Sharm el Sheikh

Mount Sinai Climb and St Catherine Tour from Sharm El Sheikh

Sharm el Sheikh, Egypt
Mount Sinai Climb and St Catherine Tour from Sharm
  • 14 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Watch sunrise from the top of Mount Sinai on a hiking trip from Sharm el Sheikh to one of Egypt’s highest mountains. You’ll climb the 7,497-foot (2,285-mt.) peak in the predawn darkness, see first light illuminate the mountaintop chapel and mosque, then descend to the 6th-century Monastery of St. Catherine, built where Moses is believed to have seen the Burning Bush. With round-trip transport from Sharm el Sheikh, this is a great way to experience Mount Sinai and St. Catherine even if you have limited time in Egypt.
  • Hike to the summit of Mount Sinai
  • Option to ride a camel most of the way (own expense)
  • Visit the oldest continually-operating monastery in the world
  • Pickup and drop-off at hotels in Sharm el Sheikh

What's Included

  • St. Catherine National Park fees
  • Qualified Egyptologist guide
  • Local guide during your climbing the mount
  • Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
  • Round-trip transfer
  • Transport by vehicle
  • Gratuities
  • Food and Drinks

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

09:00 PM

Pickup details

You will be picked up from your hotel in Sharm

What To Expect

This Mt. Sinai Climb and St. Catherine Tour starts with a stress-free pickup in Sharm el Sheikh. Once your guide picks you up, sit back and relax as the ride to the mountain can take around three hours.

Your first stop is near Mt. Sinai, the place where Moses was given the 10 commandments. A guide leads the way as you climb your way to its summit. After you climb the path to the top, take in sunset views from the top. (If you don’t think you’re in good enough shape to climb, you can opt for a camel ride up instead.)

Once you come back down, pop into St. Catherine with your guide to see the church before getting back on your vehicle for the transfer back to Sharm el Sheikh.

Sharm El Sheikh

3 hours Admission Ticket Free

Mount Sinai

6 hours Admission Ticket Included

Saint Catherine (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a strong physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Picked up at 8pm, returned by 2pm from Sharm. 3 hour drive. Climb is no joke but the sunrise makes up for it. Fantastic guide at the mountain. Even carried my daughter's backpack and literally pulled me up those 750 stairs to the summit. Well worth it as a life experience but probably the most challenging thing I've ever done!


61 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews
Lydia_I, Nov 2023
the camel rider said 50 Egyptian pounds but then he was helping me with his flashlight and saw i had more funds and up it to $250 Egyptian pounds. ( apparently i had less than one or two km to go. which i ended up walking. Also i was left at station one by myself. (that was scary in it self. the guide was good , so was the guide that took me to station one.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Dear Lydia. I believe you didn't book it with us, The camel riding is not offered by us, as you mentioned the guide was good, thanks for your feedback which is helpful to improve our service.
Mount Sinai / St Catherine
Aly, Nov 2023
Plus - guide very knowledgable, transport comfortable, loan of torch useful, scenery beautiful, Minus - did bot state how very cold it was going to be, did not state how long was the climb or how steep, no warning to those who were elderly or had heart problems, pick up was late, no tel contact given (only email), bedouins charged $1 each time for use of wc though wc was less than basic and dilapidated, hot drinks not included (would have been useful),
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Dear Mr Aly. Thanks for your feedback which will help us to improve our service. Already the length of the climbing is mentioned, the weather and clothes type are mentioned and you receive it upon confirming the booking, is also mentioned that tour is not good 😐 for elders, who have back or knees pain, even for children under 12. We contacted you by email, phone and whatsapp, Bedouin and WC are not related to us, drinks can not be included because not everyone drinks the same drink and the prices are different, thanks for joining us, best regards
Terrible rude guide.
Kristian_M, Oct 2023
5 minutes before pickup the guide told me to take a print of my passport I stressed and had to wake up the receptionist. Great start! He was also rude on the phone at this time. It said it was in English the tour but mainly was I Russian. The driver told us some facts in broken English and sounded very arrogant when telling it. Once we were in the Monastery he just repeat what he already said in the bus. I had some questions about a fact he said he then got really upset and said I didn't believe him etc. Later I had another question and he again said I should Google it. We had an argument inside the Monastery and he screamed. I had to calm the situation down to not further upset people. It was the worst guide I've ever had. He was rude, ignorant, violent and just a bad human being. I would like a refund for this.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Dear Kristian. Thank you very much for your feedback which will improve our service. Please contact us to procede the refund. We promise to don't use that guide anymore. Best regards
A good vibe
BOBEL_L, Apr 2023
It a very Good expérience with my family. My mother 72 years old had hear and its ok. View was beautyful
This hike is amazing if you’re fit!!
iram_r, Mar 2023
I gave 3 stars to Egypt tours because they didn’t provide a regular seat for my 10 years old. It was a hard small seat by the driver. He denied to sit there after an hour so my husband had to sit there 5 hours going and coming back… no joke :(( Also they don’t guide you what you need for trekking so let me tell you. Foremost you need to be super fit as this is an uneven unpaved stone trail. It’s being done at night so you must have strong torch (better if it fits on your head). In March weather at St Catherine was in 50s (f) at the ground but went down to 20s in the last hour of hiking. You definitely need layers to keep warm and hat & gloves. Going up takes about 3.5….4 hours, going down 1 1/2 hour. Be prepared and good luck !!
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Irma, Thank you very much for your feedback which will support us for years and will improve our service, we feel sorry about that point and we will investigate it with the responsible person. For your next trip to Egypt we will provide for you and your family a promo code with 10% and it is small gift for your family, we are very sorry and we appreciate your support. Best Wishes ETC team
Find a different tour
Ronan_M, Feb 2023
Positives - Our Bedouin Mountain guide Ashraf was very friendly. We were provided with a carton of juice and a fig bar at the end of the descent. This was most welcome. Unfortunately, that is it. Negatives - This is a more expensive tour, and we expected something slightly above the most basic options. We were disappointed that 15 people were packed into one small van, and were extremely uncomfortable in each direction. This was particularly unpleasant on the return journey, when some of our fellow travellers were sweaty. There were no headrests, so trying to sleep was very unpleasant. Our guide, unfortunately, had lost his voice and could not really speak to the group. The van driver did not drive safely, especially on the return journey. Beware also that the van arrived well before the time arranged by text, which was also much earlier than the time on the ticket. The rest-stop on the journey was at a very overpriced tourist trap, rather than a nearby petrol station that would be better stocked and with reasonable prices. Make sure to bring everything you might possibly want for this trip. The guide provided 1 light between 2 people, but it was not even worth using - bring your own lights! Note also that the group was a complete mix of languages - some only speaking Russian, some English. The guide appeared to prefer Russian. About the experience: If climbing in December to February - be prepared for very extreme cold. You may well be in -7 degrees for a number of hours. There are small rest stops along the way, but they will charge you at least $2 for any item you might want to buy. The climb itself is not too technical, but you will need moderate fitness to complete it. The sunrise at the end of the climb is magnificent
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Dear Ronan. Thank you for your Feed back which will always support us to improve our services. In the tour itinerary is mentioned that, the group size is 15 people and it is Mixed group from different countries and language, every traveler has 1 seat as you paid for one seat :), the van has 15 seats and it is new modern van 2022. we always send e-mail about the pick-up time as it is according to the hotel location. about the prices of the items, it is not belonged to us, it is the Bedouin`s business :). we mentioned in our itinerary that tour needs moderated fitness and not recommended for who has knees, back problems. thank you for your feed back, we really appreciate it.
So many stars! Beautiful sunrise!
Patrick_M, Jan 2023
Amazing experience, something to experience once in a lifetime! A little bit of an issue with the hotel pick up to start but the organizers resolved quickly. Prepare for 6 hours hike (3.5 hours up, 2.5 down). It gets cold at the top, -12 deg celcius at the peak in winter, so bring warm hiking clothes. Decent trainers or hiking boots a must. Torches were provided, but worth bringing one if you can. A travel pillow to sleep on the bus on the way back as you will be exhausted! Guides didn’t ask for tips, but we tipped anyway as they did a great job.
Joni_M, Nov 2022
Amazing experience with the obvious amazing views. Wonderful tour guide who was very informative and attentive to all group member needs. Would definitely recommend for all pilgrims.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Thanks for the awesome review, Joni! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Come back and see us soon. Cheers!
Making it to the top of Mount Sinai
Margaret_A, Nov 2022
We had a memorable time reaching the top of Mount Sinai. I wish we were pre-informed to budget for camel ride for at least part of the hike. Nevertheless we made it. The departure from hotel and arrival time back at the hotel need to be communicated clearly.
Response from Host, Nov 2022
Dear Margar! thank you for the great review! We’re so happy you loved your experience and can’t wait to have you back for your next service and tours. Until then, we’re here if you need anything.
Golden Hour
Anca_I, Nov 2022
It was a great night, Ali was a great „host”/ guide for the group, answering all kinds of annoying questions (thank you). It's a totally different experience than hiking in Europe (mainly my experience). You have lots of little shelters on the way up to buy sweet food for energy and coffee and water - so don't carry like I did. If you are tired you can take a taxi at any corner on the hike :)) (yes, I mean a camile - but we didn't use one though). Our second guide (Mohamed - I think) took us to the best spot to see the sunrise once we got up there, after three hours (there are many hidden rocks/ platforms around, you just have to find the perfect place). He also did lots of Golden Light photos of us, he has a great eye, so thank you also! I was so tired the next day (because of not sleeping) - but I regret nothing!
Response from Host, Nov 2022
We’d like to thank you for taking the time to write this review of Mount Sinai Climb and St Catherine tour from Sharm El Sheikh. All feedback is highly appreciated, as it enables us here at Egypt Tours Club to further develop our products and services.
Life changing
Michelle_L, Jul 2022
Picked up at 8pm, returned by 2pm from Sharm. 3 hour drive. Climb is no joke but the sunrise makes up for it. Fantastic guide at the mountain. Even carried my daughter's backpack and literally pulled me up those 750 stairs to the summit. Well worth it as a life experience but probably the most challenging thing I've ever done!
Brandon_H, May 2022
Very amazing trip, from jimmy our bedouin mountain guide to the tour guides as well! A must, be in some type of shape as it’s a hike. Phenomenal !
I did it
Jeannette_C, Mar 2022
It was an experience I wanted to accomplish. Not easy but doable if you are in good physical shape. Be prepared area going up or down has no hand trails zero!!!
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Dear Jeannet, Thank you for your feedback, but we don't understand why did you rate the tour with 3 stars if we mention in our program that tour is hard and need people in good physical shape?
A MUST to do
Jimboy_I, Mar 2022
What a personal spiritual experienced indeed. From start to finished I was blown away. Top class service & a MUST when visiting charm el shiek.
It was written that max...
Miroslav_K, Jan 2022
It was written that max 15 people in group but in reality our group was like 30+ people. On other hand guides were nice, they spoke english.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
We believe that you booked that tour with another tour company. As we didn't run that tour for you and we don't run the tour in group of 30 people, our groups are not more than 15 people and English language is main language of our guises and guests. Please double check with who you booked your tour and who managed it for you.
HikmetKagan_S, Jan 2022
It takes some time to get up there, and hiking shoes are definitely a must. Don’t be too caught up in bringing water and food with you, as there are places to buy those along the way. In the end, the views up top are definitely definitely worth the grind!
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Thank you for the kind words,! We’re so happy your visit at Egypt went so smoothly. Would you mind sharing with your friends who are due for a check-up, too? We’d love to continue providing great service to awesome patients like you.
Beatiful experience
Priscila_M, Jan 2022
It is a wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful with everything. I went with my mother (59-year-old), and even though it was difficult for her, they were very gentle and supportive - and she was able to finish all the way.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Thank you for the kind words,! We’re so happy your visit at Egypt went so smoothly. Would you mind sharing with your friends who are due for a check-up, too? We’d love to continue providing great service to awesome patients like you.
Amazing experience all...
Matthew_F, Dec 2021
Amazing experience all round. Just be warned that it is VERY cold when climbing in winter. Worth bringing money just in case you decide to take the camel, which you can choose to do at any point. My son and I walked it but some in our party switched to camel. Really great trip overall.
Response from Host, Jan 2022
Thank you for the kind words,! We’re so happy your visit at Egypt went so smoothly. Would you mind sharing with your friends who are due for a check-up, too? We’d love to continue providing great service to awesome patients like you.
Beautiful mountain, disappointing tour guide
Elizabeth_C, Nov 2021
Mt Sinai was stunning. The tour itself was not good though. The guide spoke some English but didn't bother as there were only a few of us and he spoke russian the entire time. We didn't get any of the insights, or clear information on the logistics. They also made us stop at a tourist shop before the climb when we were already running late. Noone was interested in that bit. I definitely recommend climbing the mountain bit make sure your guide really does speak your language.
Response from Host, Nov 2021
Dear Elizabet, We would like to thank you for your feed back which will help us to improve our services, Your Feedback is doubleted as your booking related to Ms. Liz, and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your tour according the Guides Mistake, however, we mentioned that tour will be run with 2 Languages, and according to your complain, we refunded the full payment and we informed you that, the tour is a complimentary tour without any charge, however you were happy with 50% of the total amount, but we refunded the full amount according to our policy, Thanks once more :)
Poor services and take different prices from different tourists group but provide the same services.
Saria_S, Oct 2021
It was a poor services by Viator. We 5 people have paid $80/person for the trip. We were provided an old van with many other people who have paid half of our prices when we asked. We were supposed to provide a special car, ticket to visit St. Catherine Monastery, and a helpful guide. The guide Noor was good who was helping us ascending/climbing the Moses mountain but the main guide's performance was poor. Local Egypt Tours Club who arranged this trip for Viator offer half of the price with good quality snacks and drinks. We feel we are cheated for the price we paid for this trip.
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Dears. First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback which is helping us to improve our services. That tour is managed in group as we mentioned in our description, Our guides are qualified enough to provide the best services and help for our guests, and we got a review from one of the client who was with you with 5 stars rate and thinking us for the provided services and guides. In the include part we don't provide foods and beverage and it is mentioned in the program. For the prices, almost of our tourists booked that tour 3 months ago with special discount which we made for that tour. We are sorry that you didn't get that tour with the offer which we made. That tour ranked excellent from almost of our guests. We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us and we are up to give you 20% discount for your next visit to Egypt for you or any of your relatives for any of our tour, Best of wishes

From $100.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Mount Sinai Climb and St Catherine Tour from Sharm El Sheikh


14 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Mount Sinai Climb and Private St. Catherine Tour


16 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do