacting us directly at info@withlocals.com? This will help us locate your specific booking and take appropriate actions to ensure such issues don't occur in the future. We apologize for any inconvenience you faced during the tour and appreciate your patience in resolving this matter. Best regards, Withlocals team
NOT WORTH THE PRICE!
Jaime_W, Aug 2023
Our tour guide Mario was punctual, professional and extremely knowledgeable! The title of the event is very misleading. Sure we tasted 10 different food options but not at 10 establishments. Your Oren’s include falafel, hummus, cucumber salad, a shot sized cup of tea, camel burger and French fries, eggplant dip, camel milk Gelato, saffron drink. These are all rather small portions and meant to be shared. In between meals, we went to the SOUK. If you are unfamiliar with what the SOUK is, to me, it’s similar to a flee market. Many businesses compiled side by side where the vendors stand outside and try and get you into their shops. They say it is where the most gold is located in the world! To be quite honest, I didn’t see much trying to suck and dodge all the shop vendors. Mario took us to very specific locations where he and the vendors continuously pressured us into buying items even if we said no multiple times. They took us to a ship that sold knock off luxury bags (which I enjoyed). We left the gold SOUK for the SPICE SOUK where I received my shot glass sized tea drink. We then piled into a small catamaran to get across the River for the next restaurant. We were pressured to finish everything on the plate although we were not interested. We went to our final location the Local House where we had Camel Burger. From the river to the local house is about a 10-15 minute walk in the blazing heat. Make sure to bring an umbrella and wear sunblock. Mario helped us find a taxi from there and we went on our way. I probably wouldn’t do this one again because the emphasis of the food tour was buying items from the SOUK and not actually on the food.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Jaime, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback about "The 10 Tastings of Dubai" tour. We're delighted to hear that your guide, Mario was punctual and provided a knowledgeable experience. We apologize for any confusion or disappointment you encountered during the tour. Your insights are crucial as we continually strive to improve our offerings. To better understand your experience and address your concerns, could you please provide your booking ID by contacting us directly at info@withlocals.com? This will help us investigate the matter more thoroughly. Your feedback regarding the emphasis on shopping is noted, and we'll take this into consideration to ensure that the tour aligns more closely with our guests' expectations. We value your input and appreciate your understanding. If you have any further information to share, please feel free to reach out. Best regards, Withlocals team
10 tastings with Ali was amazing
Dee_M, Jul 2023
Our tour guide Ali was amazing. He showed us around, gave us an experience of a lifetime. The food was wonderful. He was very informative. I will recommend this to all my friends, and I will go again without a doubt.
Great foodie tour experience in Dubai
Emily_K, May 2023
We had a great time with Ali tasting all the different dishes of Dubai. Our guide Ali was very personable and also shared so much history about the culture and destination. By the end of the tour we were stuffed in the best way possible.
Not as advertised, ruined our first day tour in Dubai
Alwin_C, Apr 2023
I tried to give Viator a chance and this With Locals tour operator up to 3 weeks to resolve our issue with this tour but to no avail, very disappointed as we booked all our Dubai tour via Viator, but they left us hanging and my family felt cheated with this 10 food tasting private tour. First, Lucy, the tour guide seemed confused and thought she was giving us street food tour with just a few food to sample. Until i spoke up and mentioned that i thought we’re trying up some camel burgers, saffron ice cream and arabic coffee or grape vine leaves or prawns cooked in spices…she clearly didn’t have those food on her plans for us to sample. Ofcourse, we showed her the description and what we were expecting from this tour and she was clearly surprised because thats not on her agenda. She was upset and tried to give us what was described but ofcourse she couldnt fulfill everything. We told her we are going to complain because it was not right that we were promised one thing and we’re given another and shortchanged us with the other food tastings which were clearly the reason why I specifically booked this tour. We went back to our hotel feeling cheated with this tour and like I said, this Withlocals or Viator would not even email me back after several follow up emails to atleast give us a partial refund since we didn’t get all the food that was promised by this tour. Again, no prawns cooked in spices, no grapevine leaves, the coffee museum is closed( which before they give the tour, the operator should know if its open or not and disclosed this to the guests) therefore no coffee tastings, no camel burgers, only substitute dish were given and most important of all, was our mood that day that was ruined because we felt cheated of the amount of money we paid for a family of four, we felt we were ripped off and no one would care to resolve our complain on this tour. Withlocals and Viator, we rely on you to give us what we paid for, please revise your description so your guests will not feel cheated going forward. And please, whether you agree or not, the guests deserved to get a response from you when we emailed you. We paid you our hard earned money and we wanted to make our family enjoy this tour that we booked on your website, please be a trustwothy travel companies/guides so you’ll continue to be successful.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Hi there, at Withlocals we want our guests to have the best experience of their trip so we are very disappointed to find out about your negative tour experience. As we cannot directly get in touch with you from here, please email us at info@withlocals.com and we will make sure to follow up on this issue. We are looking forward to your email. Thank you in advance. Have a great day, Withlocals
Awful
Christal_S, Apr 2023
Our tour guide was Michael and we had an overall very disappointing experience. There was hardly any food although it was supposed to be a food tour. We felt ripped off because he took us to a mart where people kept trying to sale us things but we weren’t getting any samples of food. We felt dehydrated because we didn’t eat much and did a lot of walking. Very unsatisfied and unhappy please don’t waste your money!
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Hi there, at Withlocals we want our guests to have the best experience of their trip so we are very disappointed to find out about your negative tour experience. As we cannot directly get in touch with you from here, please email us at info@withlocals.com and we will make sure to follow up on this issue. We are looking forward to your email. Thank you in advance. Have a great day, Withlocals
Brilliant, absolutely fabulous few hours, would definitely reccommend
Julie_S, Mar 2023
Orlina was brilliant, not only knowledgeable but very engaging. Every eatery was welcoming and the food was great, thoroughly enjoyed the spices and looking forward to drinking my tea.
Excellent way to see older parts of Dubai
Larisa_F, Dec 2022
I traveled with my two adult daughters and a friend. We had a great time seeing the souks and eating the food. Great way to see another part of Dubai. Just FYI—we were a group of 4 females. We felt extremely comfortable during the tour. I only write that as I had been concerned about this prior to the trip 😀
A fantastic start to our Dubai holiday
Beth_W, Dec 2022
We booked this tour for the evening of our first day in Dubai. What a wonderful way to get oriented and to learn some of the local customs,, see the famous souls, and taste some delectable cuisine. Manish was a knowledgeable and interesting guide. He helped me learn to barter!
Great Family time!
Andrea_A, Nov 2022
We had a great time! We went with a 2.5 year old and she had a blast too! The food was delicious and tel hey served a lot! He was even offering us to buy us more if we wanted! My advise would be to just pace yourself because we we’re so full after the 2nd stop 😅 Thank you again for the time!
Well worth putting on your travel itinerary
Eric_B, Nov 2022
The guide was great, very personable and showed me a lot of interesting places and history of old Dubai. I am very glad I took this detour from my many tours in newer Dubai. Thank you for everything I learned and ate. I loved it all, especially the Camel Buger.
This experience was...
Sharita_C, Jun 2022
This experience was really awesome! The tour guide was excellent, Fun, interactive, professional and just overall great! We had a really good time! I will definitely be booking him again when I return next summer! He was amazing and if you plan on doing a tour, I definitely recommend doing this tour it’s well worth it!
Great foot and great sites!
Ashanti_A, May 2022
This tour with Orlina was nothing shot of amazing! The food was delicious and we went on a boat ride across the marina that was included in the price. It is definitely worth it and really cool learning the history of Dubai and tasting the delicacies of Dubai. 100%recommend!!
Great tour!
Ron_M, Mar 2022
We had a great time going around Dubai with Orlina. Learned a lot about the history and culture of Dubai and are a variety of good foods!
no show guide
Cory_B, Mar 2022
The guide never showed up, as he was in a different town and could not do the tour. Then he had his friend contact me to do it but needed to pay in cash only...disappointing and a little sketchy.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Hi there, I am Lieke from Withlocals and I am part of the quality and support team. At Withlocals we really want our customers to receive the best experience of their trip so we are very disappointed to find out about your negative experience. As we cannot directly get in touch with you from here, please email us at info@withlocals.com and we will make sure to understand why this happened, to see that you are at least compensated for this bad experience, or to offer you a better experience instead. We really look forward to your email! Thank you and please accept our apology on behalf of Withlocals! Have a great day, Lieke @ Withlocals
Not as advertised
Sophie_J, Jan 2022
Our guide was nice enough but he was over 15 minutes late and he ended the tour half an hour early. We did not do all the tastings advertised which was disappointing.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hi there, I am Kristine from Withlocals and I am part of the quality and support team here. We have received your feedback and we definitely want to take it into consideration as we put a great emphasis on the quality of our tours and the feedback of our customers in Withlocals. If you would like to get in touch with us and tell us why do you have this opinion please reach us out at info@withlocals.com. We would be more than happy to talk to you about your feedback or offer you a better alternative to your suggestion. Thanks for your input and have a great day! Kristine @ Withlocals
Local food fare and background into life in Dubai
Christian_F, Dec 2021
We were able to taste different foods of Dubai….while getting into sites and facts along the way! Walked through parts for old Dubai, took wooden boat across the creek and strolled through the Gold and Spice Souks. Exactly what we wanted! Michael Peter was accommodating and informative. He stepped up tor a guide who couldn’t make it and we are glad he did!

From $186.71

Price varies by group size

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
The 10 Tastings of Dubai With Locals: Private Food Tour

123

3 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$186.71
No Photo
Dubai Street Food Tour

4

3 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$165.00

Explore Similar Things to Do