Siena

Tuscan Chianti Hills Horseback Riding Tour

Siena, Italy
Tuscan Hills Horseback Riding Tour from Siena

From $81.49

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 2 hours 30 minutes
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Giddy up! Traverse the hills of Tuscany via a unique mode of transportation with this guided horseback tour from Siena. Roam the rolling hills, some clad in grapevines, others blanketed with olive groves, as you and your horse calmly explore the region. Pass through rustic villages, all while learning about the history of the place from your guide. See stunning scenery that you would not have had the chance to encounter.
  • Horseback riding tour through Tuscan hills and villages
  • Ride a horse that is suited to your ability and confidence
  • Follow your guide along horseback-riding trails used by ancient peoples

What's Included

  • Local guide
  • Use of helmet
  • Horseback riding 1h
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Pickup and dropoff

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • Strada del Pian del Lago, 6, 53100 Siena SI, Italy

    Meet our staff at the Equestrian Center.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Depart from the center of Siena and head out for the range—that is, the hills of Tuscany. First, hop in a comfortable minivan and go to the stables to meet your horse. After a brief safety talk, put on your riding hat and hop on the saddle. Do a quick practice riding session in a riding arena and when you're comfortable on your gentle horse, set off for the rustic Tuscan countryside. 

Start out riding at a leisurely pace, following your guide, as you trot long secluded road and then into verdant forests. Follow trails that zigzag through the countryside and go through ancient rustic villages. Marvel at the countryside, which includes a patchwork of quilt-style landscapes, as well as villa-crowned hills and ancient villages made up of terracotta-roofed houses.  Some of these trails are used as part of the Via Francigena, a centuries-old pilgrimage route that stretches from Canterbury in England all the way to Rome. 

While the riding tour is more for novice or intermediate riders, more advanced riders are given the chance to trot or canter through stretches of the countryside. Head back to the stables. Help groom and unsaddle your horse and then get in the minivan for the short drive back to your hotel in central Siena.

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 14 years old
  • This tour is aimed at novice- and intermediate-level riders who are capable of mounting and dismounting unassisted, and who can apply basic commands with the reins to walk and halt
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Suitable clothing required: long-sleeved top, leggings or jodhpurs, and closed-toe shoes with non-slip soles
  • This tour requires a minimum of 2 passengers
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
James_C
We had a fantastic experience in the Chianti hills. Our guide was professional and cares for her horses well. The stables and setting were beautiful. Our ride was relaxed on very gentle horses that have been well trained and the trail was quiet, varied with green landscape and forest coverage. We were given time to enjoy and go at our own pace. We saw vines and the medieval town of Monteriggioni in the distance. It was a very enjoyable experience for our journey in Chianti, Siena. We would recommend even for beginners. Thank you.

Reviews

4.0
47 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 47 reviews
Look for something else
Santiago_F, Jan 2024
Bad, old and poorly groomed horses eventhough we advised the organiser firm the beginning that we were experienced riders. Great guide. Beautiful countryside.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we sincerely apologize for any disappointment you faced during your horseback riding adventure. We appreciate your positive comments about our guide and the beautiful countryside. However, we're genuinely sorry to hear that the horses didn't meet your expectations. Our staff always does their best to provide our customers the best experiences, and in this case we are sorry to know that you didn't have the experience you expected with the horses. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the near future, in order to give you a better experience next time, hoping we will get a full star rate by showing you our service improvements. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
This is a must!
Kelly_L, Oct 2023
We absolutely LOVED this experience! It was beautiful and our kids had the best time riding horses. Our guide was so fun, friendly and helpful. He was always making sure everyone was ok and that we were all safe. It was definitely a highlight of our Italy trip! This is a must!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Happy to know that you enjoyed the tour and had a fantastic time on the tour. It's our pleasure to make customer happy and give them a good service, so they can never forget the experience they had with us. Our customers are our priority, and we always look up to giving them a good time in the tour. Looking forward to having you again in our upcoming tours in the near future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
A last minute unexpected cancellation message from Viator cost me $165
Jean_L, Sep 2023
I received an email from Viator that canceled my appointment for Monday September 4th. It asked me if I wanted to reschedule using an updated credit card as the original card did not go through. Of course I wanted to re register for the same day. So I quickly filled out the new payment information so that we could go on Monday the 4th as originally planned. I erroneously assumed that they were offering me Monday again. The new reservation unfortunately turned out to be on Saturday the 2nd shortly after I received the email that my original was canceled. So I was billed $165 for something I was unable to make as I was still in Florence.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing the feedback and letting us know what happened. The reservation you are assuming that you booked didn't go through our system and no reservation was under your name. We are sorry for this, but there must have been an system error while booking. We made the new reservation on Monday again, as you requested. We are sorry that you are unsatisfied from what happened. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Book it!
Molly_F, Aug 2023
Such a fun excursion!! Definitely book. There’s tons of horses for you to look at while you wait to start. The horses are pretty trained so if you’ve never ridden a horse before you’ll be fine. We also did this tour in July and it really wasn’t too hot. A lot of the trail is in the shade! Book it!
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your feedback. Happy to know about your fun experience. Thank you for recommending the tour to other customers too. Looking forward to have you in our other tours again, to give you more experiences like this. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Horses were perfect trail...
Heather_R, Jul 2023
Horses were perfect trail horses, they were obedient and safe! For those who had bad experiences, I can understand how you may have been uncomfortable. If you traveled to Italy and had only drove a car a couple of times, would you rent a car and drive in Rome?? This is ultimately no different. If you don't know how to ride, you probably shouldn't be doing an excursion via horseback. Take a few lessons before you leave home (with an English trainer), at least get some basics and have some balance, and then you can safely enjoy a horseback riding excursions. The horses were great, Aladdin kept a close eye on us to make sure we were doing ok, and my husband and I had a great time. Highly recommend if you enjoy horseback riding.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear customer, Thank you for taking your time and sharing the feedback with us. We are glad to hear all this good words about your enjoyable experience. Thank you for choosing us to experience this tour. Hope to have you again in our upcoming tours in the future, in order to give you another experience like this. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Italian horse riding, Tuscany
James_C, Jul 2023
We had a fantastic experience in the Chianti hills. Our guide was professional and cares for her horses well. The stables and setting were beautiful. Our ride was relaxed on very gentle horses that have been well trained and the trail was quiet, varied with green landscape and forest coverage. We were given time to enjoy and go at our own pace. We saw vines and the medieval town of Monteriggioni in the distance. It was a very enjoyable experience for our journey in Chianti, Siena. We would recommend even for beginners. Thank you.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear Customer, Thank you for the feedback about your fantastic experience in our tour. Happy to hear that you have liked our guides job and that they have made it easy for you in this tour. Thank you for recommending this tour at other people. It was a pleasure to have you on our tour. Hope to see you again in our other tours in the future. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Our guide was very kind...
Julie_S, Jun 2023
Our guide was very kind however it is not only ten min from Siena. Difficult to get a taxi will drive there. When we arrived no one was expecting us and it was very disorganized. After 45 min someone put us on three horses and went for a beautiful ride. No waivers to sign. We literally could have shown up without paying and did a ride. It’s basically just someone’s home. However it was beautiful countryside and our guide was very nice.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Dear customer, We feel really sorry to know that you didn't have the experience you expected on the tour with our team. In this instance, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and for letting us know what happened, so we can have the possibility to improve our services. We are glad to hear that you have liked the guide's job. As per the transport issue, to reach at the meeting point, by taxi is the only way. This tour has always functioned like this, so the customers has to get in the meeting point by taxi or car. We are so sorry for the 45 minutes delay. This tour needs almost 30-40 minutes to make all the things needed for the tour ready and be well-prepared, in order the tour will go smoothly, without any problem. Hope to see you again in another tour of ours, so you can get a better experience and in this way we can show to you the improve of our services. Best regards, My Tour in Italy team.
Average
Alex_M, Jun 2023
Not a bad horse ride, but if you’re after a life changing experience lower your expectations. Place was rough around the edges, horses weren’t great for learners and were also very underweight. I’m an experienced rider and did enjoy the ride but we had a group of 10+ and some were complete beginners and found the ride/the horse’s behaviour scary at times. They shouldn’t really have had a group that big.
Horseback ride around countryside
Sharon_L, Nov 2022
We booked six excursions through Viator for our seven day trip to Italy. This was our least favorite of them. A guy picked us up at the meet spot and he didn’t speak any English and we rode in his car for 30 minutes and arrived a the horse “ranch”- I guess you would call it? Our guide on the tour also did not speak much English or at least she didn’t speak much to us. Neither my husband nor I had ridden horses since childhood and there wasn’t much of an orientation or training so it was a bit scary. One of the guys working there saw me struggling and walked over and explained how to hold the reins. If you are used to horses I’m sure it’s fine. Everyone was very nice but there was no tour/explanation or pointing anything out about what we were seeing. It was just a ride through the estate on horseback. The views were pretty.
Disappointing
Amy_M, Oct 2022
Unfortunately this experience was very underwhelming. I am a very experienced horseback rider and with that said there was a total lack of safety and instruction for those on the ride who had never been on a horse before. The guide did not show them how to position their feet so their feet would not slide through the stirrups or how to steer etc. The horses were fine overall but pulling the girls off out of the group to eat grass and then trotting off to catch up to the herd. This understandably had some of the girls quite frazzled and nervous. Additionally the guide barley talked the entire time. Was hoping for someone who would at least bother to educate a little bit about the area we were riding through. Sadly would not recommend.
Great tour, just do it!
Mae_A, Aug 2022
Tour was great, beautiful country. The barn was clean the staff was pleasant. Our guide Aladdin was a lot of fun!!
Beautiful country side,...
Annie_S, Jul 2022
Beautiful country side, horses were in great condition and very trustworthy. One had breathing troubles whilst we were out, the guide reassured us that the horse was ok, and did ring back to the yard in concern but they subsided pretty quickly. Wish we could have had more than an hour!
Unique view of the Chianti region via horseback.
Dawn_P, Jun 2022
The scenery on the ride was amazing. The horses were beautiful. We felt safe always. The guides were fun and personable. ( Hint: GPS will take you to the wrong house. - the entrance is just before the wrong street between two stony columns that has a narrow entrance - easy to miss!).
Response from Host, Jun 2022
Dear Customer, We appreciate you for choosing us and taking this tour with us. It is so nice to know that our team helped you to have a wonderful journey. Will be our pleasure to have you back again in the future. Best Regards My Tour
Countryside Experience
Raymond_J, Mar 2022
Wonderful way to view the grape and olive vineyards and to learn about the local culture. Great experience!
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Dear customer, thank you for your positive feedback. We appreciate it! We're glad to hear from you that you spent such a lovely time with our staff here in Tuscany!
Our guide Musa was so...
Madison_D, Mar 2022
Our guide Musa was so nice and patient with us as we were beginners without a lot of experience. There was a slight language barrier. Overall, the ride was a lot of fun and the horses had so much personality!
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Dear Madison, thank you for your feedback. We're so happy to hear from you that you spent such a funny experience! Hope to see you again all around Italy for another experience together!
Beautiful countryside
Jodi_L, Feb 2022
The countryside was beautiful and the people were very nice. I only wish it had been longer. They adjusted to each individual person’s skill level.
Response from Host, Mar 2022
Dear Jodi, thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad to hear from you that you enjoyed this amazing experience! Hope to see you again all around Italy!
Dangerous
Kelsey_M, Oct 2021
It was me and two other girls. As soon as we got there it was very strange because no one came to greet us or give us any instructions. Lucky I have been riding horses for a long time, but even with the experience I have I was nervous the whole time. The horses were doing what they wanted to do and our guide didn’t tell us a lot about how to control the horse. Because of this one of the girls fell off because the horse jumped over a hill. After this happened we continued on even though the horses were then scared and honestly we were too. When we got back our guide never said goodbye or even sorry to the girl that fell. We just had to stand there and wait for the driver. In my opinion this was a very dangerous situation that should have never happened. I know you can not always control what a horse does, but give more instructions and don’t give a new rider a jumping horse.
Not welcoming
Eliza_G, Jul 2021
The horses were really sweet and the view was beautiful! But The tour guide didn’t speak English and it was overall a not very welcoming or helpful experience.
Response from Host, Jul 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We always care about details, for this reason, we got in touch with the staff who did the tour and they told us they help you looking for a pharmacy and you're so nice and kind to them. They didn't understand you were disappointed. We are so sorry about that and we hope you're fine now! thank you
Terrible experience
Joseph D, Sep 2019
We were picked up in a sedan that smelled like smoke and were driven to the facility by a non-English speaking driver. Once we arrived we were given wet and dirty helmets and given about 30 seconds of instruction before mounting the horse and going on the walk. The “guide” barely spoke any English and did not say anything to us while we were in the walk. She literally did not point anything out but was on her phone the entire time. When we returned from the ride, we were given no instructions. After waiting around for 15 minutes we asked what we were supposed to do and were told we had to wait for the driver and other workers to “finish some work” before leaving. Terrible service, no information learned at all, not worth more than $5
Beautiful But Damp and Cold Ride Through The Tuscan Countryside
Jane_C, May 2019
Unfortunately it was cold, overcast and damp the day (early May) we rode through the Tuscan countryside. We were picked up at the Piazza Gramsci in Siena. Our driver was several minutes late. It was approximately a 20-25 minute drive to the riding center. Our group of three had two experienced riders and one beginner. We all felt comfortable riding the well-mannered horses. Our guide did not speak English so we had little interaction with him. It would have been nice to have had a guide who could have shared the wine culture and history of the area with us. He did point out Monteriggioni and San Gimignano off in the distance. The countryside was beautiful to explore despite the challenging weather and language barrier. Overall it was a good experience. We only wish that the weather was better and that our guide spoke English.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Tuscan Chianti Hills Horseback Riding Tour

47

2 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$81.49
No Photo
Vintage Fiat 500 Tour from Siena: Tuscan Hills and Winery Lunch

49

7 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$162.97
No Photo
Horsebackriding - explore Tuscan nature

7

3 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$92.35
No Photo
Tuscany Hiking Tour from Siena Including Wine Tasting

66

4 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$59.76

Explore Similar Things to Do