Monterey & Carmel

2-Hour Monterey and Pacific Grove Sea Car Tour

Monterey & Carmel, USA
Monterey Sea Car Tour
  • 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Drive through the streets of Monterey and Pacific Grove in a Sea Car, a 2-seat vehicle with GPS-enabled tour narrative. Skip renting a car and make your own way around Fisherman's Wharf, Lover's Point, and Cannery Row.
  • GPS-guided independent Sea Car tour in Monterey
  • Explore Monterey Bay and Pacific Grove
  • Helmets and full tank of fuel included
  • No need for maps—the talking scooter car navigates itself

What's Included

  • Rental of GPS-guided touring car
  • Orientation
  • Tank of gas
  • Helmet
  • Map
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Collision Damage Waiver for $12.00 (covers up to $500 in damages)

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • 230 Alvarado St, Monterey, CA 93940, USA

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Your Sea Car will be waiting for you at a central meeting point. Don your helmets, get an orientation of the controls, and climb into the 2-seat scooter car with your partner. 

Zoom around downtown Monterey to explore Cannery Row and the other in-town attractions, then cruise out to the coast to enjoy one of the country's most scenic drives. You'll have a GPS-enabled narrative playing in the car, or you can choose to make your own adventure. If you follow the preprogrammed tour, you'll head for Lake El Estero and Asilomar State Beach, then to the Monarch Grove butterfly sanctuary in Pacific Grove. 

Please note: Price is per car, please select one adult per car when booking.

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Drivers must be 18 years of age or older and must present a valid driver's license
  • Minimum age is 4 years; children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Price is based on per car; select 1 Adult per car tour at time of booking (up to 2 passengers per car)
  • All renters must be able to read, understand and sign a liability release and waiver form
  • Maximum passenger height is 6 feet 3 inches (190 cm)
  • One member of each group must present a credit card and government-issued ID; this information will only be used in the case of damage or loss of property
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers

Cancellation Policy

This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more
    Featured review
    We had a beautiful day to be out and about touring the area. We were able to see places we had never seen before and maneuver in and out very easily.


    44 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-9 of 44 reviews
    Family fun ride
    mortellito, Sep 2023
    We had a beautiful day to be out and about touring the area. We were able to see places we had never seen before and maneuver in and out very easily.
    Horrible- don’t recommend
    Adrianne_W, Sep 2022
    This was horrible! The cars were in such poor shape- the side mirrors were all broken, the seats were all torn up, the body of the actual cars were totally banged up. The girl there said that you didn’t really need seat belts or mirrors- “don’t worry about it “ the motor was so loud you could not hear the “tour “. The car was essentially a death trap- don’t know how they are allowed on the street
    Response from Host, Sep 2022
    I would suggest before you quote somebody, you quote them correctly. I stated seatbelts are optional because they are considered a type of motorcycle and motorcycle show don't have seat belts but if you choose to wear them feel free." With the mirror you were the one who said it was a safety hazard, I offered to switched you to a different car after i told you "the mirrors are an accessory as you don't have no blind spots in the car." I still switched you cars. Martha
    Laughed during the Fun Experience ❣️
    Karen_L, May 2022
    It was a unique experience, one of a kind!! Enjoyed our time. The only downside was the navigation screen was hard to see. I believe it was because the sun was shining on it, making it harder to see the Route. The voice on it was loud enough & was helpful.
    Ok experience, but would...
    Amy_N, Oct 2021
    Ok experience, but would not do again. It was difficult to hear the narration over the sound of the engine. The route was good with a stop at the lighthouse. But it's hard to stop and park since the car didn't go backwards out of a parking spot. The ending was really difficult since the gps enabled directions cut off and then restarted the route from the beginning. And driving was a right-hand/forearm work out due to the design. Glad we did it, but would do it again.
    Response from Host, Oct 2021
    The car is a scooter design so if you have never ridden a scooter, clearly it is not for you. Always good to read the description on the website and look at the attached videos which are very clear on how they operate and what is involved.All information is VERY clear.
    The fat bossy guy ruined an otherwise fun ride with great views.
    Ryan_M, Oct 2021
    The view and and bonding experience the vehicle provided were exceptional. We could not hear the gps over the engine most of the time and the tablet seemed outdated and cheap. It constantly lagged behind even when we did hear it. For a place charging what they charge, I hope they get with the times on their technology side. On the other hand, the date was Oct 3rd, 2021 and we were helped by a very obese feminine like fellow who was extremely rude and bossy. We arrived when another group of strangers arrived. A couple and their 2 children. Me and my gf both age 26 were treated with extreme favoritism and it seemed as if the large guy who helped up felt a certain way toward us simply for being younger and not with children. We misheard a part of the instructions and he got visibly annoyed when he asked what we were doing g as if mistakes don’t happen. He then walked by us as we returned and said put you helmets by the door and said nothing else to us and continued to cater his wants toward the other group. We left feeling confused and most dissatisfied. I don’t think he should be working there and the Asian-like woman who was working with him seemed to be put on the back burner when it came to speaking or being involved with most of the process.
    Breath taking view while you drive
    Gerald_T, Sep 2021
    My hubby and I rented the little roadster we went on a narrated tour of Monterey then we went thru cannery row and along the ocean stopping taking pictures as we went. Going along the ocean in roadster you hear feel and smell the ocean it was surreal. We will do it again. We did lose our narrator (IPad). I guess it got hot so I would shade the tablet if you get out to take pictures sit by beach along the way. FortunatelyI had address and phone took me back. Also we saw live deer through out town.
    Response from Host, Oct 2021
    Thanks for the nice compliments, we are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon..
    Peri, Sep 2020
    Highly recommended. It was really neat to see the marker points they had set up during the route and the guy who helped had really great customer service. I would definitely go again!
    Response from Host, Feb 2021
    Thank you for the nice review we are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon.
    Email saying they were closed due to the coronavirus. They should not have rented me the bike in the first place if they
    Armondo_D, May 2020
    Took my money off my card and then sent me an Email saying they were closed due to the coronavirus. They should not have rented me the bike in the first place if they were closed totally unprofessional I just want my money back
    Response from Host, May 2020
    We don't rent bikes you have the wrong business!
    A true experience of a lifetime
    DebIndence, Nov 2019
    Awesome experience, super fun, driving on the road with the regular cars, 2 hour GPS guided tour thru cannery row and the Pacific coast

    From $149.00

    per group (up to 2)

    -You will not receive a refund if you cancel.

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    No Photo
    2-Hour Monterey and Pacific Grove Sea Car Tour


    2 hours
    Free Cancellation
    No Photo
    1-Hour Monterey and Cannery Row Sea Car Tour


    1 hour
    Free Cancellation
    No Photo
    Carmel-by-the-Sea 2.5 Hour Electric Bike Tour


    2 hours 30 minutes
    Free Cancellation

    Explore Similar Things to Do