Puntarenas

Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from San José

Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from San Jose
  • 10 to 12 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

The lush rainforest and white-sand beaches of Isla Tortuga are part of the Islas Negritos Biological Reserve, and are located along the eastern coast of the Nicoya Peninsula. With this tour, you'll set sail aboard a large cruise ship, admire views of Isla San Lucas and Isla Tortuga from the water, and enjoy time on the island to swim, snorkel, or relax on the beach.
  • Magnificent views of Islas Negritos from the water
  • Enjoy lunch, snacks, and non-alcoholic beverages on board
  • Swim and sunbathe on a private beach on Tortuga Island
  • Hassle-free roundtrip transportation to and from your hotel in Punta Arenas

What's Included

  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Use of facilities on the island and boats
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Breakfast
  • Coffee and/or Tea
  • Lunch
  • Soda/Pop
  • Snacks
  • Use of Snorkeling equipment

Meeting and Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Bay Island Cruises
    X5H2+3QG, Puntarenas Province, Puntarenas, Carmen, Costa Rica

    Pacific ramp dock in Puntarenas in front of the Coonatramar ticket office

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Be 10 minutes before the appointed time

What To Expect

Puerto Caldera (Pass By)

Puntarenas (Pass By)

Isla San Lucas (Pass By)

Tortuga Island

5 hours Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 180 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
songnam
The staffs were so friendly. The boat ride to the island is 2 hours long, slow compare to other boats, but they make it fun by providing drinks and snacks throughout the trip. The DJ playing non-stop on the top level. Just make a note that the trip from San Jose is long and you might not get back to your hotel until 8-9pm. Our pickup at 5am (first pickup) and last to drop off at 9pm. Service is great and totally recommended this Company for this tour.

Reviews

4.0
55 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews
Great crew made it a super fun day!
Michelle_Z, Mar 2024
Efficient hotel pick up and drop off, great crew and magnificent island! It was a really fun day. Snorkeling is a must!
Loooong day from San Jose
Nick_T, Dec 2023
Staff was amazing, very friendly, always checking on guests, proving food, drinks and fun. I will tell you from San Jose this is a 15-16 hour day, I felt pretty defeated after. I would recommend this trip if you're closer to the coast. I was picked up at 530am and dropped off around 930pm. Keep that in mind when you book.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you.!
Pura Vida!
Desiree_W, Nov 2023
Everything from pick-up to drop-off was exceptional! Felt like royalty for a day! The drive, the boat ride, the beach, the activities, the food, and everything was great. The water was a little cloudy for snorkeling but that's not their fault. I would 100% do this again!
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you.!
Day we'll spent
Kurt_B, Sep 2023
My group had an amazing time on the tour. A full day of fun! It was well worth every penny. Sufficient food, drink and snacks were provided throughout the day and the tour was extremely on time in order to ensure we got the full days worth of enjoyment. The DJ for the day was fire! And the snorkeling guides were very friendly and experienced as they knew the good spots to take us. The most admirable part of this trip were the tour guides who all worked so well together, they were versatile and very accommodating. Our guide Jordan did an amazing job to ensure we were safe and had a lots of fun!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you.!
Tour lady left me and my...
Stephen_T, Sep 2023
Tour lady left me and my wife after I told her I will be back downstairs in 5 minutes. When the tour lady got to my hotel she never contacted me to tell me if she arrived.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Good afternoon. Thank you very much for his comment, here I detail what happened. The guide arrived at the hotel at 5:50 a.m. They were summoned at 6:00 a.m. and the receptionist called the man's room, he did not answer and at 6:05 a.m. he went down to the lobby and indicated that he would go down in 5 minutes and I no longer answer the calls to the room, at 6:15 am the guide withdrew because they waited for 15 minutes and did not go down to the lobby. They call the office indicating that they are in the lobby waiting for transportation, knowing that the guide has been waiting for them since 5:50 am.
Fun day
Jestina_E, Jul 2023
Great trip, long drive from Jaco, abt 1.5 then 2 hr boat see to the island. I went snorkeling for 5mins, rode the banana boat ride and great lunch, bring breakfast bc was only a ham and cheese and and piece of fruits. Bring towels. Unlimited rum punch and other drinks for a sale. Lunch on the island. I enjoyed it but the long rise to and from could be shorter.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you.!
Unforgettable
Arnaldo_S, Jun 2023
The best tour I ever have! Everything was coordinate to the details! The crew was excellent and the tour guide Jordan was in control of everything and his team was ready to take care of us! Carlos was always giving his attention to us!
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you
Amazing trip!
Damir_M, May 2023
Excellent full day trip with several good services, with the professional crews, very kind and polite.
Response from Host, May 2023
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you
Great day on the water & beautiful beach!
Lisa_F, Mar 2023
Great day on the water and the beautiful beach. Nice, clean & comfortable catamaran, professional & friendly staff. Hotel pick up on time in comfortable vans, delicious lunch on the island. Unfortunately the snorkeling wasn’t great (no fault of tour company) because water visibility was poor and so sad the reef isn’t healthy, very few fish. We would definitely do the tour again minus the snorkeling.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you
amazing day
Lauryn_S, Feb 2023
I was picked up at the hotel in San Jose and then we made our way to the catamaran and from there on to the island. we received breakfast and lunch and also vouchers for free sodas on the island. it was a really beautiful island. 100% would recommend.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve yo
Beautiful cruise but loud music
Holly_W, Nov 2022
Overall this was a great tour. Jordan who looked after our group was excellent, very professional and took care of our every need. It is a long trip with a 2 hour boat crossing to and from the island. We also got stuck in traffic so we were back late to San José. Also if you don't like loud music, this tour isn't for you as it was constant on the boat which wasn't necessary. The island and the boat crossing was beautiful though so very much worth it overall.
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve yo
Splendid Tour of Tortuga Island
Berber_V, Oct 2022
Every aspect of the tour was superb! Service was great, pleasant atmosphere and a perfect whether for nature's best
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve yo
Great time
Saul_P, Oct 2022
Had a great time, staff were super friendly. They were super clean and had everything prepared for us. I can tell they always have a 100% customer service.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve yo
Excellent trip
Dannii_M, Oct 2022
We started out with a 2hr coach ride from San Jose to Puntarenas which was very comfortable and punctual- perfect for a nap if you had an early start! We then boarded the catamaran which was well equipped with a bar, showers, washrooms and a jacuzzi area. There was also a DJ onboard to liven up the atmosphere and get us dancing. We thoroughly enjoyed the food that was included. We were given a ham & cheese sandwich for breakfast with an apple and cookies and coffee or tea, followed by fresh fruit, ceviche and later on lunch on the island (chicken or fish with veg and rice) along with a glass of wine or iced tea. There's also a couple of snacks on the boat ride back and free soft drinks on the island. The staff were amazing and checked up on us throughout the day. Gustavo was very attentive and we never had to get up for a drink the entire day, including on the beach. Our tour guide Mari was also very informative and helped us out with choosing the activities on the island. You can go out on a boat to snorkel for approx $20usd or ride a banana boat for $6usd. You can also swim on the beach as you have a beach chair included, play beach volleyball or visit the island gift shop where you can purchase a locker and wi-fi and you'll have 5 hours in total before returning on the boat. We also caught the sunset on the return boat ride which was definitely worth seeing. All in all we had a fantastic time and would love to return to the island again.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve yo
Awesome!
Jaunice_V, Sep 2022
This was a wonderful tour. Everyone was so kind, the food was delicious. The entire experience was awesome. I will most definitely do it again. Special thanks to Carlos!!
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve yo
A great adventure
Mark_H, Sep 2022
The guides were excellent. They were helpful and very supportive. They ran the tour like clockwork. I loved the nature hike. My only issue was the bathrooms. They were disgusting and only 1 toilet for 1 large group. The activities were cheap and very enjoyable
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve yo
The trip was wonderful...
Margie_P, Jul 2022
The trip was wonderful and relaxing. Josue ( ho shway) was an excellent guide- very informative and attentive to the guest’s needs. The staff on the boat to the island all superb.
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
Just one POV, if you have the time GO.
Hector_P, Jul 2022
Pleasant company, ontime and attentive. SJO to Punta Arenas ride was a great way to see the side towns and view settings outside the city center. Boat ride a little choppy and brown waters were an eye sore (did not expect that). Staff was great throughout, May want to rethink the breakfast selection, but lunch was on spot. Beach on the island not what is expected, more dark lake water.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Hello. Thank you very much for your comments and your trust. The dark waters are the reason for the red tide that affected us that day and being a natural phenomenon we cannot control it. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again at the Bay Experience.
Ok Trip
JeanPaul_M, Jun 2022
Did not like the breakfast sandwich, it was disgusting. The boat was older than expected and there was no wifi the entire trip until we got to the island, then that wasn’t working until the last hour there. The snorkeling was the worst I’ve done, and the island was ok. The sand was not as white as I imagined and the beach was rough and not very clear waters. Food was ok. I would go with another tour company and hope for the best but overall not my first recommendation for a Costa Rican excursion.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
The staffs were so...
songnam, May 2022
The staffs were so friendly. The boat ride to the island is 2 hours long, slow compare to other boats, but they make it fun by providing drinks and snacks throughout the trip. The DJ playing non-stop on the top level. Just make a note that the trip from San Jose is long and you might not get back to your hotel until 8-9pm. Our pickup at 5am (first pickup) and last to drop off at 9pm. Service is great and totally recommended this Company for this tour.
Response from Host, May 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!

From $133.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from San José

55

12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$133.00
No Photo
Full Day Tour to Isla Tortuga from Guanacaste

0

9 to 10 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$193.00
No Photo
Full Day Excursion to Tortuga Island from Puntarenas

19

10 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$125.00
No Photo
Puntarenas sightseeing tour

31

4 to 5 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$49.00

Explore Similar Things to Do