Krakow Guided Tour to Iconic Polish Royal Residence Wawel Castle

Krakow, Poland
Krakow Wawel Castle 2h Guided Tour

From $21.68

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 1 hour to 3 hours 30 minutes
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Visit the Royal Private Apartments of Wawel Castle on a guided tour that explores the history of Poland’s royals at this UNESCO World Heritage Site. Skip the long lines and start your tour with a guide who shares details about the royal families, the architecture of the castle, and Poland’s history. You’ll stroll around the 14th-century castle complex, which is considered one of the country’s architectural gems and a must-see attraction in Krakow.
  • Hear insightful commentary from the guide
  • See the Royal Private Apartments up close
  • Prebook your ticket to skip the long entrance lines

What's Included

  • Professional english speaking guide
  • Guaranteed to skip the long lines
  • Entrance Tickets
  • Entrance ticket to Cathedral
  • Food and drinks

Meeting And Pickup

Departure Point

  • Wawel Royal Castle, Wawel 5, Krakow 31-001 Poland

What To Expect

Wawel Royal Castle

Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please make sure to show up on time. Being late might prevent you from taking part in the tour
  • In order to receive a discount, students must have a valid student ID in the day of the tour
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • The meeting point is at Kanonicza 25 st. Please wait at the end of Kanonicza Street. It is a long cobblestone street. Place where cobblestone reaches the asphalt street.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


42 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews
Experience not to be missed
Carole_T, Nov 2023
The very extensive knowledge of our guide, without notes of any kind. Nice small group. Guides need to have colourful umbrella to find them.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you!! We always try to provide our customers with the best! If you liked the trip, we have just opened a new exhibition. Contact us by e-mail if you are in Krakow! We have a special discount for you! Regards
Disorganized and not very engaging
Andrew_K, Oct 2023
We have booked many tours through Viator before and have had good experiences but this tour was a waist of time/money. It was disorganized and we didn’t start until over 40 min from the stated time. The tour guide (?Alina) was pleasant but seemed frazzled and was rushing though to get to the end. She actually had arrived late and then told the group to hurry up as we may miss the entry time to the castle. Over half the group decided to leave along the way (which I have never seen before on a paid tour). Rather disappointing - not sure how they are selecting guides but this was not at all what we expected for over 50 dollars. We took a free walking tour in the afternoon of Krakow that passed through Wavel and learned far more in the 20 min we stopped at the castle than the 3 h on this tour. Perhaps they were having a bad day but I wouldn’t recommend this tour to anyone.
Head phones need upgrading
Eva, Sep 2023
Hard to hear and understand the tour guide. Would recommend better equipment to hear the tour guide.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thanks for your response. We are very committed to improving our offer, headsets are improved periodically. We are very sorry that you misheard your guide.
Anonymous, Aug 2023
Great history detailed by the guide. He was very bubbly, engaging and friendly. We had enough time at each stop.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you very much for such kind words! Our team focuses on professionalism and efficiency, so we are glad that you appreciate our work. :)
Guided tour a must
Anna_K, Aug 2023
Excellent guide!!! Guided tour is the way to go as get lots of valuable information in shorter time while observing the surrounding beauty.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you for giving such a fantastic opinion! We agree that guided tours add incredible value to sightseeing!
Slawomir_W, Jul 2023
The tour was well organized and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and well spoken. Highly recommend their services!
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you for your order! We are very happy that we could organize this trip for you! We love Wawel, and we want to share its beauty with others!
Castle guided tour
Jo_r, Jul 2023
Personally I wished I just got an entry ticket and wandered round myself. Took 2 hours and was a very hot day. Unless you are very interested in polish royalty and art from the 13th century onwards it was a bit tedious , but that’s just a personal opinion. The grounds and views at the top are lovely so it’s definitely worth a trip up
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you for leaving feedback! We are grateful for all the tips, because we are constantly working on improving our offer to provide guests with a bit of medieval culture during a trip to Krakow Kind regards, Kasia
Experience was good, guides were nice but tour started an hour late.
Antonella_S, Jul 2023
Guide was good, though our experience was marred as the tour started an hour late. Better communication would avoid such occurrences.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Thank you for your feedback, we apologize for the delay, it was an exceptional situation. We're glad you enjoyed your trip despite that! Communication has improved significantly since your trip, thank you for the tip! You help us work better and better!
Poor customer service
FionaC, Mar 2023
Our guide was 1 hour late, I kept being told he was 10 minutes away. We could only do half the tour as we had another trip to attend. When I requested a 50% refund I was refused by Viator with no explanation. I won’t be using them again
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Fiona, The entire trip was carried out accord to offer. After you reported that it did not take place at all, which was not true, because you participated in the trip, we rejected the application for refund and got this opinion. I don't really understand your action. Kind regards, Kinga
Wouldn’t book with this...
Kim_W, Mar 2023
Wouldn’t book with this company , didn’t give me the trip I booked and payed for was absolutely awful
Sarah_S, Oct 2022
Good tour of the castle with a good explanation of its history from the beginning right up to the current times.
A good but tired experience
MariaElena_T, Oct 2022
The castle and its sorroundings are terrific, but the guides looked confused with who was going to lead a group....
Beautiful castle, but limited tour inside
Steven_B, Oct 2022
I took this tour as a group, but the tour seemed more focused on artwork that was placed in the castle than the history of the castle. also as a tour group, and not a large one, the castle curators wouldn't allow us in some rooms, thus limiting our experience. the castle itself is beautiful, but many of the rooms are pretty bare of furnishings, so artwork has been placed there making it feel like more of an art museum tour. also, the castle sells various tickets to see parts of the castle so be prepared to buy 2 or more tickets to see a decent amount of the castle. the place is in great condition, but there were better castle experiences to be found in Poland.
Good tour but started late
Leslie_D, Oct 2022
The guide was very knowledgeable and gave a great amount of detail about the artwork in the castle. The tour was rescheduled and then started late because the organizer seemed a bit disorganized.
Interesting visit
Emma_B, Sep 2022
We really enjoyed the full tour of the castle, our guide was very knowledgeable, we learnt so much about the history of the castle, would recommend
Great experience
AnnaJanicki, Jul 2022
The contact person was on time and took us to our guide. Our guide, Kinga, was very knowledgeable. We learned a lot and would definitely use this service again.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you for your feedback. It is very nice to hear that you liked our service.
Excellent tour and knowledgeable guide
Bernie_F, Sep 2020
Excellent tour and really knowledgeable guide (thank you Krystof). Learnt so much more than just wandering around on our own.
An interesting and fact-filled tour of Wawel Castle.
Heather_M, Sep 2019
Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. However, the pitch of her voice was very soft and even crowded around her, and although my husband speaks fluent English, it was very difficult for him as a non-native speaker to hear our guide. We kindly encourage all guides to speak considerably louder or to consider offering headsets to the visitors. As guests, we very much appreciated how well the staff control the flow of visitors; at no point was it crowded or overly loud.
Interesting historical site
Voyage55344975385, Aug 2019
My guide was able to explain the history or Krakow and Poland throughout my tour of the castle. He explained many aspects I would have missed on my own.
ianr522, Aug 2019
Guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Great value tour! Toured through the royal apartments at good pace. Need to als the guide to speak louder.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Krakow Guided Tour to Iconic Polish Royal Residence Wawel Castle


3 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Old Town Krakow & Wawel Castle Walking Tour


2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Krakow: Wawel Castle & Cathedral Guided Tour


2 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Krakow - Wawel Sightseeing of the Royal Hill


1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do