Port Stephens

Port Stephens Day Trip with Dolphin Watch Cruise from Sydney

Badge of ExcellencePort Stephens, Australia
Port Stephens Dolphin Watching

From $117.71

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 11 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Combine three exhilarating activities into one tour on this full-day adventure from Sydney to Port Stephens. First, set sail across Nelson Bay to spot bottlenose dolphins or whales (depending on the season) swimming and playing in their natural environment. Then, head to Stockton Beach where you can choose to upgrade on a thrilling 4WD tour around the Stockton Dunes (payable direct), followed by the chance to zoom down the dunes on a sandboard. Finally, enjoy free time to swim, sunbathe and stroll along the sands.
  • Full-day tour of Port Stephens from Sydney
  • Spot dolphins or whales in their natural environment on a cruise of Nelson Bay
  • Take a 4WD drive tour and try sandboarding at the Stockton Dunes
  • Enjoy free time to swim or sunbathe at Stockton Beach
  • Pickup from a centrally located meeting point
  • Travel by comfortable, air-conditioned minivan
  • Small-group tour ensures a personalized experience

What's Included

  • All transport with professional driver/guide
  • 1.5 hour dolphin watching cruise
  • 4WD tour and sandboarding
  • Carbon neutral with all vehicle emissions offset
  • 30km long Stockton Beach
  • Lunch

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Nelson Bay

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

D'Albora Marinas

45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Moonshadow-TQC Cruises

1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Anna Bay

1 hour 30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Port Stephens 4WD Tours

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Birubi Beach

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 hours of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • We do not accept children under 8 years old, including infants
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • No hot drinks or food are allowed on the bus
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Enough time to play the sand slide and the tour guide - Peter is so nice and give clear instructions. Nice to see the dolphins at a short distance.


15 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-9 of 15 reviews
Great experience
PoYan_T, Jan 2024
Enough time to play the sand slide and the tour guide - Peter is so nice and give clear instructions. Nice to see the dolphins at a short distance.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Glad you had a great day out with Peter!
Excellent Trip
Anurupa_C, Jun 2023
The trip was excellent and Peter is just awesome. Enjoyed every moment of the trip. Would definitely recommend it to all my friends.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Thanks Anurupa! We appreciate the recommendation
Nice day out in Port Stephens
MIGUEL_L, Dec 2022
Good experience dolphin watching and sand boarding. Ronnie was excellent in his tour guiding. Enjoyed the tour
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Love to hear about how you enjoyed the tour. We'll pass on your feedback to Ronnie, thanks Miguel!
Very poor management
Rabina_N, Dec 2022
It was terrible from the beginning of the trip. We have been to other trips but this is first time to experience this. We were not allowed to have even coffee in the bus in the morning. We had to throw what we bought. We were excited to have camel ride but he said it was before covid however it was in the details of the trip. We were said to be taken swimming after sand-boarding but it was cancelled. We had to come home itching everywhere. Not at all happy with the experience.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thanks Rabina for the feedback. As a transport operator we have the right to not allow hot drinks and food to be consumed on the bus. If you were there 10 minutes before departure as requested, you would have finished your coffees. We also contacted Viator re the camel riding listing and they have since removed it as it was old information they had not updated. Apologies for this. Usually we have time for optional swimming, but not on this occasion. The tour was booked out and you wanted to add one more guest so we put on a bigger bus at considerable more expense to allow you add 1 more guest. You make no mention of this.
Port Stephens is a magical gift from nature
Hendra_T, Nov 2022
Sand boarding is the best It’s fun and it’s a must to try The guide is expert and professional and you’ll get addicted to do it again and again
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thanks Hendra, The title of your review is wonderful!
Ciana_W, Nov 2022
Loved the Tour guide! The experience was really nice I especially liked the sand boarding. The only thing I would have liked is if we had a bit more time in Nelson Bay to explore☺️
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thanks Ciana, yes it's a packed day and we try and fit in the key activities. It would be nice to explore a bit more so maybe an overnight trip?
An absolute disastrous dolphin watching cruise
Harshit_B, Oct 2022
We had gone on the tour on October 9th, but we had a terrible experience with the cruise. The 1 hour 30 minutes dolphin cruise was supposed to start at 1:30 PM but started 20 minutes late and the ship started to make way back to the port at 2:45 PM. We could not spot any dolphins in the sea and the captain gave up after 10 minutes with the ship just roaming the middle of the sea aimlessly. The locals informed us that there were bunch of dolphins near the coast but the captain did not make any attempt to even look for them but was simply steering it aimlessly. Terrible experience of dolphin watching. We have shared the experience with colourful trips but have not received any revert back from them so far. I would definitely rate it 0 stars.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Hi Harshit. Your booking with us allows for cancellation up to 24 hours before departure for a 100% refund or a change of date for no fee. Despite the weather forecast, you still chose to travel. All the other guests saw dolphins so given the rough seas it made sense to shorten the cruise time. Our driver added in extra stops to help compensate for the windy weather including finding wild kangaroos. Therefore we did not agree with your request for a refund.
Fun in the dunes & whale wonder
Jayne_S, Jun 2022
Fantastic trip. Sand dunes and boarding were great. Saw loads of whales some dolphins a sea eagle and wild kangaroos on the journey back. Ronnie the driver/guide was superb
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thanks Jayne, that's an amazing day of action and wildlife!
Brilliant experience watching the...
v.ganoorkar, Dec 2017
Brilliant experience watching the Dolphins up close... The trip was very long but other than that it was great.