Ancient Delos Tour

Mykonos, Greece
Ancient Delos Tour

From $83.14

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 5 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Uncover the myths and legends of ancient Greece on an educational tour of Delos from Mykonos. With an expert historian guide, discover ancient monuments like the Temple of Apollo and the Sacred Way. Enrich your historical knowledge at the Museum of Delos; marvel at the archaic Sanctuary of Artemis; and learn about the culture of the Greek empire from your expert guide. Opt to upgrade your tour to include lunch at a Mykonian farm and a walking tour of Mykonos Old Town.
  • Half-day tour of the ancient town of Delos from Mykonos
  • Visit archaic monuments like the Temple of Apollo and the Sanctuary of Artemis
  • Learn about the fascinating history of the Greek empire from your expert guide
  • Upgrade your tour to include lunch at a Mykonian ranch and a walking tour of Mykonos Old Town
  • Get picked up and dropped off at your hotel or cruise ship port

What's Included

  • Professional tour guide for ancient Delos
  • Lunch (only if option is chosen)
  • Hotel or port pickup and drop-off (unless option is not included)
  • Entrance fees 8 euro per person. They should be paid cash on the spot to the escort
  • Any fees not indicated as included
  • Gratuities
  • Whispers Wireless Guide System (5,00 euro pp)They should be paid cash on the spot to the escort

Meeting and Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Church of Agios Nikolaos of Kadena
    Mikonos 846 00, Greece

    Clients who have booked Delos (without transfer) will meet the escort at St.Nikolas church at the old port at 09.30

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

09:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Depending on the option they select. For Ancient Delos Tour with transfer clients will be picked up from their hotel /port. For Ancient Delos Tour without transfer clients have to be at St. Nikolas Church (old port) at 09.30

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Suitable for cruise ship day stops
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Our company is not responsible for the client’s failure to appear at the meeting point for the booked tour or activity.
  • Last minute cancellation of flights or inability to disembark from a cruise ship, is not our company’s responsibility, therefore any refund requests due to such incidents will not be accepted. Should the client be aware of such a change, he/she is requested to communicate with our company more than 24 hours before the tour or activity starts, in order to discuss possible date or time amendment (subject to availability)
  • Refund requests for last minute cancellations (up to 24 hours before the tour or activity), for any reason, will not be accepted.
  • All clients are kindly requested to send their preferred meeting point and location until 3:00pm of the previous date, regarding their pick-up for the booked tour or activity. Should they fail to do so, our company will do anything it can in order to locate them (telephone, email, etc), however it is not responsible for any failure to meet them. Meeting points could be, anywhere on the island and the information necessary is either the hotel name or the name of the cruise ship they are arriving with. In the occasion that they are staying at an apartment, clients are requested to send us a google map, a nearby hotel or any information that would help us locate them. Any delay of behalf of the client (up until 15 minutes that we will be waiting for them) affects the transfer schedule and disrupts the smooth conduct of the tour/activity.
  • For no-name accommodations, our company will set the most convenient location for the pick-up.
  • For accommodations that are located in a pedestrian zone, our company will set the best possible pick-up point.
  • Our company is not responsible for knowing whether the client is supposed to book transfer or not. The transfer schedule is prepare less than 24 hours before the operation, therefore we cannot predict such necessity.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • An additional transfer fee (10,00 euro pp/cash on the spot) will apply for transfers from/to hotels in the areas of Elia , Kalafatis , Agrari, Panormos, Super Paradise & Kanalia & other remote areas
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


206 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 206 reviews
Phil78, Oct 2023
The glide was professional and it was clear that she was very knowledgeable about the history and details of what we were viewing. Thank you
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you very much for your kind review & feedback. Kind regards. Mykonos Excursions
Tour group size matters.
9t85mcj2vz, Sep 2023
Archeological site was magnificent! Tour guide very knowledgeable and skilled at wrangling 41 tourists. Average rating is because we selected the option with a group size max of 25. 40+ is just too big!! Was expecting (and paid for) a more intimate experience and did not receive that. Thank you
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We are really glad you enjoyed your experience overall despite the lack of intimacy due to the density of the group. Your feedback is great and helpful. Thank you for your kind review and expression of your experience, Mykonos Excursions.
Delos and walking tour
Mills, Sep 2023
The tours were overall very good. The Delos tour was great! There was good education regarding the island provided by the tour guide. The con was that the group was so large. It took a long time for everyone to gather in the desired area which in turn limited the time and information we received. The port tour was also wonderfully. Luckily, I was the only person on that tour. So, I got a personal tour of the port. For anyone wanting to book these tours my only suggestion would be to book the small tour group.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We appreciate your review & feedback. It's always good to know that you enjoyed your tour overall. Thank you. Mykonos Excursions
Poor shore excursion in Mykonos
Kerri_C, Aug 2023
Communication with provider was great. It was easy to find the operator, who took us to the bus. We had to pick up some other people, which was fine. Our guide took us to the ferry that would take us to Delos. The amount we paid ($50 per person) did not include the entrance fee to Delos and we found out credit cards were not taken. She took us to a cash exchange (we did have some dollars) and we got 80 euros for $100. Ouch! She put us on the ferry and that was it for her part. So we paid this company $50 to take us from the new port to the old port (which was two kilometers) and buy our tickets for the ferry and entry fee to Delos. The Norwegian Gem offered a free shuttle to the old port. In hind sight, we should have taken the free shuttle, bought a ferry ticket and bought our tickets for Delos online before the trip. We did take the free shuttle back to the boat as she said it was not provided. It said on the information, "Hotel or port pick and drop-off" is included. We did not feel we received value for our money.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you for your review, we hope you enjoyed your overall experience despite the misunderstandings that may have occurred. Your feedback is important and clarifying, we find it really helpful for our improvement. Thank you very much, Mykonos Excursions.
Awesome (should read)
Pierce_B, Jul 2023
We did the Delos tour and Mykonos tour. Delos was beautiful and as a massive Greek mythology buff was great the Delos tour guide took a second to get rolling but once she found her rhythm was great. The highlight of the trip was the Mykonos tour specifically the guide wish I’d grabbed her name but she was a delight and completely made the trip. Highly recommend the Raki kinda waved rn.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We are happy you enjoyed your tour & really thankful for your kind review. Kind regards. Mykonos Excursions
Nice Morning Excursion with Helpful Guide
Greg_B, Jun 2023
Great day trip out of Mykonos. Lots of history on Delos and our guide did a nice job telling stories and helping us avoid the extreme crowding. Would recommend.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you very much for your kind review & comments. We re very glad to receive positive feedback. It is our joy to know that you enjoyed your tour & that our colleagues are corresponding optimal. Thank you, Mykonos Excursions
Recommend the tour - learned a lot.
Jason_H, Jun 2023
Transfers were easy, guide was knowledgeable. Enjoyed the tour and learned a great deal. Make sure to sunscreen up.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to know you enjoyed your tour. Kind regards, Mykonos Excursions.
extra charges for imaginary services
Kelly_M, Jun 2023
The boat trip and guide were included in the original fare. They then charged everyone before we got on the boat for extras. They presented this as necessary and not a choice. 5 more Euros per person for the "Whisper" ear piece and 8 more Euros for the museum entry. So for my daughter and me, I paid a total of 26 additional euros. I never used the "Whisper". I could easily hear the guide speak without assistance. This should have been a choice. And worse, THE MUSEUM WAS CLOSED!! It is under renovation. It is a small island with few buildings. The tour company had to know this! They did not offer anyone their money back. Really, such a rip off.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Hello dear Mrs.Kelly ! Please note that the entrance fees are for the archeological site (including the museum). Also the whispers are necessary (especially when it is crowded, Delos usually is) to enhance the tour experience. Thank you so much! Joanna
Kimberly_G, Jun 2023
I’m giving two stars because of all the confusion. I received at least 12 emails in two days about time changes due to overbooking etc. The tour company wanted us to reschedule till the afternoon but we were on a cruise ship and had limited time. The tour was delayed due to all the chaos. It was supposed to start at 9:40 but was delayed till after 11. That’s not acceptable when you have a limited stop from a cruise ship.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We would like to apologize about your frustration regarding the tour and for your understandable/reasonable upheaval concerning the delay. Please consider that during peak season all our colleagues are acting optimal to overcome upcoming issues that occur very occasionally. Nevertheless your feedback is very important & helpful for our company's improvement. Thank you for your review, Mykonos Excursions
Tour operator needs to be better prepared!
Susan_H, Jun 2023
The tour guide on Delos was excellent however I had a bad experience on dock with the tour company representative. He said I needed to pay for ferry to Delos to and from Mykonos and also for the headset. He said 25 euros, I gave him 50 euros and he said he had only 10 euros change to give me. I was ripped off for 15 euros. I hope Viator can get me the money that is due me.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We apologize for the inconvenient situation you went through. Please note that the fees (ferry to delos, entrance fees to the site & whispers , all payed cash at point) are all referred in the tour info. Nevertheless your feedback is very important and helpful for confronting situations that occur, We hope you enjoyed your tour overall, Thank you, Mykonos Excursions
Very good information
Becky_S, Jun 2023
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour memorable. Being an archaeologist, she was able to answer all our questions! A bit of confusion in our booking time, but so happy with the late afternoon tour!
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you very much for your excellent review. It's our joy to know that you have enjoyed your tour & that our colleagues are corresponding optimal. Thank you very much for your feedback. Kind regards, Mykonos Excursions.
Bad tour
Tina_P, Jun 2023
The sites and boat ride to and from Delos were spectacular. Our meeting guide showed up later then announced and then stood about 50 meters from where the church meeting place was. By chance one of the group members was scouting around and saw a guy with a clipboard and asked him about the tour. He then said he was the person Once on Delis, we waited another 20-30 minutes for a different tour guide. When she showed up, she was not dressed as a guide (professionally) and her English skills were not good enough to qualify for a guide. Her information and delivery were boring as she read from the scenic view displays. There was an insufficient amount of whispers, so a few people had none. My friend and I and another family turned in our whispers to her and went solo on our own excursion. We did better , saw more, and read on our own more interesting things.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your tour overall despite the issues that have occurred through your comments, which are a very helpful feedback for us in order to make every experience the most enjoyable possible. Thank you for your review, Mykonos Excursions.
Not good!
William_B, May 2023
Worst tour I was ever on, disorganize, hours late which resulted in a shortened tour, not enough ear phones for the group, guide was tired and uninspiring.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
We apologize for the frustration you felt concerning your experience. Nevertheless your feedback is very important and helpful for the confrontation of any occurring issues. Thank you for your review, Mykonos Excursions.
Incredible island but you will pay more than expected
Matthias_B, May 2023
You need to know that: - you will pay 8€/pers to enter in the island - you will pay 5€/pers to have an audio system - you have around 2h30 to visit the island (the rest of time is spent waiting all people boarding the boat and the travelling to the island) They give you an audio system to listen the guide speaking (because we are a lot per group). I think you can negociate to not get it and stay close to the guide so you hear him :) It is not mandatory to stay with the guide. After 5 minutes, half of the group left him to make their own tour of the island because there are a lot of things to see and the speed of the guide will not let you see everything. It is up to you :) The island is incredible. Do it. Maybe not via this company.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Your review is very helpful and will contribute to solving the issues that occurred from your feedback, nevertheless we are really glad you enjoyed your tour. Thank you, Mykonos Excursions
Nice historic trip with a few kinks
Alyssa_L, Apr 2023
Our guide, Cleopatra was the highlight of the tour. She was knowledgeable, friendly and was a great storyteller.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you for your positive review concerning your tour guide, hope you enjoyed your tour as much too! Thank you, Mykonos Excursions
An excursion from Hell
Randy_B, Oct 2022
First off my partner is handicapped and can’t walk fast. Driver drove us to one spot just to meet a lady who walked us a long way to meet our boat to Delos. Once there the group we were to be with #5 was walking away before we even joined the group. Once I caught up to her she told us to stand over there. So we did. And she and the group left. Leaving several of us behind. Bear in mind we had purchased the headsets to use. Another guide Natalie heard our frustration and offered for us to join her group. However she did not have headsets. So we paid for a headset that we were unable to use. Getting off the boat is already mass chaos but you would think the guides would have all their group before leaving. Well at the end of tour, we took boat back to Mykonos and there was no one there to take us back to our hotel. We had to hire a taxi after walking a bit to find one.
Beautiful sight and good tour
Amy_G, Sep 2022
Really enjoyed the tour guide! Also, helpful that I was guided from transfer to port. It’s a bit hectic with all of the people, so I appreciated that. Only thought is that there be extra time offered if you want to stay and your on your own. I ended up asking and getting that option, but I feel people would opt for that if it was in the description.
Beautiful and vast
Heidi_H, Aug 2022
Very well organised and informative. This tour took us all over the site and left time for some solo exploration aswell. Take some closed in shoes for rough terrain.
Island was fascinating; working with the tour company was not!
April_B, Jul 2022
I really wanted to love this tour but honestly, it was a bit chaotic. We were initially not given instructions on where to go once we arrived to the island so there was a lot of confusion for quite a few of us. We also did not have instructions on transportation back so I had up scramble and call to figure out where to go. Then I received a callback a few minutes later telling me that the driver is leaving in 10 minutes. Now we are running towards the direction of where we were dropped off and still were not clear on exactly where to go. We get there within 10 minutes only for the driver to be instructed by her boss to wait another over 30 minutes for another couple! We were LIVID! It is not fair to make your other customers whom actually follow instructions, to be punished for others who don't! We were late for our reservations and almost lost them because of this. I strongly dislike when companies do this. This tour requires a lot more organization and coordination.
True history revealed
Malinda_H, Jul 2022
The tour itself and tour guide were wonderful, very informative and created a great experience. To start the experience, however, the women that greeted us at the St. Nicholas church was very unprofessional. She did not introduce herself, immediately asked for money, and poorly answered questions. That was the only blemish on an otherwise memorable experience.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Ancient Delos Tour


5 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Half-Day Delos Tour from Mykonos


4 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Ancient Delos and Rhenia Island Cruise from Tourlos


7 hours 15 minutes
Free Cancellation
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Delos Day Trip from Mykonos


4 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do