San Blas Islands

3-Day in San Blas Island with Meals, Boat Tour Private Bedroom

San Blas Islands, Panama
3 days 2 nights on a Paradise Island in San Blas Private Bedroom

From $284.00

Select Date and Travelers

up to 6 days in advance

  • 3 days
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


The San Blas Islands are naturally stunning and culturally fascinating, and you’ll get the chance to fully experience both on this small-group tour. Stay on beautiful Isla Yansailadup in comfortable private accommodation. Spend the days sailing, learning about the indigenous Guna people and their colorful crafts, and relaxing in and beside the sparkling ocean.
  • Two breakfasts, two dinners, and three lunches are included
  • Boat tour on a shaded vessel is included
  • Enjoy a good mix of nature and culture
  • Sleep in a private room with shared bathroom facilities

What's Included

  • Boat Tour
  • Dinner (2)
  • Lunch (3)
  • Breakfast (2)
  • Guna Entrance Fee paid to border patrol ($22 for Internationals, $7 for Panamanian residents)
  • Beverages

Meeting And Pickup

You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup

Meeting point

  • Carti Parking and Boat Terminal
    F23C+W2C, Warsobtugua, Guna Yala, Panama

    The tour starts in the port of Carti. Contact our office for exact driving directions and instructions. Plan to arrive no later than 8:30am. Only 4x4 vehicles are allowed entry into San Blas territory. All other cars and SUVs will not be allowed to enter the territory and you will lose your tour.

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

Pickup details

If booking with transportation from Panama City: IF YOU HAVE NOT PROVIDED YOUR WHATSAPP NUMBER AND PICK UP INFORMATION (HOTEL NAME & ROOM NUMBER) YOUR TOUR IS NOT CONFIRMED AND WE WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PICK YOU UP. On the day of your tour, please be ready to be picked up from your hotel between 5:00am and 5:45am, and wait in the lobby. Since we have shared transportation with up to 6 guests per car, our drivers choose the best route to pick up all guests in a timely manner. To avoid any delays we appreciate your cooperation in being on time. If you are not at your designated pick up point (and waiting in the lobby!), you will loose your tour without refund. The driver will try his best in contacting you via WhatsApp. Please understand that the driver cannot wait longer than 10 minutes before continuing to the next pick up destination, in order to provide timely service for all of the other guests. If driving on your own to San Blas: Please contact our office for exact driving directions and instructions. PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT ONLY 4X4 CARS ARE PERMITTED TO ENTER THE TERRITORY. We have many guests who arrive in a regular SUV (such as Hyundai Tucson or similar), but are not allowed to enter, because the SUV is not a 4x4 and is considered too small or not suitable for the treacherous roads.

What To Expect

Day 1

Arrival Day - Explore and enjoy beautiful Isla Yansailadup

2 Stops

Panama City

1 day Admission Ticket Free

San Blas Islands

1 day Admission Ticket Free

Accommodation: Overnight on Isla Yansailadup - Private Bedroom with 2 beds. Shared bathroom.

Meals: LunchDinner

Day 2

Isla Yansailadup

1 Stop

San Blas Islands

1 day Admission Ticket Included

Accommodation: Overnight on Isla Yansailadup - Private Bedroom with 2 beds. Shared bathroom.

Meals: BreakfastLunchDinner

Day 3

Departure Day + Boat Tour

2 Stops

San Blas Islands

5 hours Admission Ticket Free

San Blas Islands

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Accommodation: Not included

Meals: BreakfastLunch

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • We recommend that you bring your personal hygiene items, such as towels, sunscreen, hats, mosquito repellent.
  • Check out from your cabin on the island is at 8:00am and you should be back in Panama City between 6-7pm
  • In San Blas Islands there are no ATMs - please bring cash. You can buy additional drinks, snacks, souvenirs etc.
  • The boat transfer from the port to the islands may be bumpy with some sea spray. If you are sensitive to motion sickness, please prepare accordingly by bringing appropriate medication. You may also get wet, so please bring some water protection for your luggage and yourself
  • There are no electrical outlets in the bedrooms, only light. You can recharge your phones and cameras in the main house.
  • We will check the availability of the cabin and will send you a confirmation mail.
  • You are welcome to bring a cooler with your own drinks, potable water, snacks and beverages (fruit juice or alcohol). The driver will stop at a supermarket on the way to San Blas in order for you to purchase additional items.
  • Departure time is between 5:00am and 5:45am from your Panama City lodging. If staying at Playa Bonita area, your departure time is between 5:00am and 5:15am.
  • Please be advised that San Blas is in the Kuna territory, which is an autonomous, Indian zone. The services are very basic and most cabins are minimalistic. The Kunas will be providing all touristic services, such as meal preparations, car and boat transportations, lodging, and tour guiding. We are proud to be working with this friendly tribe and with each booking we give back to the community, supporting their customs and their traditional way of life. We kindly ask you to respect this beautiful culture and their simple way of life, leaving your expectations behind and learning about their innocent culture.
  • Aside from using generators for electricity, there are no amenities and utilities as you are used to from the city. Food is basic, yet freshly prepared such as fresh fried fish, mixed seafood, chicken or lobster (at extra chrge) with salad, rice or plantains.
  • “Tigo” is the cell phone company that has the best reception in San Blas.
  • PLEASE BE PREPARED FOR A 2.5 to 3 HOUR CAR JOURNEY EACH WAY OVER CURVY ROADS! THERE IS ALSO A 25-30 MINUTE BOAT RIDE TO YOUR FIRST ISLAND WHICH CAN GET QUITE BUMPY AND WET. We feel that the islands are worth the long drive, but some travelers have complained about the drive and the fast boat ride from and to the port. While we strive to provide our guests the best service and an unforgettable experience in San Blas, we are not responsible for road and ocean conditions, and we would like you to be aware of this fact :)
  • SAN BLAS DISCLAIMER - PLEASE READ! While San Blas is a beautiful island archipelago with stunning beaches and clear waters, it also has its downsides, for which we would like to make you aware off. In San Blas only the Kuna population is allowed to work in the territory. The services and infrastructure are not what most of us are used to. Kunas are not very service oriented and can often seem shy or reserved. A stay in San Blas can be compared to a camping vacation that offers minimal comfort, services and amenities. We strongly advise those who have 5 star expectations to think twice before embarking on this adventure. We do have alternative tours in Panama with more high-end services. We really care about our reputation and we want our guests to enjoy their vacation with us. We attempt to be as transparent as possible in order to set guest expectations from the start. We do not own any of the islands and we pride ourselves in providing excellent service during your booking process and attempting to assist you during your San Blas vacation. However, please remember that we cannot guarantee the same excellent service during your stay in San Blas. Please read all the below information well! San Blas is very rustic without the amenities and standards you might be used to from home. Compared to places such as Tahiti and Maldives that are managed by international hotel chains, San Blas has remained autonomous without the influence of outsiders. When visiting San Blas, it should be viewed as a cultural experience where guests live with the Kunas and respect their traditions and their primitive ways of living. No air condition - None of the islands offer A/C, some cabins don’t have fans either. No Wifi - You can buy a prepaid SIM card (Tigo or Digicel), which may or may not have signal. No luxury facilities - Bathrooms may be dirty, sinks may get clogged, sheets may be old Electricity is only available between 6:00pm and 6:00am. Cabins don’t have outlets. Electric devices can be charged in the restaurant. Water is a precious commodity in San Blas. It is either brought in by boat or pumped from the island well, which may have a significant salt content. Oftentimes pumps can malfunction and cause water outages. Beds and mattresses can be uncomfortable and sheets are old and worn. What seems like trash and clutter around the local huts, are items and tools that Kunas re-use for their daily lives. Please respect the fact that you will spend your time living alongside the Kunas who have different traditions and values. All services will all be handled by the indigenous Kuna. While we strive to provide the best service possible and train the Kuna in customer management, some of the below services are often out of our control. Car transportation - the ride to San Blas takes 2.5 to 3 hours, with 1.5 hours over slow, curvy roads. For those with motion sickness, please prepare accordingly. The transportation is in a shared 4x4 SUV, with one seat up front, three seats in the middle row and 2 seats in the back row. Seats are assigned randomly. Those who require additional space in the car must purchase an extra seat. Pick up from your lodging is scheduled between 5:00am and 5:30am, but can sometimes be as late as 5:45am depending on the timeliness of other guests that we pick up. Out of respect for all others in the car we ask everyone to wait in the lobby of their building at 5:00am. If you are not at the designated meeting point, the driver will make an effort to locate you, but he cannot delay the transportation by more than 10 minutes. No refunds are awarded to guests who don’t show up on time. Boat transportation - depending on weather and ocean conditions, the 20-40 minute boat ride might be bumpy and wet with ocean spray. Luggage is stored in the front of the boat and covered with tarps. Island cabin management - cabins are very rustic and facilities, such as showers and bathrooms are often “home-made” with PVC pipes. Some guests have complained that sheets are old. Please bring your own if you require fresh smelling sheets. Island kitchen - meal plans are repetitive and food might taste bland, without the use of spices. Additional food, drinks and snacks can be purchased on the way to San Blas. The driver will stop at a grocery store. Most Kunas DO NOT speak English. Please attempt to resolve any cabin related issues and requests directly with the island management. Trash is a worldwide problem and unfortunately San Blas has not been spared from the ever increasing issue. During certain tides and ocean and wind conditions plastic trash from throughout the Caribbean ocean accumulates on the beaches of San Blas. While the local Kuna are working hard to collect the constant flood of plastic trash washing up on their beaches, guests will nevertheless find evidence of plastic spread out on the island. Furthermore, Kunas tend to collect certain “trash” and re-use it for their purposes. For instance, a collection of empty gas canisters has been re-used to create a Christmas tree. During the wet months (April - December) or during windless days, all of San Blas experiences sandflies, which are little blood-sucking flies that leave itchy marks. Please ensure to bring insect repellent and prepare to return to Panama City with a few itchy memories. Some islands, such as Isla Wailidup tend to have more than others. Weather: Panama is located in the Intertropical Convergence Zone, which means that the weather is very unpredictable and is impossible to forecast with accuracy. The weather forecast will usually show rain and thunderstorms for most days of the year, when in reality there are oftentimes beautiful, sunny days in San Blas. Please do not rely on the weather forecast in Panama. Due to the tropical conditions in San Blas rain can occur at any time and we do not offer refunds for rainy days. Guests who stay in cabins and would like to return earlier than their scheduled departure date must notify our reservation team one day before by 5:00pm via WhatsApp found on your ticket, in order for us to arrange your return transfer. No refunds apply for early departures. Due to the complexity of the logistics involved with each reservation in San Blas (arranging cars, boats, tours, cabins and meals), we kindly ask our guests to adhere to the itinerary schedule sent to them in advance of their trip to San Blas. For any changes in schedule, you must first contact our office at least one day before by 5:00pm and we will attempt to accommodate your request. Travel Emergencies: The San Blas islands are located in a very remote region of Panama. We ask all guests to be responsible for their own well being and to be aware that medical assistance can often not be provided right away. The closest medical facility in San Blas is very basic and can only provide assistance for minor issues. Guests with injuries such as broken bones that require more specialized treatment need to be transported to Panama City. Guests are responsible for all charges arising from a medical emergency, such as boat and car transportation and medical care. We suggest all guests to carry a Travel Insurance to cover emergency expenses. For more information, please check your ticket for the travel insurance link. We kindly ask our guests to lower their expectation when visiting San Blas and to focus on the beautiful remote paradise that San Blas has remained despite the effects that modern society has caused to them. The Kunas are very gentle and kind people, but can also be somewhat shy at times. When approaching them with a smile and an open heart you will be guaranteed an innocent, happy smile in return. Arriving with the right mindset and expectation usually guarantees an unforgettable experience, where guests are able to focus on the beauties of the islands, beaches, ocean and the people, rather than on the limitations that we mentioned above.
  • Shower water on Isla Yansailadup is filtered from from ocean water and has a high salt content. Please bring appropriate showering supplies to feel comfortable, such as liquid soap, prickly heat powder or baby powder to remove the salt from the skin, or wet wipes.
  • AGAIN!!! Please be prepared for a 2.5 hour car journey each way (1 hour on a highway and about 1.5 hours through the mountains over curvy roads! Please do not leave bad reviews because of the road. We try to warn you ahead of time ;)
  • The road to San Blas is very curvy. If you are sensitive to motion sickness, please prepare accordingly by bringing appropriate medication.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 6 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 6 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • Any changes made less than 6 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • For a 50% refund, you must cancel 2–6 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Beautiful island & surroundings, and a wholesome experience. We were well taken care of from start to finish.


8 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-6 of 8 reviews
Beautiful island, a little unorganised
Marcel_K, Sep 2023
San blas is a Wunderfull place to be! It’s beautiful . But with this company were not all tours included. Only the last one. That mean, the other turist go snorkelling and I was on the island . When they pick me up and the tour start. ( 4 days ago I got a reminder that the transport wasn’t included from Panama City to the Atlantic cost 55$ and 22$ fee it’s almost a hundred , that’s bad ). That’s why I give 3 stars But the local were nice, but other tourist can decide between lobster and king crab. I had 3 days fish. The food was good.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Hi Marcel, thank you for your feedback. We try to be very transparent in our listing, as well as in the itinerary we are sending before the trip. When booking this tour, guests have the option to include transportation with their Viator booking. In your case, you did not select the transportation option and we charged you in cash for the transportation. Unfortunately, the 6 hour roundtrip car transportation is not free and we need to charge guests. The same applies for the $22 Guna Yala entrance fee. All this information is very clearly stated on our listing. Regarding the tour. Every cabin booking includes 1 island boat tour, which is generally scheduled for the departure day. The other guests on the island took have different departure dates and schedules. Of course there is the option to pay for additional tours, which we will gladly arrange for our guests :) The lobster is also an additional charge that guests elect to pay. This is also stated on our listing! We are not sure if you met the other guests and asked them about their "extra" tours and their lobster meals. We are certain they would have confirmed you that they chose to pay extra for those services. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall experience in San Blas and hope you return soon; and please read the whole listing. and the disclaimer :)
The perfect place to...
Stephan_P, Jan 2023
The perfect place to chill out for a few days. There is a cell phone signal in the meantime, but as I had no data package I still managed to be deconnected from the world as there is still no Wifi. That was perfect. Food was simple but fresh, very good and healthy (usually it was fish for lunch, chicken for dinner, accompanied by rice or potatoes or fried plaintains, breakfast some egg with tortilla and fresh fruit). Facilities are basic but kept clean and in good shape as far as possbile. Perfect location to get in touch with travelers from all over the world or to simply snooze in a hammock the entire day. Kuna Yala Islands are tiny stretches of sand in the middle of the Carribean Sea, there is nothing but palm trees surrounded by turqoise waters. Picture postcard spot!
Island life at its best
Andrea_S, Jul 2022
Beautiful island & surroundings, and a wholesome experience. We were well taken care of from start to finish.
Response from Host, Sep 2022
Hi Andrea, we are happy you enjoyed your San Blas stay with us. We hope to hear back from you again soon for more Panama experiences :)
A little piece of paradise
Bianca_K, Mar 2022
The experience was really great! Viator was reachable for questions regarding the pickup place, then the island is a small paradise! I really enjoyed the stay, the ease of organising it and the hospitality of the hosting indigenous family! Be prepared though to bring coins as beverages are bought on spot (all is USD 2.00).
San Blas Yani Island paradise
Ann_R, Jan 2022
Yani island was such a treat. Yani is delightful. So many palm trees beautiful beach and great fresh fish. Very quiet. Rooms were fine. Expect cold shower to rinse salt water. Buy cold water, beer, hand made bracelets. Some lights at night. Bring a flashlight. Overall lots of fun.
Beaucoup d’attente pour rien
Marc_B, Dec 2022
Je n’ai pas fait attention à ce que je n’avais aucune sortie avec ce forfait , j’aurais aimé aussi sortir faire une excursion mais il n’accepte même pas qu’on débourse un supplément pour participer. Et le problème c’est que c’est jolie mais la plage n’a que 12 pouce d’eau et après c’est des algues coupantes mais le plus gros problème c’est que à un moment donné l’eau devient laiteuse et malodorante, il semble que les eaux usées se déversent en avant de la plage au gré des marées Donc forfait pour voir de l’eau sale . Point positif la plupart des gens du personnel était agréable et la nourriture bien . Comme c’était expliqué la chambre etait très très rustique . Vraiment une déception mais parfois c’est la vie des déceptions faut faire avec
Response from Host, Dec 2022
Dear Marc, we are very sorry you have to deal with a "life of disappointments" (as you stated: "la vie des déceptions faut faire avec"). We truly have a beautiful island paradise here in San Blas and all of our other guests really enjoy this particular island as you can read on the other reviews. We followed up with our tour guide who stated that you were asked to join the tour, but chose to spend your afternoon on the island. Your statement that we would not take you on the tour is FALSE. Everyone is welcome to join our island hopping tour. Especially this island has a very sweet Kuna family with a tour boat guide who ensures his guests are happy and taken care of. We do not appreciate guests who spread misinformation and rate our business based on personal discontentment rather than true facts. About the seaweed, this is a natural byproduct of winds, currents and seasonal algae bloom, bringing seaweed to the shores of San Blas. Kunas clean their beaches daily, but seaweed that is washed ashore throughout the day will cause a natural smell of ocean and algae. We are happy that you find the islands beautiful and hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
3-Day in San Blas Island with Meals, Boat Tour Private Bedroom


3 days
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do