Search for "Paris" or "Colosseum"

A day in Rio - Full City Tour

Badge of ExcellenceRio de Janeiro, Brazil
Likely to Sell Out

From $85.85

Select Date and Travelers

Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance.
  • 9 hours (approx.)
  • Pickup from select hotels
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

    Operated by:

    What's Included

    • Lunch
    • Air-conditioned vehicle
    • Ticket for the Sugarloaf Cable Car
    • Christ the Redeemer Ticket
    • Bilingual Tourism Guide

      Meeting And Pickup

      Pickup points

      Select a pickup point

      Start time

      08:00 AM

      Pickup details

      On this regular tour we start boarding at 8 am and finish 40 minutes later, depending on traffic.

      What To Expect

      Additional Info

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Near public transportation
      • Infants must sit on laps
      • Most travelers can participate
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers

      Cancellation Policy

      You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

      • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
      • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
      • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
      • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

      Traveler Photos

      See more
      Reviews
      5.0
      289 reviews
      Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
      0
      0
      0
      0
      0
      Reviews by Viator travelers.
      Showing 1-10 of 289 reviews
      Excellent tour made better by an outstanding guide
      Sara_A, Jan 2023
      We saw everything we wanted to. The organisation was impeccable and Natalia quietly arranged lifts and easier routes for me without being asked and not making an issue of my slightly impaired mobility. We have done several hours whilst in South America and this was certainly the best. Natalia really was superb!!
      Absolute Must
      Mike_M, Jan 2023
      Absolute must to do when getting to Rio de Janeiro, Pablo was funny smart and passionate about Rio DJ
      Rio Tour
      James_B, Jan 2023
      This tour was excellent! Our guide Paulo was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. This tour covered the highlights of Rio with enough time at each place to enjoy the stops. Would definitely recommend this tour!!
      Great way to see Rio
      Dean_B, Jan 2023
      We had rain all day but I imagine in good weather it would have been spectacular. We had lots of time at each location, tour guide and driver were polite and thoughtful and explained things great. Really good tour
      Response from Host, Jan 2023
      Thanks for your review! glad that you have enjoyed it!
      Disappointing
      Naomi_W, Jan 2023
      A frustrating tour. We started late, so by the time we reached the first stop, Christ the Redeemer, the crowd was immense. After our time at the statue, we waited over an hour for our tour bus at the collection point because the traffic was so bad up the mountain. As a result, the stadium tour was skipped and we headed to lunch at 2pm. By the time we reached Sugarloaf Mountain (after a stop at the cathedral - worth it), it was 4:30pm and the queue was very long. We were looking at a 30-60 minute wait and in the end I ditched the tour and caught a cab home. I would not choose this tour again.
      Response from Host, Jan 2023
      Hi! We are very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. We have a very special affection for our customers. We start the tour at the scheduled time, but in the shared tour we have other boardings to be made before starting our itinerary. Due to the high season, Christ the Redeemer is being scheduled, which is causing large queues and traffic jams. are the large flows that happen between the busiest days of the year here in Rio de Janeiro, usually between the 30th of December until approximately the 10th of January. We hope to serve you at a next opportunity.
      Great Tour
      Cosmore_D, Jan 2023
      Great tour for the money. Food was great, tours were great but crowded. Tour Guide kept us together. I would recommend.
      Response from Host, Jan 2023
      Thanks for your review!!
      Tour of Rio
      Nathan_M, Dec 2022
      The good was you got to see a lot of the city and the major tourist attractions all in one shot. The bad for our tour was terrible weather which they had no control over and did their best to accommodate. And a new driver which resulted in several delays. So it is a tour that really can become affected due to uncontrollable weather. Also the other reviews about the food are correct. It's a buffet place that makes you pay for a drink of any kind. And the food was ok but not a steakhouse or bbq place. But the guide Aldo was good and switched between Portuguese and English. Also I am not sure what the description said exactly but they do provide tickets for the attractions but they purchased on site for my tour and that also created a few delays.
      Great tour despite the weather
      Emerald_A, Dec 2022
      Productive day despite the rain. Aldo really did his best to make sure we saw as much as we could despite the torrential rains and unseasonably cold weather we experienced yesterday. One perk is that we had Redentor all to ourselves when we finally got there! Rio is actually very gorgeous in the rain. Do bring a light jacket and umbrella if traveling during rain season, as the weather is highly unpredictable. The tour itself is run a bit chaotic, as previous reviewers have mentioned, so pack your patience. Rio is a busy and vibrant city that requires a lot of patience anyway. The buffet lunch at Fontana was very good. I'd recommend this tour.
      Response from Host, Jan 2023
      thanks for your feedback! Really at this time of year, Rio is more crowded than usual which can cause long queues and a lot of traffic. but we are happy that you were able to enjoy the beauties of our city! We hope to see you soon
      A very poorly organised...
      Michelle_S, Dec 2022
      A very poorly organised tour with a tour guide who barely shared any information and had no control of the group, a very disappointing day.
      christ redeemer and sugar...
      paul_c, Dec 2022
      christ redeemer and sugar loaf mountain amazing however completely let down by the so called Brazilian steakhouse as it was just a buffet and not same experience as others had
      Awesome tour
      JOHN_C, Dec 2022
      Very friendly and tried there best to see everything they said even with flat tire to start day lunch was awesome 👍😎
      Awesome
      LadyEileen_H, Dec 2022
      This was a great tour our guide Rhena was very knowledgable. Be prepared it was a long day 10 hours but so worth it
      Great to see the Christ the Redeemer but avoid the rest!!!!
      Kian_C, Dec 2022
      Trip to see the Christ Redeemer was great but the start of the trip is very disappointing as advertised on pick up at hotel was 08:00 and had to call couple of times to verify the tour is still going ahead. After waiting 1hr 20mins the tour finally starts. The tour guide is very helpful and knowledgeable . The only highlight of my trip in Rio is the visit to the Christ Redeemer as the city itself is very dangerous to walk in Copacabana beach front at night. Muggers everywhere and have to be wary and look around your surrounding , unable to walk with your mobile phone, watch and jewellery.
      A10 tour!
      Joan_C, Dec 2022
      Great experience…. Going around Rio! Ricardo the driver, friendly and a safe driver. Aldo, our tour guide great. Speak English well!
      City tour with MANY problems
      StephenAsbury, Dec 2022
      My wife and I had cruised from Florida to Rio de Janeiro, and had just one full day in the city before returning home to the UK. We booked this tour with City Rio Turismo c. four months in advance. The tour was described as having hotel pick-ups between 8am and 8.40. We were scheduled for pick up at the JW Marriott at Copacabana beach at 8.30. Instead, we were picked up at 8.20, and pick-ups went on, and on, and on, around the crowded city streets until 10.35am. We spent over two hours in an increasingly cramped minibus. The air conditioning was poor/not functioning properly - 100 degrees outside, and 100 degrees inside. We even had a puncture, and the driver had to change the wheel (which he did in 20 minutes flat!). Our first tour stop was at the Christ the Redeemer statue. As we arrived, the weather was changing. Honestly, in the first 5-10 minutes, we went from clear skies to cloudy, then wind, then pouring rain. Even from its base, the whole statute was obscured. I wish we had been there on time, instead of wasting so long driving around the city on pick-ups. This lateness set the tone for the whole day - always running late, with only drive-by and quick stops. Our guide was Aldo. He was not very good. The 15 tour participants had to keep asking him "what is that?", and "where are we going next?". He was pleasant enough, but just not very communicative. The rain meant that from 11am until 1pm, we just drove by things. It was too wet to get out of the minibus. After buffet lunch, we made short stops at the Cathedral and the Selaron steps. Our last stop was Sugarloaf mountain. The weather had deteriorated again; we rode the cable car, but could not see the top. In the end, the driver (Caesar) dropped us off on time, and we went to airport to fly home. We saw Rio's sights, but SO much went wrong on this tour. We're glad we did the trip, BUT it could have been SO much better.
      good well organize, professional guide evrything provided as stated. covers all the major landmarks within one day
      marek, Dec 2022
      sugarloaf when we watch world cup soccer between Brazil and croatia.. this was coincidental..but wow.Weather was cooperating and service intuitive
      Simply Brilliant a full day in Rio
      Michael_C, Dec 2022
      Reanna was a fantastic guide on our full day in Rio tour. We were emailed a pick up time form out hotel and she was bang on time to collect us, she spoke very well and had a good loud voice, easily understandable, friendly, helpful and approachable. She gave a great commentary and explained everything as we went along, she made sure all the group were involved. We covered all the main sights and had tickets to Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer meaning we beat the queues. A long trip caused by the traffic mainly, although on two stops the same couple were more than 5 minutes late for the meet. Personally I would say at the start, anyone 5 mins late is left behind, on both occasions they just wandered up without a are in the world delaying the trip.
      Wonderful experience! Worth it.
      Maureen_B, Dec 2022
      We traveled with our four year old on this eight hour adventure tour. We were pleasantly surprised. Excellent guide, fantastic driver, and saw so many things in one day. Definitely got our moneys worth. The lunch buffet is excellent, all you can eat, except for you must pay for drinks and dessert. I would highly recommend. The driver and guide were fantastic with our little daughter. thank you Aldo and Ricardo!
      Sugar Loft and statue of...
      Vibha_R, Dec 2022
      Sugar Loft and statue of Christ lunch was not great not much choices for vegetarian But enjoyed the tour lot more. Please find a better speaking English guide.
      Kathya was a very...
      irene_d, Dec 2022
      Kathya was a very excellent tour guide. She makes our day !!!great tour, not tired at all we had a very comfy van with AC all day.
      ...