Isla Mujeres

Whale Shark Adventure in Isla Mujeres and Cancun

Badge of ExcellenceIsla Mujeres, Mexico
Amazing Whale Shark Adventure

From $155.00

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 6 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Get up close and personal with the world’s largest congregation of whale sharks during this small-group snorkeling excursion, available only from May until September. Travel comfortably on a well-equipped boat into the Caribbean Sea, with snorkeling masks and gear included. Let staff guide you to the whale sharks’ meeting points, then hop into the water for a unique immersion.
  • A small-group, swimming and snorkeling whale shark tour
  • Enjoy a unique wildlife encounter in the world’s largest migration of whale sharks
  • Get a chance to spot manta rays, tropical fish, and other marine life
  • Travel comfortably in a group capped at only 10 participants

What's Included

  • Use of Snorkeling equipment
  • Snacks
  • Lunch
  • Bottled water
  • Soda/Pop
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Dock Fees
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • GoPro files (available to purchase)

Meeting and Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Black pearl
    Abasolo 13, Centro - Supmza. 001, 77400 Isla Mujeres, Q.R., Mexico

    From Isla Mujeres: Black Pearl dock in downtown, behind Perla Negra Store. From Cancun: Punta Sam Ferry terminal

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Pick up from your hotel in Cancun , Mayan Riviera or Playa del Carmen. If you are staying on Isla Mujeres, you have to come to the meeting point (Black Pearl dock in downtown, behind Perla Negra Store)

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Not recommended for people who get seasick easily
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Jami_B
Captain Manny and guide Oscar were great. They made the expectations clear, were informative, helpful and fun! We saw so many whale sharks and got to swim with a couple of them too. Our group of 5 enjoyed this experience from start to finish. The provided chicken sandwiches were delicious and the ceviche one of the best ever! This is a trip for everyone and the price is right. Saw many posts about choppy waters and dramamine. We traveled 35 miles offshore. If you are at all sensitive or think you might be take some dramamine. 2 of us did, 2 of us didn't and one wished he had. All were fine by the time we parked at Playa Norte at Isla Mujeres. Highly recommend this adventure!

Reviews

5.0
438 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 438 reviews
Beautiful creatures!
Veronica_E, Sep 2023
Loved this! We saw numerous Whale Sharks. Swam with 2! Our crew made delicious ceviche after trip. Highly recommend.
Best part of our trip
Alison_W, Sep 2023
Felipe and Lolo were awesome! Great experience and the ceviche was delicious. Highly recommend doing this!!
Awesome..
Vicki_C, Sep 2023
The staff were wonderful.. positioned us so we could all get a chance to swim with the whale sharks..
Amazing whale shark tour!
Edith_G, Sep 2023
The tour was really amazing. Although we booked spontaneously 1 day in advance, a pick up at our hotel was no problem. Oscar and Manny did a fantastic job, so the tour was well organized and we had a pleasant stay on the boat. The highlight of the tour was of course a whale shark, we got twice the chance to swim with. A special thanks to Oscar, who guided us in the water to see the whale shark from best position. Besides we spotted lots of dolphins and saw even a turtle. So we just can recommend the experience a 100 %.
A Once-in-a-Lifetime Journey with "Whale Shark Adventure" in Cancun!
Alena_N, Sep 2023
From start to finish, our experience with "Whale Shark Adventure" in Cancun was nothing short of incredible. The day began with punctual pick-up from our hotel, setting a tone of professionalism that was maintained throughout the adventure. The boat ride itself was smooth sailing, thanks in part to the perfect weather. No bumps or hiccups, just the ocean stretching endlessly before us. Our guides for the day, Roberto and El Capitan, exuded a warm camaraderie that made us feel right at home on the water. And then, the highlight of the day: swimming alongside the majestic whale shark. Words cannot adequately express the awe and wonder that enveloped us as we swam in close proximity to this gentle giant. It's an experience that undoubtedly ranks as a "once in a lifetime" moment. As if that wasn't enough, the adventure continued with a stop at Playa Norte. The water was an almost surreal shade of turquoise, and it offered the perfect backdrop for relaxation after the morning's excitement. Roberto and El Capitan wrapped up the day by serving us the freshest, most delectable ceviche we've ever had, right on the boat! In summary, if you're considering a unique, awe-inspiring experience in Cancun, look no further than "Whale Shark Adventure." It was a 100% recommendable journey that exceeded our highest expectations.
Not worth
Brandon_J, Aug 2023
Started out normal and it is normal to potentially not see anything, but only 4 of us in the whole group got to jump to even try see a whale shark. Then we all sat around for 3 hours doing nothing and half the group got sick. When suggesting we return back to shore the crew informed us we would wait an hour more. We were given no info or updates on anything that happened during the 3 hours of sitting in the sun. Many of the group was dissatisfied with how it went and was trying to seek a refund
Response from Host, Aug 2023
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you faced during the tour. We understand your disappointment in not being able to swim with the whale sharks as anticipated. It's important to note that interacting with wildlife, such as whale sharks, is inherently unpredictable. While we strive to provide the best opportunity for our guests to see and swim with these magnificent creatures, we cannot guarantee a 100% success rate due to the nature of their behavior and we told you from the beginning that there are not refunds for this reason, this is also stated in the description of the tour. On the day of your tour, only four individuals had the opportunity to jump in and attempt to see the whale sharks up close. After their interaction, the whale sharks moved deeper into the water, making it challenging to provide further swimming opportunities for the group. We can’t control the movement of these creatures, as they are wild and act according to their natural instincts. Regarding the illness experienced by some members of the group, we regret that this occurred. Seasickness can unfortunately affect some individuals during boat tours, and we do provide assistance on board to help mitigate such instances. In terms of the decision to wait an additional hour before returning to shore, this was likely done in the hopes that the whale sharks might resurface and provide another opportunity for interaction. However, we understand your perspective and will review our procedures to ensure better alignment with our guests' expectations. Once again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. We value your feedback as it helps us make necessary improvements for a better experience for all our future guests. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention.
Adrenaline
Francesca_L, Aug 2023
Notwithstanding the fact that there were only two whale sharks around, we got to swim with one of them ( while this is not always granted). I recommend to bring with you sea sickness pills, even if you are not typically sea sick. I recommend Felipe and Lollo as your guide.
Amazing tour!
Amanda_P, Aug 2023
I went out with Felipe and Lolo. Lolo found many whale sharks for us to swim with & flipe took great videos! Playa norte and the cerviche lunch was delicious. Good communication & easy transportation to and from the dock. Highly recommend!!
Whale shark review
Carolina_B, Aug 2023
The trip was so wonderful! Oscar and Manny were very professional and educational! We were lucky to have 2 turns with the whale sharks. I also got sick on the boat twice and they were very nice and understanding. They made us ceviche afterwards that was so delicious! Such a good trip! Incredible experience.
Amazing
Patrick_S, Aug 2023
El capitain and the way he knows the water and the sharks just seem to glide to him. The crew was so polite and kind and patient.
Amazing Whale Shark Adventure!
Julie_S, Aug 2023
Really great day with good friendly guides! They were on time and had everything we needed for a fun day on the water.
Amazing experience
Charlotte_J, Aug 2023
My friend and I had the best morning out on the boat. It was such an incredible experience to with the whale sharks. We were a bit worried after reading some reviews about the number of boats around but Felipe and Lolo took us to a quieter patch and we were in the water with them it felt like no body was around but me and the whale shark. It really felt like they cared about the whale sharks and their experience too and they followed the guidance of the reserve. The boat was tidy and they had great hospitality - they even considered my dietary requirements and made me a special lunch. 100% recommend this experience.
Oscar and Manny were great!
Jami_B, Aug 2023
Captain Manny and guide Oscar were great. They made the expectations clear, were informative, helpful and fun! We saw so many whale sharks and got to swim with a couple of them too. Our group of 5 enjoyed this experience from start to finish. The provided chicken sandwiches were delicious and the ceviche one of the best ever! This is a trip for everyone and the price is right. Saw many posts about choppy waters and dramamine. We traveled 35 miles offshore. If you are at all sensitive or think you might be take some dramamine. 2 of us did, 2 of us didn't and one wished he had. All were fine by the time we parked at Playa Norte at Isla Mujeres. Highly recommend this adventure!
"Go Pee with Your Group in the Water"- Avoid Isla Fun Tours
greatgecco, Jul 2023
The guide was extremely rude. When we got out onto an extremely rough ocean, a few friends got sick in the trash bucket. He yelled at them to get up while the boat was moving and throw up into the water. After an hour and a half, we were told as a group of ten to get into the water to pee and cool off. When we got off like he demanded, a friend's goggles fell off and the guide yelled that he had to pay cash right now. He didn't trust him to pay when they finished. He had no cash on him, and it was an uncomfortable exchange that continued until the guy accepted that he would pay by card when we returned. During the trip we were given a tiny half of a basic ham and cheese sandwich. No one ever offered us waters or drinks of any kind. The guide stayed up top with the captain unless it was to complain to us. Participants finally got into the cooler in the middle of the boat and passed out waters to everyone. The speakers on the boat were missing. When we finally got to see and swim with the whale sharks, one jump each, we returned to the beach and ate what could not even be considered a snack size portion of ceviche. That was all we had for seven hours. After we got off the boat, no transportation arrived to pick us up. We waited almost half an hour until a representative finally called a taxi to come get us. The taxi got lost getting us back to the resort, so it was an extra half hour of going to the wrong places and him asking for directions. I've done this excursion with my husband before with a different company and had an amazing time. That is why I wanted so badly to do it again. She was so upset that we didn't do another excursion for our entire trip.
Magical… but not worth the $$$
Sydney_F, Jul 2023
Pros: - The staff at Isla Adventures are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Felipe was our guide and he was amazing. - if you are lucky, you get to swim next to a freaking whale shark, which really is a magical experience. Cons - it’s a very long and choppy boat ride and then your boat is being rocked while your group is in the water. I would not recommend if you easily get nauseas. - we were LUCKY that we found a whale shark to swim with for 45 seconds. Some groups never got in the water. There just aren’t as many whale sharks in the area as there were 12 years ago. I sadly don’t think the experience is worth the money anymore.
Worth a trip to Cancun all by itself
Barry_F, Jul 2023
Swimming alongside an animal so incredibly big is an unforgettable experience, truly beyond words. If we had done nothing else the entire time, the whale shark encounter would have been enough for us to believe we had an outstanding trip to Cancun. The boat's crew was very good at their job, giving us an experience that we believe was better than what others around us were getting.
Amazing Experience
Jeremiah_F, Jul 2023
We had a great time. Swimming alongside these incredible animals is something that we will never forget. Our crew was awesome: Aidan, Carlos and Ricardo were great and made every effort to help us have an unforgettable experience.
Nada whale shark seen in 7hours. Reimbursement required
rhwall39, Jul 2023
Whale Shark Adventure in Isla Mujeres and Cancun  COMPLETED Mon, 26 June 2023 • 2 Adults MXN 5,466.06 Confirmation #: 1415738055 Booking Reference #: 1028739967 Dear Viator, I booked the above tour through your company using PayPal for a payment to you for $332.34 USD on 6/24/2023. Both my wife, Margaret, and I, while vacationing on Isla Mejures, went on the “Whale Shark Adventure” with the tour operator, Isla Fun Tours, located in Isla Mejures. The tour was on 6/26/2023. The so-called adventure turned out to be a joke.None of the 10 paying customers on the boat ever saw, or swam with any whale sharks. NADA ONE!The tour was to last 5+ hours, but ended 7 hours later! Finally, after 4 1/2 hours, our boat came to an area where at least 10 other tour boats were located. Once our boat came to a standstill, the captain and guide acted as if they collectively had located whale shark(s). My wife and I, plus 2 other customers,were instructed to jump in the water with the guide, which we did. No whale sharks were seen in the 5 minutes we were allowed to snorkel. Clearly, this was all an act to purposely deceive the 10 paying customers into thinking that the tour captain and guide had successfully located whale shark(s). Why? First of all, the Mexican Navy has strict regulations governing the behavior of anyone visiting the whale shark location so the animals won’t be stressed or injured: 1) When there is 5 or less whale sharks in the immediate vicinity of any tour boat, No one is allowed to jump in the water! 2)When there is a grouping of more than 5 whale sharks, it stipulates that a guide must only take only a maximum of 2 other individuals with him when snorkeling amongst the whale sharks. At the start of the tour, the guide actually informed his customers of these regulations. By allowing 4 customers at a time to accompany him while snorkeling, leads a typical customer to be able to deduct that there were actually no whale sharks present at the time. The guide clearly knew, or should have known, that no whale sharks were ever near our boat. For these reasons,I believe I should be reimbursed the total of $332.34, which I paid for the 2 tour tickets. The objective for this tour was never achieved. Sincerely, Richard Wallace
Just go
Rachel_L, Jun 2023
Amazing trip. We were right there with the whale sharks. Isla Fun Tours made our experience wonderful. The ceviche was delicious too.
Awesome experience!
Lavada_F, Jun 2023
We had the most amazing time swimming with the whale sharks. We had two opportunities to jump. The guide and captain made ceviche for lunch and it was so delicious.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Whale Shark Adventure in Isla Mujeres and Cancun

438

6 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$155.00
No Photo
Swim with Whale Shark from Isla Mujeres and Cancun

2

6 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$157.72

Explore Similar Things to Do