San Francisco

Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive: Full Day Tour from SF

Badge of ExcellenceSan Francisco, USA
  • 12 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Drive down one of the most scenic roads in California on this full-day tour from San Francisco. Cruise along the coast-hugging Highway 1, passing Pebble Beach on the iconic 17-Mile Drive. Enjoy free time to explore Monterey, where you can stroll down Steinbeck’s Cannery Row or visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Browse the ritzy boutiques of Carmel-by-the-Sea and get a glimpse of Silicon Valley’s tech campuses on the return drive to San Francisco.
  • Full-day trip from San Francisco to Monterey and Carmel
  • San Francisco pickup and drop-off included
  • Plenty of stops with photo opportunities along 17 Mile Drive
  • Have free time to explore Monterey's attractions, all at your own pace

What's Included

  • Day-trip to Monterey and Carmel
  • Entrance fee for the 17-Mile Drive Included
  • Transport by air-conditioned luxury motor-coach with a professional guide
  • 2 hours stop at Monterey Bay
  • 1.5 hour stop at Carmel by the Sea
  • Stops at Pigeon Point Lighthouse, Pebble Beach, Bird Rock and the Lone Cypress
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel Pick-up & drop-off
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Hop aboard your luxury coach in central San Francisco, cruise down scenic Highway 1 and let your guide handle the driving while you soak up views of the Pacific Ocean.

After curving around the Monterey Peninsula, stop in the coastal city of Monterey. Enjoy free time here to grab a fresh seafood lunch on the pier (own expense), browse the shops of Cannery Row, or visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

Continue along the coast with a ride down 17-Mile Drive, home to the prestigious Pebble Beach Golf Course and the Lone Cypress tree. Listen for the barking clamor of Seal Rock with a stop along this low-lying coastal road framed by mansions and ocean vistas. Further along, visit the chic coastal community of Carmel-by-the-Sea, where you can browse high-end galleries and see remnants of a historic Spanish mission. 

Your full-day tour concludes with drop-off in the evening in San Francisco.

Pacific Coast Highway (Pass By)

Pigeon Point Light Station

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Davenport

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Monterey Bay (Pass By)

Cannery Row (Pass By)

17-Mile Drive

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Bird Rock Vista Point

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Lone Cypress

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Pebble Beach Golf Links

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Carmel by the sea (Pass By)

Carmel Plaza

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Frequently Asked Questions

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.

Q:Is there a restroom onboard the Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive tour?

A:Yes restrooms are on the bus. We also make stops to use the restroom during the tour.

Aug 2023

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
James_G
Even thou it rained most of the day this trip was awesome! The beauty of the Northern California coast is a must see and beautiful. The bus was very comfortable and had a bathroom that was very clean. The driver had great knowledge of many topics especially the history of areas we were seeing and stopping at for breaks along the way. He was a good safe driver too. The lone cypress tree was beautiful as well as the pebble beach golf resort. I’d have to say for me the actual 17 mile pacific coastal highway (toll road Clint Eastwood owns the only privately owned toll road in the USA) was just magnificent in both scenery and the beautiful homes along the coast. A great trip rain or shine without question!

Reviews

4.0
1,924 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 1,924 reviews
Bus broke down
MingYan_T, May 2024
Bus broke down on our way back. Broke down at the worst place possible - in the middle of the highway. Tour guide called the company - company took slow action (we are supposed to be back by 8pm, the rescue bus will only be here by 9pm, and that is if we are lucky with traffic). I booked a bus with another couple and that cost us 100+ bucks. Probably not getting a (partial) refund from them here too! But if you want to risk it and take the tour, the majority of it was great.
Response from Host, May 2024
Hi MingYan_T We're really sorry about the experience you shared with us. Unfortunately, despite the daily check on the bus, this happened, and we tried to find the best solution, but we had to send another bus from San Francisco, and it took longer than we expected. If you decided to take a taxi to return to San Francisco, please get in touch with our Customer Direct Line: 415-353-5310 for a refund. Thank you
Fabulous day sightseeing
Bec_W, May 2024
Really good tour. Totally enjoyed seeing the sights of the California coast. Our guide was lovely. My only suggestion for improvement is to cut 10 minutes off the time for the 2 big stops during the day and having a short stop for restroom and stretch legs on drive back. The drive back was 3 hours straight which was a little too long. Also maybe a documentary about the area on the tvs on the way back. We have had this on other tours and was great to learn and pass time. Apart from that a great tour.
Response from Host, May 2024
Hi Bec! Thank you for joining us on our Monterey & Carmel tour! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the sights and found our guide lovely. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another adventure in the future!
Great trip
Maria_O, May 2024
Monterey and Carmel by the sea not to be missed when visiting SF. Felt comfortable with Danilo driving the bus and giving the highlights of trip
Response from Host, May 2024
Hi Maria! We couldn't agree more - Monterey and Carmel-by-the-Sea are truly gems of the California coast, and we're happy you had the opportunity to experience them with us! It's wonderful to hear that Danilo's expertise behind the wheel and his insights added to your comfort and enjoyment throughout the journey.
Great Day Trip
Christopher_G, May 2024
The pickup point was easy to find and the operator was very punctual. The driver/guide was very helpful and friendly. There was plenty of stops and the layover times were long enough. We saw baby Sea Lions and Otters the scenery was stunning.
Response from Host, May 2024
Hi Christo! Observing baby Sea Lions and Otters must have been a real highlight, and we're delighted that you enjoyed the stunning scenery along the way. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back for more unforgettable adventures in the future!
Good But not Great
Passion_M, May 2024
The route was beautiful. Some of the comments were unnecessary but the overall trip was enlightening, inspiring, and included lots of amazing history. The driver was very knowledgeable.
Response from Host, May 2024
Hi Passion! It's wonderful to hear that you found the overall trip enlightening, inspiring, and rich in history. Our drivers take pride in sharing their knowledge, and we're delighted that you found yours to be very knowledgeable. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back for another enriching journey in the future!
The trip was spoiled by...
Derek_T, May 2024
The trip was spoiled by bad weather, wind and rain until we reached Carmel, which of course is beyond your control. The main purpose I booked this tour was to see where Doris Day once lived as I have been a devoted fan since I was 19. I couldn't get a taxi in town but a local agreed to drive me out to see where she lived, or at least the entrance to her estate. So I was very happy the day turned out fulfilling my dream.
Response from Host, May 2024
Hi Derek! We're sorry to hear that the bad weather impacted your trip, but we're glad to hear that the day ultimately fulfilled your dream of seeing where Doris Day once lived. It's heartwarming to know that despite the challenges, you were able to make a meaningful connection to a place that holds special significance for you. While we can't control the weather, we're grateful to hear that you found a way to make the most of your visit to Carmel with the help of a local. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back for more adventures under sunnier skies in the future!
Great trip!
Melanie_K, May 2024
Wonderful trip with an amazing host, Danilo. Wish there was a little more time in Monterey. There is so much to do there.
Response from Host, May 2024
Hi Melanie! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful trip with our amazing host, Danilo! Your feedback about wanting more time in Monterey is duly noted. We understand that there's so much to explore and enjoy in Monterey, and we'll certainly take this into consideration for future itineraries. Thank you for joining us, and we hope to welcome you back for more adventures in the future, with even more time to explore Monterey!
A ride along the 17 mile Golden coast
James_G, May 2024
Even thou it rained most of the day this trip was awesome! The beauty of the Northern California coast is a must see and beautiful. The bus was very comfortable and had a bathroom that was very clean. The driver had great knowledge of many topics especially the history of areas we were seeing and stopping at for breaks along the way. He was a good safe driver too. The lone cypress tree was beautiful as well as the pebble beach golf resort. I’d have to say for me the actual 17 mile pacific coastal highway (toll road Clint Eastwood owns the only privately owned toll road in the USA) was just magnificent in both scenery and the beautiful homes along the coast. A great trip rain or shine without question!
Response from Host, May 2024
Hi James! Thank you for your wonderful review! We're glad to hear that you had an awesome trip despite the rain. The Northern California coast truly is a must-see, and we're glad you enjoyed its beauty. It's great to know that you found our bus comfortable and the facilities clean. We're also pleased to hear that our driver shared valuable knowledge and drove safely. Thank you for choosing our tour, and we hope to welcome you back for another adventure, rain or shine!
Amazing experience!
Gita_P, May 2024
Amazing experience and really fun guide! I saw more than I was expecting! Worth to visit and take amazing photos! A+++
Response from Host, May 2024
Hi Gita! Thank you for your wonderful review! We're glad to hear that you had an amazing experience and enjoyed our fun guide. We look forward to seeing you again on another adventure!
Good times
stefan_e, May 2024
Very picturesque route, friendly guide Was an all in all good time The guide was from Honduras very knowledgable and nice
Superb experience
KAMAL_M, May 2024
Superb experience 👌 Highly recommend bus , the guide and super scenic experience. It was a full day tour .
Awesome, I keep take here more tours
Jose_A, Apr 2024
Was Great Experience, the mother Nature, Is wonderful, and thanks that for have great tours to know more others Places.
Exceptional!
David_H, Apr 2024
The tour was excellent value for money allowing us to visit these must see locations far from San Francisco. It’s also important to say that due to a technical problem with the transport mid way we encountered a delay. The GrayLine Driver went above and beyond in resolving this difficult situation in a very isolated place. We made it a lunch stop and when the Coach was fixed the Driver went out of his way to make all the planned stops on the tour. We even received a reimbursement. Exceptional!!
An excursion gone wrong!
Susan_D, Apr 2024
The 4 hours that all 26 passengers were stranded on the side of the road will never be forgotten by any of us. Our poor driver/guide was not getting any help from his employer so we were all in the dark. An ineffective mechanic came out finally to try to start our BIG bus with a little battery pack. He also tried to boost it with the truck for about 30 seconds. When that didn’t work, he simply gave up & drove away. The tour company did not even suggest that our driver should buy us each a bottle of water, at the very least! FOUR HOURS after our bus stopped working, an efficient heavy-recovery tow truck arrived and was finally able to get our bus started despite the fact that one of the battery terminals was corroded. At this point, our driver asked if we wanted to take an abbreviated trip to Monterey, Carmel, etc. He even fit in a short stop at Pebble Beach when one passenger said that he had booked the entire trip for that exact reason. Our driver tried hard to make the best of a bad situation so that his passengers were happy with their trip but, unfortunately by the time we reached some of these destinations, places were closed or we couldn’t access them anymore. At one point, the passengers received an email from Gray Line stating that they would refund half the cost of our tickets. This had been quite an expensive excursion but I think that even on a good day, it was only worth half the price and we only got one third of the trip because everything was condensed. We do not fault our driver. He did his best with equipment that obviously had not been maintained properly.
Bus broke down
Nancy_M, Apr 2024
Bus broke down we were stranded for 4 hours. Bus was literally duct taped together and should not have been used for a full day tour. Stops were cancelled and others were abbreviated.
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Hello Nancy_M Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. First of all, I want to apologize for the inconvenience during your tour. I want to mention that for all our vehicles, apart from having the CHP inspection approved, we make another test every morning before the driver leaves the yard. Yesterday's problem was that the driver left the lights on during a stop, and the battery died. It was a human mistake, and we can do nothing to avoid it. Due to this inconvenience, we decided to refund 50% of the tour to all our guests and reschedule the tour so you can see as much as you can with the time we have. All the best,
Nice tour to see the beautiful coast
Cynthia_H, Apr 2024
Very nice ride along the coast. Tour guide Tom was very friendly and full of information. 17-Mile drive was spectacular. Lunch at Monterey was just about enough time for a casual stroll and lunch (not to go to the Acquarium - which we didn't plan to). Lovely stop at Carmel by the Sea. Truly enjoyed our time
Response from Host, Apr 2024
Hi Cynthia_H Thank you for sharing your experience! I am truly glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience on our Monterey, Carmel, and 17-Mile Drive tour and Thomas´ performance. I can´t thank you enough for recommending us to future travelers!
Beautiful Day
Lynne_C, Apr 2024
We enjoyed the beautiful scenery of the Pacific coast!! The tour guide/bus driver was the best!! Recommend this tour!!
fun trip
ppollockaz, Apr 2024
Fun trip, but it would have been MUCH more fun if it was in a large bus with bathroom, rather than a smaller nice bus w no bathroom. It was an all day trip, and we boarded the bus the same time the Muir Woods trip, a short trip, boarded one of the LARGE buses. Overall a good trip.
Go with
VIRALKUMAR_K, Apr 2024
Best day sf tour in around san francisco . Every thing perfect No issues at all All remain in time great
Great trip to Monterey and Carmel!
Roger_L, Apr 2024
Great trip, and helpful, friendly, knowledgeable driver who brought the trip to life. Thank you!!!!!!
...
Likely to Sell Out

From $127.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive: Full Day Tour from SF

1,924

12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$127.00
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Alcatraz Tour Plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

1,168

7 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$170.00

Explore Similar Things to Do