Louisville

Bourbon Tour (03) : Buffalo Trace, Woodford, Four Roses, Wild Turkey, Other

Louisville, USA
Bourbon Trail WoodFord and Four Roses 19 90 Wild turkey or Buffalo Trace
  • 6 to 12 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Discover Kentucky's long bourbon-making history on a half-day tour. Choose three distilleries to visit from a list of over 15 and spend your day taking guided tours of the facilities. Learn about the production process of making bourbon as well as the tumultuous history of distilling during the Prohibition. You also get to sample several bourbons from each brand at the end of every tour.
  • Avoid the hassle of driving between tastings
  • Hassle-free transfers from your Louisville hotel
  • Upgrade to add a fourth distillery to your tour
  • Visit iconic distilleries like Jim Beam and Maker's Mark

What's Included

  • Due to the options you select, you will receive the start time and meeting point in the itinerary.
  • Admission to 3 Bourbon Distilleries (depending on distillery availability)
  • Distillery Tours and/or Tastings Included
  • Customizable tour - you may choose yor preferred 3 distilleries (dependent on their availability)
  • Coordinated Start Time - it depends on you chosen option
  • Hotel Pick-Up from Downtown Louisville
  • The client must send an email with the list of distilleries he wishes to visit
  • Lunch

Meeting and Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Mussel & Burger Bar
    113 S 7th St, Louisville, KY 40202, USA

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 6/27/2019 - 6/2/2025

    Monday - Sunday : 08:00 AM - 04:00 PM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Start by taking your pick from a curated selection of over fifteen distilleries, then embark on a series of guided tours to discover the secrets and stories behind your three chosen brands. Some options inclued Woodform Reserve Distillery and Four Roses Distillery.

Next, allow your guide to arrange your pickup from your Louisville hotel and enjoy convenient transportation to your first location.

Once there, delve into the rich history of bourbon production, including its tumultuous journey through Prohibition. Take the opportunity to sample a variety of bourbons and receive a tour at each distillery.

If you wish, upgrade your experience to include a fourth distillery visit, and sip your way through locations like Jim Beam and Maker's Mark before heading back to your hotel in your convenient transfer vehicle.

Four Roses

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Woodford Reserve Distillery

1 hour 15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Wild Turkey Distillery

1 hour 15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Bardstown

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Stitzel-Weller Distillery

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Maker's Mark

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Limestone Branch Distillery

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Preservation Distillery

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Bulleit Distilling Co Visitor Experience

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Jeptha Creed

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Willett Distilling Company

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

James B. Beam Distilling Co.

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Buffalo Trace Distillery

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • The tour start time may vary because we depend on the availability of the tour. The type of vehicle depends on availability
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travelers
Operated by Blue Bourbon Experience

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
JOYCE_A
We really enjoyed seeing the process of distilling but the history of the three distilleries was the best part. The guides were great - so informative and fun! We would definitely recommend this tour. The bourbon drinker in our group was excited to be able to buy some bourbon that he was unable to get anywhere else.

Reviews

4.5
352 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 352 reviews
Wish the driver gave more...
Meredith_S, May 2024
Wish the driver gave more information about meeting time and location. We had to ask every trip or would get a text to meet now, hard to plan.
Response from Host, May 2024
Meredith Sheridan remember that all clients receive their itinerary with the exact schedule at each distillery. If you have questions, you can talk to the driver. The vehicle does not change its location in the parking lot. Your itinerary was special because you visited Buffalo Trace, Makers Mark, and Four Roses. Thanks for your review
I highly recommend this company for their excellent personalized service and driver's patience
Jason_K, May 2024
It was perfect how you customized our tour based on our interests. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting Woodford Reserve, Buffalo Trace, Four Roses, and Wild Turkey during our day trip. We were able to enter Buffalo Trace without waiting in line because the driver was local and knew the distilleries. Only two people's comments about the food and the purchase of Eagle Rare made the group uncomfortable. At Woodford Reserve, our guide Belkis offers to pick up our food orders from Stave restaurant, since most of the group wants to include a Wild Turkey stop in the itinerary, but they want to eat there. Additionally, they complained that the Eagle Rare at Buffalo Trace ran out by noon, but that is not the driver's responsibility. I highly recommend this company for their excellent personalized service and driver's patience, but request private or small group service instead.
Good driver bad planning!
Johnathan_B, May 2024
The driver was great! But scheduling this was a pain, it was such a pain the most of our group said the same thing! Stopping at Buffalo Trace at the end was dumb bc most of the best bottles had already sold out!!! Not stopping for food when we had been drinking all day made no sense either.
Response from Host, May 2024
Johnathan Bennett you chose your itinerary (May 17, 2024), which included Four Roses, Buffalo Trace, and Woodford Reserve, and the schedule was sent to you more than two weeks ago. You had a Buffalo Trace tour scheduled for 12:15, and it is not the company's responsibility if the special bottles are gone in a short time but this day they have a Weller Special Reserve and others until 5:00 pm. Buffalo Trace sold Blantons the day after your tour (May 18, 2024) and there were bottles available until 2:30 pm. The driver even showed them the cafe and shared the menu at Buffalo Trace, but your group preferred delivery, and the driver kindly picked up the food. Additionally, Woodford Reserve offers cheese boxes, local snack items, and special occasions snacks. As evidence, we will upload photos of Buffalo Trace and Woodford Reserve menus. Thanks for your review.
Bourbon trail was worth the trip!
monaehasz, May 2024
Great destinations, timing was good, our driver was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed four distilleries since it was a small group of 4 people, which was an added bonus to go to Wild Turkey. Beautiful country side where the distilleries were, surrounded by horse farms. I want go back!
Fun Bourbon Country Escape with the Boys
Joe_G, May 2024
Finally decided to do the guy's trip to Bourbon Country. Our itinerary included and we visited Woodford Reserve, Four Roses and Buffalo Trace. These were our top 3 choices and the tour operator was able to accommodate for the six of us. Everything went flawlessly from our pickup in downtown Louisville to the three distilleries on the itinerary with a bonus stop at Wild Turkey on the way thanks to our driver's (Belkis) recommendation and knowledge and experience with the local area and timing of things. Highly recommend and would do it again in a heartbeat with this tour operator.
Not a bus
Drake_D, May 2024
Nothing vip about this tour over priced. It was not a bus not a transit just a mini van. Not happy could have driven ourselves cheaper.
Response from Host, May 2024
Drake Davison The vehicles are based on the number of people in your group, which was three. We offer a variety of tours with different itineraries every day. You went alone in the vehicle because the itinerary you chose isn't chosen by bourbon lovers. According to the tour description, the vehicle depends on availability. Our fleet includes SUVs, minivans, vans, buses, limousines, vans, and buses. Thank you for you review!
Great tour
kzelenovskiy, May 2024
Great guide and tours. Comfortable transportation and amazing driver. We even added another distillery
Great Experience Highly Recommend
Rita_B, May 2024
Prompt pick up at our hotel doorstep in a clean, comfortable vehicle. Just my husband and me with our guide and another couple. Our guide, Belkis, was professional, friendly, and knowledgable. She kept us right on schedule! We visited Four Roses, Wild Turkey, Woodford Reserve, and Buffalo Trace. Note, most were cash-free so be prepared with a debit or credit card for the gift shops. Time for a midday meal stop would have been ideal (so bring some snacks!) though we were able to purchase some rather tasty bar snacks at Wild Turkey. Remember to bring cash for tour guide gratuities at the distilleries and for your guide! Overall, very good value for the price compared to similar tours we’ve done.
Response from Host, May 2024
Thank very much for your review, we really appriciated and we are glad you enjoy the tour.
Exceeded our expectations.
Kayla_W, May 2024
Upon booking, we were asked to choose five distilleries we wanted to visit, then we were offered six options and chose Woodford Reserve, Wild Turkey, and Buffalo Trace. While all three distilleries were impressive, Wild Turkey surprised us the most; we highly recommend it.
Response from Host, May 2024
Thank very much for your review
Highly recommend.
Cynthia_L, May 2024
Our guide, Belkis, texted the meet time and place. She was on time; took us to the distilleries we picked and extremely helpful. When Lux Row changed our tour time to and hour later, Belkis found another distillery for us to visit during the wasted hour. And she even took us to the front door of our hotel instead of our meetup place.
Response from Host, May 2024
Thanks for booking with us, and thanks for your review
Dont bother
Nicole_L, May 2024
Tour was poorly planned and rushed. We even received a text message when we were half way through the tasting that we had to leave. 2 out of 3 of the distilleries were free tastings and the other one was $25. I suggest you do the tour yourself or take an uber for a more relaxed experience.
Response from Host, May 2024
Nicole Lascelle, Jeanne Lascelle according to your Sunday itinerary, you arrived at Buffalo Trace at 1:00 pm and stayed until 3:30 pm. Your driver is of German descent. At 3:30, all eight members of the group were done with their shopping and even had lunch at Buffalo Trace. Due to your claim so they had to allow you 15 minutes more to make purchases at the gift shop, leaving the group waiting in the vehicle. Adicionalmente, they had to request personalized service from the last distillery due to their 15-minute late arrival. Our apologies that the 2.5 hours at Buffalo Trace were not enough. Thank for you review
Not enough time at the distilleries!!!
Jeanne_K, May 2024
My rating is NO reflection on our driver. He was very friendly and nice, but we could hardly understand a word he said. Our main complaint is there was not enough time at each distillery to shop. We were very, very rushed. At Buffalo Trace we actually had to leave the tour before it was over to make it back to the Van. Had no time to shop. Was not able to buy the Weller Whisky, which is what specifically wanted to get at this distillery. Very disappointed!!! All of this was NOT the drivers fault. Would not do this tour again.
Response from Host, May 2024
Nicole Lascelle, Jeanne Lascelle according to your Sunday itinerary, you arrived at Buffalo Trace at 1:00 pm and stayed until 3:30 pm. Your driver is of German descent. At 3:30, all eight members of the group were done with their shopping and even had lunch at Buffalo Trace. Due to your claim so they had to allow you 15 minutes more to make purchases at the gift shop, leaving the group waiting in the vehicle. Adicionalmente, they had to request personalized service from the last distillery due to their 15-minute late arrival. Our apologies that the 2.5 hours at Buffalo Trace were not enough. Thank for you review
disapointed
maureen_t, May 2024
Driver was late, picked up in the wrong location, drove 90mph, felt rushed. nothing else to say. Did not like being rushed
Response from Host, May 2024
Our pick up location is Downtown Louisville, this information is in the tour description, but last minute you request to be picked up at the Aloft Hotel east, which was only 20 minutes away, and the driver obliged and you arrived late for your first experience. Since May 3 (Derby) was a very busy day, it was impossible for them to run 90 miles, and they even took everyone 15 minutes early because of traffic. Using the GPS, we determined that the driver's maximum speed was 70 miles per hour. Thanks for your review.
Bourbon Trail tour- Interesting and fun!
Sue_M, May 2024
Woodford Distillery was so interesting- beautiful grounds and fascinating tour guide. Buffalo Trace and Peerless were also very interesting. Our driver/tour guide Belkis was wonderful! It was a tour we highly recommend!
Response from Host, May 2024
Thanks for booking with us, and thanks for your review
We enjoyed the tour
Elizabeth_W, May 2024
Woodford Reserve was really great would highly recommend. We also saw Buffalo trace and then peerless and enjoyed each tasting.
Response from Host, May 2024
Hi , thank you so much for the review !!
Leave the planning/driving to someone else!
Samantha_B, Apr 2024
Fantastic, fun day at the distilleries! Our driver Belkis was fantastic. Great driver and very knowledgeable about the history of the area. Highly recommend this program.
Response from Host, May 2024
Thank you for your 5 star review .
The extra Castle and Key...
Jeff_W, Apr 2024
The extra Castle and Key stop was cool. Great overall experience. New and comfortable ride, Jorge was very attentive to our needs.
Response from Host, May 2024
Thank you for your review we appriciated.
We had a great time
Jared_T, Apr 2024
Great tour, perfect mix of stops. Had great and efficient guides. Would definitely recommend! I’m trying to meet the character minimum.
Response from Host, May 2024
Thank very much for your review, we really appriciated and we are glad you enjoy the tour.
Perfect day drinking tour.
Chad_C, Apr 2024
This was a wonderful day and the other couples on the trip added to the experience. By the end we were all acting like lime time friends. It was a fun way to experience the bourbon trail.
Response from Host, May 2024
Thank you for your review we appriciated.
Bourbon history and good tastes!
JOYCE_A, Apr 2024
We really enjoyed seeing the process of distilling but the history of the three distilleries was the best part. The guides were great - so informative and fun! We would definitely recommend this tour. The bourbon drinker in our group was excited to be able to buy some bourbon that he was unable to get anywhere else.
...

From $259.99

-You will not receive a refund if you cancel.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Bourbon Tour (03) : Buffalo Trace, Woodford, Four Roses, Wild Turkey, Other

346

12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$259.99
No Photo
Frankfort Bourbon Tours: Pick 3! Buffalo Trace, 4 Roses, & More

3

8 to 10 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$459.00
No Photo
Groups: Makers Mark OR Buffalo Trace OR Woodford or Others

19

5 to 9 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$179.99

Explore Similar Things to Do