Tulum

Chichen Itza Day Trip from Tulum Including Cenote and Lunch

Tulum, Mexico
Chichen Itza Day Trip from Tulum Including Cenote and Lunch

From $79.90

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 12 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

The ancient archaeological site of Chichen Itza is one of the New 7 Wonders of the World and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Enhance your experience of Mexico’s iconic landmark on a day trip from Tulum, which includes lunch and a cenote visit. Plunge into the refreshing waters of Cenote Saamal, capture photographs of Chichen Itza highlights including the Kukulkan Pyramid, and feast on a buffet lunch inspired by Mexican classics. Hotel pickup and drop-off in Tulum are included.  
  • Full-day tour of Chichen Itza and Cenote Saamal from Tulum
  • Visit the must-see Chichen Itza, one of the New7Wonders of the World
  • Tour the archaeological site and see highlights including the Kukulkan Pyramid and the Ball Court
  • Cool off with a swim in the cenote and enjoy a buffet lunch
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off in Tulum are included

What's Included

  • Guided visit
  • Certified bilingual guide
  • Lunch
  • Pickup and drop-off in Tulum Meeting Point San Francisco de Asis Store
  • Visit to a sacred cenote
  • Bottled water
  • Gratuities
  • Drinks during lunch
  • State Tax applies Per Access of 520 MXP or $30
  • Life Vest Rent in the Cenote 5 usd per person.

Meeting and Pickup

You can head directly to your preferred meeting point, or request pickup.

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Start time

09:00 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

Meeting Point  at Main  Entrance  Grocery Store SUPER AKI on  Avenue  Cobá Carretera Federal Tulum Ruinas s/n, by  Carretera Federal y Av. Tulum Oriente, 77780 Tulum, Q.R. For Tulum Hotel Zone and Tulum Downtown . Hotel Pick up service only from Akumal area up to Dreams Tulum.

What To Expect

Begin your day with hotel pickup and board an air-conditioned vehicle destined for the UNESCO-listed Maya site, Chichen Itza. During the journey, your guide provides a historical overview of Chichen Itza’s prosperous past.

Arrive at Chichen Itza and embark on a tour of the site, visiting highlights including the iconic Kukulkan Pyramid, the Temple of Warriors, and the Ball Court, whose acoustics have mystified scientists for centuries.

Enjoy free time to explore the site independently before reconvening with your guide for a buffet lunch featuring regional dishes—drinks can be purchased at your own expense.

During the tour you'll also have a chance to cool off with a swim at Cenote Saamal, a limestone sinkhole in the Yucatan jungle.

Your tour concludes with drop-off back at your Tulum hotel.

Cenote Saamal

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Cenote Saamal

1 hour Admission Ticket Included

Chichen Itza

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Chichen Itza

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Valladolid

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children ages 3 years and under are free, but their seats are subject to availability. They may have to ride on their parents' laps if seats are not available
  • It is recommended that you bring comfortable lightweight clothing, walking shoes or sneakers, a hat, sunglasses, a swimsuit, a towel, an extra change of clothes and biodegradable sunscreen
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
krisskaboom
The tour was very informative and relaxing. I felt at ease in the tour guides hands. Being able to shop at local Mayan villages was a real treat and I’m happy to know my dollars are going to honest, hard working locals.

Reviews

4.0
252 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 252 reviews
Cezar was our tour guide...
Qi_Z, Apr 2024
Cezar was our tour guide and he is amazing! He increased my confidence in the open ocean (non-swimmer).
SCAM
Michael_T, Mar 2024
This group is a scam. They showed up late, which kept us standing outside in the sun then later rushed us because we were late. They also charge an extra $30usd per person upin arrival that wasn't mentioned anywhere on any documents. They take you to a restaurant that they appear to own that has souvenirs to sell at wild prices and keep us there for a very long time, only to be taken to places later with the same goods at a fraction of the cost. They claimed the cheaper goods were fake, but they're identical. It's a scam by the group to justify their inflated prices! They also kept us at the store to buy their stuff at crazy prices which shorted our time at the Cenote and small town. They also meticulously plan ways to sell things to you along the trip like snapping a photo of you and then slapping that photo on a bottle of tequila in hopes that you'll buy it. Scam after scam after scam designed to extract money out of tourists. Absolute disaster.
Chicken pizza
Lana_G, Mar 2024
A nice experience. Got to see a wonder of the world, very informative guide but spoke a lot non stop. The drive back was really awful as the driver took 4 and a half hours to drive a 2 hour drive. Overall would recommend but not with high hopes
Ruins were wonderful, but a long day.
Chris_C, Mar 2024
Ruins were wonderful, and we were able to see the snake that appears only a few times per year. Lunch was delicious. Guide was very informational, but in the future, we suggest just going to the ruins and skipping the cenote/lunch.
Excellent Team, Excellent Experience!!
Hank, Mar 2024
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit! The team of Jesus, Miguel, Francisco we're amazing and very professional! They were both time oriented and also entertaining. While managing to stick very closely to our schedule, but but also maintaining an air of genuine interest in our visit to the site! All we're very knowledgeable and accommodating! 5 Stars!!
Great place. Poor treatment. Do better.
Marcia_M, Mar 2024
We were treated poorly by your tour staff. I booked this premium tour for myself my spouse and my son to enjoy Mayan History. Unfortunately, we were marginalized almost from the start. The tour was to pick us up at 9 am we were in the front lobby waiting at 8:50 am. They were late. I had the hotel concierge call to make sure we were going to be picked up and I was told they would arrive at 9:20 am. They did not show up until 9:50 am and the pick up staff would not even assist with placing the stroller or backpack into the van. We got to the main bus and we paid the additional cash fees for the tour and boarded the bus. We waited for other tour group members to arrive and were on our way. For some reason, they kept calling my name and asking for my hotel room number as if it was difficult to believe that we were staying there. Then Mr. Juan told me that I have to move from my seat and place my son on our lap because he was not on the reservation. I showed Mr. Juan my booking which indicated that the reservation was for myself, my spouse and my 2 year old son. I was rudely told I had to move and place him on my lap and that lunch was not provided for him. I informed Mr. Juan that we provide for our son but indeed as it shows he was a part of this booking. Two young ladies came late and occupied the seat where I was sitting across from my spouse and my son. A few minutes later Mr. Juan asked us to sit in the back as there are 3 seats there. We flatly refused. Why would we want to sit in the backbof the bus next to the restroom? Also, why would you ask any African American individual to sit in the back of a bus. Our ancestors fought for the right not to be forced to sit in the back of a bus. As a previously marginalized people, it would behoove you to be aware of the other cultures you encounter on these tours. We were disrespected on a few levels during this one trip. My family and I went to the cenotes and had fun swimming, diving and jumping in. This was a first for my son and my husband yet when we went to check for professional photos, there were none taken of us. We are a beautiful family and would have loved to have the memorable cenote moments captured via photos. Our time in the ruins of Chichen Itza, the cenotes and the city of Valladolid was great. The churros and the lunch were tasty. Other tour group members saw our mistreatment and were kind to us. We educated your staff on their mishaps with the hope that another African American individual or family will not be ill treated and marginalized as we were. Please in the future be respectful of others especially when they are respecting and seeking further knowledge about your culture and history. Dr. Marcia Mierez-Bernard
Was okay
Louis_C, Feb 2024
Hola everyone, Was hit with a 700 peso bill after paying for the tour? Stopped at places we didn’t need to Food was very nice Not offered water all trip Saw a wonder of the world Henry is a legend! A lot of travelling for 1 day! 5/10
A Dream Visit to One of the Wonders of the World
Aleksandra_N, Feb 2024
The Chichen Itza Day Trip from Tulum, Including Cenote and Lunch, was amazing!!! My husband and I knew to expect it to take all day, and it did. I can't remember if it said it was supposed to be a half-day, but it was definitely a whole day, which is totally fine! Just be prepared to dedicate your whole day to this adventure - it is worth it! Make sure to read the fine print and bring cash for the extra fees ($30/person), and pack exactly what they say to pack (like a swimsuit, a change of clothes, a towel, water shoes, sunblock and a hat, sunglasses if you need them, lots of water, and by God, good walking shoes!!!). Also, bring cash for shopping and for tips - you may not like it, but that's the norm, and it is what it is. You don't have to shop if you don't want to, but it would be uncouth not to tip. Lastly, pack your patience and grace - it's a long ride each way and a long day altogether, but if you face it with patience, grace, and kindness, all will go well! The driver, Jose, and the tour guide, Francisco were great! Jose drove us around ALL day safely, and Francisco was SUPER knowledgeable about all the places we visited, the Mayan culture and language, and you can tell how passionate he is about the Mayan communities - he volunteers and helps them all the time. He is also a cenote diver with National Geographic - what?? He spoke perfect Spanish (obvi) and English, and when transitioning between the languages, he never missed a fact in either language! He was also very patient and kind. They took us to a Mayan community where we had lunch and could shop around. Yes, they do try to sell you a lot of stuff. No, it was not annoying for us - we knew to expect it, and you can always say no and not buy anything. Francisco said everything was authentic. I chose to believe him, so we bought souvenirs from there. The lunch buffet was good, and the souvenirs were nice. We got authentic Mayan "birth certificates" with our names and dates of birth, and our anniversary. We had our picture taken which turned out to be for a special individualized surprise, but I don't want to spoil all the fun - just make sure you have cash for a special individualized souvenir that may pop up. Then we got to Chichen Itza - a magical place, even older than my country by 1 year! Francisco slayed with knowledge about the history of the place and its significance, and he showed us magical pictures of the special effects of light interacting with the structures, which only happens on certain days and times of year - and he's been there for all of them! It was fantastic! Then we went to the cenote - it was also an amazing experience! Francisco prepared us well on what to expect and the place was great, the water was nice and cool, and the experience is memorable and unique. There is easy stairwell access, or you can jump right in - but be prepared for LOTS of steps down and then back up, even if you're jumping. Get your quads ready! Lastly, we visited the town of Valladolid, which has one of the 5 oldest churches in the Americas, and amazing city center entertainment. We didn't have much time to explore, but what we saw was magical and beautiful, and the memories will last a lifetime! We then got delivered back to the hotel, and honestly, I wish I had tipped more - these guys were great and deserve all the good things in the world! If you get them as your driver and tour guide, you're in good hands!
What a Day……….!
John_T, Feb 2024
What a great day! Chichén Itzá was really cool! One of the 7 wonders! Our guides and driver were incredible! I really had an awakening moment. Great knowledge of the culture. Then the Cenote was unbelievable. So huge! Magical! It’s a very long day, we were taken care of the whole time. I highly recommend!
Well worth a full day of siteseeing!
Elias_H, Dec 2023
Be prepared for a FULL Day! This was an exciting day of many, many stops, sure some were longer than others but a great chance to pack in a lot of sightseeing away from the beach. Jose and his team were incredible, how a guide could maintain so much humor and energy throughout a long tour session is inspiring. Chichen Itza was lovely, would like to visit a less crowded cenote- but that's how they schedule the tours.
Amazing sights but unpleasant guides
Stephanie_B, Dec 2023
The sights were spectacular and are a must see but the guides were very unpleasant and would suggest another way of visiting. They picked us up over an hour late and said it wasn’t their fault, to blame to tour company because how terribly unorganized they are, not friendly or welcoming at all. We didn’t go to Valladolid because it was very late at night by the time we got there and a Mexican holiday had the streets crowded, again the tour guides were very nasty saying not to blame them, they are Mexican they knew it was a holiday and the tour company were the ones to blame. One of the guides was very cross when I wouldn’t agree to sign a sheet saying I accepted the reasons for not entering Valladolid.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you very much for the feedback we are very sorry the experience did not fulfill your expectations, we are taking note of the following action regarding the comments about your tour guide's behavior and attitude.
Chichen itza
Shabnam_L, Dec 2023
We have used viator to book other excursions and had a great experience. However this was not so great. To start our bus was almost 2 hours late. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. It felt like the guide gave preference to some of the guests on the bus. The tour company could have compensated the delay by providing some food, water or something. However when asked by a guest in the group- the person was told that water was not included. Instead there were several attempts to sell us additional goods.
Response from Host, Jan 2024
Thank you very much for the time to write the review, we do apologize for the delay, this was due to an accident on the road We will consider all the information to enhance the experience.
Memorable - highly recommended - lifetime experience
Jay_N, Dec 2023
Our guide was great and very informed on the Mayan culture. Prepare for a long day but it is well organized. We wish we had more time to explore at each stop but the experience was really good.
Our tour guide knew nothing!
Kathryn_S, Nov 2023
We arrived at Chichen Itza and made our way out to the pyramid. Our tour guide had the people on the tour role play how to make human sacrifices, including lifting and rolling up a man's shirt while having a child "feel for his ribs" to locate his sternum and role play stabbing and disemboweling him. Another tourist was told to get on his knees while one of us with an umbrella pretended to chip his head off. Meanwhile, we got no Mayan history, no information on any of the buildings, and ended up wandering until we found the Sacred Cenote we wanted to see. If we had known the tour guide was useless, we would have booked a tour while there. The food was good, the cenote is amazing. However it's too many stops with too much pushing to purchase anything and everything along the way. Overall, I'm disappointed my 14 year old missed out on a chance to learn more about Mayan history and cool buildings due to a tour guide that knew nothing. I also didn't know this was mainly a Spanish tour, I thought it was primarily English. We came back to the resort and googled Chichen Itza to get an understanding of what we saw. How disappointing.
Great day trip to Chichén Itzá
Elsa_H, Nov 2023
The trip was organized well, although on a very tight schedule. I would have loved to spend more time in Valladolid. Chichén Itzá was beautiful and the guide explained us many things about the Mayan culture. The lunch was good and the swim in the center was amazing. What an amazing place to have a swim.
Great day out
Millie_C, Nov 2023
It was a lovely day out, Chichen Ithaca and the Cenote were great to see. It was a very long day though and they were quite pushy with selling things
Fun filled Chichen Itzá trip
Sreeya_P, Nov 2023
Amazing experience. Ivanovich is such an amazing tour guide, funny and helped us with good tips. The bus was clean and had a very smooth ride . The best thing that I liked was they gave us a lot of free time .
Highly recommended
James_W, Oct 2023
Great day, enthusiastic guide who was very friendly and knowledgeable. Great food and experience all round. Thank you!
Highly recommended
Magdalena_S, Oct 2023
What a great tour it was in a true Mexican style! Well organised- tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny. Great value for money!
Great tour guides and...
Stefan_T, Oct 2023
Great tour guides and interesting stories. Really recommend it to anyone. Also, the sequence of activities makes a lot of sense
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Thank you for takin the time to share your experience. We really appreciate it.
...

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Chichen Itza Day Trip from Tulum Including Cenote and Lunch

243

12 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$79.90
No Photo
Chichen Itza, Cenote and Valladolid Small Group Day Trip

1,364

10 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$180.00
No Photo
Tulum Day-trip to Mayan Temples and Cenote Swim

3

8 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$59.00

Explore Similar Things to Do