San Jose

Tortuguero: All-inclusive Package 2 nights 3 days from San José

San Jose, Costa Rica
Private Tour to Liechtenstein and Lake Caumasse
  • 3 days
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

    What's Included

    • WiFi on board
    • Air-conditioned vehicle
    • All Fees and Taxes
    • Lunch (3)
    • Breakfast (3)
    • Dinner (2)
    • Admission to the Green Turtle Museum ($2USD)
    • Entrance to the national park ($16USD)
    • Alcoholic drinks

    Meeting And Pickup

    Pickup points

    Select a pickup point

    Start time

    06:30 AM

    Pickup details

    We pick up all our clients from hotels in the San José area and hotels from the airport. We do not pick up at Airbnb, you can enter your address and we assign the closest hotel.

    What To Expect

    Day 1

    Departure from San José and Arrival in Tortuguero

    3 Stops

    La Pavona (Embarcadero a Tortuguero)

    Admission Ticket Free

    Tortuguero

    2 hours Admission Ticket Free

    Tortuguero

    2 hours Admission Ticket Free

    Accommodation: Night at Tortuguero Lodge, 4-star hotel.

    Meals: BreakfastLunchDinner

    Day 2

    Tortuguero National Park Tour

    2 Stops

    Tortuguero

    2 hours Admission Ticket Free

    Tortuguero National Park

    3 hours Admission Ticket Not Included

    Accommodation: Night at Tortuguero Lodge, 4-star hotel.

    Meals: BreakfastLunchDinner

    Day 3

    Departure to San Jose

    1 Stop

    Tortuguero

    5 hours Admission Ticket Free

    Accommodation: Not included

    Meals: BreakfastLunch

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Infant seats available
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 3 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 3 full days before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 3 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 3 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more
    Featured review
    Laura_T
    Alexander our guide made it easy and fun. I loved the ecosystem and Laguna Lodge. Great mix of ecosystem education and resort relaxation

    Reviews

    4.5
    53 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 53 reviews
    Unique Coastal Rainforest Experience
    Michael_L, Mar 2024
    The highlight of this excursion is the unique coastal rainforest environment, with an incredible variety of plant and animal life. After our morning boat tour through the Tortuguero National Park, we took a water taxi back to the park to walk the trail in the afternoon. In the park we saw sloths, caymans, monkeys, iguanas, toucans, frogs, an agouti, and many species of exotic birds. The Pachira Lodge is very nice and the grounds are lovely, but be prepared to sweat -- there's no AC, and our hotel room was probably 80 degrees and 95% humidity throughout the night. The highlight of the hotel was the chorus of howler monkeys that woke us up in the morning. Eliezer was a very knowledgable, friendly, and organized tour guide.
    Response from Host, Mar 2024
    Dear customer, Thank you very much for your good comments, we strive to find people committed to their profession in addition to the best places to visit in Costa Rica, we always do our best for you to take an excellent experience. Thank you very much for trusting us and we hope to see you again in Costa Rica. Best regards,
    Frustrating Tour
    Linda_W, Feb 2024
    Extremely frustrating trip - 8 hours to get from San Jose to Tortuguero. Rooms weren't as requested. Charged extra to correct rooms. Boat broke down on tour day 2. Another 8 hours to get back to San Jose day 3. No satisfaction from Viator or Pachira Lodge management. I won't use Viator again. Frustrating tour. Bus for 8 hours to get there. Room wasnt as requested , one room. Changed to a second room and was charged extra. No satisfaction from Viator or Pachira Lodge. 8 hours to return next day
    Response from Host, Feb 2024
    Dear Customer, We are very sorry for your experience, as we could confirm the travel time for you to get from San José to our hotel was only 4 hours, as predicted. You didn't get the correct room because you didn't requested in advance, as you did only one reservation for 3 persons, all of you family and we assume that you are a family traveling together, we ask you many times in advance but you didn't respond. You didn't have to pay extra for the same room, you got a higher category of room and that's why you hat paid something else. Thank you for using our services and hope to see you again in Costa Rica! Best regards,
    The return trip could be better organized, but the stay was great with lots of wildlife.
    Stephen_B, Feb 2024
    I was picked up at my San Jose hotel and taken in a van to a meetup point where a larger bus took a bunch of folks to the boat landing, stopping for breakfast along the way (included). I did not know what lodge I was actually going to be staying at until I got to the boats. I stayed in the Pachira Lodge, which was nice - it has a nice pool with a bar. Meals are served buffet style, and the food was decent Costa Rican fare. No AC, which I imagine is the norm. There is a lot of wildlife seen from the boat tour and on the walking excursions in the jungle. The trip back to San Jose was chaotic. I was advised that they only return you to either the airport or to the hotel where they picked you up - I had reservations at another hotel, so they dropped me off near the airport and I had to take a taxi to my hotel. That was a bit of a chore and an expense that I didn't expect. I was advised that this arrangement "was in the contract". The town is a tourist trap with little to see. If I had extra time, I would take the canal tour by electric boat offered in town - the tour boats are very loud, although much of the wildlife must be used to them, because we did see lots of birds, some iguanas, and several caiman.
    Response from Host, Feb 2024
    Dear customer, Thank you very much for your comment, we will take it into account to improve our services. Thank you very much and we hope you come back soon to Costa Rica. Best regards,
    Daniel made this trip a 5!
    jqw86gjfbx, Jan 2024
    I would give this experience overall 5 for the tour guide (Daniel) and the environment. And a 3 for accommodation. The 3 day 2 night stay is the right amount of time to spend here. The close town (Tortuguero) is a cool ‘beach town’. The time spent here as well worth it
    Response from Host, Jan 2024
    Dear customer, Thank you very much for your good comments, we always try to have the best places to visit in Costa Rica, we always do our best to make sure you have an excellent experience. Thank you very much for trusting us and we hope to see you again in Costa Rica. Best regards,
    We loved this tour. Our...
    Robert_L, Jan 2024
    We loved this tour. Our guide, Oliver, and our lodge, Pachira Lodge, both exceeded expectations. Oliver was a knowledgeable guide, friendly and funny, and cared about every person in his group -- getting to know us individually, and extremely diligent with organizing his group as if it was his own family (e.g., carefully ensuring everyone was in the right place at the right time, made their connections to/from the lodge, really taking care of us). The lodge was beautiful, nestled in the rainforest and on the shore of the main waterway. The only complaint I had was that Viator didn't quite pass on our booking information correctly to the tour operator, resulting in a small problem that required some time to resolve - be sure to be very explicit with instructions to Viator (in our case, they only specified 1 room for two couples because we hadn't explicitly specified the need for two rooms). Nevertheless, the tour company resolved this problem promptly without additional cost.
    Response from Host, Jan 2024
    Dear customer, Thank you very much for your good comments, we always try to have the best places to visit in Costa Rica, we always do our best effort for you to have an excellent experience, we will always take your comment as an advice to improve. Thank you very much for trusting us and we hope to see you again in Costa Rica. Best regards,
    The trip was very well...
    Giulia_D, Jan 2024
    The trip was very well organised from start to end. The lodge is a wonderful place located in the middle of the forest, so you can see animals at all times. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable, food is very good and varies at every meal. The only thing I didnt appreciate is that most activities are not included in the package (night exploration, day walk to the vulcano) and are quite pricy. Another thing is that the tours in the canals are done in a motor boar while I was expecting kayaks as in the picture, There are other providers that include the kayak trip.
    Response from Host, Jan 2024
    Dear customer, Thank you very much for your good comments, we always try to have the best places to visit in Costa Rica, we always do our best effort for you to have an excellent experience, we will always take your comment as an advice to improve. Thank you very much for trusting us and we hope to see you again in Costa Rica. Best regards,
    Disappointed!!
    Laura_S, Aug 2023
    Disappointed with lack of information regarding what was included in our tour. Upon arrival in Tortuguero we discovered we were taken to a different lodge from what we booked with no explanation. Tour guide gave us a rundown of the schedule while in route to the lodge but would have preferred a written itinerary. We were not advised beforehand about additional tours or fees associated with those tours as well as rules for taking tours! Our granddaughter nearly missed out on the night time turtle hike as she did not have closed toe shoes of which we were never informed they were a requirement of the tour. Staff was not versed in dietary restrictions which was disappointing. WiFi and internet was nearly nonexistent which resulted in frustration when trying to book the necessary passes for visiting the park. We were also not informed until reaching the lodge that we could not drink the water other than what was provided in the restaurant. Highly inconvenient!
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your comment, we take each comment very seriously and we see it as an opportunity to improve, in this case we will review the case thoroughly and give a prompt response by email. Thank you so much!
    Wrong resort!
    Jill_W, Aug 2023
    Pros: We were picked up on time by our guide, Kenneth, who did a great job and was very knowledgeable. Saw many animals on the included boat tour. Cons: Taken to the wrong resort! We booked Pichara lodge but we were taken to Laguna Lodge with no notification from Viator. No information about additional fees and requirements for tours until we were on the bus there. There was no AC and it was incredibly hot and humid. You cannot drink the water from the tap, so you need to bring a refillable water bottle with you. Because we didn’t have any information, we left some needed items in storage at our hotel in San Jose. There was a lot of information provided verbally on the bus, but never a written document with requirements, meeting times, meal times, etc. If you want to do the night turtle walk, you need to wear dark colored clothes, closed toe shoes, and can have nothing that emits light with you, such as an Apple Watch or phone.
    Response from Host, Aug 2023
    Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your comment, we take each comment very seriously and we see it as an opportunity to improve, in this case we will review the case thoroughly and give a prompt response by email. Thank you so much!
    Alexander our guide made...
    Laura_T, Feb 2023
    Alexander our guide made it easy and fun. I loved the ecosystem and Laguna Lodge. Great mix of ecosystem education and resort relaxation
    Response from Host, Feb 2023
    Dear customer, Thank you very much for your good comments, we hope to see you in Costa Rica again. see you again. Best regards,
    What a bargain and a great trip.
    Jacquie, Oct 2022
    I am so glad we booked this two night/three day tour. My husband and I were the oldest in our group (82 and 75) and we enjoyed ourselves SO much. It wasn't too taxing, even though we are very active, and our tour guide, Francisco, was FANTASTIC. We were the only non-speaking Spanish couple in our group but Francisco made sure we knew exactly what was going on. The hotel, Pachira Lodge, was very nice. You are in the rain forest so it is a little primitive but very comfortable. The food is good although a little repetitive and the staff was very accommodating. The internet in our room was basically non-existent but around the property you could log on. There are no hairdryers or shampoo (just so you know) and there are no windows in the rooms, just screens so not having a/c was perfectly fine because it cools off at night. The howler monkeys roar like lions at 4:30 every morning which was quite an experience. We were only in Costa Rica for six nights and this tour was perfect. The tours that Francisco took us on were very informative and fun. We saw so much in such a short period of time. The bus that took us to and from Tortuguero didn't have great internet service but the ride was informative and well described.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Dear customer, Thank you very much for your good comments, we hope to see you in Costa Rica again. Best regards,
    Durchschnittliche Tour in der falschen Sprache
    Wolfgang_K, Feb 2023
    Wir haben eine deutschsprachige Tour gebucht, die um ca 200,- USD teurer war als die englischen. Vorort wurde uns mitgeteilt, dass es die Tour nur in englisch und spanisch gibt. Trotz mehrmaligen Urgierens kam keine Reaktion.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Lieber Kunde, Für eine Führung in deutscher Sprache berechnen wir keinen Aufpreis, es ist eigentlich ein kostenloser Service, den Sie ohne zusätzliche Kosten im Voraus anfordern müssen. Sie haben einfach Ihren Service gebucht, aber Sie haben nie eine Klärung vorgenommen, auch nicht, als wir Sie am Vortag zur Bestätigung der Abholung ansprachen, während Sie im Hotel waren, haben Sie den Reiseführer auf Deutsch angefordert, dann war es zu spät. Ich verstehe Ihre Frustration, aber Sie müssen verstehen, dass Sie es nie rechtzeitig angefordert haben. Als Sie es angefordert haben, ist uns aus Zeitmangel die Verfügbarkeit ausgegangen, da die Reiseleiter aus San José mit Ihnen gehen müssen.
    Tour für jedermann
    B_F, Dec 2022
    Die Reise ist empfehlenswert, viele Tiere kann man sehen. Leider war die Tour nicht wie gebucht auf Deutsch und auch war nur Wasser Inkl. Kleine Details am rande. Trotztem eine Wunderschöne Reise.
    Response from Host, Dec 2022
    Sehr geehrter Kunde, Vielen Dank für Ihren Kommentar, er ist eine große Hilfe bei der weiteren Verbesserung unserer Dienstleistungen. Wir hoffen, Sie haben eine schöne Reise in Costa Rica und kommen bald wieder. Mit freundlichen Grüßen,

    From $436.99

    up to 3 days in advance

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    Current
    No Photo
    Tortuguero: All-inclusive Package 2 nights 3 days from San José

    51

    3 days
    Free Cancellation
    From
    $436.99
    No Photo
    All-inclusive package in Tortuguero 2 days 1 night

    10

    2 days
    Free Cancellation
    From
    $398.69
    No Photo
    Tortuguero National Park 2D/1N Vacation Package

    0

    2 days
    Free Cancellation
    From
    $350.00

    Explore Similar Things to Do