Rome

Full Day Combo: Colosseum & Vatican Skip the Line Guided Tour

Rome, Italy
Full Day Combo Vatican and Colosseum Skip the Line Guided Tour
  • 8 hours 15 minutes
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Combine a trip to two of Rome’s greatest sites in one day. Take advantage of skip-the-line access to the Colosseum and no-wait entry at the Vatican and during this full-day tour. While others wait in line, you experience the ancient glory of the Colosseum, Palatine Hill, and Roman Forum followed by the majesty Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel, all with an expert guide.
  • Full-day Rome combo with skip-the-line walking tours of the Colosseum and Vatican Museums
  • Combine two best-selling Rome tours in one memorable day, led by expert guides
  • Avoid the lines at the Colosseum and explore its first and second tiers
  • Enjoy free time between the Colosseum and Vatican visits

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Skip-the-line passes to the Vatican Museums and Colosseum mean you can save hours of waiting-in-line time during high season. Although not all areas require special clothing, be sure shoulders and knees are covered for when you explore holy sites.

What's Included

  • Professional English-speaking guide
  • Reserved Skip-the-Line Accessn to Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, St Peter's Basilica
  • Reserved Skip-the-Line Access to the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill
  • Audio headset so you can always hear your guide at the Colosseum
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Transfers between the two tours

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • L.go Gaetana Agnesi, 5
    L.go Gaetana Agnesi, 5, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

    Morning Tour - Colosseum (9AM, 9.15AM or 10AM depending on time selected): meet at Largo Gaetana Agnesi, above the 2nd floor of the metro line B (blue line) stop "Colosseum" Afternoon Tour - Vatican (2.30PM): meet at the bottom of the steps across the street from the Entrance of the Vatican Museums

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Start the day with a border crossing into Vatican City, where you breeze past the long lines and through an exclusive partner entrance into the ornate Vatican Museums. More than 200 tour operators have “Skip the Line” entry to the Vatican, but this Official Partner Tour grants you special access through the Private Partner Entrance, which allows you to enter immediately, saving up to four hours during peak season and giving you even more time to explore the beauty of the Museums.

Once inside, you and your small group enjoy all the highlights of the Vatican with an expert guide by your side. The tour takes in a treasure trove of artistic wonders, from masterworks such as Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel frescoes. Throughout the tour, your expert, English-speaking guide shares fascinating insights only a local could know.

After your Vatican tour, enjoy free time to sample some authentic Italian cuisine (own expense) before meeting your next expert guide for a tour of the historical heart of ancient Rome. Begin by skipping yet another line to enter the Colosseum immediately. Dominating the center of the Eternal City, this ancient arena puts modern stadiums to shame.

Then your tour continues to the Palatine Hill, where Rome originated in a battle between two brothers. You are then taken from the origin of ancient Rome to its hub: The Forum, that bustling marketplace where business, politics, and religion mixed. No other tour takes you so close to so much of the history, significance, and fabulous riches of Rome.

Please note: During the low season, the itinerary described operates in reverse. Tour the Colosseum and Roman Forum in the morning, followed by the Vatican Museums.

Colosseum

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Roman Forum

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Palatine Hill

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Vatican City

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Vatican Museums

2 hours Admission Ticket Included

Sistine Chapel

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

St. Peter's Basilica

40 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Only very small bags are allowed.
  • Please provide the full names of all travelers when booking. Failure to present a voucher with all travelers' full names at the ticket office prior to entry may result in denied entry to the Colosseum and Roman Forum.
  • Depending on your morning tour start time (9am or 10am), you will have between 1h30 and 2h30 break between the Colosseum and Vatican tours.
  • You have to make your own way from the Colosseum to the Vatican. There is plenty of time to travel either by taxi or metro.
  • Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women to enter to the venue
  • Please note: All participant names are required at the time of booking in order to enter the Colosseum. If we do not receive the full customers names, we will cancel the booking. Name changes are not permitted once the booking is confirmed.
  • Each traveler must present a valid passport or ID document that matches the name provided at the time of booking for successful entry to the Colosseum and Roman Forum.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

      Traveler Photos

      See more

      Traveler Tips


      Take pictures when possible, so you can look at details later.
      Travellers be aware though that the two tours involve a lot of walking, so pack your most comfortable shoes!
      Bring sunscreen and a hat, and possibly a parasol, but mind your belongings.
      Reviews by Viator travelers. We perform checks on reviews

      Reviews

      4.5
      1,107 reviews
      Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
      0
      0
      0
      0
      0
      Reviews by Viator travelers.
      Showing 1-10 of 1,107 reviews
      Both sites are a must see...
      Pjhogan, Jan 2024
      Both sites are a must see in Rome. The guides were a little hard to understand as the acoustics on the speakers weren’t working properly. We had to walk from the Colosseum tour in the morning over to the Vatican in the afternoon so it made it a long day.
      Great way to see much if you’re limited to one day.
      Christine_P, Dec 2023
      Our afternoon guide, Amil was a delight! Fresh and entertaining! We thoroughly enjoyed her informative and upbeat style.
      Great tour but know in advanced if the am portion is the same group as the pm portion.
      renevalles, Dec 2023
      I would have rated this tour 4 starts rather than 5 starts but I did not wish to penalize our wonderful tour guide for a Viator issue. We booked this full-day tour which was supposed to be a full day with the same group and tour guide which we didn't find out later. The am tour was separate from the pm portion of the tour which were both excellent. We wished to avoid finding our own way to the next portion of the tour as to the reason why we booked this full-day tour. Again, this tour was wonderful, and would do it again but just be careful to find out if you need to meet up with a different tour group for the pm portion of the tour. This is especially important for people that may have a hard time navigating Rome on their own.
      Very good tour guides!
      Norman_L, Dec 2023
      Both my tour guides, Simon for the Colosseum, and Amil (for the Batican City) were very good… knowledgeable and funny
      Excellent!!
      Sara_P, Nov 2023
      Everything was excellent. Our Colosseum guide (Amber/Amba) was very knowledgeable and friendly. The only “downside” I would say is that is a lot of walking for one day. I would suggest to do the tours separately as for us we were exhausted by the end of the second one. I could barely move the next day. Unless is means that I’m getting old and need to do more cardio, LOL. Other than that, I would recommend the tour to everyone.
      Family Rome trip!🧳✈️
      Jeraldine_D, Nov 2023
      Maria Louise from City tours is very knowledgeable, friendly and feels like you are going with a friend whom you knows. She makes us feel comfortable and we enjoy every historical facts and the story behind all structures. Very entertaining and educational. Highly recommend 👍👍👍
      Wish I could do two reviews
      ROBERT_B, Nov 2023
      This tour is for the “ whole day” it is actually divided up into two parts. The first part of the day our guide was Sara and she was amazing. Her English was perfect. She was kind and friendly, and she was extremely knowledgeable. We even had a gentleman in our group who had some challenges, and she was able to accommodate him without interfering with the flow of the tour. She was the best! She deserves five stars There was a break in between, and we met back up for the second half of the tour, which was the Vatican, museums, Sistine chapel, Saint peters Basilica. The guide this time was Olga. Olga spoke very poor English, did not maintain control, or management of the group, did not have very much knowledge of the items that she was discussing, particularly just pointing to signs for us to read. The same gentleman with the walking issues was also in this group and unlike Sara, she was unable to manage the group and prevent that from causing our group to lag the schedule we were supposed to. She was extremely disorganized, and at one point had us walking around, looking at absolutely nothing without telling us that our group had been delayed from entering the Sistine chapel due to a back up because we got there later than we should have. Eventually, she told us that we had been “given” an extension so we had to wait. All the while, misleading us about the actuality that we were going to end up with exactly 1 minute in the Sistine chapel, and unable to see Saint peters, because it would be closed by then. Several of us had to actually ask her what was happening for her to be upfront and admit that this was a situation I have never been to Italy, and have been planning for this my entire life. A very big part of what I was anticipating was the Sistine chapel and more importantly, St. Peter Basilica. When I spoke to her about this, I was quite upset, and she continued to say the same thing over and over about the extension. Eventually, the Vatican officials decided to keep Saint peters open for an additional hour due to the fact that so many people did not get to see it. This was the day before national holiday, and all of the monuments were going to be closed the next day. This was also not disclosed in any of the reservation process. Thankfully, no, thanks to Olga, we were able to enjoy St. Peter’s Basilica, with a one minute run-through of the Sistine chapel. I believe this is a good tour company, and this is a great tour in general, however, we had the misfortune of being assigned to this particular tour guide, who almost ruined a trip of a lifetime for us. To reiterate, Sara gets five stars plus!
      Response from Host, Nov 2023
      Hi ROBERT_B, We appreciate your detailed review and your understanding of the tour being divided into two parts. We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience during the first part of the tour with Sara. Her dedication to ensuring a positive experience is commendable, and we'll make sure she receives your compliments. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during the second part of the tour with Olga. We understand that her management and communication skills did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is essential, and we'll be addressing these concerns with our guide management team to ensure that similar situations are prevented in the future. It's unfortunate that you missed some of the highlights, but we're glad to hear that you were still able to visit St. Peter’s Basilica, even with the unexpected delays. Your feedback helps us improve our tours, and we're committed to ensuring that future experiences with us are exceptional. Thank you for choosing our tour and for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a flawless tour experience on your next travels! Thank you again, Edgar J. City Wonders
      Our trip took is back in time, we felt like we really were there.
      Terry_Y, Oct 2023
      Very educational, and friendly staff. Christina helped us really understand our tour she explained everything with precise details.
      Tours
      Nick_C, Oct 2023
      Both tours and tour guides were excellent; Maria Louisa and Oxanna were clear, knowledgeable, helpful, passionate for Rome.
      Lines were crazy-...
      Maryanne_D, Oct 2023
      Lines were crazy- definitely one and done…. Lots of people but WORTH it to see the amazing site! Your guide was great- she was doing best to keep everyone together
      Two excellent tours
      Anne_V, Oct 2023
      The morning tour starting at the Colloseum was excellent with such a knowledgeable guide and it was well-paced. We had a marvelous tour of the Colloseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum. In the afternoon, we were unlucky to have a very busy time and were routed through multiple rooms in the Vatican museum without really learning much about the art, such as the Etruscan art. The tour guide, while knowledgable, was hard to understand over the little radios and her manner of speaking. We did have an excellent viewing in the Sistine Chapel and enough time there. St. Peter's Basilica was rushed, however.
      Best way to see thhe Vatican and Coliseum
      Criselda_L, Sep 2023
      Very knowledgeable and friendly guides. Crowded but the guides made sure we all stayed together. Great way to get historical info!
      Colosseum Tour Great - Vatican Tour Awful
      lcaporale, Sep 2023
      The tour guide Emanuela was fantastic. Showed us around the Colosseum and Forum. Was very knowledgeable and friendly. She was easy to understand and the listening device was clear. Would give this portion of the multi-tour 5 stars. Now for the awful part…Ellena, the Vatican Tour guide was terrible. She rushed people through like cattle. We seriously were not able to look at any of the exhibits and she openly chastised people for not keeping up. The crowds were large and our group was separated several times and she yelled at each one! The listening device was terrible with static and she had a thick accent. Worse tour I have taken in my life.
      Response from Host, Sep 2023
      Hello lcaporale, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your Icons of Rome in 1 day: Vatican & Colosseum Skip the Line Tours. We appreciate your detailed review and want to extend our apologies for the contrasting experiences you had with our tour guides. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience with Emanuela during the Colosseum and Forum portion of the tour. Her knowledge, friendliness, and clear communication are truly appreciated, and we will certainly pass on your kind words to her. However, we sincerely regret that you found your Vatican Tour with Ellena to be subpar. We apologize for any rush and discomfort you experienced during this part of the tour. This does not align with our standards of providing informative, enjoyable, and unhurried experiences for our guests. We will communicate your feedback to our team to ensure improvements in the future. Your comments regarding the listening device and accent have been noted, and we will work to address these issues for a more seamless experience. Thank you for choosing City Wonders, and we genuinely value your input, as it helps us enhance the quality of our tours. We appreciate your booking and your review. Warm regards, The City Wonders Team
      Very good
      Keith_D, Sep 2023
      Carlo was great! His knowledge was good , he was very informative. The tour was Very organized.and punctual.
      Amazing
      Dennis_S, Sep 2023
      Amazing amazing amazing will book again so much info I was shocked in how much they knew great work guys
      Great tour!
      Luke_H, Aug 2023
      Fantastic tours with incredibly knowledgeable guides! Vatican was of course incredibly busy so felt as though we rushed past some beautiful pieces but is understandable. Wear comfortable shoes!
      Two Separate Tours, no transpo provided
      Rosalie_L, Aug 2023
      Our tour guide is endowed with tremendous knowledge in Roman History. We're glad that "Eddy" was assigned to us in the Colosseum tour. He made us laugh with his impromptu icebreaker chats. The main drawback of this Full Day Tour was we were not informed that the Colosseum and Vatican were two separate tours. We had to ride a taxi to get to the Vatican fast at our own expense after Colosseum tour ended at 12 noon. Paola is our guide in the Vatican tour, she's also knowledgeable but I guess more serious type. Tour started at 2:30 pm.
      Colosseum and Vatican in one day.
      ROBERT_S, Jul 2023
      The coloseum and Vatican tour are same day with 2 hour break. Two different guides. Both were excellent. Great knowledge of history and art. Makes for a long day. May want to split it up if you are not up to it. St Paul's Basillica is amazing. So beautiful and so much art. Every wall floor and ceiling covered with mosaic. All made that much more impressive with a knowledgeable tour guide.
      A Tale of Two Tours
      William_H, Jul 2023
      Our guide for the Colosseum and Forum was Fabio and he was amazing. Took the time to memorize the name of all 15 or so people in his group. Knowledgeable, considerate, funny, passionate, helpful - maybe the best tour guide I’ve ever had. Our guide for the Vatican was terrible. He knew his subject matter, but was rude, impatient, and condescending. Completely opposite experiences.
      Absolutely a must do!
      Keahaulani_H, Jul 2023
      Our guide Sylvia was exceptional. Being an archeologist she provided details regarding the coliseum that we would have never known. She was filled with excitement and eager to share her knowledge. Exceptional guide and person.
      ...

      From $159.04

      -You will not receive a refund if you cancel.

      Compare Similar Experiences

      1 / 3
      Current
      No Photo
      Full Day Combo: Colosseum & Vatican Skip the Line Guided Tour

      1,107

      8 hours 15 minutes
      Free Cancellation
      From
      $159.04
      Likely to Sell Out
      No Photo
      Skip-the-Line Colosseum guided tour

      174

      3 hours
      Free Cancellation
      From
      $74.00
      No Photo
      Skip-the-Line Colosseum Guided Tour

      884

      2 to 3 hours
      Free Cancellation
      From
      $54.12

      Explore Similar Things to Do