Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

Christ Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain Small-Group Tour

Badge of ExcellenceRio de Janeiro, Brazil
Likely to Sell Out

From $79.50

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 5 hours (approx.)
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English
  • Good for avoiding crowds


Summit both Corcovado and Sugar Loaf mountains in the early morning to beat the crowds on this half-day tour in Rio de Janeiro. After bright and early pickup from your Rio hotel, travel through the Tijuca National Forest to get up close with the Christ the Redeemer statue without throngs of people around. After learning about its history from your local guide, move on to Sugar Loaf Mountain for spectacular views of the sprawling city, slowly waking up in the morning light.
  • At Sugar Loaf Mountain, get spectacular views of the sprawling city
  • Pass several other landmarks such as Palácio Guanabara and Largo do Boticário
  • Summit both Corcovado and Sugar Loaf mountains in the early morning to beat the crowds
  • Travel through the Tijuca National Forest to get up close with the Christ the Redeemer statue
Operated by:

What's Included

  • Hotel pick up and drop off - selected hotels in Leblon, Ipanema and Copacabana
  • Bilingual certificated tour guide
  • Optional: Entrance fees to Christ the Redeemer and to Sugar Loaf Complex (cable car)
  • Transportation in a Deluxe Van with driver
  • Drinks and Food
  • Tickets can be excluded depending on the option chosen
  • All tickets will cost around R$ 200,00 (about US$ 40,00)

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Rio de Janeiro
    Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

If your Hotel is not in the list please contact us. We will help you finding the nearest meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour is available twice a day: early in the morning or in the afternoon. Please choose the best time for you.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Importante note: during the months of December through March, considered the high season, please allow more time for a complete tour. Even doing our best to avoid lines sometimes the tour get extended and takes more than 5 hours to finish.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more

Traveler Tips

Temperatures were taken and masks were required at all locations.
If you are limited in time, this is an ideal way to see two iconic sights.
347 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 347 reviews
Worth every penny
Cordelia_W, Jan 2023
Gabriel, our guide, was fantastic!! He was knowledgeable and knew how to get the most of our experience.
Take this tour!
Laura_P, Jan 2023
I loved the sights, but I also loved our guide's narrative as we were driving to and from Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf. She shared interesting stories abs switched from Spanish to English with ease. Our pick up was right on time as well!
Cathy_H, Jan 2023
Just seeing the statue. Monica was great! Very knowledgeable and friendly! It was foggy and rainy but that is out of everyone’s control.
A Tour Guide with Passion Plus!
Gavin_V, Jan 2023
Highlight of the tour - our very professional, knowledgable, generous, helpful and humorous Guide, CARLA! I cannot say thank you enough to her for a really great tour! It always amazes me how guides flip between languages to satisfy everyone, but Carla went one step further, helping me have conversations with another participant by translating for us both! Our tour on this day was only meant to be Sugar Loaf & Redeemer, but because the VERY cloudy rainy weather made the views a little disappointing, Carla offered to take us to see other sights around town, turning a half day tour into almost a full-day tour! I'm so grateful for that. I learnt a lot and had a lot of fun. Thank you! :)
Smooth sailing small group tour with friendly guide
Sarah_B, Dec 2022
Our tour was a small group of 7 of us and we had a great time going up to Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf. Logistics were smooth sailing and well organized. Our guide was more like a friend who shared her experience living in Brazil and was open and honest with us about current events. It was one of our favorite tours we’ve done.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Dear Sarah, Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending us. We are glad to know that you had a lovely time in Rio. Best regards, Mirella Schvaitzer
Great day
richard_s, Dec 2022
The views from both sites were terrific. Our guide, Sabina, was knowledgeable, funny and patient. We learned a lot about Rio, not just the sights we visited.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Great to hear that!!! We are really happy to know you had such an excellent time in Rio. Sabina is really an amazing guide and she will like to know you enjoyed the tour. Thank you for your feedback! Don’t hesitate to contact us next time you visit Rio! Best regards, Mirella Schvaitzer
Unforgettable experience
Sergey_B, Dec 2022
Everything was very good. Our guide Kiko was very professional and friendly. We had great time. We can recommend this excursion to anyone, who wants to visit Rio.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about Carioca Tropical Tour Operators!! We are excited to know you had a great time visiting our city!! Hope the rest of your trip was great! If you ever come back to Rio don't hesitate to contact us. Best regards, Mirella Schvaitzer
Beware of Carico Teopical Tours!!!!
Charles_M, Dec 2022
This was the absolute worst tour we have ever taken. I received a message from Gisela early in the morning stating that because of the rain they thought the sites might close early asking if we could reschedule for the next day. She needed a quick answer. My wife was sleeping I thought it would be fine. I said yes. When my wife woke up she reminded me we had plans for the next day. I asked Gisela if she would just refund. She said no it’s less than 24 hours. So we had to use it or lose it. I protested that the weather was bad and weather is supposed to be a reason to cancel. She had even said Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf might be closing due to weather. I tried but could not get in touch with Viator. I kept getting a recording in Portuguese. So we went in the rain. It was myself my wife a guide and a driver. They were fine. But because of the weather the escalators at Christ the Redeemer were closed. So we had to walk up about four flights of wet slippery steps. My wife has back and neck problems. She kept having to stop. When we made it to the top as the photos show we could see the outline of the statue. Looking down you could see nothing. We left Christ the redeemer and asked the driver to just take us back to the hotel. The Guide said she understood because they was nothing to be seen at sugarloaf in the rain and the fog. I’ve since been in touch with Viator they say they can do nothing to remedy the situation. I’ve used them many times in the past. I’ll use someone else in the future. But be especially careful with Gisela and Carico Tropical Tours. All they want is your money. They could care less about your experience. They new it was going to be a bad experience but would not refund. Look at the pictures. We paid almost 200 dollars for that. Please use someone other than Carioca Tropical tours. Gisela shame on you!
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear Mr Charles, Who writes to you is Efraim SchvaItzer, director of the company Carioca Tropical. I'm sorry to have to write this, but you are missing the point. The tour was postponed due to bad weather. There was agreement on your part for it to be transferred. If on the day of the tour the weather was rainy and cloudy, sorry but we have no control over it. You asked for a refund after taking the tour, which we considered to be inelegant, to say the least, on your part and worse, you threatened us by saying you would make a bad comment if we didn't return the money. In face of such a threat, we were left with no alternative but completely denying any refund. These were the facts as they happened. We are not changing the version of the facts, but one thing can be sure, the truth is on our side, and it will not be under a threat of a bad comment on Trip Advisor, that we will act in disagreement with our conscience. We wouldn’t be in the Market for over twenty years with such good reviews on Trip Advisor if we didn’t have an attitude of total respect for our customers. Sincerely Efraim Schvaitzer Carioca Tropical Tour Operator.
Nearly a private tour
Willem_Q, Dec 2022
Unfortunately the weather was bad at Christ the redeemer but when we arrived no rain and he showed up from the fog. Sugar loaf beautiful views. Our tour guide Mathilda and driver made us feel special
Bad organising . But...
Christos_K, Dec 2022
Bad organising . But timing too We took Two Days to do the excursion that should be done in 5 hours !
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Hi Mr. Christos, Your comments should be directed to government authorities who have closed access to the Christ the Redeemer statue without any prior notice. Just like you, we were also surprised by the closed gates as soon as we arrived at the place. Out of respect for our valued customers, we immediately offer all customers, including you, to take the tour again the next morning, without any additional cost to you, as we are aware of how beautiful the place is, and our concern has always been to to take with you the best memories of our City. So, the next day, we went to you, and we took you all again to visit the Statue of Christ the Redeemer, without any expense for you. And despite all our demonstration of respect for our customers, after visiting all the attractions provided for in our tour, you ask us to return the payment. We imagine that our refusal to refund the amount paid by you could be the reason that led you to write such negative comments. Sorry but we do not feel worthy of this comment. Best Regards. Efraim SchvaItzer Carioca Tropical Tour Operator.
Excellent tour!
Lynne_E, Dec 2022
Excellent tour. Sabina is a wonderful guide and a wealth of knowledge. I highly recommend this tour if you have a morning in Rio.
NIce Tour
Keith_G, Dec 2022
This was a nice day spent learning about history of Brazil and viewing Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountin. Our guide, Monica was very helpful and friendly and our group was small and manageble. I would recommend this to anyone.
Loved this tour!
Claudia_A, Dec 2022
We had a great time visiting the 2 most popular landmarks on Rio. It was just the right amount of time to not be too tired. From our hotel, we headed straight to Christ the Redeemer. There were not too many crowds yet. We got good pictures. Then, Sugarloaf Mountain was awesome too with no lines. We visited at the end of November. After our tour, we headed to Assador Churrascaria & had an unforgettable lunch. It was a great half day to see a lot without it being too tiresome. Highly recommend!
Great tour
Makayla_H, Nov 2022
Monica was great and share a wealth of knowledge o we Rios history and culture. She was very kind, welcoming and professional. I highly recommend
A great and unique tour
Anuket_B, Nov 2022
We had an absolutely fabulous time visiting Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf. Everything was efficient, on-time and enjoyable. Our guide Kathi was fantastic and very nonweldable, a true Carioca (a word she explained as someone from Rio). We would highly recommend this tour. Thank you.
Excellent Half Day Tour
Todd_F, Nov 2022
The tour was great! Everything was in time and well organized and Kiko the tour guide was excellent.
Victoria was fantastic
Ron_F, Nov 2022
Victoria did an excellent job! She was very knowledgeable about the city and showed us a great time.
Great tour with great guide
Chris_N, Nov 2022
Great tour. Our guide Kiko was fantastic - really knowledgeable about not only the parks but also the surrounding areas and the history.
MUST DO for Honeymoon! Ask for Kiko!
Joshua_L, Oct 2022
Kiko was a tremendous guide. He knew all the ins and out of the city, he picked us up on time and got us quickly and efficiently up to Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf. We would highly recommend this tour, and ask for Kiko!
Excellent tour of christ...
Joel_B, Oct 2022
Excellent tour of christ the redeemer and sugar loaf mountain. Lovely tour guide, driver and van. The tour was an appropriate amount of time, not too short not too long.