Oahu

Private Group Surf Lesson by the Waikiki Beachboys at the Royal

Oahu, USA
Private Group Surfing Lessons

From $95.53

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 1 hour
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Learn to surf on the legendary Waikiki Beach, the birthplace of surfing. During this 1-hour small group lesson, let your surfing instructor introduce you to surfing theory, mechanics and history, then hang ten. With a group of 2 to 5 people, learn how to paddle out, stand up and catch a wave, all under the watchful guidance of your teacher. No experience is necessary; you must be a proficient swimmer. Photo and video services to capture your lesson are available (additional expense). Use of a surfboard is included.
  • Learn to surf at the birthplace of surfing, Waikiki beach
  • Get personal attention with a small-group lesson
  • Learn surfing theory, mechanics and history
  • Use of surfboard is included

What's Included

  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Professional guide
  • Surfboard
  • Gratuities
  • Souvenir photos & video (available to purchase)
  • Transportation to/from attractions
  • Towels
  • Sunscreen
  • (1 USD) Ocean Stewarship fee effective 01/01/2024

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
    2259 Kalākaua Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

    Departure Point: The check-in desk is located at the pool deck of the Royal Hawaiian Hotel.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • You must be able to swim
  • You must be over 13 years old
  • There must be a minimum of 4 people to participate, maximum 5 people
  • Minors must receive legal guardian's approval
  • Waiver must be signed
  • Bring your own towel, sunscreen and rash guard
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Reviews

4.5
18 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-4 of 18 reviews
Great surf lesson
Patrice_G, Dec 2022
Great instructor. Very patient and took his time to really help you get the hang of things. Highly recommend!
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Aloha Patrice- We are thrilled to hear you had an excellent experience in the water. Please catch some more waves with us sometime in the near future. Mahalo for taking the time to give us a 5 star rating and write your review 🤙
terrible surfing experience
george_p, Jul 2022
our instructor was not into teaching. he literally told us to paddle harder, didn't give any useful advice other than stand up on the surf board. he was lackadaisical in his attitude and couldnt really muster the energy to show any excitement for what he was doing. he didnt even bother saying goodbye at the end of our time.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Aloha George- We would like to first and foremost apologize that you had less than an amazing experience on your surf lesson. We will be sure to follow up with the instructor you had that day and review our standard for excellent customer service so this shouldn't happen again. However, please do let us know how we could have made this a 5 star experience for you. Mahalo.
Amazing Experience!
Robyn_J, Apr 2022
I was so afraid that I wouldn't be able to do this. IT WAS AWESOME! When in Hawaii...Surf! Really a great experience, definitely recommend it.
Not for beginners
lauren_w, Jun 2021
We had a great time, but the instructors were not very patient with beginners. They barely gave any instruction on land (maybe 1 minute worth) and basically put us out in the ocean without any idea of what to do. The instructor we had left us while we were out there, paddled way far ahead of us, and was very stern with at us out there. With the way the instructors were, this should definitely not be for beginners. Again, great time, got great pictures, but the staff could’ve been nicer!
Response from Host, Jun 2021
We are so sorry to hear that our instructors were not patience. Please let us know via e-mail as to exactly what date/time you took the lesson so that we can find out which instructor was assigned to you so that we can n look into this further. Mahalo.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Private Group Surf Lesson by the Waikiki Beachboys at the Royal

18

1 hour
Free Cancellation
From
$95.53
No Photo
Private Surf Lesson at Waikiki Beach

96

1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$179.00
No Photo
Surfing - Group Lesson - Waikiki, Oahu

358

2 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$95.00
No Photo
Surf Lesson | Waikiki Private Group

231

1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$123.00

Explore Similar Things to Do