TripHot Air Balloon Ride in Luxor Egypt VIP

TripHot Air Balloon Ride in Luxor, Egypt - VIP

Luxor, Egypt
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Sail high over the famous monuments of Luxor on a sunrise hot air balloon ride. Get unmatched aerial views and photo ops as your private guide provides insightful narrative of the area. Landmarks you’ll see during your flight include Queen Hatshepsut's Temple and Karnak, among other important structures. Plus, you can enjoy stress-free pickup from select Luxor hotels, too.
  • See Luxor from above the crowds on land with this hot-air balloon ride
  • Bottled water is provided to keep you hydrated
  • Convenient pickup and drop-off included for an easy time
  • Get a flight certificate and souvenir at the end of your ride

What's Included

  • Hot air balloon flight.
  • Pick up from hotel/port and drop off.
  • All taxes, fees , handling charges.
  • Flight certificate
  • Snacks
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified

Meeting and Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Pickup details

We pick you up from Hotel, Flat or Nile cruise in Luxor.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Hot-air balloon flight over Luxor
  • Amazing sunrise aerial views of the River Nile, Karnak Temple and Hatshepsut Temple
  • See the West Bank in the early morning away from the crowds and desert heat
  • English-speaking guide/pilot Pre-flight snacks and refreshments
  • Flight certificate and souvenir
  • Pick-up and drop-off from Luxor hotels or port
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


499 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 499 reviews
Rosa_R, Apr 2024
I get cancelled at very last minute but they charge me.I did not get my refund, they cancelled me and want me to get other day I have to leave but I’m still waiting for my refund
Read this before purchase.
Mateo_V, Mar 2024
The company is incredibly unrealiable. This is how Hot trips work in Luxor: there's a first shift that launches to see sunrise, and then there's a second shift that goes a little later. In theory my booking was for pickup at 4 am to go to the first shift. The company reached the day before around 5 pm to notify about a later pickup around 6 am. We were ready at the time and the driver arrived 40 minutes late. Then, when we were going to the launching site they said the activity got cancelled due to the weather. They said we were going to receive a refund through Viator, when I applied the Viator employee said that the company had not responded to the request 21 days after the trip was supposed to take place. I do think is one of the activities to do in Luxor, but I definitively would recommed a different company for that.
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us. We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your trip to Luxor. We understand that you were disappointed with the changes in pickup time, the delay in the driver's arrival, and the subsequent cancellation of the activity due to inclement weather. We sincerely apologize for any frustration or inconvenience caused by these circumstances. Regarding your refund, we have already processed it through Viator, and it should be reflected in your account soon. We apologize for any delay or miscommunication that occurred in this process. We will personally follow up with Viator to ensure that your refund is processed promptly. We appreciate your feedback and take it seriously. We strive to provide reliable and enjoyable experiences for our customers, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion. We understand your recommendation for considering a different company for future trips, and we will take this into account as we continually strive to improve our services. Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, and we genuinely appreciate your feedback. If you have any further concerns or questions, please feel free to contact our customer service directly. We would be more than happy to assist you. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future. Best regards,
Felipe_R, Mar 2024
Be carefull, it’s a scam. They never showed up in the hotel and never contact to my to say something. I’m still waiting for my refund.
Scam on the pictures up time
Tatiana_C, Feb 2024
The air balloon was nice but they need more organización because I booked my fly at 3:30 but on the day before they send me a message saying that the picked up time is at 5:30. I told them that I book at 3:30 and they said for the weather the fly is gonna be later. I trust them but when we are on the way to the ballon we saw some balloons flying around 6:15. I try to understand everything because that can’t be ruin my trip. But when we arrive at the area of the balloons. We just get off the bus and run towards the balloons. Everything was quickly and we can made pictures in that area. For me was no the best experience and we land in different area and we are force to left a tip. The pilot asked everyone for tips for the effort that he made with the balloon and I really don’t like the way that he express. I understand the tradition but no one have to asked for tips and point on you if you don’t give money for his effort. But we paid for the ballon through the website. Tips is an option not compulsory.
Amazing Experience
JoAnna_S, Jan 2024
This was a magical experience and would highly recommend the event. From start to finish it was organised in a very professional manner and our pilot "Bob" was amazing and very informative. Don't hesitate just book and have an awesome time.
Amazing activity
Antonios_K, Jan 2024
A once in a life a experience organized perfect. The view and the hole process was amazing and the price also. Book with them!!!
Missed the sunrise.
Lei_Z, Jan 2024
We booked the 5:30 am sunrise tour. The operator picked us up at 6:15 am and let us wait in the van until 6:40. By the time we were in the air, it’s well past 7:30 am. Other than this, it’s a fantastic experience.
Tardy operator misses sunrise
Aditya_K, Jan 2024
I got up at 3.00 am to be a part of the sunrise balloon ride. The early morning ride was priced at double the price of a day time balloon ride. Were there at the site well before sunrise. Extremely disappointed that the balloon took off after so many other balloons had taken off - well after sunrise. The magic moment was lost.
Great, but wouldn’t do it again.
BishalKumar_S, Jan 2024
Great view. Great experience. Paid almost double the rate to see the sunrise. Unfortunately, by the time we were taken up, the sun was already way up. Other than that, it was great. Just remember, in Egypt, when they say any time, it means you can add on at least another 15 minutes to that. Nothing is on time. My advice for the hot air balloon is take the normal one and not the one for sunrise.
Good ride but company was poor
Qaiser_M, Dec 2023
The balloon ride itself was amazing, but need to mention some disappointments. We had asked for a sunrise time ride, they agreed to it but we were picked up late which meant that we didn't go for sunrise. When we complained they just shrugged their shoulders. Poor communication
Late pickup
Xun_M, Dec 2023
I chose 4.30am as the pickup time but the actual pickup time was 6am. The actual flight time was 7am and we totally missed the sunrise
Response from Host, Dec 2023
We are so sorry about that but your booking was last minutes So your time was not available and we told you that if you want to enjoy by it or canceled and have full refund
Hot air ballon experience in Luxor
Ibrar_A, Dec 2023
I paid $48 for this experience, which is considerably cheaper than the $90 quoted at hotel. The tour operator messaged me on whatsapp post booking relatively quickly once booked to confirm details such as passport details, hotel. I booked the 4.30am slot expecting to catch sunrise, however the pick up time I was told was 5.50am, I queried was this not too late? And the response was "no, don't worry". So I didn't get to see the sunrise flight. Once picked up from the hotel with other passengers, we travelled to the bank of the Eastern side of the river, had some hot drinks and then took a ferry to the other Western side of the river. It's quite a time consuming process until you're actually in the ballon, once in the balloon it is a good experience, although a bit cramped with so many other people. The flight is over the Howard Carter house area. Overall, it's a good experience but not as good as hot air balloon ride in Cappadocia.
Scam Operator
Ankita_G, Dec 2023
Every bad review you read is correct. If you want to see the sunrise, DO NOT book with this provider. It's a scam. Sunrise time was 6.33am and we were waiting in the car at 6.40 (i have proof). I objected a day before the tour that the pick up time does not seem sufficient and the tour operator had the audacity to assure that I will see the sunrise (i have the chat screenshot). All lies. Do not book.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
We are so sorry about that but your booking was last minutes So your time was not available and we told you that if you want to enjoy by it or canceled and have full refund
Don’t use this agency! They gave me the wrong cheap tour, ignored me after it was paid and didn’t care less! Terrible!
S_T, Dec 2023
Terrible! They took me on the WRONG tour, and never cared. It was NOT the sunrise as I booked at 3:30AM, but the second tour after the sun was up, so it wasn’t a sunrise balloon ride! The agency ignored me, they read my messages but decided not to reply! After the driver that picked us up, we realized the mistake, I immediately tried to fix it, but the driver had no clue how anything is managed and told me to call the agency. The agency was nowhere to fe found, the 2 contacts I had (that were in touch with me earlier) ignored me! I was proactive and asked if we can fix this by booking me on the tour the following day, but again they couldn’t care leas and ignored me. Days have passed and I didn’t get any reply, nor a sorry. Viator is also utterly useless, as they were at least reachable, but are sending me copy-paste replies that don’t mention anything specific, so they never even checked any facts as the middleman in this transaction… My recommendation for a balloon ride in Luxor is to book it only once here directly with a tour operator, and to make sure they don’t scam you with the wrong tour, tell them you are paying only before you board the balloon, or after. As I went through this terrible situation, and my sunrise experience was ruined, I checked how it works here through locals, and to my surprise the agencies are very often scamming people and taking them to the wrong tour as it’s more profitable to try and sell higher price tickets for the sunrise experience, and they wouldn’t care about you that booked and planned in advance as long as they squeeze more money out of others. They might even not pick you up if it benefits their profits. Again, terrible experience with this agency (Enjoy Egypt Tours), and equally terrible experience with Viator. Book a balloon ride only once in Luxor, and don’t pay before you are sure you are getting what you were promised! Follow the Egyptian approach of doing business to survive here!
Response from Host, Dec 2023
We are so sorry about that but your booking was last minutes So your time was not available and we told you that if you want to enjoy by it or canceled and have full refund
It was OK.
SabineW, Dec 2023
There was not a lot of communication. I had to nag to confirm pickup time and location. Also they need to state that copy of passport is needed before the trip. I got picked up. Drove ca 500m to a mini bus meeting point. Sat there. After I inquired what was happening, I was told to sit and wait for other people to arrive. In the meantime operator phoned my Airbnb lady @ 5 am in the morning, asking where I was! Then someone got me, led me to another minibus and I was told to sit down. After awhile I asked what was happening, been told we are waiting for people. It seems all the operators share the mini buses between them and ensure they are all full. It got better when 2 operators with a bunch of people arrived from the East bank. We got packed in the bus, drove maybe 1 km and then waited for the police clearance. Both guys were good and communicated well. The ad says includes snacks, which I didn't see (but I did not drive all the way back to pick up point,maybe they were handed out there). Suggest to delete that in add. We basically were one of the last balloons to go up. Then we stayed pretty much in the same spot (not very high) and did 360°turns so that everybody had a view of everything. Flight duration was certainly shorter that advertised. The one guide was very good and he made up for all the mishaps. My suggestion would be that the operator makes an effort to contact each client the day before (not 10 h before the advertised pick up time) with pick up time and explains the process. Otherwise it is certainly an activity one must do in Luxor.
Nice but far from perfect
Alina_M, Dec 2023
All started with a wrong pickup time but that was rectified and we saw the sunrise, no problem. The Balloon ride itself is about 30mins. It's a very cool experience if you never did it, otherwise I recommend you visit Cappadoccia in Turkey to do so. There was no snack/water provided, during the long waiting time after pick-up or even after the ride, they just gave us a certificate and sent us back home. The team is very nice but apart from that the overall experience is not outstanding.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Thanks for your review and we are so sorry about that
happy time
Hyoseock_K, Nov 2023
It was the most enjoyable and happiest time for me. It reminded me of the balloon tour I took while traveling to Cappadocia two years ago and I was happy.
Shoznu_M, Oct 2023
I booked the 4am slot 1st ride to see the sunrise. They picked me up at 5.45. I asked will this be enough time to see sum rise they said yes. They LIED By the time i got to the hot air balloon it was 7.50am sun is fully up. Disappointed. However the service of the guide is 10/10 he was great.
Justin_B, Oct 2023
Booked a early sunrise tour for 430 am. Was told a day before to pay additional $40 for both of us CASH due to increase in gas. They changed the pick up time for 0510 am which was no problem at first. Arrived to the boat around 545 am waited for about 20 minutes. Then was told to transfer to another boat to wait another 25 minutes. We missed the sunrise which we originally booked for and was really disappointed. I would not consider booking again if you don’t going through the hassle.
Do not book here!! they will raise your price at the last minute...
JuanAndres_A, Oct 2023
To start with, at the last minute (as they have done to several people, as I can see in the comments) they raised the price $20 per person with excuses of the price of gas, which I agreed, because they informed me hours before the tour. Then, I booked for the first flight in the morning; because I had a flight to Cairo. I contacted members of their team, who were very rude. I tried in many ways to find a solution to make the tour without affecting either, but it was impossible to negotiate with them. I booked here because the average price was cheaper, but DO NOT DO IT. In the end, you get the same or more expensive than other options with better reviews and you do not get any surprises.

Explore Similar Things to Do