Haleakala Express Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui

Badge of ExcellenceHaiku-Pauwela, United States
Haleakala Express Bike Tour Self Guided
  • 5 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Cycle down Haleakala, Maui’s largest volcano, during this self-guided bike excursion. Explore at your own pace during this 23-mile downhill bike ride. Meet your driver in the North Shore town of Haiku for transportation to the top of Haleakala and admire the best views on Maui. Begin cycling at 6,500 feet in elevation, and cruise down mountain switchbacks during the ride. Stop for photographs, a casual lunch, and explore the historic town of Makawao at your leisure.
  • Cycle down Haleakala Volcano at your own pace
  • Ride for 23 scenic downhill miles to the town of Haiku
  • Explore at your leisure and stop for photographs
  • Transportation to the top of Haleakala included

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Helly Hansen Windbreaker Top & Bottom
  • Bell Helmet
  • Custom Kona Mountain Bike
  • Da Kine Backpack
  • Gratuities
  • Please bring you own Water and Snacks

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 810 Haiku Rd
    810 Haiku Rd, Haiku, HI 96708, USA

    * Please meet us at our shop in the historic Haiku Marketplace. 810 Haiku Rd, Haiku, HI 96708

Start time

09:30 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • We do not offer hotel pickup, but transportation from our base of operations to the National Park is included
  • Minimum Height for Bikers is 4'10"
  • Minimum Age for Bikers is 15 years old
  • Must have recent biking experience
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 96 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Amazing experience with Tim and the crew, They were very friendly and knowledgeable about not only the bikes but the history and culture of the area. The high speed downhill experience down the crater is out of this world. I would highly recommend this tour as everything went perfectly. Visit Maui! It’s not all destroyed by the fires.


257 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 257 reviews
What a unique experience…...
Jeremy_E, Jan 2024
What a unique experience… great stories and fantastic views! We had a wonderful time on the bike ride… just enough adventure!
Perfect Day
michael_b, Dec 2023
Amazing experience with Tim and the crew, They were very friendly and knowledgeable about not only the bikes but the history and culture of the area. The high speed downhill experience down the crater is out of this world. I would highly recommend this tour as everything went perfectly. Visit Maui! It’s not all destroyed by the fires.
Not as advertised
Mike_S, Dec 2023
Because of local rule changes the actual bike riding is only two 15 minute repeat loops. Tim did a nice job with tour to cover short ride but this was bike ride!! Also driver left first, instead of trailing bikers, one rider crashed with bloody injuries and had to ride down to van/trailer to get first aid???
Bucket list achieved!
Curt_S, Nov 2023
Had such an enjoyable day, The bike ride is one thing, but the experience of the local knowledge of Kimo,, our driver and guide, including the local floral, local history, tours of the area, etc., is hard to beat. We were in a small group and great people to bike the mountain with. We all had the best time and we would do it again and highly recommend this adventure to all.
oleg_k, Jul 2023
Great experience. Because of some local restrictions through the middle part of the tour, we got to do the most exciting part twice, which in my opinion, makes it even better than before.
July Bike Tour
Nicholas_H, Jul 2023
Kimi was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable! The top part of the ride is exhilarating, super fun.
Worth it - won’t regret it!
AnnMarie_L, Jul 2023
This excursion came highly recommended by friends and we’re so happy we did it! Kimo was a great tour guide up and down the mountain - very knowledgeable, personable, and had lots of stories to tell :) Amazing views and cool activity to partake in. Definitely check out the local towns - so much to see and do ❤️
Great Ride!
GARY_B, Jun 2023
Wonderful experience! Second time doing this ride, a section of the ride has been taken out so that was a little disappointing but no fault of theirs. Would highly recommend!
Recommend— I’m not sure...
Brandon_E, May 2023
Recommend— I’m not sure the tour guide is necessary. We did it solo and still had a tiny group feel and knew where to go. It’s an easy route
It is disappointing that...
It is disappointing that half of this ride was eliminated by the local access restriction. It has definitely been spoiled.
Response from Host, May 2023
We are disappointed as well. Vote for local officials who have your best interest in mind. To accommodate this change, we have modified our tours to include TWO runs of the switchbacks. Considered the best part of the bike ride, we now do it twice. In the end I do believe the best part of the bike rides are covered and it remains a top quality activity. Thank you for riding with us.
Jessica_Y, Apr 2023
Amazing views!! This is a fun and excellent adventure! Simply thrilling with an amazing staff to help guide you along the way!
Not what it used to be
Tom_K, Mar 2023
Guide was great and equipment was adequate. I have done this trip before and then we could go all the way top to bottom. Unfortunately government and neighborhood pressures have made the trip less interesting and fun
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Mahalo for your review. It is true that the new law means the bike ride is not what it used to be. But we intend to make the experience just as good if not better, while showing our respect to the law and our community. We look forward to adding to our tour experience and continuing to provide extensive, informative and entertaining tours to our guests. Thank You.
Big shuttle section in middle of ride (and staff needing customer service training)
David_S, Mar 2023
Unfortunately the young woman at the front desk left a bad first impression. When we entered the shop she was talking on her cell phone in an obvious personal conversation which went on for an additional 5 minutes before even acknowledging her customers (we were the only ones in the shop and only feet from the front desk.). The trip has also been modified as of February 1, 2023 so that a large portion of the middle of the ride has been converted to a bike shuttle in a van due to recent ordinances by local governments prohibiting bike tours on their streets. This is unfortunate because it eliminates such a large part of the ride (after the exciting Haleakala park section) yet costs the self-guided tour operators to provide staff & van service. Because of these factors I can’t recommend this ride at the current price (but understand it is costing the operators even more.)
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for the service you received upon check in. This is completely unacceptable and not to our standards, and will be addressed accordingly. We are also sorry, though out of our control, about the recent changes. We will continue to provide the best product and service we can under these unfortunate regulations, and appreciate your understanding and concern.
Not worth the money.
Tina_L, Feb 2023
The staff were very nice but the ride nothing like website promised. We missed nine miles of the ride due to new city ordinance not allowing us to ride through Kulua. Half of the ride was removed. We were not offered any discount for this inconvenience.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Thank you for your response. We do have options for you, please give us a call.
OK experience but would not recommend
Steven_L, Feb 2023
The guide on the bus was great, the upper views were wonderful but the middle piece missing was a huge disappointment and the time through town after check in was in eventful, just like riding through town with traffic and nothing really to see.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate our guests patience as we continue to fine tune our operations in accordance to county law and what is best for our community. We are implementing some new things and look forward to improving the experience.
Marty_C, Feb 2023
We had a great time. Great tour guide. We would do this again. The bikes were in good condition and everyone was very helpful.
Not as advertised!
David_D, Feb 2023
Not as advertised. We had to reload onto bus for 9 miles (40%) of the ride. Had to make constant “safety” stops. This was not a self guided tour at all. Completely disappointed.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Unfortunately due to community concerns leading to recently implemented government ordinance Feb 1, 2023, the ride was modified to not bike through the kula residential areas. This is due to safety concerns of the bikers and local traffic. We have made attempts to inform our guests about these changes.
A Trip Highlight
Robert_G, Jan 2023
The guides, Dan and Tim were great. They made the drive up to the top very enjoyable. Self guided trip down the mountain was exciting. Had lunch in Mackawao. Will recommend to friends.
22 miles, mostly downhill
jim_p, Dec 2022
Very good weather. On our drive up to the start of the ride, Kimo, our driver, provided a lot of local info on that portion of the Island as well as some of his personal stories. Having bikes with disk brakes is a must!
The comedy act on the...
joe_m, Dec 2022
The comedy act on the ride up was entertaining and informative. Great job! Unfortunately, the clouds rolled in, obstructing the view.
Special Offer

From $90.60

$129.44 Save $38.84

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Special Offer
No Photo
Haleakala Express Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui


5 hours
Free Cancellation
Special Offer
No Photo
Haleakala Sunrise Best Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui


8 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Best Haleakala Downhill Self-Guided Bike Tour with Maui Sunriders


4 to 5 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do