Hamburg

Hamburg Small-Group Sunset Sailing Cruise on Lake Alster

Badge of ExcellenceHamburg, Germany
Hamburg Small Group Sunset Sailing Cruise on Lake Alster
  • 1 hour (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Explore the city of Hamburg, Germany with a 1-hour, small-group sunset cruise along the Alster. Enjoy a panoramic view of Hamburg from the lake, a right tributary of the Elbe River. See green parks, plenty of old buildings, some of the biggest churches in Hamburg, plus Alster fountain and the Elbphilharmonie, a new concert hall in the HafenCity quarter, in the distance. Relax, enjoy a refreshing beverage on board and admire the scenic view.
  • Enjoy a sunset cruise in Hamburg
  • Sail along the Alster with a view of the city
  • Watch the sun set behind the city skyline
  • One free beverage provided
  • Small group ensures a more personal attention

What's Included

  • Local guide/skipper
  • Life vest
  • Sailing clothes if necessary
  • One drink included (beer, prosecco, soft drink)
  • Snacks
  • Transportation to/from attractions

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • barca BOAT EVENTS
    An d. Alster 67, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

    Starting Point: Alster Lake, Hamburg Address: An der Alster 67a, 20099 Hamburg, Germany Directions: Make your way to the street An der Alster 67a, located at the lake Alster and look for barca. The departure point is only 7 minutes walking distance from Hamburg main station.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Experience Hamburg like the locals with this relaxing sunset cruise along the Alster.

Climb aboard a 2-masted sailboat, kick back and enjoy the view of Hamburg from the water. The Alster is located in the heart of the city — a popular attraction for both Hamburg residents and visitors. No previous sailing experience is required, but feel free to offer the skipper a hand, if desired.

Along the way, take in the scenery as the sun sets behind the city skyline. Witness green parks, old buildings, some of the biggest churches in Hamburg, plus Alster fountain and the Elbphilharmonie, a new concert hall in the HafenCity quarter.

One free beverage (beer, champagne, or a soft drink) is provided during the 1-hour cruise, which carries no more than 11 passengers for a more personal experience.

Alster Lakes

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Hamburg Town Hall (Pass By)

Elbphilharmonie (Pass By)

Alster Fountain (Pass By)

St. Michael's Church (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 11 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Fraser_B
Booked this as part of a group visit to Hamburg. By far the best part of the trip! Super relaxing and a fantastic way to spend the evening. Henning the captain was amazing - super clear around the rules and great fun. Would definitely do it again!

Reviews

5.0
78 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 78 reviews
Not a great experience
Georgia_E, Sep 2023
We booked this as part of our exploration of Hamburg. Based on the other reviews we expected it to be a good experience. Unfortunately we were left a bit disappointed. We arrived on time at the ticket office, there was a bit of a queue, which meant we had to wait. Once we got to the front we were told that the boat was about to leave and we needed to be somewhere else. This wasn't clear by the meeting point directions we were provided with. The captain also complained we were late, although there is no indication that we were meant to arrive earlier than the time listed in the information. The information also indicated that it would be an English tour guide. Although he could speak English he pretty much refused to do so and only gave instructions in German. The other passengers had to translate for those who couldnt speak german. The whole trip he kept complaining what a nightmare it was The view was lovely and the boat was good too, so it was worth it for that, hence why I have given 2 stars. But generally I'd suggest they improve the instructions/information provided on here, so passengers get a better/ non hostile experience. I was also surprised we weren't provided with life jackets or any instructions whilst on the boat.
Sailing on Lake Alster
Marc_G, Jun 2023
Wonderful experience on the water with Rainier who gave us some excellent sailing! Had some excellent German beer and the wind conditions were perfect!
Romantic evening coming up
Michelle_J, Sep 2022
Prepare for a peaceful, romantic yet exhilarating time! The views are wonderful and the service was great as well. My only word of caution is i. Reference to the directions if using “maps” app. The correct location was prior to what the app said. The sailboats for this trip are not visible from the pathway so it can lead to uncertainty of weather you are at the right location. They rent out paddle boats and smaller sail boats. Don’t let this throw you off. Arrive a few minutes early, go up to the window and they will direct you. You won’t regret booking this trip as it is is memorable. The captain is hospitable and knowledgeable. It was one of my favorite things to do in Hamburg.
Best thing to do in Hamburg
Fraser_B, Aug 2022
Booked this as part of a group visit to Hamburg. By far the best part of the trip! Super relaxing and a fantastic way to spend the evening. Henning the captain was amazing - super clear around the rules and great fun. Would definitely do it again!
Romantic or fun sailing trip
Melissa_S, Aug 2022
Instead of getting the typical guided tour, the captain gives you the freedom to ask questions about your surroundings. Otherwise it feels like you’re on a boat with some friends, soaking in the scenery. With a class of Prosecco is really was a great way to wrap up the evening.
It was a perfect trip!
Sarah_C, Jul 2021
A perfect trip on a lovely boat! Perfect view! Catched great memories! Looking forward to the next boat ride 😍
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Dear Sarah, thank you so much for your kind words and perfect review. Memories are what really count! Looking forward to welcoming you on board again! Ahoy and best regards, Henning
Find another option
Amanda_M, Jul 2021
This was just ok. Given the option and knowing what we know now we would have skipped it. It should be half the price of what is charged considering what you get for it - literally just an hour sailing trip (this should NOT be called a tour). My biggest issue is that we specifically requested an English tour and received confirmation that it would be in English... our guide spoke ZERO English to us the entire trip. There must be better options - I would skip this one.
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Hi! I am very sorry, that we haven't fulfilled your expectations! Our "tours" - we call them cruises - are in fact pure sailing trips for people who want to enjoy the silence and beauty of the landscape. We do not offer touristy sightseeing trips like the big tour boats on the lake. Communication on board is always individually and not a classic tour guide monolog. So some cruises a very talkative with guests and skipper chatting around and others are more silent. There is no fixed program to be followed by the skipper. I talked to the skipper of that evening and he told me, that it was a more silent cruise with guests who seemed to enjoy nature and silence of the scenery. Im am very sorry, that he might have misunderstood the situation but communication should be always in both directions on board of our boats. All our skippers are able to talk in English at least on a smalltalk basis and to give all necessary information. Ahoy and best regards, Henning
Location and View
Nikhil_B, Aug 2020
Hi, To start with, our boat ride was terrible! Even though we booked an English speaking tour, the guide/sailor didn’t even cared to speak in English during the entire trip. We already informed him before starting the tour that we cannot understand german and can only communicate in English (that is why we booked the tour in English). But this was a supee bad experience we had in such an international city. Additionally, the sailor/guide didn’t even bother to warn people onboard about thr movement of the sail which had a wooden board- maybe he warned in German but we can tell.. will never recommend this tour!!
Response from Host, Aug 2020
Hi Nik, I feel very sorry that your expectations haven't been fulfilled on our very popular sunset cruise (see all other reviews). I talked to the skipper of that cruise an he told me that nothing "terrible" happened that evening. He welcomed you in English and also gave a short introduction that the sail including the boom (the wooden "stick") will move during the cruise like on any other sailboat. Our cruises are not typical sightseeing tours but sailing tours instead. The skipper doesn't talk all the time like on a sightseeing ship and is not the "entertainer" of the night, but you can ask him any question and he will give answers (also in English) of course. Quite often there is a lot of communication on board between the different guests and the captain but that depends from the group on board. The skipper told me that this cruise was indeed a more "silent" one as the guests seemed to be quite satisfied with each other without much talking to others... I think a normal tourist cruise on one of the big "Alster cruise ships" would have probably been more suitable for you. I am very sorry, that you didn't like our special sailing cruise, but honestly can't find anything "terrible" even in your description of your sailing experience. I hope you still enjoyed other things in our beautiful city of Hamburg. Ahoy and all the best for the both of you, Henning (captain and owner of the company)
Overpriced
Passport318322, Sep 2019
It was fun being out on the lake and clearly folks in Hamburg love the outdoors. The lake was full of small sailboats. However, the cost seemed high for what you get— a few back and forths on the lake with a drink. I think I would’ve preferred a tour of the harbor.
Response from Host, Oct 2019
Thanks for joining us on our special sailing sunset cruise and for your review. We are very happy that you had a fun time out on the lake. Our sunset cruise is scheduled for one hour and the distance we can sail is depending from the wind conditions (force and direction). You might have been with us on a less windy day, but we cannot influence nature (and we should be thankful for that...;-)). A harbour cruise on the river Elbe is something totally different, definitely worth to do but not so intimate and personal as our small group sailing cruises on Lake Alster. It is a more touristy thing on big boats with a lot of people around you. You should try next time...
Leider hat der Segeltörn...
Sabine_S, Aug 2023
Leider hat der Segeltörn auf Grund des fehlenden Windes nicht stattgefunden. Was wir aber erwähnen wollen, ist die schnelle Rueckueberweisung des gezahlten Betrages. Beim nächsten Mal klappt es bestimmt!
Entspannung pur
Ilse_S, Aug 2023
In netter Runde, trotz Flaute super entspannend. Der Alltag rückt in weite Ferne. Wir haben es sehr genossen. Gerne wieder.
No está mal pero es...
Enrique_R, Aug 2023
No está mal pero es prescindible si no tienes mucho tiempo para ver la ciudad. Relación calidad precio mejorable.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Lieber Enrique, danke, dass du dir Zeit für eine Bewertung genommen hast. Schade, dass du uns für ein ganz besonderes maritimes Hamburg-Erlebnis nur 3 Punkte/Sterne gegeben hast, nur weil du es bei knapper Zeit für verzichtbar hältst. Vieles ist natürlich verzichtbar, es hängt ja immer davon ab, was man erleben möchte. Für dich wäre eine klassische touristische Stadtrundfahrt vermutlich passender gewesen, wenn du nur ein paar Stunden in der Stadt bist. Wir bieten ein sehr authentisches Segelerlebnis an, so wie viele Hamburger selbst, ihre Freizeit gerne verbringen. Hamburger lieben Wassersport und insbesondere Segeln auf der Hamburger Außenalster. Und das ist es, was wir unseren Gästen ermöglichen. Das man dabei noch die wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten vom Wasser aus sehen kann, ist ein weiterer Pluspunkt, aber wir bieten keine Touristentouren an, dafür gibt es ja auch zahlreiche gute andere Anbieter in der Stadt. Schön, dass du es aber trotzdem nicht schlecht fandest, es dir also eigentlich gefallen hat, du nur vermutlich etwas anderes erwartet hast. ;-) Das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis unserer Segeltouren ist hier in Hamburg übrigens ganz bestimmt sehr gut. Du wirst keine günstigere individuelle Segeltour in so kleiner Gruppe finden, daher weiß ich nicht, womit du es verglichen hast? Ich hoffe aber, ihr hattet noch einen schönen Aufenthalt in unserer wunderschönen Stadt und konntet noch ein paar weitere Highlights erleben. Ahoi und liebe Grüße von der Alster, Henning Kutter-Käpt'n und Geschäftsführer
Segeltörn - tolles Erlebnis
Alexandra_K, Jul 2023
Der Segeltörn war spitze. Skipper Rauner hat alles ganz toll und verständlich erklärt. Es war ein tolles Erlebnis und wir können es nur empfehlen, wenn man Hamburg ist.
Gerne wieder!
Thomas_W, Jun 2023
Einfach schön. Der Abendtörn bietet mal andere Sicht auf die Stadt. Das gehört für mich ab sofort zu den Empfehlungen für Hamburger*innen und Gäste
Ab jetzt immer wieder
Claudia_B, Oct 2022
Hamburg mal von einer anderen Seite kennenzulernen war ein tolles Erlebnis. Entschleunigung pur. Wir hatten einen wunderschönen und entspannten Auftakt ins Wochenende! Sicher werden wir in Zukunft regelmäßig dieses schöne Event buchen.
Große Klasse!
Thomas_M, Jul 2022
Wunderschöner Törn in der Abendsonne. Trotz wenig Wind eine nette Runde auf der Alster gedreht, entspannt mit einem Getränk.
Tolle romantische Tour mit sympathischem Kapitän
Marvin, Jul 2022
Wir hatten einen wirklich tollen Segeltörn. Super organisiert, tolles Wetter und spitzen Unterhaltung! Für Hamburger und Touris gleichermaßen zu empfehlen!
Tolles Erlebnis, bestes Wetter und einen super Skipper Reiner.
Wolfgang_R, Jul 2022
Wir hatten bei schönem Wetter und guten Wind einen wunderschönen Abend auf dem Segelschiff verbracht.
Es war eine wunderschöne...
Maren_R, May 2022
Es war eine wunderschöne Segelrunde auf der Außenalster. Decken, falls es durch den Wind etwas kälter ist, gab es auch. Nur zu empfehlen :)
Toller Erlebnis
Tina_P, Apr 2022
War sehr windig, aber der Kapitän war einfach toll! Super Erlebnis, werden sicher wieder mitmachen! Sehr empfehlenswert!
Likely to Sell Out

From $41.54

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Hamburg Small-Group Sunset Sailing Cruise on Lake Alster

78

1 hour
Free Cancellation
From
$41.54
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Sailing trip on the Hamburg Outer Alster

32

1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$39.33
No Photo
Hamburg Reeperbahn Small-Group Walking Tour

239

2 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$25.48
No Photo
Yacht Sailing After Work Tour of Hamburg Harbor

2

2 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$60.82

Explore Similar Things to Do