Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour Underground Chambers Arena and Upper Tier

Colosseum Underground Semi-Private Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena

Rome, Italy
  • 3 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


On this semi-private tour of 10 people or fewer, you can experience this historic Rome icon to the fullest with access to areas that are typically closed to the public—the underground chambers. After skipping the main entrance line, explore the Colosseum with an informative guide, who shares stories about life in Ancient Rome. Get the rare chance to walk through the tunnels, stand where gladiators stood and enjoy a panoramic view. Then visit the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill to complete your tour of Rome’s top ancient sites.
  • Enjoy access to all areas of the Colosseum, including places normally off-limits
  • Explore the Colosseum's underground chambers and see where wild animals were caged
  • Visit the Roman Forum, walk up Palatine Hill and enjoy views of Nero's Circus Maximus
  • Walk in the Gladiators' footsteps on the Arena floor

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Secure access to the underground chambers and arena floor

What's Included

  • Professional guide
  • Small groups of 10 people or fewer
  • Skip-the-Line Access to Roman Forum & Palatine Hill
  • Special Skip-the-Line Access to Colosseum Underground and Arena Floor
  • Dedicated audio headsets so you don't miss a thing
  • Guaranteed to skip the long lines
  • Colosseum Entry ticket with Arena and Underground (€24)
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • Largo Gaetana Agnesi
    L.go Gaetana Agnesi, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

    Meet your guide at Largo Gaetana Agnesi, above the 2nd floor of the metro line B (blue line) stop "Colosseo". If arriving by metro: Upon exiting the turnstiles of the metro, take an immediate right down the tiled hall to the escalator/stairs within the metro station.

End point

  • Roman Forum
    Via della Salara Vecchia, 5/6, 00186 Roma RM, Italy

What To Expect


2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Palatine Hill

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Roman Forum

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please note: All participant names are required at the time of booking in order to enter the Colosseum. Every customer is required to carry a valid ID that matches the name on the ticket, or an entry will be refused. Name changes are not permitted once the booking is confirmed
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Due to the fact that Colosseum Underground entry tickets can only be purchased using the full name of each passenger and cannot be modified or cancelled, no refund will be given for any tour cancellation once the tickets are purchased on the passengers’ behalf.
  • On this tour, some of the venues or parts of the venue may be subject to last-minute, unpredictable closures.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more


    3,986 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 3,986 reviews
    Wonderful experience
    Simon_R, Apr 2024
    A great experience with a wonderful guide. Highly recommended. Bring your walking shoes. A great experience with a wonderful guide. Highly recommended
    Like a ride on the Titanic.
    Kimberly_D, Mar 2024
    Them not having ours or 8 other families tickets, then canceling our tour. Called Viator, they were understanding but super limited on recompense as all they could do was say woops sorry, we will refund the money paid but not the additional out put for travel to and from. Super highlight.
    Response from Host, Mar 2024
    Hi Kimberly_D, We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the cancellation of your Colosseum Underground tour. We understand how frustrating it is to have your plans disrupted. Unfortunately, access to the Colosseum Underground can be unpredictable due to various regulations imposed by the Colosseum, as was the case in your situation. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. We appreciate your understanding and cooperation in this matter. We would like to offer you and your family a complimentary tour with City Wonders to make up for the inconvenience you experienced. Please reach out to us at or, and our team will be more than happy to coordinate and arrange a tour that suits your preferences. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your understanding. We hope this gesture and the forthcoming refund will help alleviate the inconvenience, and we eagerly await the opportunity to provide you with a memorable tour experience. Best regards, The City Wonders Team
    Disappointed with lack of communication
    Carol_G, Nov 2023
    I was very displeased with City Wonders for this particular excursion. Firstly, the scheduled morning tour was moved to a late afternoon tour (via text) and then when my family of 10 had arrived, we were told that the tour guide had called off and there was no other tour guide to do the tour. I was not notified of this until we were at the meeting place. Secondly, the option of doing just the underground tour (done by the Colosseum) with reimbursement for the private tour of the arena, Forum, and Palatine Hill was offered without complete instruction given and our group had to scramble to get to the underground tour which we had to join late. I do want to mention that the underground tour was a great experience.
    Response from Host, Nov 2023
    Hi Carol_G, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you and your family experienced with our Colosseum Underground Semi-Private Tour. We understand the importance of reliable and seamless tour experiences, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations. We deeply appreciate your understanding and flexibility during the unexpected changes in the tour schedule and the guide cancellation. It's heartening to hear that, despite the challenges, the underground tour was a great experience for you. To make amends for the disruption, we have processed a partial refund for the inconvenience. You can expect the refund to be credited back to your account in 7-10 business days. We truly value your feedback, and we want to assure you that we are taking steps to address the issues you've raised to prevent similar occurrences in the future. Your satisfaction is our priority, and we hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with a flawless tour experience. Thank you for your understanding, and we appreciate your continued trust in City Wonders. Best regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
    Switched tours on us
    Jacqueline_M, Nov 2023
    I would love to be able to review this tour, however we were told it was canceled via email about a month prior to the tour. we were however able to rebook a lesser, large group tour that did not go underground and we would receive a refund of the difference. I tried calling days before our tour because we had not received any refunds. They then told me we were still booked for the semi private underground tour. Great! … not so great when we showed up for our tour and were told it was in fact canceled and we were going on the group Colesseum tour. We did, it was informative and our guide was very knowledgeable. The whole experience has left a bad taste for Viator as I am still trying to get our partial refund. Will never book with them again
    Response from Host, Nov 2023
    Hi Jacqueline_M, Thank you for sharing your experience with our Colosseum Underground Semi-Private Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena. We sincerely apologize for the confusion and inconvenience you faced during the booking process and on the day of the tour. We appreciate your understanding and patience as we worked to resolve the issues. We regret that you were unable to experience the Underground section as originally planned. To address the inconvenience, we have processed a partial refund for the difference in cost between the semi-private and group tours. Please allow 7-10 business days for the funds to reflect in your account. We're pleased to hear that, despite the challenges, you found the group Colosseum tour informative with a knowledgeable guide. Your positive feedback about the alternative tour is appreciated. We understand the importance of clear communication, and we will review our processes to prevent similar situations in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and for booking your Colosseum experience with us. Kind regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
    handled big group well and paced his information
    Michael_B, Oct 2023
    Our tour started with 2 hiccups: 1 they had to change the time a few days before hand and 2. a guide called in sick so they had to redistribute the groups BUT Marcos did not let that affect his tour. He handled our big group well and spaced out the information so that it did not feel overwhelming or that he was just reciting a bunch of memorized facts. A great first tour of the Colosseum and Roman Forum.
    Eddy and this tour was awesome!
    Todd_K, Oct 2023
    How can you go wrong when you have an archeologist as your tour guide! Eddy was such a funny great guy too. Went above and beyond explaining everything and he really has a passion for what he’s doing. I can’t imagine anyone else being as great as him! So much history and he explained everything in great detail. Highly recommend this tour and if you get Eddy be very thankful because it will be awesome!
    Tour with Simon
    Susie_R, Oct 2023
    Simon, was an outstanding guide for our tour ! His love of Rome,history of the land ,culture and it’s people was apparent . We loved learning about the Colosseum, the Emperors and their wives along with the trials of a Gladiators. The many different animals used and the fact that they were often killed also that although they were wild aggressive animals they were very weak from lack of food and water so easy to fight and subdue. We learned that unlike in the movies the Gladiators were very rarely killed. To train a Gladiator was very expensive. There were schools and boys trained forseveral years to fight in the arena! The Roman Empire used to have half of the world under its control. That is amazing to consider!! I learned so much on our tour I could go on and on. Just go and tour yourself with Simon!!
    We got ripped off
    Helen_S, Sep 2023
    None. We signed up for a SEMI PRIVATE tour that was canceled only the day before. We were told we could sign up for a similar tour without the underground forum at 9:15 instead of 8:50. We asked the size of the new group and were told at the most 22. There were 25. We arrived on time and were told that NOW the tour does not start until 9:30. The guide meant well but he told constant stupid jokes. The whole experience was painful.
    10 minutes in the arena, no more. Rip off.
    Dan_T, Sep 2023
    This tour was a failure from start to finish sorry. We initially booked to do this tour with underground and gladiator arena. A few weeks ahead it was cancelled on the basis that underground toor was no longer available (on the day we saw plenty of people in the underground area, I have photos to prove it. We were rebooked by the tour providers (City Wonders sold through Viator) onto Colosseum, Forum and Palantine hill tour. The tour ahead 24 people on it according to our tour guide “Simon”. It started at three and we then spent 30 minutes getting into the Colosseum and waiting for people to go to the toilets. The next three quarters of an hour were spent with our tour guide “behind the scenes”i.e. back stage on the 1st floor, being hold some interesting history but without sight of the hugely impressive internal arena. It was not until an hour and 10 minutes into the tour that we got to see the arena (the time stamp on my 1st photo shows exactly 16:10). We then only had 10 minutes to take it all in before we were asked to move into the shade without a view of the arena where the merits or otherwise of the film Gladiator and the Netflix TV show of Spartacus were discussed for 10 minutes. Then it was straight backstage again where we were told that we were off to the Forum. I was shocked, we wanted to see the magnificent arena and really absorb it, as well as go to the partially reconstructed stage on the arena floor. We were told we could not and that our tickets did not cover the arena floor (I was told on the phone when i rebooked that it was). We then had a choice to stay in the coliseum on our own while the rest of the group went off to see the Forum (and loose our access to the Forum, or continue on with the tour having not spent much time in the primary objective. We plumped to stay and missed out on the Forum and hill which I feel is a real shame. If your time spent in the actual Colosseum arena is going to be so limited, this really should be shared with ticket buyers up front. I feel I was miss-sold and raised a complaint with Viator who refused to give even a partial refund. My view, if you want to see the Colosseum in its full glory don’t pick this tour or City Wonders.
    Terrible experience
    Amber_B, Sep 2023
    I booked this tour particularly because of the low number of people in the group and also for the underground experience. When I arrived on the day I was advised that the underground tour had been cancelled by the colosseum, I understand that’s beyond anyone’s control. I was placed in a group with 50 people. Considering I was expecting a group of 10 at most, I was disappointed. The tour was not enjoyable at all, in fact I left about halfway through. If you book this tour please make sure you keep checking to see if it’s going ahead and cancel if it’s not. I feel as though I would have got more out of an auto tour.
    Response from Host, Sep 2023
    Hello Amber_B, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent booking with us for the Colosseum Underground Semi-Private Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena. We sincerely apologize for the less-than-satisfactory experience you had during this tour. We deeply regret that the Colosseum's cancellation of the underground portion of the tour impacted your experience. While such situations are beyond our control, we understand your disappointment. Furthermore, we apologize for the larger group size you encountered on the day of the tour. We appreciate your understanding that sometimes circumstances may lead to variations in group sizes. We continuously strive to offer the best possible experiences to our guests, and your feedback is essential in helping us improve. To address the issues you've raised, we will be issuing a partial refund as a gesture of goodwill to reflect the portions of the tour that you missed and did not find enjoyable. We understand that this may not fully compensate for your experience, but we hope it demonstrates our commitment to ensuring our guests are satisfied. For an update on the status of your refund or any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly at, and we will be happy to assist you. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during the tour. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us enhance our services and provide better experiences to our guests in the future. Best regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Lynn_L, Sep 2023
    The history and views were spectacular.a moment in time that spans 2000 years. Our trip was canceled from the semi-private under-ground to the group tour. A partial refund was promised but have yet to receive.
    Jayasree_C, Sep 2023
    We arrived on September 8th, 2023 1 pm, in the location provided in the notification. No one showed up. We waited another 45 minutes after the scheduled time. Very disappointed.
    Response from Host, Sep 2023
    Hello Jayasree_C, We are truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience on the Colosseum Underground Semi-Private Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena booked through Viator. This is certainly not the level of service we aim to provide. We would like to investigate this matter further and ensure it doesn't happen again in the future. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you encountered. To assist us in resolving this issue and to better understand what might have happened, we kindly request that you reach out to us via email at with the details of your booking, including your name, reservation number, and any additional information about your experience. Our coordinators are always at our designated meeting point for all Colosseum tours, and if we were at fault in any way, we will certainly make every effort to accommodate you and rectify the situation. Your feedback is essential to us, and we appreciate your understanding as we work to improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with the exceptional tour experience that you deserve. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Sincerely, The City Wonders Team
    Good tour guide but not the tour I signed up for
    Sara_K, Sep 2023
    Our excursion was downgraded to no underground access. Perhaps it was everyone not just our tour company. It also was not semi-private with over 20 people in our group. I was compensated but still paid quite a bit for this-almost $200 at the beginning of Sept for 2 people. Our guide was wonderful, vibrant, funny and patient, very knowledgeable too!
    Good tour guide but not what we originally signed up for.
    Claudine_H, Sep 2023
    Simon was a very good tour guide and he was very knowledgeable and he is the reason for the 5 star review. We were disappointed that our original tour of only 10 people with the opportunity to go to the underground was cancelled.
    Learned a lot!
    Donald_M, Sep 2023
    Very thorough and educational tour. We really enjoyed the experience. There is much more to the tour than just the colosseum.
    Don't book with Viator or City Wonders in Rome!
    Julie_U, Aug 2023
    We booked our tour months before our trip knowing it was nonrefundable based on the listing. Two days before the tour, City Wonders, the local tour operator, messaged us saying "due to unforeseen circumstances, we are unable to provide your scheduled tour at the original time." We changed the tour time and arrived at the meeting spot as instructed. A City Wonders representative met us and told us it was cancelled because the tour guide was sick. Since it was so last minute, he offered us the tickets to the Colosseum which had already been purchased for free. City Wonders gave us a partial refund but ended up charging us $188.21 for $103.57 worth of tickets. Our attempts to get the remaining money back were met with "you should have gotten that in writing." Neither Capital One, TripAdvisor, Viator, or City Wonders care about the fact that this person lied to us. Do yourself a favor, use a different tour company, record any and all oral changes they make on your phone, and a non-Visa credit card to book it.
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    Hello Julie_U, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced with your Colosseum Underground Semi-Private Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena. We deeply regret the miscommunication and any resulting financial discrepancies. We acknowledge that there were issues with the original tour and the last-minute cancellation due to the guide's illness. We understand your disappointment, and we have taken steps to rectify this situation. We have revised our internal processes to ensure that such occurrences are minimized in the future. We understand the importance of clear communication, and we apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred. Your feedback is invaluable, and it will be used to improve our services. Thank you for your understanding and for giving us an opportunity to make this right. We hope that, in the future, you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with a more enjoyable and seamless experience. Kind regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Silvia made the difference
    Enrico_Q, Aug 2023
    Tour was good but Silvia made the tour exceptional. She had a lot of passion, energy and empathy for those who needed time and or shade. She is filled with knowledge and materials to help illustrate what she is explaining. Highly recommend and if you get Silvia as your guide then you are in for a treat.
    Ron_C, Aug 2023
    BEWARE OF THIS TOUR!! A week before the tour they contacted us to tell us that they had cancelled our tour time and to call to book a tour for the same day at a different time. Luckily it didn’t change our plans too much but if we had any other tours booked on the same day we would have had to skip it entirely. The MORNING OF our tour we showed up at the meeting point and an employee met us to inform us that the tour guide NO-SHOWED and they had to cancel our guided tour. No email/phone call/etc to tell us ahead of time - they waited until we showed up for the tour. Our tickets still allowed us entry but we did not get any sort of a guide (which was very important to us). Luckily we did get a partial refund, but it was a huge disappointment when we could have gone with any other reliable tour company.
    Colloseum poor tour
    Terra_H, Aug 2023
    I didn’t feel that our guide knew much about the Colosseum. He was much more interested in the Forum. He took more breaks then anything else. We had to change our tour at the last minute because of you. We bought underground tickets and you canceled them.
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    Hello Terra_H, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your Colosseum Underground Semi-Private Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena experience. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us enhance our services. We apologize for any disappointment caused by the altered tour experience. Our aim is to provide comprehensive insights into both the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. We regret if the focus of the guide seemed imbalanced during your tour. Regarding the change in your tour, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Due to operational considerations, we no longer offer the Colosseum Underground as part of our tour. We understand that such changes can impact the planned experience, and we're sorry for any disappointment this may have caused. Your feedback is valuable as it helps us address areas that require improvement and ensure a more balanced and enriching tour experience in the future. We hope that despite the challenges you faced, you were still able to appreciate the historical significance of the Roman Forum and the Colosseum. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and we hope you'll consider giving us another opportunity in the future to provide you with a more satisfying tour experience. Warm regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Good tour
    Lisa_B, Aug 2023
    Tour was well organized and guide was knowledgeable. Going early helped to minimize the heat. I had originally booked to go to the underground area with a small group. For some reason, this was cancelled about a week before. So we accepted the larger group, staying above. I got a refund for the difference and still enjoyed the visit .

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    Likely to Sell Out
    No Photo
    Colosseum Underground Semi-Private Tour with Roman Forum & Gladiator Arena


    3 hours
    Free Cancellation
    Likely to Sell Out
    No Photo
    Private Guided Tour of Colosseum Underground, Arena and Forum


    2 hours 30 minutes to 3 hours
    Free Cancellation

    Explore Similar Things to Do