Sydney

The 10 Tastings of Sydney With Locals: Private Food Tour

Badge of ExcellenceNewtown, Australia
Sydneys Favourite PRIVATE Food Tour with 10 Tastings
  • 3 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Learn more about Sydney’s cuisine and find food outlets you’d miss if traveling independently. On this private 3-hour tour you will sample ten different local favorites, with vegetarian options, drinks, and sweet and savory dishes. Learn more about Sydney’s multicultural culture through its food and drink. Come hungry and leave feeling satisfied.
  • Get insider tips from a local guide
  • Receive personalized attention on a private tour
  • Ten different food and drink tastings are included
  • A must-do tour for foodie travelers
  • Can be 100% personalized to match your diet and allergies.

What's Included

  • Private Tour
  • Local Guide
  • 10 Food & Drinks Tastings
  • Vegetarian alternatives
  • Hotel pick-up and drop off
  • Food and drink not mentioned as inclusions

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 174 King St
    174 King St, Newtown NSW 2042, Australia

    In front of Hotel NewTown

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Newtown

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Newtown Court House

1 hour Admission Ticket Not Included

The HubStudio

1 hour Admission Ticket Not Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Near public transportation
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Private tour: only you & your local guide
  • Includes city highlights in between food stops
  • Alternatives offered for those with dietary restrictions
  • Post Covid-19 regulations are applied to this product with regards to the number of participants, delivery methods of the tour and content of the tour.
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Michelle_M
Robyn was great! She showed us some pretty unique foods and her knowledge about culture and history were wonderful. We loved every stop, the food was delicious, and the walk along the way in Newtown was great and learned a lot about the different cultures and history in the area.

Reviews

4.5
36 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews
Great food walking tour
Foluso_A, Jan 2024
Robyn was very knowledgeable. Food scene is absolutely wonderful. Everything we ate was fantastic. Also learned about some history too. A little pricey though.
Great way to experience the hidden gems of Sydney’s eclectic food scene
Kimberly_G, Jan 2024
Robyn was knowledgeable and friendly. The food samplings were delicious and Robyn made sure to take our dietary restrictions into consideration and modified the tour accordingly.
Tasting tours are the best.
STEVEN_K, Dec 2023
The highlight of the walking tour was a stop at The Black Star bakery. Not only were selections works of art but very tasty. The watermelon cake had a slice of real watermelon in it.
Fun experience but overpriced
Jim_T, Nov 2023
Great guide and really cool neighborhood. Tour way overpriced for the food items. Good “street food” and fun way to get a feel for Australian food culture. Knowledgeable and fun guide. Was expecting much more relative to food, restaurants vs. counter service, ambiance, and ideally an occasional glass of beer/wine.
Response from Host, Dec 2023
Dear Jim, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Sydney food tour. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the great guide and the vibrant neighborhood, finding it a fun way to experience Australian food culture. We appreciate your feedback regarding the pricing and your expectations for a more diverse culinary experience. Your insights are crucial in helping us enhance our offerings. We'll certainly take your comments into consideration, especially in terms of food variety, restaurant ambiance, and the possibility of including beverages. We're committed to providing exceptional experiences, and your input helps us strive for continuous improvement. If you have any specific suggestions or details you'd like to share, please feel free to reach out. We hope you'll consider joining us again in the future, and we appreciate your contribution to our ongoing efforts. Best regards, Withlocals team
Tasty Food and Good Conversation
Larry_S, Aug 2023
Chris gave a wonderful tour. His knowledge helped us learn about the area and it’s food. The tour was a good pace.
Skip this tour
Allan_M, Apr 2023
We have been on many food tours throughout the world and have not been disappointed until now. Normally with the tastings there would be a pairing of wine / cocktails/ mocktails and we had zero. We paid for a food tour for two but had to share everything. In addition to sharing with my spouse we had to share four of them with the tour guide. Example - one of the food tastings was a lemon tart the size of your palm and the guide cut it into thirds. We were left feeling we paid to feed the tour guide her favorite foods. Quality of food was excellent and knowledge of history was extensive but sadly we were very disappointed.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Hi there, at Withlocals we want our guests to have the best experience of their trip so we are very disappointed to find out about your negative tour experience. As we cannot directly get in touch with you from here, please email us at info@withlocals.com and we will make sure to follow up on this issue. We are looking forward to your email. Thank you in advance. Have a great day, Withlocals
Not what I expected
Cindy_L, Apr 2023
We have booked “tasting with a local” tours through Viator before and always enjoyed the experience. Our guide, Bonnie, was lovely. Unfortunately, we expected an Australian local. Bonnie is from Korea. She has lived in Australia for a while. She was difficult to understand and communication was a bit difficult. This is the first Viator tour I’ve ever regretted booking.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
Hi there, at Withlocals we want our guests to have the best experience of their trip so we are very disappointed to find out about your negative tour experience. As we cannot directly get in touch with you from here, please email us at info@withlocals.com and we will make sure to follow up on this issue. We are looking forward to your email. Thank you in advance. Have a great day, Withlocals
Would not take this tour again!
Mary_C, Mar 2023
We were disappointed with this tour. Our guide was late to arrive and basically took us to his favorite restaurants. We did not receive any background/cultural information about the city. When we asked him questions, he could not answer due to a lack of knowledge.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Hi there, at Withlocals we want our guests to have the best experience of their trip so we are very disappointed to find out about your negative tour experience. As we cannot directly get in touch with you from here, please email us at info@withlocals.com and we will make sure to follow up on this issue. We are looking forward to your email. Thank you in advance. Have a great day, Withlocals
A world of foods just in one area!
MaryAnn_B, Mar 2023
Besides eating the varied and delicious foods on the tour, just seeing the amazing different ethnic foods in the Newtown area was a highlight. And talking with our guide Chris about himself, travels, and favorite foods was great.
Better than expected!
Cynthia_L, Mar 2023
Great tour very personalized. Definitely enjoyed great stories and food we would have missed had we not taken the tour.
Food and its history tour
dkashuba, Mar 2023
Chris was very knowledgeable about the food we tasted and its history. The service was excellent at each of our stops.
Fun afternoon, great guide
Michelle_M, Feb 2023
Robyn was great! She showed us some pretty unique foods and her knowledge about culture and history were wonderful. We loved every stop, the food was delicious, and the walk along the way in Newtown was great and learned a lot about the different cultures and history in the area.
Variety at a affordable price
Edward_M, Feb 2023
Chris was friendly and made an excellent tour guide.I think this tour of another part of Sydney would be great if you want variety and an escape from downtown Sydney prices.Food was excellent and looking at the prices very affordable. Lots or Indian,Thai,and local Australian specialties that you don’t see in the downtown area. The area would be very comfortable to visit for a late lunch or early dinner.(PS the Vegimite was terrible….lol)
A sampling of foods that showed the variety in Australian cuisine.
Lynne_Y, Jan 2023
Lots of food. Tour should have been scheduled at least 1 hour earlier as the bakery closed at 4 pm. We had to hurry to take away dessert, which was our favorite food item of the day.
Yummy bites in Newtown !
Brad_P, Jan 2023
Newtown was an awesome city to do a foodie tour! After the tour you can shop & stop for your fav drink !
Foodie tour
Lisa_W, Jan 2023
Robyn my local tour guide was great. Very informative about area and food. Would definitely recommend this tour to others..especially if you like to try new foods.
Good food tour in Newtown
Zoltan_E, Dec 2022
Very nice and open tour guide. Also good insights on history and architecture. Wide range of tastes. Thx
Great selection of local restaurants and foods to try!
Kimberly_K, Dec 2022
First of all, we loved the tour and would recommend to others. Great restaurants chosen. Food was delicious and Chris was a good host. Opportunity for improvement is consistent with other feedback about this tour. There was a scheduling mix up and we had to call to remind our guide that we had a tour that day. Good thing I had been able to get his contact information in advance. So, he arrived quite late but we were able to take the tour in the end. The other recommendation is to rename the tour because we also went to less restaurants than advertised. (They were closed on the day of our tour.) We were able to order extra food at other stops and we all felt that we had eaten plenty of food. However, it made the tour seem disorganized at best. At worst, this may frustrate customers and make them feel cheated / that they did not get their money’s worth. So, if you are flexible and book it with this in mind, you will have fun and eat great food like we did. However, if this less structured plan will bother you, I suggest that you book something else.
Wonderful afternoon
Josette_N, Jul 2022
Chris, our tour guide was knowledgeable and great. The trip felt like getting lunch with a friend you haven’t seen in awhile at 10 or your favorite restaurants! I highly recommend if you want a relaxing afternoon with a truly local experience :)
Charge taken under false pretences.
Brian_J, Apr 2022
The Tour Guide arrived 90 minutes late. She advised that maybe two of the ten tastings were not available. In fact we only tasted at four outlets. The Tour was advertised as being for three hours. It lasted a bit over two and the quality and quantity of tastings were poor. Nothing but a full refund of the A$334.24 is required.
Response from Host, Apr 2022
Hi there, I am Lieke from Withlocals and I am part of the quality and support team. At Withlocals we really want our customers to receive the best experience of their trip so we are very disappointed to find out about your negative experience. As we cannot directly get in touch with you from here, please email us at info@withlocals.com and we will make sure to understand why this happened, to see that you are at least compensated for this bad experience, or to offer you a better experience instead. We really look forward to your email! Thank you and please accept our apology on behalf of Withlocals! Have a great day, Lieke @ Withlocals

From $231.15

Price varies by group size

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
The 10 Tastings of Sydney With Locals: Private Food Tour

36

3 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$231.15
No Photo
Private Hunter Valley Food & Wine Tour

0

9 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$549.62
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Taste of Sydney Tour

9

6 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$173.21

Explore Similar Things to Do