Krakow to Auschwitz Birkenau Optional Guided Tour with FREE ebook

Badge of ExcellenceKrakow, Poland
Auschwitz Birkenau Small Group Memorial Tour from Krakow

From $22.09

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 6 to 7 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Pay your respects at the most notorious of all Nazi concentration camps, Auschwitz-Birkenau. If you choose the guided option, learn all about the history of this somber place from your guide. Otherwise, tour at your own pace without a guide. This is a convenient way to visit the important site from Krakow.
  • Choose between guided and non-guided options
  • Visit the Auschwitz I and Auschwitz II-Birkenau camps
  • Travel by comfortable air-conditioned vehicle (for guided options)

What's Included

  • Certificated Museum English speaking Guide (if option selected)
  • Entry fees to Auschwitz I and Auschwitz II Birkenau
  • Headsets to hear the guide clearly
  • Pickup from 8 different meeting points all over Krakow
  • Preperation E-book in English for each participant ("The Stories of Auschwitz")
  • Highly qualified, helpful and friendly tour leader
  • Round-trip transportation from and to Krakow by air-conditioned vehicle
  • Professional support in case of any issue available on Whatsapp, Email, Phonecall
  • Food and drinks
  • Guide-book

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 3/1/2021 - 3/23/2025

    Monday - Sunday : 07:00 AM - 01:00 PM

  • 3/10/2024 - 3/18/2024

    Monday - Sunday : 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM

End points

This activity ends in a different location. See details below:
Type to search

Pickup details

It is recommended to prepare the whole day for the tour. The Auschwitz museum may make last-minute changes. You may select one of the multiple meeting points, or provide your accommodation place. Our team then will try to find the nearest possible pickup point to your accommodation place. Departure time depends on availability in Auschwitz. Customers from areas closed for traffic will be sent to the nearest possible pick-up points.

What To Expect


2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Panstwowe Muzeum Auschwitz-Birkenau

2 hours Admission Ticket Included


1 hour Admission Ticket Free


2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • VISIT: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum is visited by thousands of people every day. Keeping your own pace of sightseeing may not be possible. It is mandatory to behave appropriately. The dress code is casual but it requires respect for the place. It is forbidden to eat, smoke or act in a loud manner at the museum sights.
  • PREPARATION: This is a very emotional tour, we have created an ebook that should help you prepare emotionally for the visit.
  • PICKUP: The tour departs from several meeting points. Please make sure to send us your preferred pickup point or your accommodation place. Otherwise, our team will set you to the last meeting point.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • CHILDREN: It is not recommended to visit this museum with children below 13 years. However, it is the parent's personal decision, the tour for children below 13 years may be done without a headset and receiver. Tickets for children (3-11) include entrance tickets without the receivers and headphones in Auschwitz. If you want your child to visit with a headset please book "Youth tickets"
  • PICTURES: It is allowed to take pictures in museums, except few indicated exceptions. It is forbidden to take photos with the use of flash.
  • DEPARTURE: It is highly recommended to reserve a whole day for the tour as the start time may change following the rules of Auschwitz.
  • WEATHER: The tour operates in all weather conditions. During the visit to Auschwitz, you will spend up to 70% of the time outdoors. Please bring weather-appropriate clothing and water on sunny days.
  • DOCUMENTS Regarding the Terms of Use at the Auschwitz & Birkenau Museum, it is mandatory to provide the full names of all participants of the tour. It is necessary to take with you any document with a picture for the tour which may be checked at the entrance to the museum. Otherwise, you may not be allowed to enter the museum.
  • BAG LIMITATIONS: Please note that the maximum size of bags and backpacks allowed on the museum grounds is 30 x 20 x 10 centimetres (roughly 12 x 8 x 4 inches). You can always leave your belongings inside the vehicle, or in the luggage store in Auschwitz.
  • LUNCH: Lunch is not included but you can order a lunchbox separately for 30zł which will be delivered to you during the tour. To place an order you may send us an email no later than 7:00 pm the day before. Please note that there is not enough time for a regular lunch between visits to Auschwitz I and Birkenau. Ordering a lunchbox or bringing your snacks is highly recommended. On the spot, there are only a few places to buy food and drinks, however in high season, there may not be enough time to stay in long queues.
  • STUDENT: Youth tickets discount is only with a valid student ID card, on the day of the tour. Please ensure to take your student ID card with you, otherwise, you will need to pay an extra fee for an adult ticket
  • GROUP: The maximum number of people in a group with a guide is 30, meanwhile, in the vehicle, there may be two groups together.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


482 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 482 reviews
Unfortunately we didn’t have a good experience.
Sian_H, Feb 2024
The actual camp’s themselves of what we saw were good, our bus guide Daniel and tour guide were appalling. Daniel was rude, the trip was rushed and we were dropped back a 24 minute walk to where we were originally picked up from. We were not able to see much of the camps it was too rushed, we spent approximately 35 minutes in the last camp, there was another trip to the salt mines at the end of the trip which I felt impacted our trip and caused our trip to be rushed and was the reason why we were dropped a 24 minute walk from our original collection point, when trying to explain to Daniel that we felt this was unfair he then proceeded to accuse me and my family of causing issues which is totally unacceptable, he was rude and very unhelpful. We were not able to absorb the information from the camps as it was too rushed, it was also difficult to understand the guide, myself and my family have excellent mobility and it was difficult to keep up, sometimes by the time we caught up the guide had already relayed the information of that section meaning we had no clue, we weren’t given time to read any of the information boards around the camps. We had opted for a tour WITHOUT a guide due to reading previous reviews about guided tours being rushed but upon arrival we were told we had a guided tour and basically that’s what we had to do or we would have to arrange our own transportation back to our hotel again this is totally unacceptable, I was basically told by Daniel that I was “getting a better deal”by having a guided tour, even though I was contacted the evening before to see if I wanted to pay €10 per person (there was 6 of us) for a guided tour! My opinion is they are trying to pack 2 tours into 1 therefore this has such an impact on the people only visiting the camps and this really needs addressing! It’s such a shame as we were really looking forward to visiting and it was tainted by these issues.
Such a horrific sad story but we’re so grateful to be able to experience the history of Auschwitz-Birkenau
Jon_G, Feb 2024
Such a horrific sad story but we’re so grateful to be able to experience the history of Auschwitz-Birkenau. The tour operators were great and very informative. Easy meeting point and transportation was well planned.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
We are proud to know that we could have you have this educational experience. Thank you for recommending us. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
Memorable experience
Richard_B, Jan 2024
An informative and interesting visit with respect for the hundreds of thousands of people who lost their lives there in such tragic times. There was a lot of time wasted from arriving on the bus to actually going in to start the tour. Had to wait 20 minutes before we could join the queue then about 1 hour in a queue. We had shortage of time to visit second camp so that felt a rush to see it in about 60 minutes before it closed. Glad it wasn’t raining , pleased that we went on the trip wished it wasn’t as busy and had less queues
A great informative day out very moving
Alan_K, Jan 2024
Auswitch and bernabae Great driver and your guide made the day for everyone although a little cold in the snow but hea ho you can't have everything
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We are releaved to hear that you have enjoyed the trip despite the unpleasant weather. Thank you very much for your positive review. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
Tour guide was amazing!
Elisha_M, Jan 2024
An amazing tour guide- his name was Michael! Was very informative and a very nice guy. Was able to answer all the questions and you could tell he loved his job.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the trip thanks to Michael. We will let him know he did an amazing job. Thank you very much for you positive feedback. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
they change meeting point and time
AnaBeatriz_P, Jan 2024
the guide was 10/10, he explained everything clearly and with emotion, the tour was such an experience but in therms of logistics i have my complains. Me and my fiend booked the tour at the same time and the meeting time was between 7:00 and 13:00 but then they scheduled me for 6:00 and not at the meeting point that i had chosen previously, also they put me and my friend in separated groups at different times, when i messaged the tour operator he was rude and didn’t even try to help or give an explanation. Plus, the van was late and got everyone there worried
don’t respect the time specified in the description
Ana_A, Jan 2024
the tour was nice, our guide in Auschwitz was really good and the ebook amazing, but the organization was bad. In the description they said my tour would be between 8-10, then they booked me at 7h30. I booked with my friend, at the same time, and they separated us. For her was even worse cuz they booked her at 6h30 and also, in the description, they didn’t say anything about this timetable. Other problem was to come back, I was with a group which had another tour after Auschwitz so they just did two stops in Krakow and I had to walk 30 minutes, cross the city, to go back to my hotel. I think those things are not a big problem, but we should be informed before. I was exhausted after the tour and having to walk 30min to arrive home was not a good surprise. Also, our drive asked to dont eat on the bus…. the break is really short so I think eating on the bus can help a lot. (My friends who went with different groups could eat normally).
Human destiny (?) to destroy each other...
JOHN_G, Jan 2024
It was truly shocking to visit these places and witness what occurred in this area. It truly amazes me that so many people can be so horrid to others. Humans can really be nasty creatures to others at times and this disillusions me/us. Very upsetting for some members of the party.
Go with different tour company
Sarah_B, Jan 2024
This tour is only being docked two stars due to the lack of organisation of the tour guide on the bus to Auschwitz. The bus left the city 20mins late. The guide did not give us any info re where to find our bus after the tour/ who our Auschwitz guide was/he struggled to find our tickets to gain access to the camp. He did not seem very confident in his job. The guide within Auschwitz itself was excellent and had so much knowledge. She had personal connections to the camp which made our experience very touching. It was very busy but she managed to maintain lots of space between us and other groups which meant the tour was very comfortable. Wear warm clothes.
Wouldn’t book through this company again.
Dawn_J, Dec 2023
December 5th 2023. Very disappointing with pick up and drop off. Weren’t in the places advertised on the a deal. We missed our pick up and had to spend £80 to meet the coach at Aushwitz . The tour guide was brilliant.
Emotional, educational visit
ROSALIND_M, Dec 2023
The bus guide kept us informed of what we could expect at each stage of the trip. Our tour guide at Auschwitz made the visit informative and educational making you understand much better how the atrocity took place. I am so glad we decided to visit.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
We are proud to know that we could help you have this informative and educational experience. Thank you very much for your feedback and review. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
Perfect day trip
tjk7h9r7pp, Dec 2023
Α perfect day, we visited at our own pace, the leader/driver was very nice, all in all an amazing way to explore the area
Response from Host, Dec 2023
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the trip so much. Thank you for your review. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
Highly recommend this tour!
Beth_B, Nov 2023
We’re we’re transported in a coach to and from both camps. The coach arrived to the designated pickup location on time. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. We were able to skip the lines with our group. Highly recommend!!
Response from Host, Nov 2023
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the trip. Thank you for your recommendation. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
10/10 for Auchwitz, 6/10 for tour operator.
Charles_J, Nov 2023
The guided tour of Auschwitz was a deeply moving experience, made all the more insightful by our tour guide's excellent delivery. He spoke English well, with a measured pace that allowed us to fully absorb the surroundings without feeling rushed—a commendable job, especially in such a tough environment. In terms of logistics, both facilities had a profound impact, with Facility #2's vastness underscoring the harrowing extent of the atrocities. I'd advise future visitors to wear comfortable shoes and bring an umbrella, snacks, water, and lunch due to the extended time outdoors and limited breaks. However, the experience with the tour operator left a lot of room for improvement. The early morning pickup at 6:15 am was a bit jarring, and my first encounter with the driver was less than welcoming. When I approached the bus to confirm our destination, I was met with a curt "no English!" I then tried to use Google translate to ask him in Polish, and another person showed up and said “wait!”, and blocked my entry without explanation, only adding to the confusion for me and the other people waiting. We later found out this was the transport operator host, who did not announce himself or have any ID or shirt indicating who he was. The multiple roll calls that followed were excessive and disorganized, because he was reading it from his phone - he did roll call at least 5 times. At the end of the trip, transport operator host was dropped off before us, and told us in broken English that we would be left at a different location from the pickup spot due to traffic—without guidance. We were left with a bus driver that could not speak English, and people were confused and relying on each other to figure out where to get off Thankfully, Google Maps prevented us from being lost in the city, but if we didn’t have internet on our phones, it would have been a big problem for us. Considering the entire day, I would recommend that others skip the salt mine to avoid exhaustion. And a word to the wise: the driver's loud conversations in Polish throughout the trip can be quite intrusive. So, while the transport service was a letdown, meriting a 6/10, the guided tour itself was exceptional, warranting a perfect 10/10 score.
Moving experience
Kevin_H, Oct 2023
A very moving experience. I really believe that everyone should visit here, reading and watching tv does not give the real story
Response from Host, Oct 2023
We are glad to know that found the tour moving and informative. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
Great guides
JohnSteinar_B, Oct 2023
Very professional guides. The day is long and intense, bring food and drink, because there is not much possibility for breaks or food shopping
Response from Host, Oct 2023
We are relieved to know that you enjoyed the trip despite the long duration. Thank you very much for your review and feedback. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow
Moving experience but wish there had been more time overall
Renate_R, Sep 2023
Very moving and unsettling experience, as one would expect. I would have wished for more time at each of the individual stages. Guide Daniel looked well after the group. Would be helpful if there was a way of identifying which guide/which bus at the pick up place (several different tour companies all leave from there which was confusing )
Very moving, seen loads...
Derek_D, Sep 2023
Very moving, seen loads on TV and films about the camps but when you see them in real life it's a total different experience.
A good trip spoilt by the...
Reay_C, Sep 2023
A good trip spoilt by the hot weather. Bus trip from Kracow was a bit too long. Otherwise very good.
a must-visit, so we don’t forget!
Ren_M, Aug 2023
Impressive and unbelievable. Everyone knows about it, but to see it and get an idea of the scale makes you silent. A must visit for everyone to make sure we never forget
Response from Host, Sep 2023
We are happy to know the tour was educational and impressive for you. It is important to not forget the dark parts of human history. We're proud we were able to help you to learn more about it. Thank you for your recomendation. Kind regards Andrew AT Cracow

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Krakow to Auschwitz Birkenau Optional Guided Tour with FREE ebook


7 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Auschwitz-Birkenau Guided Tour From Krakow


7 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do