Siena

From Siena: Pienza and Montepulciano Wine Tour

Siena, Italy
Enograstronomic Tour from Siena Montalcino Pienza and Montepulciano

From $103.38

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 11 hours 30 minutes
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Taste your way through Tuscany with this full-day wine tour of Pienza and Montepulciano from Siena. Visit the charming town of Pienza and stop for one wine tasting each in Montepulciano. You also enjoy plenty of free time to explore each village on your own.
  • Full-day wine tour of Pienza and Montepulciano from Siena
  • Visit wine cellars and sample local wines in Montepulciano
  • Explore the UNESCO-listed hilltop town of Pienza
  • Set your own pace to discover each town on self-guided tours

What's Included

  • Travel by GT coach or minivan with air-conditioning
  • Expert multilingual escorts
  • Wine tasting with some snacks
  • Free time in Montepulciano
  • Free time in Pienza
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Lunch

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • Viale Vittorio Veneto, 27, 53100 Siena SI, Italy

    Meet our staff in front of Bar Pedrocchino - Viale Vittorio Veneto 27

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Meet your guide in Siena's Piazza Gramsci to begin the trip into the Tuscan hills.

Travel first to the hilltop town of Pienza, one of the gems of the UNSECO-listed Val d'Orcia. Learn about pecorino, the local cheese made here. Stroll through the charming streets of this planned Renaissance town.

Continue to Montepulciano, the final stop of the day, for a visit to a local winery where you'll sample this area's famous Nobile di Montepulciano wine.

Return to the original departure point in Siena at the end of the day.

Montepulciano

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Piazza Grande a Montepulciano

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Duomo

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Palazzo Ricci (Pass By)

Historic Centre of the City of Pienza

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Palazzo Comunale di Pienza

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Piazza Pio II

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Palazzo Piccolomini

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Il Duomo di Pienza

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Val d'Orcia (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Portuguese/Chinese language: Available on selected days and will be guaranteed with minimum 4 pax, if the minimum is not met the tour will be done in English or Spanish.
  • Customers must be able to climb and descend stairs. Please note that a moderate amount of walking is involved and this tour is not wheelchair accessible.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Reviews

4.0
83 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 83 reviews
Not recommended
Ivan_S, Dec 2023
They cancelled our trip the day before even after being payed and confirmed because they didn't have more reservations. Destroying our day on the toscana. A total shame
Beautiful scenery!
Gayle_K, Oct 2023
The trip went exactly as planned. Our tour guide and his assistant were knowledgeable and gave us helpful information.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Many thanks for appreciating our guide's work, we're glad to know that you had a good experience. Looking forward to having you again in our upcoming tours in the near future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Not great
Marilyn_B, Oct 2023
Signed up for a minibus tour six months ago. Ended up on a full tour bus. Stopped at one winery.the entire day. “Snacks” were a packet of saltine crackers. I guess I misread the description? Enjoyed the other people on the bus and the towns were beautiful. Expected more from Viator.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. The customers can travel by bus or minivan on this tour, as it is written on the tour description on our site, it depends on the number of participants on the tour. The tour took place as always, and wine with light snacks were served at the winery. We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy the time at the winery. Our customers are our priority, and we always do our best to give them the best service ever. Sorry for all the issues disturbing you, hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future, in order to show you our service improvement and give you a better experience in this way. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Not a wine tour!!
Jan_D, Jul 2023
I was not impressed with this tour. The pic with the promo is not what you get. The tour guide was very professional and informative. But, this was not a Tuscan wine tour, far from it. The wine tasting was in a sterile wine factory. In the cellars, yes, and the wine was first rate but so not what I expected as the Tuscan experience. Basically we were dropped off at the towns and sorted ourselves out. And the time spent in Pienza was far too long. This was not a wine tour, it was a delivery service.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry that you were not impressed from this tour. Glad to hear that you have liked our guide's work. As per the wine tasting we always choose the best wineries for our customers. Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied from this tour, as we always give the most qualified service to our customers. We assure you to take note on this issues disturbing you and improve our service. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Beautiful countryside
Carol_S, Jul 2023
Was a nice tour and the wine tasting was very nicely done. Love the Tuscany region so breathtaking Met some nice people but expected the snack to be sometging other than a pack of soda craquers.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear that you had a good experience in this tour. The wineries are results of searching for the best places, for our customers in order to enjoy their time at the wineries. This tour is only about wine tasting and that's why there are only a few snackes to eat with the wine tasting. We would be happy to have you in our tours again in the future and give you another great experience, hoping we will get a full star rate. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Not a Wine Tour
Samantha_C, Jun 2023
This is not a wine tour, this is a Toscana Town tour. When originally booking, Montalcino was also included in the itinerary with a stop at a vineyard. It was also only for a group of 8 people only - more private. The tour ended up being ~30+ people which required the use of a coach bus, the wine tour in Montepulciano stopped at a large wine distributor and time was given in the towns but no other provided vineyards or wine tours were given.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear Samantha, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that our tour didn't meet your expectations. The fact that Montalcino is no more part of itinerary is true and we had proceeded with the removal of this stop from our tour page long time ago. We had already contacted Viator's Team concerning this matter. Please understand that we do our best to ensure the quality of our tours and activities and we always check that the tour details are correctly displayed.  Concerning the winery, please note that every winery has its own characteristics, so the perception of them might also change, depending on each person's preferences and point of view. As for the group size, this tour is not supposed to be a small group tour, that is why you found also other travellers on your same tour. We hope to be able to see you again also in the future and to show you that we are always willing to improve our services. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Nice tour
Margaret_H, Jun 2023
A great self guided trip. It was as expected with plenty of time in the two towns. We took a mini hop on hop off in Pienze. Not a fan of bus tours but this was fine and our guide and driver were great.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad that you appreciated the tour, though the bus tours are not your preferred type of tour. It would be a pleasure for us to see you back again also in the future and to offer you other interesting tours to discover the Tuscan beauty. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Disappointed: tour as advertised in booking
PMichelle_Z, May 2023
Our booking promised 3 stops - wine tasting at Montalcino with local snacks plus free time there, then Pienza to learn about pecorino cheese, then Montepulciano for second wine tasting at a winery. Actual tour fell way short. No Montalcino, no cheese info and Montepulciano tasting was at the coop not a winery. Meeting point at start of day was also written wrong.
AN EXPENSIVE BUS RIDE!!!!
robert_p, May 2023
This tour advertised a wine tasting in both Montepulciano and Montalcino and further promised an hour of free time in Montalcino. We were advised on the bus that there was no stop in Montalcino. I approached the 2 local tour guides from "My Tour in Italy" and they both said that they stopped going to Montalcino months ago and they had advised Viator of this. Viator had not updated their website to reflect the tour not going to Montalcino which "My Tour in Italy" had asked them to do. When I complained to Viator they advised they had passed along my message. to the local operator thus trying to avoid the issue. They still haven't admitted they were wrong .
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Robert, We're sorry to hear that you could not enjoy the tour because the stop of Montalcino was missing. The fact that Montalcino is no more part of itinerary is true and we had proceeded with the removal of this stop from our tour page long time ago. We have also contacted the team of Viator to make sure that there was no more reference to the town, receiving their confirmation. We are very surprised to hear that this problem came out now. Please understand that we do our best to ensure the quality of our tours and activities and we always check that the tour details are correctly displayed. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Could of been improved
Vickie_W, May 2023
Pienza had beautiful views Lunch in Montepulciano was delicious. Both stops had appropriate amount of time to enjoy.
Beautiful day, but thought I would be at a winery where grapes are grown…etc. Not in the basement of where the barrels a
Debra_D, May 2023
The towns of Montepulciano and Pienza were beautiful to visit. Great views, great shopping, good food.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear Debra, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We're glad that you enjoy our tour of Pienza and Montepulciano. Tuscany is magnificent and has many wonderful places, but these two town are surely the jewels of the region. We're sorry that the winery didn't completely satisfy you. Every winery has a different style and choice of location, and what makes their difference lies in these, in addition to the taste of the wines they produce. As we offer many other wine tours including the visit to vineyard, what about booking another tour with us? We're sure that the winery with grapes you're looking for is hidden among one of those. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Juliano can drive. He...
David_K, May 2023
Juliano can drive. He fearlessly drove us through beautiful Tuscany. A feat I enjoyed allowing someone to do for me.
Response from Host, May 2023
Dear David, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Luciano would be really happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour, trusting his skills! We're always willing to offer the best to travellers paying a visit to our beloved Tuscany. We would be really pleased if you could choose us again in a future trip back to Italy. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Commercial Production Winery Visit, Bus Stops in 2 Towns. Nothing More. Do NOT Recommend.
Cassandra_H, Apr 2023
To start the tour, the bus was about 20 minutes late to pick us up at our meeting place in Siena. It was coming from Florence with a few people already on the bus. Leaving Siena, the bus driver started down the freeway in the wrong direction and didn't realize it until 30mins into the trip. Turned around and back the way we came. 1 hour wasted. Once we got to our first stop - a winery to drink Rosso & Nobile di Montepulciano. We pulled up to a warehouse looking building. We were NOT going to an actual winery, with vineyards, we went to a commercialized large production warehouse for our tasting. The wine was ok, but definitely nowhere near the experience I was hoping for or expecting!!! Very disappointed in this :( After the winery, we headed toward the town of Montepulciano. Again the bus driver got lost and we drove back & forth below the town for 30-40mins. Finally he pulled over and we walked up the steps to the town. With only 2 hours in town, and had to find our own place for lunch, it was extremely rushed. We finished lunch, rushed to take a picture, and rushed back to the meeting spot for the bus. Next town was Pienza. My husband and I opted to not explore the town at all, and found a cute restaurant with views overlooking the countryside. We sat there and enjoyed a bottle of wine for 2 hours while the others explored the town, which looked very cute. However by this time, we were extremely disappointed with the entire experience and were ready to get back to Siena. I do NOT recommend this tour if you are looking for a traditional Tuscany experience. This tour was merely good for the bus ride to 2 towns.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you sharing your feedback with us. We're very sorry to hear that you couldn't enjoy the tour due to the travel experience. Unfortunately, that day road works were in progress, so our driver could not follow his usual route but had to detour and choose another itinerary. We understand that there may have been an impression that the driver was going in the wrong direction, but he did his best to stick to the tour itinerary. Concerning the first stop, we understand that the style of the winery didn't meet your expectations. Every winery has its own characteristics, so the perception of them might also change, depending on each person's preferences and point of view. This tour is mainly a trip to Pienza and Montepulciano, so it couldn't be reflective of a full-fledged Tuscan experience. We wish to show travellers some of the jewels of Tuscany, but it's very hard if it is in just one day. Every town and city of the region has its peculiarity and beauty, but we always try our best so that travellers can feel satisfied. We really appreciate that you took the time to share with us your experience and we hope to have you back in the future to offer you experiences which we hope you could fully enjoy. Best regards, myTour in Italy
Goof trip
Bharat_K, Apr 2023
Montepulciano time was less. Rest all trip is amazing especially montalcino wine tasting is great. Val d'orcia is spectacular.
Enjoyable tour, with a few caveats…
Linda_B, Apr 2023
We loved seeing the Tuscan countryside and the wine tasting experience. But I had thought we’d be tasting wine in Montepulciano too, and that was a bit of a letdown. Also, there were many photo worthy views on the trip( hill towns from below) that the driver should have stopped for, rather than speeding along the highway. We should have been given maps for exploring the towns on our own, rather than just dropped off at a location and having to find it again for pick-up! Also, for the less than hearty, Montepulciano is a steep hill town! Lots of climbing. Pienza was the highlight for us! The commentary on the bus was good, but he spoke a little fast, and was sometime hard to hear with ambient bus noise and folks talking, more information on the wines would have been nice.
AMAZING!!!
Fernanda_B, Nov 2022
The tour was just incredible, the guide was polite, knowledgeable and friendly. The wine was divine highly recommended!
Pienza is a Gem!!💎
Vanessa_N, Oct 2022
Wonderful tour!! Pienza is well worth a visit and is my favorite Medieval town. It has a great balance of history, restaurants, and shopping. I highly recommend!!
Nice tour
Steven_C, Oct 2022
Wine tasting, tour guide were all excellent. Thats all I have to say about this tour. We had a small group of 7 which worked out well.
Beautiful Tuscan fall day.
Michael_G, Oct 2022
Anna and our driver were fantastic. Lots of history. Winery was awesome. Would have liked more time in Montepulciano and less in Pienza. Pienza is small and not so much time is needed there.
Lovely visit to two villages and wine tasting
Alison_M, Oct 2022
Wonderful day trip into the Tuscan countryside. Visited two stunning villages and great wine tasting at a gorgeous winery on the way back to Siena. Would highly recommend.
...

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
From Siena: Pienza and Montepulciano Wine Tour

83

11 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$103.38
No Photo
Siena: A Wine Tour and Tasting Experience

203

3 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$92.50

Explore Similar Things to Do