Monterey & Carmel

1-Hour Monterey and Cannery Row Sea Car Tour

Monterey & Carmel, USA
1 Hour Monterey and Cannery Row Sea Car Tour
  • 1 hour (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Enjoy an independent sightseeing tour by Sea Car to discover Monterey Bay and the Central Coast at your own pace. Aboard a 2-seater, GPS-guided convertible that navigates itself, you can cruise along the Pacific shoreline or through town. Listen to recorded commentary about attractions like Monterey’s historical center, and admire views of the ocean. The scooter car tells you where to drive, from Cannery Row and more.
  • GPS-guided independent Sea Car tour in Monterey
  • Explore Cannery Row and Monterey Bay
  • Helmets and full tank of fuel included
  • No need for maps — the talking scooter car navigates itself

What's Included

  • Rental of GPS-guided touring car
  • Orientation
  • Tank of gas
  • Helmet
  • Map
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Collision Damage Waiver for $12.00 (covers up to $500 in damages)

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • 230 Alvarado St, Monterey, CA 93940, USA

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Your Sea Car experience starts in Monterey, at a hotel near Fisherman’s Wharf. With recorded narration and the flexibility to zip down the streets of Monterey and out to the coast, your 2-seater Sea Car is easy to drive and park and provides a great way to sightsee independently.

Choose to make your own adventure, or follow a predetermined route. The planned itinerary takes you past the historical buildings of Monterey, Fisherman’s Wharf, Cannery Row and the park and beach at Lovers Point. With the open convertible top, you can admire views of the Pacific, harbor, sand dunes and cypress trees, plus stop to watch for marine life like otters and seals.

Note: Price is based per car.

Old Fisherman's Wharf (Pass By)

Monterey Bay (Pass By)

Cannery Row (Pass By)

Lovers Point Park (Pass By)

Asilomar State Beach (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Drivers must be 18 years of age or older and must present a valid driver's license
  • Minimum age is 4 years; children must be accompanied by an adult
  • All renters must be able to read, understand and sign a liability release and waiver form
  • Maximum passenger height is 6 feet 3 inches (190 cm)
  • One member of each group must present a credit card and government-issued ID; this information will only be used in the case of damage or loss of property
  • Price is per car (which seats up to 2 passengers)
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 2 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more
    Featured review
    We didn't know what to think but we had a few hours to kill. Justin was super friendly and accommodating. It was so much fun! We learned a lot of history about this beautiful little town and had a blast doing it. We will be back for sure!


    139 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 139 reviews
    Monica_G, May 2024
    The ride was so so so fun but the GPS And mid Volume was hard to understand and follow, cars on the were so polite and allowed us to go at stop signs with our group. The 1 hr tour makes you basically spin and around and around the cannery row which we didn't want to keep doing so we went to lovers point
    Very unprofessional the two women that were behind the counter disrespectful will never use that company again
    Lyle_L, Apr 2024
    We drove 3 1/2 hours, and when we got there, they had nothing available for us after I booked early that morning. Very disappointed will never go back again. Will never recommend them for anybody. Terrible experience. I was looking for a minus star and you don’t have one because it’s not even worth one star.
    Response from Host, Apr 2024
    It appears there may have been a miscommunication. Your granddaughter was underage, and you lacked a driver's license, while only your grandson held one. We made several attempts to find solutions, but unfortunately, all were declined on your end.
    Great activity in Monterey
    Whittney_B, Mar 2024
    Really fun and easy experience. Great for kids. Beautiful scenery. Follow the iPad directions for an easy tour of the coast.
    So much fun!
    Ari_P, Mar 2024
    We didn't know what to think but we had a few hours to kill. Justin was super friendly and accommodating. It was so much fun! We learned a lot of history about this beautiful little town and had a blast doing it. We will be back for sure!
    Absolutely amazing
    Gina_I, Feb 2024
    I had the best time doing the sea car tour! The instructor was very helpful and kind. The process was very easy and the tour itself was a lot of fun. I suggest if you’re in the area you should definitely try this experience!!
    Good time
    Tara_Q, Nov 2023
    Amazing. Fun time. Would recommend to all my friends and family. Best scenery of the 17 mile drive. See all the sights of cannery row and the butterfly sanctuary.
    Terrible experience. Do Not Book
    Susan_T, Sep 2023
    Terrible experience. The IPADs with directions were not visible and directions could not be heard. False Advertisements. Advertisements show the cars on a path near the water - driving was not on a path but on major roads. Very dangerous if you do not know the area. You definitely need to people in a car to navigate. This was stressful, we got lost. returned early. I requested a reimbursement from the company and did not receive a response. I highly recommend NO ONE go on this tour.
    Response from Host, Nov 2023
    Thank you for your candid feedback. We are currently under new ownership and are looking for ways to improve. We are working to upgrade our GPS systems to be louder and more reliable.
    Unfortunately, I can't...
    joselinedeleon2456, Sep 2023
    Unfortunately, I can't give a good review. I booked this a week ahead for my mother's birthday. I understood the no refund policy but I wish the weight limit would have been in a bigger font because we had no idea of the weight limit! the plan was for my mother to ride with my younger sister sadly they were over the weight limit together and we were not able to do the tour even though we filled out paperwork first, paid for the insurance, and chose our helmets. Waste of time, I would recommend calling them first and getting a list of their policies because now we have to plan a trip for another time or give them away. I'm 3 hours away so not sure when I could make a trip out here again to use up these tickets. Very disappointed.
    Response from Host, Nov 2023
    I'm sorry you did not have a pleasant experience, we are currently under new ownership and looking for ways to improve. We will work on publishing the weight limit so it's more visible.
    Worst ever ride !!!
    Maria_M, Aug 2023
    The sea cat tour is the worst - car is noisy wherein you can’t hear the tablet map saying where to go. We did not even finish the one hour. We were expecting it wil be a nice ride but it didn’t happen lol We’ll not ride again
    Response from Host, Nov 2023
    I'm sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience. We are working towards upgrading our vehicle fleet for a smoother ride.
    To heavy for the original car.
    James_F, Aug 2023
    I enjoyed the history that was informing and the overall tour was good. Unfortunately was just a few pounds over their limit for the original booking and had to pay twice as much for what was a very under powered electric type tricycle that was very nerve wracking on the hills with stop lights and cars on your tail. I felt lucky to make it thru without any major issues as this vehicle is Very under powered and merging into traffic was sketchy. Hind sight I would download a gps tour with my own tablet and tour with my own vehicle. That way there's no time constraints and I could take my time. It was not the companies fault that several of the streets on the tour were closed for construction and I had to follow detours that ended up leading me around the same part of town 3 times and basically ate up the time alloted. Oh well ...Now I know.
    Response from Host, Nov 2023
    Sorry you did not have a stellar experience, we are under new management and are working to improve.
    Terrible experience
    Anthony_J, Jul 2023
    Never did one else showed up...didn't get refund. Was told this was a tour...not by ourselves. Tour picture shows multiple cars going out together, not solo.
    Response from Host, Jul 2023
    We apologize that you had a poor experience. The company is now under new management and we are looking to improve the customer experience. Please contact us for in-store credit for another tour and we are happy to provide another booking.
    The drive was so much...
    Samantha_S, Jul 2023
    The drive was so much fun! We come to Monterey often but have never tried a Sea Car Tour, it was a really cool way to experience the coast line and Monterey history. Definitely recommend booking
    Awesome views!!
    Clint_P, May 2023
    My son and I had a blast! The ocean views are awesome! Friendly and helpful staff. The GPS guides you on where to go.
    Fun although sometimes...
    Elizabeth_D, May 2023
    Fun although sometimes hard to follow with GPS and hear from loud motor it was still a great time. Easy in and out rental, helmets provided. Glad we did it and due to cold and winds glad I only booked 1 hr.
    Dunebuggy trip.
    Jeffrey_C, Feb 2023
    Fear for our lives stuck in left lane in tunnel. We never would've booked this to be in traffic. The service provider was nice. I just thought the outing was dangerous and unpleasant.
    I0/10 would recommend
    Jadine_L, Jan 2023
    Zooming through the crazy traffic and experiencing the Monterey views through the row sea car tour for the first time, definitely an experience I won’t ever forget. Best customer service from Worker who was very humble and understanding of the traffic Situation and professional in making sure we were taken care of And most importantly safe. 10/10 would recommend
    Excellent experience
    IbrahimS_K, Dec 2022
    Value for money, and totally worth trying. Really helpful to know a city in better way and have fun ride aswell
    What a Ride!!
    Robert_B, Oct 2022
    OMG this was a great experience. Moving with traffic was challenging and fun, the beauty and splendor of Monterey was breathtaking and the educational experience was the cherry on the top.
    Response from Host, Oct 2022
    Thanks again, glad you had fun!
    Poor review!
    Sharon_S, Sep 2022
    Your customer service person Was very short Because she was by herself and had to babysit. Not my fault! Instructions were hurried and difficult to hear
    Response from Host, Sep 2022
    "No need to be rude and lie. Anytime any type of instruction was given you were asked if you had any questions, you would say no. If you would have asked, I would had gladly repeated myself. I also did had to wait on your group as you had to use the restroom. When you did return from your tour with smiles on your faces, I asked if there was anything and you said no besides the car swaying a bit. So please do us a favor and if you have an issue address it at the moment. Do not hide behind a screen and bash single mothers who are making a living and have to struggle at times and bring their children to work. It's not my fault you can't hear. Manager Martha
    Don’t waste your money
    Sharon_S, Sep 2022
    Customer service lady Martha was rude. Not our fault that her work partner doesn’t show up. Equipment was faulty

    From $79.00

    per group (up to 2)

    -You will not receive a refund if you cancel.

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    No Photo
    1-Hour Monterey and Cannery Row Sea Car Tour


    1 hour
    Free Cancellation
    No Photo
    3-Hour Monterey Bay Winter Whale-Watching Tour


    3 hours 30 minutes
    Free Cancellation

    Explore Similar Things to Do