San Jose

Manuel Antonio National Park Full Day Tour from San Jose

San Jose, Costa Rica
Manuel Antonio National Park Tour from San Jose
  • 12 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Find time in your itinerary to visit one of costa Rica's most popular national parks on this hassle-free day trip from San Jose. See Manuel Antonio National Park's white sand beaches, tropical rain forest, and then make it back to San Jose by nightfall. A guided tour will help you visit the park's most popular attractions while traveling on a time budget.
  • Day trip to Manuel Antonio National Park from San Jose
  • Explore one of the most popular national parks in Costa Rica along with a guide
  • See white sand beaches, coral reefs, coastal rain forest, and more
  • Small-group tour limited to 15 people or fewer for a more personalized experience
  • Breakfast and lunch included with vegetarian option available (advise upon booking)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off from San Jose included

What's Included

  • Round trip transportation from San Jose
  • Tour guide
  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • Entrance
  • Tour operate with a minimum of 2 travelers
  • Alcoholic drinks
  • Souvenir photos

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • San José Province, San José, Costa Rica

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

06:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Tour departs from hotels in San Jose. You must indicate the hotel’s name in order to confirm the booking. Please confirm the pick up time at least 24 hours before the tour by contacting us.

What To Expect

Manuel Antonio National Park

12 hours Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required.
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions.
  • If you have not booked a hotel yet, you are required to provide this information to the local operator as soon as possible after your purchase.
  • Near public transportation
  • WHAT TO BRING: Light Clothes, Bathing Suit, Towel, Comfortable Shoes, sandals, Sunscreen, Insect Repellent, Hat, Camera
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Tour operate with a minimum of 2 travelers
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
GeorgeM_G
Our guide, Jose, was very informative and helpful. He made the experience more memorable. Definitely worth the time.

Reviews

4.5
32 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews
My experience for Antonio park was bad
Manali_K, Mar 2024
My husband is a seizure patient and he has to have water at all times, in the park we were told to throw away our water bottles and only resusable water bottles were allowed. No where in the tour guidelines it was mentioned, due to extreme hot and humid weather my husband got a mild seizure and we could not enjoy the park or the beach. Plus the drive to the hotel was also 5 hours away, we had a terrible experience with this particular tour. We booked lapaz waterfalls and sarapiqui river cruise from viator also. But manuel Antonio park was a big disaster, I would really appreciate if our money for me and my husband would be refunded back to our account. Pls reply us back ASAP. Thanks🙏
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your feedback! We take note of your comments to improve in the future. We hope soon your return to Costa Rica and provide an excellent experience.
Long ride, but beautiful beaches
Grisel_P, Mar 2024
Long ride from San Jose but was worth it especially due to the length of my trip & after visiting Tamarindo Beach. Manuel Antonio beaches are nicer. Wish I saw more sloths but the seeing the monkeys was awesome.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Your comments are very important for us to improve our services and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us and we met your travelling expectations. We hope to be your choice for your future holiday destinations. Kind regards, Customer Service team
Bad use of time
Dee_R, Mar 2024
Several hours on the way on the Bus 6:00AM to 1:30 PM We had only one hour on the beach. From 2:00 -3:00. We were Kicked off the beach at the 3:00 by Park staff. Our Tour guide did not share. This happens every day. Don’t waste your time on this.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your feedback! We take note of your comments to improve in the future. We hope soon your return to Costa Rica and provide an excellent experience.
Great beach.
YanLin_Z, Mar 2024
I would like to start with the fact that this rating might be more specific towards my day. Traffic was horrible. A normal 3 ish hr drive took 6 or 7 hrs. When we got to the beach, we only had 1 hr before they closed the beach. What I liked: the beach was amazing. It is a private beach (inside national park) and they were strict about no plastic so it’s very clean. What I didn’t like, breakfast was at a busy tourist buffet. Food was meh. Lunch (by the time we got there was dinner time) was a fancier resort/hotel restaurant but the food was also ok, and I don’t think it’s Costa Rican cuisine. The time spent and the restaurants were almost double the time we got to spend on the beach. We had to skip the crocodile river spot because we were already running behind.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your feedback! We take note of your comments to improve in the future. We hope soon your return to Costa Rica and provide an excellent experience.
Fun day tour
Taylor_E, Mar 2024
Amazing trip! It is a far drive and a short trip, but I did feel it was worth it. We saw tons of cool birds, little monkeys, a sloth and her little baby, and a few other tropical animals. The beach was gorgeous. We could have spent all day there but the 2hrs we had was enough to experience it.
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Your comments are very important for us to improve our services and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us and we met your travelling expectations. We hope to be your choice for your future holiday destinations. Kind regards, Customer Service team
Tourist trap
Leif_J, Mar 2024
Good food and nice group mix. Did not se many animals and you can find nice nature otherwise. Here is packed with tour and people 👎
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your feedback! We take note of your comments to improve in the future. We hope soon your return to Costa Rica and provide an excellent experience.
The trip to get there was...
Gladys_D, Feb 2024
The trip to get there was too long! 5,5 hours to get there in heavy traffic 4,5 hours to get back. 10 hours trip in a van was painfully long. Somewhat disappointed by the lack of wildlife sightings.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you very much for your feedback and very sorry for all the situations with the traffic !. We hope soon your return to Costa Rica and provide an excellent experience.
An Excursion Worth the Time!
GeorgeM_G, Feb 2024
Our guide, Jose, was very informative and helpful. He made the experience more memorable. Definitely worth the time.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Your comments are very important for us to improve our services and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us and we met your travelling expectations. We hope to be your choice for your future holiday destinations. Kind regards, Customer Service team
An excellent tour
Penny_L, Jan 2024
Seeing sloths, monkeys, birds, the rainforest and the great beach. Our driver, Christian, and guide, Katia, were brilliant. It was a very long day but well worth the time and cost. Highly recommend
An amazing experience
JonMacleod, Jan 2024
Absolutely amazing trip, it’s 100% relaxed from start to finish, there’s a few stops on the way and the driver and guide very friendly and approachable. I would advise sun cream and a non disposable water flask as plastic is not permitted inside the park but there are plenty of drinking water taps around for refilling…. Bring an extra t shirt because the the “jungle/forest” is very very humid and before I knew it my T shirt was stuck to my skin with sweat… 11/10 for me, absolutely recommend
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Your comments are very important for us to improve our services and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us and we met your travelling expectations. We hope to be your choice for your future holiday destinations. Kind regards, Customer Service team
Final tour of this trip
Gunjan_A, Jan 2024
Excellent full day tour with chance to view wild life and enjoy beach time on some of the best beaches. Later enjoyed a buffer lunch
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Your comments are very important for us to improve our services and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us and we met your travelling expectations. We hope to be your choice for your future holiday destinations. Kind regards, Customer Service team
Unique experience
Jaleh_S, Dec 2023
The combination and mountain, water and watching Monkeys all made a unique experience. It had all I needed to see
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Your comments are very important for us to improve our services and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us and we met your travelling expectations. We hope to be your choice for your future holiday destinations. Kind regards, Customer Service team
Great trip to Manuel Antonio BUT bring the right gear to enjoy your trip fully
Modena_H, Dec 2023
My favorite part of the trip was hiking through the park and looking for animals. Our guide, Alejandro, was excellent at explaining the details about Manuel Antonio and he knew where to look for animals. The food was great for breakfast and lunch. The van was very comfortable and the driver, Mario, was an excellent driver. One item that I have as a suggestion for improvement is to be specific about what to bring on the trip based on what we would be doing. We did not know that we would be spending 2 hours on the beach and many of us did not have beachwear. Suggestion: 2 hours of hiking and 2 hours of beach time. Bring hiking clothes and beach clothes ...and a change of clothes. No one should ride in the van with wet clothes. Bring your passport or a copy of your passport. Bring a bag in that is medium or large that is able to be closed. Or, the monkeys, will steal your bag with all your money, passport, etc.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Your comments are very important for us to improve our services and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us and we met your travelling expectations. We hope to be your choice for your future holiday destinations. Kind regards, Customer Service team
So much fun
william_h, Dec 2023
It is a long ride from San Jose to Manuel Antonio National Park, but it was well worth the effort. Breakfast and lunch were both delicious, and stopping by the “Crocodile Bridge” over the Tarcoles River to see the giant reptiles below us on a mud bank was an unexpected treat. The best part, though, was the guide, Adrian, whose uncanny ability to spot elusive animals allowed us to see so much!
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Your comments are very important for us to improve our services and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us and we met your travelling expectations. We hope to be your choice for your future holiday destinations. Kind regards, Customer Service team
Great
Daisy_G, May 2023
Seeing wild animals and the food plus the guide Gary is knowledgeable and made sure we are well.informed of our itinerary...
Response from Host, May 2023
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Your comments are very important for us to improve our services and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us and we met your travelling expectations. We hope to be your choice for your future holiday destinations. Kind regards, Customer Service team
Manuel Antonio Full Day Tour
Shirley_I, Mar 2023
This day trip was awesome! Our tour guide, Don, was informative and inclusive, I didn’t speak a lot of Spanish so he spoke to me in English and didn’t leave me out! On the way to Manuel Antonio park we stopped and ate an authentic Costa Rican breakfast, saw crocodiles, and beautiful scenery. The park was breath taking, saw a monkey, a deer and a couple of lizards. After the beach, we ate a delicious lunch. This tour was so nice, if I could give more than 5 stars, I would!
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Thanks so much for your feedback!, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a review!.Hope soon you come back to Costa Rica
Sloths, Monkeys, White sand Beaches Highly recommend
Megan_P, Feb 2023
It was. a great trip that we highly recommend. We saw sloths and monkeys and iguanas. Then we went to a beautiful beach just past the rainforest and spent a few hours in the warm waters and white sands. The lunch was lovely (order the chicken not the fish trust me ) with a drink included. The guide and driver were very informative. It is also slightly less expensive than other very similar trips. Highly recommend.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Thanks so much for your feedback!, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a review!.Hope soon you come back to Costa Rica
Mixed good and bad
Katherine_M, Apr 2022
The food was delicious and we had a really long time on the beach which was nice. However, it was a bit rushed through, there wasn't much pointing out wildlife, just a quick march through the national park and the drive back was unnecessarily awful.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Thanks so much for your feedback!, We take note of your comments to improve in the future. Hope soon you come back to Costa Rica and give you excellent experience !!
A beautiful costal trip
Samuel_S, Aug 2021
Our guide Eduardo Castro was fantastic! He knows his flora and fauna so well—especially birds. In addition to taking us to Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio, Eduardo taught us about the local industries and culture. The park itself was beautiful and the beach was lovely—and the water was perfect! A great day!
Response from Host, Aug 2021
Thanks so much for your feedback!, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review!. Hope soon you come back to Costa Rica!!
This trip could have been better but...
Tricia C, Apr 2018
This trip could have been better but they crammed 12 people in a van. It was a small group but I was thinking less than 10. The van was crammed packed, no leg room and the air conditioning did not work so well. Perhaps it was too many people and it could not cool down but it made the trip a bit unbearable. The breakfast buffet was surprisingly good and very filling. We went on other tours where the food was lacking so we were prepared and ate something before the tour just in case. They also made a few tourist stops which was not mentioned but cool. We were able to see crocodiles and iguanas as well as had a souvenir shopping stop. Not too horrible to tourist prices. I think the communication of the tour guide could have been better as it would have been good to know right when we were entering the National Park and the last chance to buy water. Also, you need to bring snacks as it is such a long day with no food other than the early morning breakfast. Also, while the tour included lunch, the lunch was past 4:00 pm. We are not used to eating lunch at 4:15 so we were grumpy, hot, tired AND starving. The lunch was delicious but by that time, anything could have been served to us and we all would have wolfed it down. The tour guide tried to please everyone but a bit more communication may have helped us be more prepared like bringing/buying cold water and having snacks. The beach was nice but nothing spectacular. Walk to the beach was ok but saw a sloth and white tailed deer. We did see a ton of white faced monkeys but watch out, they are on the hunt for food and they know food is often in backpacks and coolers. Good trip but a very long day. I would recommend finding out the size of the group even if it says small group. Cramped transportation made it less enjoyable as you are in this van for hours.

From $161.70

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Manuel Antonio National Park Full Day Tour from San Jose

32

12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$161.70
No Photo
P.N. Day Tour Manuel Antonio

0

12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$260.00

Explore Similar Things to Do