Siena

Chianti and Castle small group Tour from Siena with Wine Tasting

Badge of ExcellenceSiena, Italy
Chianti and Castle Tour

From $94.02

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 5 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Take the stress out of planning a day in Tuscany on this half-day small-group tour of the Chianti wine region from Siena, including transport. Enjoy an air-conditioned ride over to two popular wineries to taste wines and oils locals love. Plus spend some free time in Monteriggioni, and catch a glimpse of the town’s well-known medieval castle.
  • Small-group tour of the Chianti wine region in Tuscany from Siena
  • Admire scenic sights of the beautiful Tuscan countryside
  • Visit two wineries, and learn about the Chianti region’s winemaking procedures
  • Sample wine and oil from the area
  • Go to the medieval village Monteriggioni and see the town’s castle
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off are included

What's Included

  • Travel by air-conditioned minivan
  • Expert multilingual guides
  • Wine, oil and balsamic vinegar tasting
  • Visit two wineries in Chianti area
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Via Giuseppe Garibaldi, 72
    Via Giuseppe Garibaldi, 72, 53100 Siena SI, Italy

    SUMMER: The meeting point is at 2:00 PM in front of Hotel Minerva. WINTER: The meeting point is at 1:00 PM in front of Hotel Minerva. *Pickup and drop-off from accommodation located less than 10 km from the center of Siena has an additional cost of 20 euros.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Your tour of the Chianti wine region in Tuscany starts with a hotel pickup in Siena. When you’re picked up, hop aboard an air-conditioned vehicle with your small group as your guide drives you through the countryside. Take in the views along the way to the first winery.

Sample wine paired with complimentary snacks while you learn about this winery’s winemaking process. Your tour guide at the winery takes you to the cellars and tells you the secrets behind the types of wines they serve, including a popular Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon.

After the first winery, the town of Monteriggioni is up on the agenda. Spend some free time wandering around the village or visit the castle if you choose (own expense). It’s been said that the cafes in the town also serve a delicious coffee if you’d like to get off your feet for a while.

Last up is another Tuscan winery. Here you can taste some more wine and also oil before getting back in your car fir the ride back to your hotel.

Fattoria Lornano

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Castellina In Chianti

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Customers must be able to climb and descend stairs.
  • Please note that during low season from November 16th to March 14th Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements (4pax are required). In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Tara_G
This was our favorite tour in Italy so far! The Chianti region and the castes are beautiful and full of so much history. The wineries were wonderful. Our tour guide, Fabio, was amazing and taugh is so much about the history of the area. We highly recommend this!

Reviews

4.5
114 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 114 reviews
Great time and tour, should describe where the tour is visiting
Maureen_M, Feb 2024
We absolutely enjoyed the experience and had a wonderful guide whom was fun and knowledgeable. The only issue I had with this tour is that it does not tell you where you will be visiting. We went on our own to Monteriggioni the day before this tour, not knowing that this tour would take us there the next day. You should include all stops on the tour so visitors to Tuscany can make better-informed decisions on where they will spend their time other days. Aside from that, it was a great tour!
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us, and we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the tour with our wonderful and knowledgeable guide. We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the tour itinerary information. Your suggestion to include all stops on the tour in advance is valuable, and we will certainly take it into consideration for future improvements. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the lack of clarity on the destinations. We're glad you still had a great tour overall, and we hope to welcome you back for more enjoyable experiences in the future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Excellent Afternoon in Tuscan Countryside
Michael_G, Dec 2023
Great driver/guide. You visit 2 vineyards, 1 lookout point, and 1 picturesque town. The town is appropriately in between the two vineyards to prevent the vineyards from blending together.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Dear Customer, It is so nice to know that you enjoyed this journey with us. We wish to have you back to experience more tours together and give you enjoyable experiences like this one. Best Regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Best wine tasting tour of the Tuscan countryside
Debra_W, Oct 2023
We loved this tour and would highly recommend it. Vincenzo was our guide and driver for this small group tour of 7 taking us to see two stunning organic wineries and 2 quaint medieval villages while driving us through the stunning Tuscan countryside. The wineries were awesome - the winery hosts were both amazingly knowledgeable and memorable, the wines great and the settings just stunning. We also enjoyed walking through 2 small medieval villages tasting more wine and some gelato. The tour was better than expected.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing the feedback with us. We are glad to know that you loved the tour. Thank you for recommending it to other customers too. Wineries are the result of our searching for the best place for our customers, in order they can enjoy their time there. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future, so we can give you more enjoyable experiences like this one. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Good experience to spend...
SC_C, Oct 2023
Good experience to spend a half day here. Wines from 2 wineries can be tasted and some walks in small old towns.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, happy to know about your good experience on this tour. Wineries are the result of our searching for the best place for our customers to taste wine. Looking forward to having you again in our upcoming tours in the near future in order to give you a better experience, hoping we will get a full star rate next time. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Enjoyable experience, what you should know...
Emma_T, Oct 2023
Enjoyable experience! Small group of 8 and the tour guide was very good and knowledgable when asked further questions. No problems with pick-up or drop-off. The two village stops were lovely and we enjoyed visiting them. The first vineyard was especially beautiful and there was an opportunity to enjoy the outside space and relax. However, both lacked detailed information or tasting notes. A good introductory wine tasting and enjoyable afternoon but wine connoisseurs may be better on another tour.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable experience and liked the tour in general. We always choose the best places for our customers to taste wine, and in this case we are sorry that you hadn't liked the explanation of our staff there. The guide has given all the needed information and explanation. Looking forward to having you again in our up-coming tours in the near future in order to give you better experiences and show you our service improvement, hoping we will get a full star rate next time. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Great tour! Highlight of our trip to Italy!
mary_g, Oct 2023
This tour is fantastic! It was very easy to find the meeting point. Our guide, Daniel, met us there and put us on the nice air conditioned van. Daniel was so kind and informative, and made our trip extra special because he went out of his way to explain to us the Chianti region history. We first went to the castle tour which was wonderful. We had about 30 minutes to stroll around the castle, shop and get a cold drink. The views were breathtaking! We then went to the first vineyard. It was beautiful, informative, and most of all the wine was delicious! They paired the tasting with a with a delicious cheese plate. The vineyard guide was very informative. We were able to drink another glass of wine after the tasting and take in the beautiful rolling hills of Tuscany. Daniel then took us to a small village to walk through and explore. We found a wonderful cafe and drank another glass of delicious Chianti Classico.We then went to the next vineyard and it was fantastic too! The vineyard was gorgeous and again the presentation and wine was fantastic . This tour from Sienna was definitely a highlight of our trip! Thank you Daniel for sharing with us your beautiful Chianti region in Tuscany!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback and letting us know about your fantastic experience. Thank you for all the details about the tour, and the description of its itinerary, we really appreciate it. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future, to give you more experiences like this one and to make you enjoy your stay in Italy. Thank you for choosing us for travelling through Italy. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Relaxing, Fun Afternoon
Madeline_M, Sep 2023
This tour was a wonderful experience! In addition to the two wineries, we visited photo spots and towns throughout Chianti. I recommend!
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our customers are our priority, and we are happy to know that you enjoyed this tour. Wineries are the result of our searching for the best places for our customers, in order to taste wine. Thank you for recommending the tour to other customers. Hope to have you again in our tours in the future, in order to give you more experiences like this one. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Terrible tour guide and in wrong profession.
Rosetta_D, Sep 2023
We got to our meeting point and there was a 45 minute delay . Drivers were confused and trying to figure out which travelers were suppose to go with each guide.. We were the unlucky few that got a guide that did not speak one word to us. He didn’t introduce himself or tell us about the places we were going. His driving was erratic and umsafe. I want my money back.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and letting us know about your experience. Sorry to know that you're unsatisfied from the tour. Our staff has some of the best employees, and they do their best to give customers a good service. We are truly sorry to hear this opinion about our driver and guide. The guide assigned for this tour has many years of experience and is certified by the Italian government with a license for the guide's profession. Sorry to hear the above-mentioned issues disturbing you, we always do our best to provide an improved service for our clients. Thank you for your understanding. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Interesting but pricey
Susan_D, Sep 2023
The two vineyards visited offered very different experiences. Both interesting. The two medieval walled villages were also very interesting but the time allowed there should perhaps have been reversed as the second had more to offer but not enough time to see it. The instructions for joining the tour needs to be much clearer. The Piazza where we were to meet the minibus was quite large and packed with tour and regular buses . It was impossible to see or be seen and it was quite stressful not knowing exactly where to meet the tour. What3words would give an exact point, or even to stand by the tourist information kiosk.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Glad to know that you loved the wineries and enjoyed your time on the tour. Sorry for the issue you have had while meeting the guide, but we always try to communicate our customers by phone from our booking office, so we can advise them how to find the guide. Hope to have you again in order to show you our service improvements and give you a better experience, hoping we will get a full star rate next time. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Tasting Wine in Tuscany
Karen_M, Aug 2023
Was a lovely way of seeing another part of Tuscany. The vineyards were very informative of their wines and history. The only thing we couldn't heard the guide/driver seating at the back with the air conditioning going (which was very needed in the heat).
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for your feedback. Happy to know that you had a good time and liked the tour in general. Sorry for the air conditioning but we had a problem with it, which is already solved. Thank you for your understanding. Hope to have you again in our tour in the future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Wine Tasting in Tuscany
Diann_C, Aug 2023
Our tour guide was very nice, however, there was a lot of quiet time while driving and that would have been an optimal time to share with us more about the area we were in or any knowledge he might have. I feel that the first winery was a bit lacking in the 'wine tasting experience'. I think important information like the temperature to serve different wines at, how to hold the stem, what 'legs' are, etc., would have definitely enhanced the experience. The one nice thing is that we each were served nice snacks to cleanse our pallet. We just sort of set there and drank the wines before us without any information 'as we tasted'. The second one was definitely better with much more information. However, there were no snacks to speak of. Overall, I was a bit disappointed in the tastings, since I had thought they would let us taste from 'dry to sweet', or even add olive oil and/or balsamic tastings. But I guess I had gone in with my own pre-conceived notion of how a tasting cold be in a different country. We thoroughly loved both of the castles...Prior to arriving at the castles would have been a perfect time to tell us all he could about what we were going to see.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and letting us know about your experience on the tour. Happy to know that you liked the guide. Sorry to hear that you are not satisfied from the wineries. We always find the best places for our customers to taste wine, in order they can enjoy their time there. Everything about the tour is well explained on our site, what the tour includes. As per the wine tasting it is mentioned that the second winery is excluded from the price paid for the tour. That is why they were no snacks included. Hope to see you again in our tours in the future, in order to give you a better experience. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
A fun afternoon in the Tuscan countryside.
Martha_A, Aug 2023
The tour was great. Very good wine tastings and the castle visits were fun. The only problem was they gave us the wrong pick up point but a phone call got us picked up. The driver was a really nice guy. I would recommend this.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Hello from My Tour, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Happy to know that you have enjoyed the tour and the wine tasting. Sorry for the missunderstanding for the pick up point. Thank you for the good words for our driver and for recommending the tour to other customers. Hope to have you again in our other tours in the future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Excellent overview of Chianti
Stephanie_S, Aug 2023
Great experience seeing two castles and two vineyards, complete with tastings and excellent narrative about the Chianti reason from our guide, Fabio. A/C van was comfortable too.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your feedback with us. Happy to know that you had a good experience and enjoyed every part of the tour. Hope to have you again in our tours in the future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Great tour - bad directions on where to meet
Kirsten_M, Jul 2023
We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and our guide Daniel once we found them. The tour itself was fantastic however the directions received from the seller were terrible. It was literally just the name of a street with no street number or directions where to meet. This street was actually almost like a city freeway. So a very dangerous spot for us to be walking. We thought that once we arrived it would be a very obvious spot to find the group - hence no further information ( we have done quite a few tours in the last 2 weeks). So we were very surprised to just be sent to the middle of a road about a 12 minute bus ride from the Siena old town centre.I contacted the company who connected me with the driver/guide who very kindly picked us up. The other people in the group where given an exact place to meet - ironically about 1 minute from where we were staying. So lesson learned - if your directions seem dodgy- contact the provider before the tour. I was very disappointed to be out in such a stressful situation. Again the tour and wine tasting were fantastic. It was just the lack of directions on where to meet that was a huge issue.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour. The meeting point is also given at our site, where every customer can check it. We have chosen the best and the obvious spots for meeting points , so our cutomers can get there easily. As in this case, our company is always on our customers disposal to guve them assistance about the directions. Sorry for this issue disturbing you. Our company will do their best to improve the service, in order to give you another wonderful experience, hoping we will get a full star rate next time. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
This was our favorite tour in Italy so far!
Tara_G, Jul 2023
This was our favorite tour in Italy so far! The Chianti region and the castes are beautiful and full of so much history. The wineries were wonderful. Our tour guide, Fabio, was amazing and taugh is so much about the history of the area. We highly recommend this!
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had a great time while our tour. Thank you for appreciating our staff's work. Our costumers are our priority and we always do the best to give them a qualified service. Thank you for recommending this tour to other customers. Hope to see you again in our other tours in the future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Not a good experience
Barbara_L, Jun 2023
Our driver did not speak any English and just dropped us off with no explanation where we were to meet for our tour, no explanation on when / where to get back on van. There was another driver that did speak English but he never told our driver or us any details as far as drop off pickup. So we were waiting for driver in the wrong location!!' The wine tour/tasting was fine.
Fun tour.
KATHY_L, Jun 2023
Our guide was good. We enjoyed the castles as well as the wine tastings. Met some other travelers to enjoy the experience with.
The guide was informative...
Laurie_S, May 2023
The guide was informative and the locations were beautiful. The only slight negative is we spent too long at the first wine tasting because we were not given a time to meet back up. It was 2 vans worth of people, about 16 people, and we were all sitting around the table talking and waiting for someone to tell us it was time to leave. We finally got up and walked outside on our own, and our later stops had to be shortened to make up the time.
Lovely Wineries
Suzanne_N, Apr 2023
The host wineries were lovely and were well set up for the groups to taste wines and snack. They gave us great info about their wine making & history of the region. Great for couples looking to have social time with other adults while escaping from the city!
We were given the wrong...
Nancy_G, Apr 2023
We were given the wrong pick up point. It ended up costing an additional $25 to get to the location they suggested. Was not impressed.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Nancy, We're sorry to hear that you had problems with the pick-up point. This tour has both meeting point and pick-up from accommodation options, but they have different conditions. The meeting point could be in Piazza A. Gramsci or Strada di Pescaia and was with no extra cost but if the pick-up service from accommodation was needed, then the pick-up point should have been within 10 km from Siena's city center with an extra cost. Thank you sharing your feedback with us. Best regards, myTour in Italy
...

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Chianti and Castle small group Tour from Siena with Wine Tasting

114

5 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$94.02
No Photo
Small-Group Chianti Trip with Wine Tasting from Siena

55

8 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$199.11
No Photo
Montalcino: Brunello Wine Tasting & Lunch in a Tuscan Castle

37

1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$65.15

Explore Similar Things to Do