Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor

Roma, Italy
Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor

From $87.39

Select Date and Travelers

-You will not receive a refund if you cancel.

  • 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Tour the amphitheater and other sites of Ancient Rome under the atmospheric cover of darkness during this evening tour. Learn about the ruins of the Roman Forum seen from the Piazza del Campidoglio, and enter the Colosseum after the daytime crowds have disappeared and the temperature has dropped.
  • Sightsee in the cooler evening temperatures and see Rome’s top attractions without the busy daytime crowds.
  • Walk around the Colosseum’s reconstructed arena floor, in the space where gladiator battles were fought.
  • Admire recently discovered graffiti dating back to the late Middle Ages.
  • Small-group tour with a maximum of 20 people.

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

See the Colosseum—including typically off-limits areas—after dark, when crowds disperse and temps drop.

What's Included

  • Local expert guide
  • Skip-the-Line Access to the Colosseum including the Arena Floor
  • Small groups of 20 people or fewer
  • Roman Forum is seen from the outside only
  • Colosseum Entry ticket with Arena (€23.60)
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Trajan's Column
    Via dei Fori Imperiali, 00187 Roma RM, Italy

    The tour starts on the platform directly in front of Trajan’s Column: located on Via dei Fori Imperiali near Piazza Venezia. Standing right in front and facing the Victor Emmanuel II Monument, it’s directly to the left across the street. The guide will be waiting there wearing a blue polo shirt.

End point

  • Colosseum
    Piazza del Colosseo, 1, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

What To Expect

Meet your guide and group at the foot of Trajan’s Column, a short walk from the Colosseum but set away from the crowds. Stroll down Via dei Fori Imperiali, pausing to admire the Roman Forum from above, then continue on to the Colosseum entrance.

Skip the long line with pre-booked priority entry and head straight inside the ancient amphitheater to access the restricted arena floor with your guide. Learn about the building’s history and design as you admire the tiers of seats, central arena, and underground (from above) while the sun begins to set and the site empties of the daytime crowds.

Colonna Traiana

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Roman Forum

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included


1 hour 20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Avoid bringing large purses, bags, or backpacks on your tour.
  • Please provide the full names of all travelers when booking. Failure to present a voucher with all travelers' full names at the ticket office prior to entry may result in denied entry to the Colosseum and Roman Forum.
  • Please note: All participant names are required at the time of booking in order to enter the Colosseum. If we do not receive the full customers names, we will cancel the booking. Every customer is required to carry a valid ID that matches the name on the ticket, or an entry will be refused. Name changes are not permitted once the booking is confirmed.
  • We regret that we are unable to accommodate guest below 6 years old due to venue security reason.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Traveler Tips

    There are stairs and lots of walking so the requirement of moderate fitness by the tour operator is accurate.
    Honestly, it's a good tour, but go during the day.
    The Colosseum at night is lovely, and the underground and arena floor is a must.


    829 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 829 reviews
    Great guided tour experience
    Rogelio_E, Oct 2023
    Enjoyed the tour. We arrived a bit late for the guided tour but despite the circumstances, the operator/s of the tour still accommodated us. Viator contact center did a marvellous job in helping us. The tour guide was very professional in handling a conflict with another participant/s within the group. (Sorry, forgot the tour guide’s name). Just a shame that we ran out of time at the end of the tour so we did not have enough time to take photos as the colosseum was already escorting people out.
    Highly recommend this hour of the tour.
    Shirley_L, Oct 2023
    Our tour guide was very knowledgeable on the history of Rome city and the amphitheater aka “Colosseum”. It was a very enjoyable tour. Love the sunsetting views of the colosseum. Wished there was more time to roam and enjoy the shop for souvenirs. (Website is not letting me upload a picture)
    Excellent experience!
    Beth_C, Oct 2023
    Carlos was a wonderful tour guide. He was interesting, knowledgeable, and friendly. We learned a great deal and were able to go to different areas of the Colosseum.
    "Afternoon" not Evening tour
    John_C, Oct 2023
    The tour guide was very knowledgeable and had great energy. I was very dissatisfied by the tour starting earlier. It was an afternoon tour, not an evening tour. For someone that has already experienced a full tour (lower level to the top level) it was disappointing to not be able to see the grounds during the evening. I would have canceled the tour, but had already made plans around the tour time/s. It was still a nice time and would recommend it to others, just not advertised as an evening tour.
    Laura_A, Oct 2023
    This tour was amazing! Our guide Fabio was fantastic! He knew everything and really cared about everyone having a good time and learning about the history!
    Great tour.
    Shane_D, Sep 2023
    Exceeded expectations. The tour not only gave us access to the Colosseum but also walked by the Roman Forums. The guide was very knowledgeable and shared some great stories. Would highly recommend.
    Down then Up Up!
    TracyW_R, Sep 2023
    Didn’t happen. Was canceled 5-days before. Schedule to an afternoon tour. WHICH WAS GREAT!! 1-star for cancelation & refund, 5-stars for afternoon tour. SUPER GUIDE!!
    Be careful on booking dates
    Elizabeth_M, Sep 2023
    I had an issue booking this tour where the date reverted to the first available not the one I selected so we weren’t even in Rome on the tour date unfortunately and there was no alternative available during our 5 day stay the week after the date booked for ti move it to (for a small fee) and the company wouldn’t let us move it to another tour as the date booked for (the date it defaulted to) was the day after booking it so under 24 hrs.
    Extremely disappointed
    Brian_M, Sep 2023
    Viator needs to up their digital game. I added ticket to my apple wallet. The Viator tickets downloaded to my wallet did not include any information about the meeting place. Therefore we missed the tour because I had no idea of the meeting place. I would not recommend Viator to anyone else traveling
    So friendly and fun
    Lubaina_C, Sep 2023
    Such a great tour with City Wonders! We arrived late yet they still accommodated us all and made us feel so welcome even though we were meant to be with another group! Would definitely visit again!
    Not worth it
    Sabrina_V, Sep 2023
    Our tour guide didn’t meet us or wait for us at the meeting point. My family caught up with our group inside after spending extra money to enter the Colliseum. We tried to join our original group but the tour guide was rude, unhelpful and refused to speak to us. Another employee of City Wonders overheard and helped us by calling the head office. Overall, not impressed. Not worth it.
    Response from Host, Sep 2023
    Hi Sabrina_V, We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the unfortunate experience you had during your Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we deeply regret any inconvenience you may have encountered. First and foremost, we're sorry to hear that your tour guide didn't meet you at the designated meeting point. We understand that this caused unnecessary frustration and expense as you had to purchase additional tickets to enter the Colosseum. Please know that this is not the standard of service we aim to provide. We would like to offer an explanation regarding our check-in policy. We request that our customers arrive at the meeting point 15 minutes prior to the tour's scheduled start time for the check-in process. This is not only to ensure the punctuality and quality of our tours but also for safety reasons. Once the tour has commenced and the group has entered the attraction, it can be challenging and potentially unsafe for our guides to admit late arrivals. However, we understand that there may have been a misunderstanding or exceptional circumstances in your case. It is never our intention to inconvenience our guests. We also deeply regret the reported rudeness and unhelpfulness of the tour guide you encountered inside the Colosseum. This behavior is not in line with our standards of customer service, and we will address this matter with the guide involved. We appreciate your patience and commend the other City Wonders employee who assisted you by calling the head office. We are grateful for their intervention in resolving the situation. Your feedback helps us improve our services, and we hope that this isolated incident does not deter you from considering City Wonders for future tours. We are committed to delivering exceptional experiences, and we value your trust. Thank you for your understanding. Kind regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Amazing tour
    Anette_i, Aug 2023
    The guide was extremely knowledgeable and the tour was comprehensive but not so fast paced that you couldn’t stop and take pictures or enjoy the magnificent surroundings! Would highly recommend!
    Great tour guide, but too many people in a very hot day.
    GUSTAVOA_S, Aug 2023
    Great tour guide, but too many people in a very hot day. I recomend to choose a different season for this tour
    Michael_S, Aug 2023
    Guide did not do the tour because he didn’t have enough tickets He was short 6 tickets Never saw the colosseum Please give me a refund
    Rome trip
    Garywilding, Aug 2023
    Great guided tour, pace was good and the guide had excellent knowledge, to bring the history to life.
    Better or more accurate map directions needed on the app
    Fernando_O, Aug 2023
    I’m very disappointed with the setup meeting location. I followed the app directions on maps which doesn’t correspond to the written directions and we were there 10 minutes early so we would be there in time. Unfortunately the directions were different and I could not contact the person or tour guide
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    Hello Fernando_O, We highly encourage you to reach out to our dedicated customer service team at While we diligently ensure the accuracy of our meeting points, we take feedback seriously. In case of any potential discrepancy, we will thoroughly investigate the matter. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope to address this situation promptly. Your experience matters to us. Kind regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
    Breathtaking and insightful tour.
    Martin_H, Aug 2023
    Fantastic tour by Carlo from CityWonders. He even slowed the tour group so one of my children could use the bathroom. Very informative and breathtaking. I’m glad we did the 5pm tour. Great way to end all tours for the day with a nice dinner nearby.
    Much cooler than morning / day tour
    Ren_M, Jul 2023
    The arena floor and the higher levels were much better vantage points, well worth the extra spend in a summer where everywhere is crowded. Our tour guide was very detailed, interesting and informative. The evening tour was much cooler and less crowded. I recommend it over a day / morning tour.
    Would do this again
    Jamie_D, Jul 2023
    Our tour guide Manuela was magnificent. She was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. It was a bit hot but she kept us moving quickly so we were melting. Definitely would recommend for families with kids and teens
    Wonderful guide and a great way to see the colosseum!
    Tara_G, Jul 2023
    Great way to see the colosseum! Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided great information and history about the colosseum.

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    No Photo
    Colosseum by Evening Guided Tour with Arena Floor


    2 hours
    Free Cancellation

    Explore Similar Things to Do