Lake Como

Lugano, Bellagio Experience from Como with Enchanting Boat Cruise

Badge of ExcellenceLake Como, Italy
Lugano Bellagio and Cruise Experience from Como
  • 8 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Visit two countries and two famous lakes in one day with this day trip from Como. Ride an exclusive ferry across Lake Como to see the elegant towns from the water. Traveling with a Tour Leader, you’ll first visit Lugano in Switzerland to sample Swiss chocolate and admire Lake Lugano. Then, you’ll return to Italy where a visit to Lake Como’s beautiful Bellagio beckons. Ample free time in each town is included, along with a prebooked Lake Como ferry ride and sights of Cadenabbia di Griante, lakeside villas, gardens, and more.
  • Save time with prebooked transport to explore Switzerland and Lake Como
  • Combine free time in Bellagio and Lugano with commentary as you travel
  • Ride an exclusive ferry across Lake Como to see the elegant towns from the water

What's Included

  • Professional English/Spanish-speaking Tour Leader
  • Audio headsets provided (over 10 participants)
  • Enchanting Boat Cruise
  • Bottled water
  • Lunch

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • Piazza Cavour, 22100 Como CO, Italy

    Como, Piazza Cavour n.5 in front of Hotel Barchetta

Start time

09:15 AM

End point

  • B&B Hotel Como City Center
    V.le Innocenzo XI, 15, 22100 Como CO, Italy

What To Expect

After meeting your guide in the center of Como, you’ll step aboard your transport for the ride through the city, and out toward Switzerland (passports essential). The first stop in this country is Lugano, where you’ll have an hour free to perhaps browse the shops for Swiss chocolate, or stroll by the lake.

From Lugano, you’ll make your way back to Italy, passing Tremezzo on the banks of Lake Como. Just across the water is the town of Bellagio, a spot loved for its prime position by the different branches of the lake. You’ll have roughly an hour here, wandering Bellagio’s narrow shop-lined lanes that give way to sweeping lake views.

Toward the end of the day, you’ll head to the water to admire Lake Como by boat. Your day trip later ends back in central Como.

Como (Pass By)

Lake Como (Pass By)


1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Cadenabbia di Griante (Pass By)


1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Lake Lugano (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • In Lugano, most stores are closed on Sundays
  • For safety reasons, due to bad weather or a water level that is too high in the lake, public navigation will be used instead of the exclusive boat
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Our guide Messua went above and beyond to make this a wonderful experience. She was very knowledgeable and provided excellent local tips to help us to get the most out of our short visit to Como. The group size was perfect and I would highly recommend to anyone considering a day trip!


249 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 249 reviews
Seeing the shoreline from...
Kathleen_B, May 2024
Seeing the shoreline from the water was wonderful. The weather was a bit drizzly so we stayed inside. The diesel fumes got a bit strong but otherwise the boat trip was great and our guide was excellent at pointing out all the sites and had great stories to share too. Bellagio was beautiful. We didn’t have much time in Lugano so it would be fun to go again.
Don't Go on this Excursion
gabyarena, May 2024
While I understand the tour operator has no control over the weather, our ferry experience was horrible. Two hours packed in with little air and no view, so virtually useless. Our guide did not provide information on things to do/places to eat while on the bus. Instead you got to stand in the pouring rain. Many people wanted to stay on the bus in Lugano (40 minutes to walk around when we were already drenched) but that was not allowed. I tried to cancel (it was outside of the 24 hour window, but got no response. A refund would be appreciated.
Response from Host, May 2024
Dear Gabrielle, thank you for sharing your thoughts, we are sorry that bad weather did not allow you to fully enjoy your day, but as you also specified it is certainly not our fault. Since you wrote us in the previous days multiple messages regarding the conduct of the tour in case of bad weather (to which we always responded), you knew what the weather conditions would be and could have cancelled within 24 hours without any problems and received a full refund. Instead you decided to take the tour anyway and write this review asking for a refund later, which is not very fair. Thank you for allowing us to demonstrate the legitimacy of our work. Sincerely Davide
Very good experience with a knowledgable guide
James_S, May 2024
Beautiful views of Lakes Como and Lugano throughout the day, and a very nice time in Bellagio. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and enlightening.
Avoid this tour.
Mickey_J, May 2024
While our host, Chiara, was very personable and knowledgeable we found the overall tour to be a disappointment. The tour description was quite vague, and if it had been clear we would definitely not have booked this tour. It starts with a 10-minute walk to the bus, followed by a 45-minute bus ride to Lugano where we were treated to a 10-minute walk to the main square and directions to Chiara’s favorite chocolate shop, the toilets, and a nice park. Then we were free to wander by ourselves for 45 minutes. Back on the bus for the 35-minute ride to Lake Como where we started the highlight of the tour - a 30-minute boat cruise to see a few palatial homes from the water. That cruise ended at Bellagio, where we were free for 2.5 hours. Chiara had booked tables for those who wanted lunch, but the specific restaurant she recommended wasn’t great. Then we took the public ferry for the 10-minute trip across the lake, and rebounded the bus for the 76-minute ride back to Como. This portion could easily have been done on the public ferry, which would have given us a better view of the entire lake. Overall, a huge disappointment, and I really can’t recommend this tour.
Response from Host, May 2024
Dear Mikey Jawa, thank you for sharing your thoughts, it is clear from your description how the tour was organized perfectly, there are only a couple of misinformation, in fact the cruise lasted one hour and not 30 minutes and the time in Bellagio was 2 hours and not 2 1/2 hours. Just to clarify the time from Bellagio to Como (a leg that you would have preferred to do by boat instead of by bus) is 2 1/2 hours and as you can well understand this would have radically changed the timing of the other stops. In any case, thank you for allowing us to demonstrate the fairness of our actions, although we did not understand what you did not like about this wonderful day Sincerely Davide
Disappointing due to guide and schedule
christi_h, May 2024
Lake como was beautiful and the boat ride to and from Bellagio was wonderful. The town of Bellagio is probably very nice when all the tourists are not there but it was extremely crowded and therefore took away from the pleasantness. My biggest complaint is that the tour guide Monica was probably one of the worst. She never was clear in our itinerary and missed frequent opportunities to inform us about the surroundings and the history. We did have headsets and could here her well so that was not the problem. Vincenzo was a great bus driver! Those roads were so narrow to drive on!!!! We missed seeing Lugano as there was a very bad accident on the highway so they cancelled that leg of the tour. Wish we could say the tour was great but it was the guide that was frustrating. Then we took a stop in town of como which was a waste of time… we ended up getting back to Milan at 730 and missed our train and had to wait 2 hours putting us back at our hotel at 1030 pm.
Response from Host, May 2024
Dear Christi, thank you for sharing your thoughts, I would like to inform you that the tour is led by a tour leader and not a tour guide (which is quite different), some tour leaders may talk more than others, but this depends on the character of the person. Regarding the delay and the missed visit to Lugano unfortunately it was not our fault, but as you also wrote, a serious accident that caused the highway to be closed in both directions for several hours. Fortunately, we still managed to let you enjoy most of the program. Sincerely Davide
Great Day Trip
Joe_F, May 2024
Unfortunately, the Lugano portón por the trip was cancelled due to an accident that blocked the road for our bus. But our guide Andrea pivoted and got our group on the ferry with no notice. He obviously has some pull. Andrea pointed out the famous houses along the way from Como to Bellagio. He is very animated and entertaining. The scenery is spectacular and he knows a lot of history and interesting facts about celebrities. Be prepared to walk up a lot of steps in Bellagio. It is crowded with tourists. There are limited public restrooms. We had a good meal at a restaurant and the cost was reasonable. The beauty of the boat trip and the location at Bellagio cannot be overstated. And our guide was top notch.
Great day out!
Radhika_R, May 2024
I thoroughly enjoyed my day out and the tour guide was very friendly! Lugano was beautiful and Bellagio was stunning!
We enjoyed what we had.
Holly_H, May 2024
We enjoyed the part of the tour that we got. We also had a lovely tour guide Andrea. In normal circumstances I would probably recommend this tour. The unfortunate part is that half of our tour got canceled. So we did not visit Lugano at all, or experience what they called an enchanting boat ride. We had to pivot and the whole group got put on a two hour public ferry. Not to mention that at the beginning of the day we had to about 40mins before the company decided what to do because the bus was not able to come. They told us if we wanted to stay on the tour they would give us a 40% back partial refund. But when I contacted Viator they said that they had not heard back from the guides.
Response from Host, May 2024
Dear Holly, thank you for sharing your thoughts, unfortunately the visit to Lugano was cancelled due to a major accident on the highway that would not have allowed you to get to Lugano in time, so in order not to let you miss the whole tour we proposed a last minute change of itineraries that would still have included a 2-hour cruise on the lake and a visit to Bellagio. As you can well understand this was not up to us. The 30% refund was made the next day, so please check and correct what you wrote. Cordially Davide
Great Intro to Lake Como
David_S, May 2024
Recommend for first-time visitors to Lake Como. Lugano is beautiful and trip hits the must-sees of Bellagio and shoreline of Tremezzo. Guide Kiara (sic?) could have provided more narrative but was personable and knowledgeable. Only complaints: bus had minimal legroom; very uncomfortable for anyone over 5’10”. Meeting point was vague, we could easily have missed the group (in front of hotel, not in piazza in front of hotel), and drop off point was not meeting point as stated (1/2 mile difference). These are minor complaints. In all, a great day!
Great tour
Lisareed18732, May 2024
The tour was beautiful. The bus ride and boat tour passed through beautiful homes. Bellagio was beautiful. Our tour guide could have talked a little while we were sitting in traffic. But, all in all, she was great. . The first bus driver was a very cautious driver. The driver on the way back went way too fast. This is the second Viator tour we have taken. Our first was in Ireland. We will definitely look up Viator when we return to Europe.
Missed tour
Ellis_S, May 2024
Miscommunication left us missing the the tour. The company offered to have us meet them further along but by the time we would have found a way to get there they would have been gone. There were no other optio s for us so we missed the tour and can't get a refund.
Response from Host, May 2024
Dear Elliss Stanely, thank you for sharing your thoughts, the tour started regularly with the rest of the group, you were not at the indicated meeting point and we tried to contact you but your phone was turned off. Obviously at some point the group had to leave and when you called us (around 9:50am so 20 minutes after the tour start time) the group had already left. We offered you the opportunity to join the group in Lugano but after initially accepting, you let us know that you would not make it in time. So I don't think it is fair to blame the agency for what happened. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to demonstrate the legitimacy of our work. Sincerely Davide
Fun, humorous and very entertaining day tour.
Rachel_S, May 2024
A wonderful trip, Andre and Suoer Mario were amazing. Andre has so much knowledge and personal connection and stories making the entire journey very amusing. Super Mario is a brilliant bus driver. Loved the boat ride and Bellagio.
Great tour but poor opeartors
Susie_M, May 2024
Tour itself would have been wonderful. Unfortunately Lugano shops were all closed due to a holiday - no one thought to tell us until we got there and we couldnt even purchase the swiss chocolates promoted let alone anything else. The radios werent working so we missed out on much of the commentary around the lake, despite the tour operator being alerted, she just continued. Dropped us off some distance from our hotels and had to find our own way back. Lugano, Bellagio and the cruise were breathtaking but maybe a different tour operator would have provided a better experience.
Response from Host, May 2024
Dear Susie, thank you for sharing your thoughts, you chose to take the tour on May 1st, which is an international workers' holiday celebrated throughout Europe and much of the world, so also in Switzerland. For the radios you could have said so at the time of delivery and our tour leader could have replaced them promptly, instead for the drop off in Como it is done in the same location by all the buses, being a group tour there is no drop off in the Hotel. Sincerely Davide
Amazing Experience, Sylvia was Awesome!
Patrick_S, May 2024
Sylvia was a great tour guide not only giving the group history and geography of the area but also the cultural interactions of the area and with Switzerland. The group size and transportation were perfect for what was wanted with everyone being able to explore but able to be seen too by the tour guide and driver. Only thing would maybe be 15-20 more minutes in Lugano to give people time to get chocolate and fully go up to the cathedral/botanical gardens and use the restroom-40 minutes made it hard to fit all in. But otherwise it was a great tour to see a lot of stuff in 7-8 hours
Lake Como
Paula_S, May 2024
This was a beautiful tour of the Lake Como area. I wish our guide would have given a bit more information as we were touring through the countryside. The boat view were very nice even on a rainy cold day.
Great intro tour to Como, Bellagio and Lugano
jencyoo, Apr 2024
Our tour guide was really knowledgeable about Como, Bellagio and Lugano. I’ve overheard a couple asking lots of questions on the bus and he repeated the questions and answered the questions through the mic so everyone else can also be informed. The cons was the trip to Lugano was too short. We only had about 1/2 hour of free time so you only had time to see/do only 1 one activity.
Como experience was Great
Shibu_M, Apr 2024
Our guide Andreas made our trip memorable. He was on time, and we had a small group so that helped. His instructions were clear, and he was very knowledgeable about the sites but also gave us information about the locations that were personal and got to know the communities we were visiting. He was also extremely multi lingual, Spanish and English And also kept the group informed in both languages. The private boat was cancelled from Bellagio, because the boat operator had indicated there could be rough waters so they cancelled that portion of the trip. Instead the tour operator booked us on a water taxi from Bellagio down to Como. Even though it was a longer trip, Andreas kept it interesting. Overall our family thought the entire trip was well with the price and we learned a lot.
Just ok
Angel_P, Apr 2024
First, you meet in the piazza and start the tour by walking over to where the buses were parked but we didn’t really understand why that couldn’t have been the meeting point to begin with. We only had 45 minutes in Switzerland which was a bummer because it took an hour to get there in the first place. The driver was very great and we appreciated him a lot. We didn’t really get much information or history about lake como. We were on the ferry ride and while the other tour guide from the same company would talk and explain things to her group, our guide didn’t do the same. The Bellagio part of the trip was great because we actually had enough time to explore. We spoke to another couple on the trip and they didn’t really enjoy it either. Maybe they could split up the time better between the 2 sites and provide better information about the places we’re visiting.
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Dear Angel Pham, thank you for expressing your thoughts, sometimes unfortunately it may happen that there is some traffic and thus slightly reduce the time you spend in some locations, it certainly does not reduce the total time of the tour, in fact you were able to fully enjoy everything in the description. I would like to emphasize that her tour was led by a Tour Leader and not a Tour Guide (which is definitely different), as clearly written on the website. Our tour leaders still give an explanation of what can be seen on the tour but with the limitations that their professional status imposes. Sincerely Davide
HIghly recommend!!!
Anonymous, Apr 2024
Going to Bellagio is a MUST SEE and do. This tour gives you the best views of Lake Como and Bellagio. WE also got to venture into Switzerland:) Perfect amount of time in each stop and the photo ops are incredible. Our tour guide Laura spoke 5 languages and was so impressive and knowledgeable. Definitely a fabulous excursion.
Beautiful sights and the highlight of our Italy trip
Fei_L, Apr 2024
Our guide Messua went above and beyond to make this a wonderful experience. She was very knowledgeable and provided excellent local tips to help us to get the most out of our short visit to Como. The group size was perfect and I would highly recommend to anyone considering a day trip!
Likely to Sell Out

From $129.62

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Lugano, Bellagio Experience from Como with Enchanting Boat Cruise


8 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do