Siena

Half-Day Brunello di Montalcino Wine Tour from Siena

Siena, Italy
Brunello di Montalcino wine tour from Siena
Likely to Sell Out

From $131.19

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 5 hours 30 minutes
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Spend an afternoon in the wine town of Montalcino, tasting the prestigious Brunello di Montalcino and learning about wine production. This tour from Siena that tasting of local wine paired with salami and cured meat. Admire views of the Tuscan countryside from the pretty hill town and discover the region’s generations-old winemaking traditions.
  • Montalcino wine tour from Siena
  • Enjoy wine tastings in the famous medieval town
  • Try Brunello di Montalcino, the town’s esteemed wine
  • Learn the secrets and traditions in Montalcino winemaking
  • Relax with a hotel pickup and drop-off service

What's Included

  • Travel by minivan with air conditioning for a maximum of 8 people
  • Expert multilingual escorts
  • Free time in Montalcino and its stronghold
  • 2 wine tastings
  • Snack with sliced cold meat, bruschetta and cheese
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Via Giuseppe Garibaldi, 72
    Via Giuseppe Garibaldi, 72, 53100 Siena SI, Italy

    Meet our staff in front of Hotel Minerva

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Please note that this service is on request and has an extra cost of 20 euros. The hotel must be outside of the city centre's walls.

What To Expect

Start your half-day trip with a hotel pickup from Siena. Then relax on the journey into the Tuscan countryside that surrounds the city.

Your destination is Montalcino, a beautiful hill town that’s known for its medieval city walls and its wine. Here, you’ll enjoy tastings of the local wine along with snacks such as cured meat and traditional salami.

Sip Brunello di Montalcino wine, and hear how its production secrets and traditions have been passed down through the generations. One of the world’s most expensive varietals, the revered wine is made from Sangiovese grapes and matured for years in special wooden casks.

After your tastings, return to your transport for the journey back to Siena. Finish with a drop-off back at your hotel.

Fortezza di Montalcino

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

La Castellina

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Customers must be able to climb and descend stairs.
  • Small groups: maximum 8 people on the minivan.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Richard_G
Had a hreat time. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. The wineries were nice. The wine tasting was good

Reviews

4.0
59 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 59 reviews
Beautiful Day
Diana_G, Oct 2023
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip through the Tuscany countryside. We met some lovely people that were also on our trip,and the visit to Montalcino was lovely. We visited 2 local small wineries and enjoyed our tastings.We thought there could’ve been a tad more food on the trays for the amount of people that were there. The driver was very friendly and I would definitely recommend this tour.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the tour and had a good time with the other customers. The wineries are the result of our searching for the best place, in order our customers can enjoy their time there. We would take in considerate your recommendation about the amount of food on the trays and do our best to improve this service. Thank you for recommending this tour to other customers too, hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future, so we can give you more experiences like this one. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Tour might not be worth it.
Nick_B, Oct 2023
Our driver, Gent (not sure on spelling) was fantastic! He was a super safe driver and gave us a ton of information on our drive from Siena to Montalcino. The first winery had great views, decent wines, and the family who owned it was super nice. After that we had 25 mins to stop in the town of Montalcino, and we wished we had at least an hour. Finally we stopped at the last winery and it started off good but the woman serving us ended it rather rudely. She wouldn’t offer anyone a revisit of any wines and then she told us the tasting was over. When no one bought anything and started to walk out, she said “oh, I guess you hated our wines.” It was an odd ending to a good day. Also, the van we were in was in desperate need of new shocks and servicing. It was extremely bumpy on the gravel roads around the wineries. Overall, I think this tour needs some updates for me to recommend it. But we still had a nice time and our driver made it a fun, good experience!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing the feedback with us. Glad to know that you had a good time with our driver and enjoyed the tour overall. Wineries are the result of our searching for the best place for our customers to enjoy their time and the wine tasting. We are sorry to know that you did not have a good experience at the second winery. We will investigate furthermore about what happened and take care of this case. Not only that, but we will make sure that this never happens again to any of our customers. Thank you for letting us know about all the issues disturbing you, we will make sure to improve our service in this instance. For any further concerns or anything regarding the tour, please feel free to contact us at our email address customercare@mytour.it Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Overall my happiest day out of first 12 days in Italy!
Gayle_K, Oct 2023
Our guide, Giovanni, was incredible! He filled our hike with so many interesting facts about the flora and wildlife. Many stories were related from his interactions with his family and having traveled many parts of this trail. The group bonded and all had a great day together. The only caveat was finding, therefore missing, our first bus back to Siena.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Glad to know that you had a good time and enjoyed the tour with our guide and the tour group too. Hope to have you again in our other tours in the near future, to give you more experiences like this one. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Trip through delightful wine area
Stephen_L, Oct 2023
Good driver of the minibus. Scenery to Montalcino was outstanding and the town itself was most interesting. The two vineyards we visited were interesting as on the first we saw the grapes being delivered to the winery and then being processed. Overall we tasted 5 wines. All were very pleasant. The overall trip took just over 5 hours.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback and letting us know about your experience. Glad to know that you had a good time and enjoyed all the wines. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future, so we can give you another good experience, hoping we will get a full star rate next time. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Great wines with a great driver.
robynwallace7, Sep 2023
We really enjoyed the first winery as it was more intimate and we could chat with the people that came with us on the bus. I also wanted to say thank you again to our driver who organized a taxi for us for 5am at our apartment this morning. We hadn't been able to sort one ourselves and it was a great relief to have him do this out of the kindness of his heart.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback and letting us know about your experience. Glad to know that you enjoyed the tour and thank you for appreciating our driver's help. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Tuscany Wine Tour
Rebecca_G, Sep 2023
Wine tasting in Tuscany was even better than we expected! Johnnie (sp?) our driver was excellent, and the scenery was incredible. Thank you!!! - Steve and Becky Griffin, California, USA
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing the feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour. We appreciate the good opinion you have for our driver. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the future, to give you another experience like this. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Great day trip, great guide!
Jenna_W, Sep 2023
Marco, our driver and guide, was fantastic. He was so knowledgeable and shared great details. We were driven to two beautiful wineries and had time to explore Montalcino. It was a great trip and worth it.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback and letting us know about your experience. Glad to know that you enjoyed the tour and and liked our staff's work. Wineries are results of our searching to find the best place for our customers, in order to taste wine and enjoy their time there. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Great experience
Nirupama_P, Sep 2023
Fantastic experience and amazing landscape within Tuscany countryside. The choice of winery were great and the explanation by the guides were very informative.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing this feedback. We are glad to hear about your fantastic experience on our tour. Happy to hear that you had a fun time in each destination. Wineries are the result of our searching for the best place, in order our customers can enjoy their time there. Looking forward to having you again on our tours in the future, to give you more enjoyable experiences like this one. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Very poor ...
Marilyn_H, Sep 2023
Very disappointing tour. I have used Viator several times before and always been pleased with their service however, this tour from Siena was dissapointing from the start. We were unable to identify our guide (having arrived 20 mins before departure as instructed). We left Siena 20 mins late due to above and then waiting for other guests who did not appear. We then travelled to 2 Vineyards which were nice to visit but the Tour itself was really limited to wine tasting. The wine was nice good but the snacks were poor, basically a bit of bread and cheese in one and crutons in the second ... The timings were completely wrong and we basically ran out of time and did not visit the hill town of Montalcino. This decision was agreed between the Group as we would only have had 15 mins to explore the town. We arrived back in Siena 30 mins late as it was. The driver was very apologetic. The whole experience was very disappointing to say the least.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing the feedback of your experience about this tour. We are really sorry to know that you're dissapointed from the tour and did not enjoy it as the other times. Our guide always waits for the customers at the meeting point and to make it more easy for our customers to notice the guide, we always call them and direct them to the guide, in any case of help. Sorry for the late departure but we had to wait for our customers, as that's how it works, we always wait 10 minutes more in any case of being late. Even if it was you in this case, we would have waited, so please we request you to understand us. This is a wine tour, so it only includes some small snacks and wine tasting, we do not provide a big amount of food. As every other tour, this tour has it's itinerary too and we should follow the timetable for each stop destination. Accept our apology for all the issues that may have disturbed you, but we always do our best to give the customers the best service and we are really sorry that you aren't satisfied in this case. For any further concerns or any other issue regarding the tour, please feel free to contact us at our email address customercare@mytours.it Thank you for your understanding. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Good driver, wine and country side
Emily_S, Aug 2023
3 others besides us on the van, all fellow Aussie’s and from Victoria the same as us. Talked a bit of footy being finals time. Driver was really nice and an excellent driver. Visited two wineries and had tastings which were both nice and very informative. Great way to see the Tuscan countryside and drink wine for an afternoon
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Happy to know that you enjoyed the time on the tour and had a good experience. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
“Guided” Tour?
Elizabeth_L, Aug 2023
The highlights of the trip were the two wine tastings. Staff at both wineries were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, our driver was simply an escort. During our van rides through the countryside he was silent and not forthcoming with any explanations of the countryside and/or wine (i.e., the significance of the area, information regarding Montalcino, wine making, etc.). Furthermore, we were driven in a commercial van promoting toilet accessories. Not certain why. His driving was unsafe and he was extremely inattentive to his surroundings.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. Glad to know that you enjoyed the time in the wineries. Sorry to hear that opinion about our driver. We have a proffesional staff which have many years doing the job they're doing and we are sorry for the opinion you have created. Our customers are first priority for us, so we always want to give them the best service, hoping we will have you again in another tour in the future, in order to show you our service improvement. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
1/2 day trip
Stuart_G, Jun 2023
Great pace. First vineyard was outstanding. Enjoyed learning about the Brunello history and process. Great walk around the town of Montalcino, would have loved a little more time there!
We had a last minute...
KATHY_L, Jun 2023
We had a last minute substitute driver. He knew little English and got us turned around several times. The wineries were fine. We probably enjoyed our Chianti tour more.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear Kathy, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're sorry for the inconvenience, we will make sure that episodes like this does not repeat in future occasions. We're glad you appreciated the wineries, they are the result of an accurate research on the local area. It would be a pleasure for us to see you back in Italy also in the future. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Lots of views, Not so much wine
Michael_L, Jun 2023
Nice car ride with views to Montalcino, but the tour was a little bit lacking and did not fully match the description. When I see guided tour of Montalcino, I think that the guides are going to tell me about the city and the surroundings, at least during the drive, but they did not. The wineries we visited were very beautiful and the people were friendly and explained all about the wine making process. However, the wine pours were very small— maybe enough for 2 small sips and we didn’t have the option or time to have another glass if we wanted to. Our visit to Montalcino was very rushed and only 30 minutes. We would’ve liked more time to explore. Lastly, the description said we were to get olive oil and vinegar tastings and we didn’t. If you want a tour that provides a long car ride in the country, do it. If you are looking for more history and wine, I would not recommend this tour.
Great tour out of Siena
Melina_P, May 2023
This was a great way to get out and see wine country. It was an easy meet-up, beautiful scenery, and we visited 2 gorgeous wineries + time to explore Montalcino. Would recommend!
The driver was...
Jerry_L, May 2023
The driver was professional and friendly and while I expected a long drive, the experiences at the wineries were just ok at the first and disappointing at the second. It seemed the host had better things to do and couldn’t wait for us to leave. I’ve done many wine tastings and these were the most meager pours I’ve seen. Good wines though. I don’t think the value was there for the cost of the excursion.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Jerry, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry that our tour did not meet your expectation. It's in our interest to offer the best activities and tours to travellers. Our wineries are the result of an attentive search and we always want to guarantee the quality of each experience. The staff members of our wineries are usually very competent, so we are surprised to hear that. But thank you for your feedback, we will note that. The price-quality ratio is also decided based on the services which are provided during the tour. We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to share with us your opinion and we wish to have you back also in the future. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Do not recommend this provider and tour.
Alejandra_M, May 2023
I booked and paid for a tour with a Spanish guide for 3 (2 of us just speak Spanish). When the guide turned up it was only an English tour and he didn’t speak Spanish at all. He was actually very nice and tried to speak to us in Italian. The agency ‘myTour in Italy’ never contacted us to let us know that the minimum number required for the Spanish tour hasn’t been met. They should of told us and let us make the decision or offer a refund. My sister and cousin didn’t get a clue of the tour explanations. Still waiting for an apology at least but nothing. Viator didn’t do anything about my claim, still waiting as well.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Alejandra, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear that we could not offer the tour in Spanish. Unfortunately, due to health issues, the Spanish guide was not able to show up that day and we could not find another guide who could substitute him. We always try to ensure that travellers can enjoy our activities and tours. We have already contacted Viator's customer care to inform them about this. In case you need more details, please write us at customercare@mytours.it. Sincerely, myTour in Italy
Amazing day
Sarah_C, Apr 2023
The driver Maximilian was very kind. The two wineries were excellent, especially the 2nd one. Both places had wonderful wine. The views from the 2nd winery were what you see in pictures. Absolutely beautiful!
Rough start, good finish.
Caleb_B, Apr 2023
Overall the experience was fun but you spend more time in the bus than the actual winery. The company really needs to do better at communicating and figuring out a pickup location. My wife and I spent 20 mins waiting at the “pick up location” given to us by the company only to find out that the driver was a half mile down the road waiting on us. It wasn’t only us it seemed to happen to everyone riding with us that day.
A perfect afternoon
Bob_N, Apr 2023
The 2 wineries were small intimate out of the way, and unique, and the wine was fabulous! I also loved the hill town, Montalcino. I appreciated our guide who was friendly and knowledgeable.
...

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Half-Day Brunello di Montalcino Wine Tour from Siena

59

5 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$131.19
No Photo
Montalcino: Brunello Wine Tasting & Lunch in a Tuscan Castle

37

1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$64.93
No Photo
Full-Day Chianti E- Bike Tour

2

7 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$143.31

Explore Similar Things to Do