Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour 6,500 to Sea Level

Maui, USA
Mountain Riders Predawn Morning Bike Tour from 6 500 to Sea level
  • 5 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


If you want to combine sightseeing with something more active than the usual bus tours, book this guided bike tour down Maui's dormant volcano, Haleakala. Starting very early in the morning for the best sunrise views (and to beat the heat) pedal downhill, riding along switchbacks, through Haleakala Ranch and past Kula. Continue through the towns of Makawao and Paia, and finally finish up oceanside at Paia Bay Beach Park. Includes hotel pickup and drop-off.
  • Combine sightseeing with an energetic activity by biking down Haleakala
  • Set out early to see the volcano bathed in its pre-dawn colors
  • Get insights into the geology, flora, and fauna of the park from your guide

What's Included

  • Bottled water
  • Snacks (with a no-host meal stop)
  • Local guide
  • Use of helmet and chrome cruiser bike
  • Gratuities
  • Haleakala Park Tour

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 497 Baldwin Ave
    497 Baldwin Ave, Paia, HI 96779, USA

    Departure Point: Guests will need to arrange their own transportation to meet at our Office at... Mountain Riders 497 Baldwin Ave, Paia, HI 96779, USA Return point: Returns to original departure point (times will vary depending on the season).

Start time

04:30 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect


45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free


45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Haleakala Ranch

1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Historic Makawao Town

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Weight restrictions apply; maximum weight is 280 lbs
  • Minimum height required is 5 feet
  • Age restriction: Riders must be over the age of 15 years old.
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 13 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
The ride was really nice and the weather was clear. Definitely worth going to see the mountain and its views. Bobby or guide was very entertaining and put everyone at ease. He had very compelling story to tell and I appreciated the personal story he shared.


50 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-9 of 50 reviews
Ride with a view
Wayne_B, Jul 2023
The ride was really nice and the weather was clear. Definitely worth going to see the mountain and its views. Bobby or guide was very entertaining and put everyone at ease. He had very compelling story to tell and I appreciated the personal story he shared.
BEST excursion on Maui!
Jerri_B, Jun 2023
We had a WONDERFUL day on the sunrise and bike ride adventure! I felt like a kid again bike riding down the volcano. I would recommend this excursion to everybody!!
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy you had such a great time.
The sunrise was...
Wendy_S, Apr 2023
The sunrise was beautiful. The ride down was great. The guide and driver were knowledgable and funny. I think the tours should explain the fact they don't drive to the top and you ride only a certain part of the road down. We had a great breakfast and ride through the little town
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Aloha, We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. You chose the Predawn Tour which states that it goes to 6500 feet and not to the top. This tour is less expense , you don't have to get up as early and is an alternate tour if you already have done the Sunrise tour. We do offer the Sunrise Tour which does go to the TOP to 10,000 feet. It is the Sunrise Haleakala Bike Tour not the Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour. So if you want to go to the TOP to 10,000 feet into Haleakala National Park book the Sunrise Haleakala Tour which is mentioned on our website. All the other tours go to 6500 feet which is mentioned as well on our website where the bike tours start.. We will definitely recheck our descriptions to make sure there is no confusion. Mahalo
Perfect downhill bike ride
Mary_N, Feb 2023
Tour guides were excellent and made the trip perfect. Even provided an extra coat and gloves for the chilly portion.
Maui Local Vibes w/experienced cyclist
regina_m, Oct 2022
Pickup location had snacks and water ready to go. Kind local tour guides that genuinely love their Mountain. The sites during mountain rider experience are beautiful. Bring a jacket for the morning bus ride.
Adrenaline driven tour with lovely scenery
Nancy_G, Jul 2022
Although, this trip was beautiful and the scenery was breathtaking, I had to give four stars for the following reasons: I was under the impression we were going to have a sunrise tour. Only certain companies are allowed to go in the National park, this is not one of them. Although, we watch the colors of the sky luminate as the sun rose it was not a sunrise tour, as we did not get to watch the actual sun rise. The tour guide was aggressive and frustrated that I was cautious riding a bicycle 40+ miles an hour straight down a mountain/volcano. The moment he threatened "to put me in the van", because he felt I should be going faster, really frustrated me. The two riders behind me thanked me for keeping the pace, as the tour guide arrogantly flew down the mountain without hands on the bike, repeatedly stating he has done over 4,000 tours as he would fade out of sight ahead of us. I agree he should be more comfortable and adventurous with his 4,000 rides versus our first ride. I am confident he was trying to motivate us, but it come out rude, arrogant, and condescending. I have to give compliments to the willingness to take our pictures, having choreographed poses, and knowledgeable spots for the "photo shoot", as we descended down the volcano. We loved he quaint town we stopped in for breakfast, (breakfast is not included you have to pay yourself). It was delightful to watch the chickens roaming freely in the small village. Again, the mountainous views are unbelievable and breathtaking. Just remember to ride at a pace you are comfortable with.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Aloha We apologize you did not see our Sunrise Tour that does go into Haleakala National Park when you booked your tour on TripAdvisor. We are one of two companies that do go into the park for the Sunrise Bike Tour. You could have gone on one of our Sunrise Tours that goes to 10,000 feet rather than the Predawn Tour that you booked. Companies offer alternate tours for pricing and timing for the customer. We can assure you safety is our number one concern. Mahalo
No sunrise
Bryan_S, Apr 2021
Great time and awesome staff! Only bummer was we were led to believe we were going to see the sunrise “above the clouds” on top of the mountain, but apparently tours aren’t allowed up anymore( we were told during the tour this has been the case for the past two years, but no one mentioned that till half way through the tour).. they take you up almost to the top ( not above the clouds)and on the other side of the mountain... you did not see the sun at all at best maybe a slight(very slight) pink hue. That part was Disappointing and misleading.
Response from Host, Apr 2021
We have a Haleakala Sunrise tour for $250 which is a great option for those who have never visited Haleakala before. We also have our "predawn tour" (the one you choose) for $120 a less expensive and great option for those who have visited Haleakala before. If you have a chance again try our sunrise tour.
Andrea_Z, Jan 2021
We went on this experience on January 2, 2021 in time to enjoy the sunrise. They didn't bring us to the top of the HALEAKALA volcano and we didn't watch the amazing sunrise that we supposed to do. It was my last day in Maui so I was very upset leaving the island without haven't seen and without discovered that amazing view. We paid $128.00 per person and in my opinion, was too much. I don't know why they didn't start the bike ride from the top but I think that they have to be more clear in the description of the experience. I also thought to have the opportunity to stop to take pictures or videos or a little break whenever I wanted and it was not even possible because the "shuttle" followed us for all the bike ride long without giving "liberty" to the participants. The guides were very nice and friendly but I think they need to change somenthing to make this experience more unforgettable. Right now I would lie if I will suggest this to other people.
Response from Host, Mar 2021
Looks like you booked the pre-dawn tour. The sunrise tour goes to the summit. It is a little more expensive however you see the sunrise at the summit. God willing of course
We actually got upgraded to the full...
Lyle W, Apr 2018
We actually got upgraded to the full 10,000 ft sunrise summit tour because not enough people signed up for the 6500 ft tour and the start of the trip was fantastic 2:45AM pickup at our west Maui resort. The sunrise view from the summit was amazing and breathtaking. Our only reservations were once the ride started downhill. The bikes were in poor to fair condition. Since they are built to brake, mostly, and to travel downhill, mostly, they are pretty specialized. One of our bikes had marginal condition brakes as they did not grab smoothly. It was hard to sometimes ride these up inclines as they are single-speed. This obstacle was not a huge problem and we lived with it. The real turn-off was the request for gratuities. The guides outright demanded that we tip them 25 per person in our party. We did not carry that much money and did not tip them that much, but would not have tipped them that much anyways. This request for gratuities dropped our rating from five to three stars.

From $165.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour 6,500 to Sea Level


5 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do