Las Vegas

Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour

Badge of ExcellenceLas Vegas, USA
Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour
Special Offer

From $175.75

$185.00 Save $9.25

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 15 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

See the Grand Canyon South Rim on a tour from Las Vegas . Traveling in a custom-designed van outfitted with leather captain seats and viewing windows means you have great views from beginning to end, and going overland from Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon is a true highlight, with desert scenery, rock formations, and a trip along historic Route 66.
  • Cover key highlights of the Grand Canyon South Rim
  • Enjoy canyon views on a walk between Mather’s Point and Bright Angel Lodge
  • Return trip includes dazzling night views of the Las Vegas skyline
  • Convenient hotel pickup and drop-off at Las Vegas hotels

What's Included

  • Hotel pick-up and drop-off
  • Morning snack
  • Bottled water
  • Deli style lunch
  • A 30-minute Dinner stop at a well-reviewed local restaurant.
  • Gratuities
  • Dinner

Meeting and Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

06:00 AM

Pickup details

Pick-up from the following locations: • South Point: (Tour Bus Lobby, East Entrance, Outside Valet) • Cancun: (Tour Busy Lobby, Main Entrance) • Excalibur: (Tour Bus Lobby/Bus Rotunda, South Side of Property) • Alexis Park: (Left of the Main Entrance) • Hard Rock: (Tour Bus Lobby, Main Entrance, Next to Valet) • The Orleans: (Tour Bus Lobby, East Entrance, Next to Valet) • Polo Towers: (Tour Busy Lobby, Main Entrance) • Planet Hollywood: (Tour Bus Lobby, Lower Level) • Gold Coast: (East Entrance, Outside Valet) • Aria: (Tour Bus Lobby, Lower Level) • Waldorf Astoria: (Tour Bus Lobby, Next to Valet) • The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas: (Tour Bus Lobby, Main Entrance) • Bally's: (Tour Bus Lobby, North Entrance Facing Flamingo Rd.) • Caesars Palace: (Tour Bus Lobby, Main Entrance) • Palazzo/Venetian: (Lower Level, Tour Pickup Area- Sands Expo Center/Ground Transportation) • Treasure Island: (Tour Bus Lobby at Siren's Cove, South Side of Property) • Wynn/Encore: (Bus Loop) / (Bus Pickup Stand, Main Entrance) • Trump Hotel: (Tour Bus Lobby, Main Entrance) • Circus Circus:(Tour Bus Lobby, Main Front Entrance near the Circus Circus sign) • Westgate: (Tour Bus Lobby, East Entrance off of Joe Brown Blvd.) • Stratosphere: (Tour Bus Lobby, North Entrance by the Buffet) • Golden Nugget: (Tour Bus Lobby on 1st St., West Entrance, Across from Parking Garage) Other hotel pickups may be available for larger groups.

What To Expect

Boulder City

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Kingman (Pass By)

Seligman (Pass By)

Grand Canyon National Park

3 hours Admission Ticket Free

Mather Point

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Hopi House

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Bright Angel Point

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Boulder City

25 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

The Las Vegas Strip (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 12 hours of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Collapsible wheelchairs and strollers are only permitted.
  • We do allow for regular sized backpacks that can fit underneath your seats. NO suitcases, or luggage is permitted.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Filter by:

Q:How early should I book the Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour?

A:It is recommended that you make your reservations as soon as your travel dates are set, especially during popular and seasonal dates. There are capacity limits on most tours and the closer to the date, the more likely it will be sold out.

Aug 2021

Q:Are there any age restrictions for the Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour?

A:No, however, please keep in mind that this is a full-day tour so your children should be able to handle traveling for extended periods.

Aug 2021

Q:How do I arrange pickup for the Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour?

A:Round-trip transportation is offered from most major Las Vegas hotels. Please select the appropriate hotel upon checkout. Be sure to contact the local operator at least 24 hours prior to departure to confirm your pickup details.

Aug 2021

Q:How long is the drive to the Grand Canyon during the Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour?

A:The distance from Las Vegas to Grand Canyon South Rim is about 270 miles. Therefore, this Grand Canyon trip takes 4 hours to reach the South Rim located in Grand Canyon National Park.

Aug 2021

Q:How long do we spend at the Grand Canyon during the Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour?

A:You will have approximately three hours to explore the South Rim, including a guided walk between Mather’s point and Bright Angel Lodge where you can enjoy the absolutely breathtaking views with the absolute best photo opportunities.

Aug 2021

Q:Is there a restroom on the bus during the Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour?

A:As this is a small-group tour, it is run in a Mercedes Sprinter van with no restroom on board. The group does make several "pit stops" along the way for restroom breaks and a chance to stretch your legs.

Aug 2021

Q:What kind of food is included in the Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour?

A:A light breakfast snack and deli sandwich box lunch are included, along with unlimited bottled water. On the return trip to Las Vegas, you will make a stop for dinner at the Grand Canyon Caverns off Route 66 (at your own expense.)

Aug 2021

Q:Are vegetarian/special dietary requests honored for lunch during the Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour?

A:Please specify any dietary restrictions in the "Special Requirements" box at checkout. Be sure to contact the local operator at the phone number on your ticket to confirm any requests.

Aug 2021

Q:Do we stop at the Hoover Dam on the way to the Grand Canyon during the Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour?

A:No, there is no stop at the Hoover Dam, but you will drive over the Mike O'Callachan-Pat Tillman Memorial Bridge, which offers spectacular views of the Dam.

Aug 2021

Q:How strenuous is the Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour?

A:This day trip is not a strenuous hike and typically you have a few hours to move at a pace that is comfortable for you. This tour is suitable for most travelers.

Aug 2021

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Teresa_R
It was a wonderful trip. Our drive/tour guide did a terrific job. He was very knowledgeable and shared all kinds of information.

Reviews

4.5
241 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 241 reviews
Horrible tour: Windstar lines
Pierre_C, Dec 2023
The entire tour was terrible. We had originally booked a smaller tour but they called the night before to say it had been cancelled but that we had the option to switch to a larger tour with an earlier pick up at a different hotel. We had no option so we agreed. Pick up was 40 minutes late and instructions were vague, we had to text them several times to find out they were delayed. Pick up was crowded and confusing. Even though they did reimburse the price difference (vs.the cancelled tour) they did not give us a choice to opt out of the horrible meals they were offering. Speaking of said meals, the tour had a stop so we could pick them up ourselves making the already long journey even longer. On the way back we were forced to stop at the lodge where we had picked up breakfast for an “optional” dinner. Conveniently the lodge seemed closely related to the tour company. Most of the tour just wanted to get home. Yet we stopped adding another 40 minutes to the 5 hr journey. With regards to the tour guide- nice lady but awful commentator and even worse guide. Bus was crammed, crowded and uncomfortable.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Hello, Thank you for contacting us regarding your tour. We are happy that you had the opportunity to experience the Grand Canyon. We’re sorry the tour didn’t meet your expectations. Unfortunately, we had to make the difficult decision of canceling the VIP tour due to the minimum passenger count not being met. We understand that for most, going to the Grand Canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Instead of completely canceling your tour, we offered the opportunity to switch to a motor coach tour. We did not want our passengers to miss out on a great chance to explore the Grand Canyon. We are happy that the tour was able to continue and that you were able to experience the spectacular views of the Grand Canyon. We sincerely apologize that you felt you did not receive enough information about where to meet the bus. We are constantly working with our staff to improve our service. We try to patronize local businesses and have recently using this restaurant. We apologize that the food did not meet your expectations. As for the dinner stop, this is a convenient for the passengers and the driver to get something to eat, drink, stretch their legs, or use the restroom. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please know that we will surely take note of the events that occurred on your tour and address them to improve our services. Our sincere thanks for your understanding and we appreciate your business.
Awesome
Frank_H, Nov 2023
We came from Florida and loved every minute of the trip. It’s a long ride to the Canyon and back to Las Vegas but so worth it.
Sadly,you guys CANCLED...
Joseph_Y, Nov 2023
Sadly,you guys CANCLED THIS TRIP&WE HAD TO GO ON A BUS WITH 50 PEOPLE.We are due a credit and want to know when it will be given
Long trip, nice people but setup makes it not great
MaksimShligold, Oct 2023
Woke up very early to spend 2 hours driving from 1 hotel to the next to pickup other participants. Left us with little time at the Canyon. Guide and dtiver were nice.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Hello, Thank you for contacting us regarding your tour. We are happy that you had the opportunity to experience the Grand Canyon. On behalf of everyone here at GCD please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We are sorry to know that you had issues with your hotel pickups. It's nice to hear that you had a nice experience with both the guide and the driver. We appreciate your business.
Narrator on bus was not professional at all. Bragged on self way too much. Forgot to place lunch order. Bragged on self
Janice_B, Oct 2023
Grand canyon was beautiful. Enjoyed getting off bus from non professional narrator. He was far too proud of himself and left little to be desired.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value every client's opinion regarding our tours. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction. The tour guide provides facts and figures throughout the bus tour as well as being organized since visiting the Grand Canyon is very exciting and can be overwhelming. The commentary is meant to be informative (although most passengers feel that he is quite informative), but we apologize if you feel otherwise. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer service. Once again we are glad you had the opportunity to visit the Grand Canyon.
Grand Canyon was spectacular but poor food.
Ashish_S, Sep 2023
Grand Canyon was spectacular. The journey there and back was long, but we were aware of it and committed to it. Kevin (driver/guide) was friendly and knowledgeable; however, our tour had a few issues. The lunch (veggie wraps) was awful. Both veggie wraps were different. One of them only had lettuce in and the lettuce had gone off (I am happy to share pictures). We should not have been charged for this. We were looking forward to dinner and found out that there is no Chiptole or other food chain as advertised on the tour. We ended up skipping dinner.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Hello, Thank you for contacting us regarding your tour. We are happy that you had the opportunity to experience the Grand Canyon South Rim. As stated on our website, it does take 4.5 hours to go to the Grand Canyon and another 4.5 hours to come back to Las Vegas. All times are approximate and are subject to change. We agree Kevin is truly a gem to have on our team. We have passed on your excellent feedback to him. We are very sorry that the food did not meet your expectations. We recently started using this restaurant to patronize our local community. We have passed on your comments to their management team. Please accept our sincere apology due to our itinerary has been changed. We do not stop at Chipotle anymore. We appreciate your business and thank you for your understanding.
Great tour guide but ride iffy
Elizabeth_F, Sep 2023
The tour guide was awesome! Friendly, knowledgeable, and funny. The sprinter left a lot to be desired. The air conditioning from the roof leaked on 4 passengers, the driver’s window didn’t open, the seats were torn, and the diner location was not as advertised. Also, the hot breakfast is eaten on the sprinter which was not preferable.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Hello, Thank you for contacting us regarding your tour. We are happy that you had the opportunity to experience the Grand Canyon. We are glad that you enjoyed our tour guide we have passed along your positive feedback to him. We were very surprised to learn that the air conditioning was leaking because that sprinter had just undergone a full 45 point inspection and was cleared to go to the south rim. We have passed on your feedback to our management team. They have assured us that the mechanic will be working diligently to address and repair all the sprinter issues. Once again we are glad you had the opportunity to visit the Grand Canyon.
Unexpected cancellation
Natalia_E, Aug 2023
We booked small group tour in advance so we can enjoy get together with reunited family. The trip was canceled less than 24 hours prior to departure. Very disappointed as everyone was looking forward to it for some time. We were offered partial refund and a bus trip which was ok but not what we were planning for.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Hello, Thank you for contacting us regarding your tour. We are happy that you had the opportunity to experience the Grand Canyon. We're sorry your tour didn't match your expectations. Unfortunately, some things are beyond our control. We made the difficult decision to cancel the VIP tour due to the tour minimum has not been met. Instead of completely canceling the VIP tour, we offer our customers if they would like to switch to a motorcoach tour. We do not want our passengers to miss out on a great chance of a lifetime to explore the Grand Canyon. We are a very small family-owned business and we try to provide the best tours at the lowest cost. Our goal is to make sure everyone enjoys our tour. Our sincere thanks for your understanding.
Worst Trip ever
Tammy_M, Jul 2023
Not sure you want me to leave a full review here and I will be writing a letter to VIATOR. On top of everything going wrong the company was negligent in the maintenance of the vehicle
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Hello, Thank you for contacting us regarding your tour. We are happy that you had the opportunity to experience the Grand Canyon. On behalf of everyone here at GCD we want to offer our apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced due to a mechanical issue of the bus. This was an unforeseeable incident which we had no control over. All of the coaches chartered through a local third party by GCD are maintained at the highest industry standards, however, the extreme temperature we can experience in the American Southwest can take a toll on the buses. Please know that we have reached out to their management regarding the bus issues. They have assured us that their mechanics will be working diligently to address and repair all the bus issues. We are a small family-owned business and your feedback is very important to us as we value every passenger's opinion. We will surely take note of the events that occurred on your tour and address them with our team to improve our future tours. Thank you for your patience and understanding.
Very unprofessional
Christian_B, May 2023
Tour was canceled only sich me hours before departure, the tour operator did not respond since. Very unprofessional!
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Hello, Thank you for reaching out to us. We sincerely apologize for the breakdown of the vehicle and the inconvenience this may have caused. We are sorry that the vehicle was incapable of continuing its scheduled trip. Unfortunately, some things are beyond our control and the safety of our passengers is our number one priority. We offered everyone to reschedule their tour but in your case, you opted to cancel and you have been issued a full refund. Thank you for your patience and understanding. Thank you, Tour Orders Customer Service 702-833-1071 (Main) 866-717-8687 (Toll Free)
No tour and poor customer service.
Samuel_H, Apr 2022
TLDR: Tour cancelled due to low numbers. No good alternative offered. No help with refund. Poor and dismissive customer service. Avoid. Sadly the tour jad to he cancelled. This was understandable as the minimum number hadn't been met. This was in my terms and conditions and I was understanding. The T&Cs stated that I could get an alternative tour or a full refund. The tour offered was the big bus tour, which retails at significantly less than my tour. No mention of a partial refund occurred. I asked for a full refund from the operator and that simply told me to contact viator. I asked if they would let viator know the tour was cancelled. Again "just tell them yourself". I asked them to clarify if viator would give a refund without their Confirmation as they had already taken my money, however they sent me 2 messages. The first message was deleted by them in seconds (on WhatsApp, presumably something they regretted sending/didn't want me to read) and the second just said "co tact viator". I appreciate that viator will (and have processed my refund but GCD operator's had a dismissive and unreasonable attitude. Considering I had paid them £250 for a service I didn't receive, they were very unhelpful and came across as rude/insensitive. I should have listened to other reviews. Book with an alternative tour company. If anything goes wrong, this company cannot be trusted to help you.
Eagle point and guano point
Roberto_R, Apr 2022
Great and impressive experience. The view, the sight and the history was very enriched. The tour guy Derek was so kind and attentive
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hello, Roberto! We're happy to know that you enjoyed the views and had an impressive Grand Canyon experience. Thank you for choosing us as your tour provider.
Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour
Adrian_M, Apr 2022
I truly enjoyed our tour guide Laila and bus operator Anna. They took care of us and the beauty of the Grand Canyon is majestic. Nothing compares and encourage anyone interested to take this trip. It was a on my bucket list, will take this trip again in 2023.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hello, Adrian. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your Grand Canyon South Rim tour with Laila. We look forward to having you again on our tour in the future.
Excellent private tour with Grand Canyon Destinations!
Cristina_S, Dec 2021
So I booked this small group tour that was done by Grand Canyon Destinations through the Viator TripAdvisor company. This tour was fantastic! We had a family of 11. It was a 12 hr day starting at 6am. Our Tour Guide/Driver was David and he was amazing! He took us through the Hoover Dam area to a 2.5 hour walking tour through the South Rim of Grand Canyon. He is a great communicator and shared lots of local knowledge and stories throughout the trip. Our bathroom breaks we’re well planned and he also took us to a cool shop along old Route 66 where they paid an homage to the movies Cars. My kids loved it! They provided us with water and a nice deli lunch w/ chips and cookies. DAvid took very good care of us and he was an excellent and safe driver. Dress in layers and possibly an umbrella. It was pretty cold and we had some sleet come down during our walk. Thankfully we were prepared because he sent us a forecast of the expected weather the night before the trip. I highly recommend this tour. It was the highlight of our vacation.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Hello, Cristina! We appreciate you for sharing a detailed review of your tour with us! We're happy to know that you enjoyed every part of the tour and had a fantastic time!
Absolutely Gorgeous
Teresa_R, Dec 2021
It was a wonderful trip. Our drive/tour guide did a terrific job. He was very knowledgeable and shared all kinds of information.
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Hello, Teresa! We're happy to know that you had a wonderful experience touring with us! Thank you for the positive review!
Glad we experienced it
Douglas_R, Jul 2021
The last stop on the tour with the picture shoots!. Grant the bus driver and Brandon the tour guide were excellent and made the tour very comical and exciting!!
Response from Host, Jul 2021
We're happy to know that you enjoyed the tour, Rupert! We appreciate the positive feedback!
Awesome Tour - Do it!
Martha_M, Feb 2020
Rigo was an EXCELLENT tour guide; friendly, informative, collaborative and fun! The bus was comfortable & clean. Small group allowed for quicker pit stops and better group connections.The tour was a full day but...spectacular! Highly recommend! Great day! Great people! Incredible views!
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Hello, We appreciate the time you took to leave an amazing review of your time spent with our Driver/Guide Rigo! Knowing he had provided you with a memorable tour leaves us ecstatic! Thank you for supporting us and leaving a 5-star!
Trip Cancelled Late the Night before and we were not contacted.
Nicole C, Oct 2019
I had several email exchanges and phone conversations about my reservation/trip in the days leading up to the tour. After waiting at the pick up spot for 30 minutes I called to check on the status and was informed that our trip was cancelled. I was upset at the lack of communication and the customer service experience I recieved after.
Response from Host, Nov 2019
I am very sorry to hear there was a communication problem with our reservations team, I will forward this review on to our Operations Manager so she can address the communication breakdown. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
Disappointment!
Rosalyn_R, Oct 2019
Very disappointed with this tour. Basically the tour guide was just a driver. Picked us up at hotel. We didn’t get to see Hoover Dam due to high winds? Then driver tried to put a movie on which was rejected by all passengers. At Grand Canyon driver dropped up off at beginning of south rim trail. Told us the trail was only mile and half. Not true! Told us if problem call him and he would come and pickup. Not true. We called him 3 times at three locations where other vehicles were picking up and he claimed it was not possible to pick up keep walking! When 5 of 8 of our group finally arrived at pick up area he said we were 15 minutes late. Drive back no conversation from driver and when asked if anyone needed to make a rest stop before dinner stop even though we were 15 minutes late. Group declined stop. Half hour later driver himself decided he needed quick rest stop as well as need to pick up a soda chips! When we stopped for dinner we were told it would be shorted than regular because we were still 15 minutes behind schedule and he was not looking forward to drive back. Everyone was quiet on ride back. All he talked about was his 4 day drive back from NY to pick up minibus. Very disappointed with Robbie the driver!
Response from Host, Oct 2019
I would like to apologize for the experience you had with your driver/guide Robbie. I have forwarded your review to his supervisor and will address it immediately. Thank you for your review and bringing to our attention where we have fallen short on providing the world class service we feel all our clients deserve.
THIS TOUR DIDNT GO
ALISON_B, Jul 2019
This tour didn't operate and I cant get a response from emails requesting a refund. Please contact me urgently - We didn't cancel - The tour operator did.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
Special Offer
No Photo
Grand Canyon South Rim Small Group Tour

241

15 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$185.00
$175.75
Special Offer
No Photo
Small Group Grand Canyon West Rim Day Trip from Las Vegas

121

11 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$224.00
$168.00
Special Offer
No Photo
Grand Canyon National Park South Rim Bus Tour from Las Vegas

2,016

15 to 16 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$154.00
$93.94
No Photo
Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Small Group Day Tour

868

10 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$199.00

Explore Similar Things to Do