San Jose

San Jose Afternoon City Tour

San Jose, Costa Rica
San Jose Night City Tour
  • 4 to 5 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


San Jose is filled with amazing attractions to see such as the National Theater of Costa Rica and the Metropolitan Cathedral, but if you’re not familiar with San Jose, it could take you ages to see everything on your list. Take this San Jose nighttime city tour and travel with a guide who knows their way around under the city lights. Plus, dinner and round-trip transport are both included.
  • See many top San Jose attractions in just a couple of hours
  • A guide navigates the city’s busy and narrow streets safely at nighttime
  • Dinner is included for a stress-free night out
  • Easy hotel pickup and drop-off provided for convenience

What's Included

  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Driver/guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Professional guide
  • Bottled water
  • Dinner
  • Gratuities

Meeting and Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Pickup details

Hostels, guesthouses, B&B, Residential areas , central park of each city (San Jose- Alajuela and Heredia)

What To Expect

Parque Central de San Jose (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Stroller accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Dress code is smart casual
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos


11 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-9 of 11 reviews
Interesting tour, with a...
Antnio_A, Sep 2023
Interesting tour, with a very helpful guide. It was a shame that it rained constantly during the journey.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
thank you for your feedback and it is a shame it rained during the journey. However , it is good to know you had a good time. Pura vida
Do not utliize
Mario_A, Sep 2022
Overpriced and not worth the money. The tour driver had a very bad productive cough (really? In this age of covid). We rolled down the windows incase it WAS Covid.
Great tour of San Jose
Kylynn_G, Mar 2022
Filander was an excellent guide! We wanted to see some of San Jose, but didn't leave much time for it. He had so much knowledge to share about the city. After so many days spent hiking in beautiful Costa Rica, it was a very relaxing tour, hitting all of the highlights of the city. A perfect end to our trip!
Response from Host, Mar 2022
We are glad to know that I enjoy the tour and that the guide Fila did a good job. Thank you for sharing your impressions
San José like a local!
Zoe_H, Dec 2021
We were the only ones on the tour therefore it was private which was so nice. We went on a Sunday night during a big soccer game and we were able to see San José like a local! The car was great, our guide was so personable and we got to walk many of the famous spots. We always felt safe and had such a great time. We learned a lot & would recommend!
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Hi Zoe, we are glad to hear that the service was to your liking and that you enjoyed the tour. Thank you for sharing your comments
Not impressed
Bianca_J, Dec 2021
I’m writing this review because I spent quite a bit of money and I don’t think it was worth it. The reason for the 3 stars is because of the other people that I met on the tour that made it more enjoyable. The tour was set to start at 5:30pm then I received a message stating that I would be picked up at 6:15pm. At 6:15pm I rode around with a driver because I was advised that they were waiting on others to arrive. The tour didn’t “start” until 7:05pm which is 1 hour and 30 minutes past the purchased start time. The guide was nice but much was not seen and others agreed as we joked about it. I don’t believe the tour is worth the cost.
Response from Host, Dec 2021
We are sorry to hear that your tour was delayed. Normally it always leaves on time, but just that day when we came to pick up other passengers of the same tour, the airport highway was closed due to the mobilization of a bridge, which caused a delay in the departure of you and other passengers. We appreciate your comments, which we value and take into account to improve the quality of our services.
Terrible Company
Heidi_A, Apr 2021
Terrible company. Couldn’t make the tour because long wait at customs and traffic. Would not work with me and reschedule. Pretty much just gave the company 300. Plus dollars.
Response from Host, Apr 2021
Dear Heidi , I am sorry to hear about it I understand that you were not able to do the tour becuase your flight arrived in Costa Rica later than expected , however our Operations Dept offered you the option to re schedule the excursion and you told us you would be taking it this Friday 4/23/21. So, your money hasn't been lost. Hope you will be able to finally take and enjoy the tour.. Thank you !!!
JP_D, Jan 2021
My tour guides was very knowledgeable of San Jose. I got to learn more about the country's and city's history. It was a pleasant experience to see the see city. They took me to a "no frill" restaurant that specializes in authentic Costa Rican cuisine. It better than food from the restaurant in the hotel I stayed at.
Response from Host, Jan 2021
Hello J.P, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are happy to know that the tour and service provided met your expectations and that you enjoyed the real Costa Rican cuisine at the Resturant. Once again, Thank you for sharing your comments with others
Great tour with friendly and knowledgeable guide
Shayne_M, Oct 2020
Great tour with knowledgeable and friendly guide. Made it a very personalized experience. The restaurant wasn’t fancy, but it was some of the best food I had in Costa Rica. Highly recommended.
Response from Host, Oct 2020
Hello Shayne, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are happy to know that the tour and service provided met your expectations and that like the real Costa Rican food at the Resturant. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments that will help others travelers
Great way to find out about San Jose
Monica_D, Feb 2020
This tour was excellent. I ended up being the only tourist on the tour which was fine with me. Oscar was the tour guide and he was great! He was very professional and accommodating. He offered to take me to the grocery store if I needed anything. He knew a lot about the city. I was able to get great pictures even at night. Dinner was wonderful and delicious! I highly recommend this tour to find out about San Jose.
Response from Host, Feb 2020
Hello Monica We are very happy to know you had a very nice time during this tour with Oscar. Thank you for sharing your comments with others and for letting us be part of your experience, pura vida !!!

From $95.00

Price varies by group size

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
San Jose Afternoon City Tour


5 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
San Jose Sightseeing City Tour


4 to 5 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
City tour - San José


1 hour 50 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Fabulous City walking tour of San Jose


4 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do