Papal Audience Experience Tickets and Presentation with an Expert Guide

Rome, Italy
Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

From $34.34

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)
  • Offered in: English


Take part in the papal audience and watch the pope give his weekly address on this small-group tour. Follow your guide through the crowds to a prime location and learn about the tradition of the papal audience. A provided headset makes sure that you can hear everything your guide is saying without the noise of the crowds. This small-group tour is limited to 20 people.
  • Cut through the crowds to a prime spot to see the pope
  • Listen to your guide via an audio headset to hear the history behind the papacy
  • Watch as the pope delivers his weekly message and offers blessings
  • Small-group experience limited to 20 people ensures personal attention from a guide

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Get the best views of the papal address with guided commentary in a small group.

What's Included

  • English/Spanish-speaking guide (depending on option selected)
  • Escorted visit and presentation
  • Headsets to hear the guide clearly
  • Ticket reservation service and ticket pick-up (Tickets are free of charge)
  • Small groups of 20 people or less
  • Optional gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Seating not guaranteed

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • Parrocchia Santuario di Santa Maria in Traspontina
    Via della Conciliazione, 00193 Roma RM, Italy

    Meet at Parrocchia Santuario di Santa Maria in Traspontina, Via della Conciliazione 14/c, 00193 Roma RM, Italy Your City Wonders coordinators will be wearing blue polo shirts or jackets at the meeting point for easy recognition.

Start time

07:30 AM

End point

  • Saint Peter's Square
    Piazza San Pietro, 00120 Città del Vaticano, Vatican City

What To Expect

After meeting your guide near St. Peter’s Basilica in Vatican City, put on your provided headset to start your papal audience experience. While the address is a Catholic custom, the event draws people of all beliefs from around the world each week.

Following your guide, navigate the crowd to reach your seat, to have views of the pope when he arrives. While you wait, learn a bit about the history of the papacy in Rome and hear about Renaissance artists like Michelangelo who left such a beautiful mark on the Vatican. With your audio headset, you don’t have to worry about not being able to hear your guide over the throngs of people.

As the address starts, listen to the Cardinals leading pilgrims in prayer, and watch the pope deliver his blessings for the week. The service includes hymns, prayers, and a homily. When the address is over, explore St Peter’s Square on your own.

Note: Immediately after booking, you must reconfirm your ticket using the phone number provided on your confirmation voucher. The local tour operator will ask for your home address, as this is required by Vatican City. Failure to reconfirm your ticket may result in it being canceled. Please also note that seating for the papal audience is limited. Your guide will do everything possible to secure you a seat, but on rare occasions, this may not be possible.

Vatican City

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

St. Peter's Square

3 hours Admission Ticket Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please note that papal audience tickets are free but can be difficult to organize. With our service you can cut out the hassle and collect your pre-booked ticket from your guide when you arrive!
  • We regret that we are unable to accommodate guests with wheelchairs or mobility impairments on our tours as well as pushchairs or strollers.
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more


1,573 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 1,573 reviews
Amazing, once in a lifetime experience
Bianca_S, May 2024
Amazing, once in a lifetime experience. I think any negative reviews here probably couldn’t find the meeting point. It was confusing to find, and there were other tour groups meeting at the same time which doesn’t help, but luckily we arrived extra early and found our guide no problem. The coordinator arrived at 7:35 but it didn’t affect the tour or entry at all. Our guide took us to an awesome spot where the pope passed by just a few feet from us and I’ll never forget it. So worth it!
Great way to see pope up close!
Vincent_R, May 2024
You need to do this tour if you want to see the pope. Great to see the pope so close and enjoy an audience with him. Tour guide was wonderful!!!
Maria was a great guide❤️...
Candace_C, May 2024
Maria was a great guide❤️ Maria is very knowledgeable And very concerned about her group. I would recommend your service to all my friends coming to Italy
Could not locate the tour guide
James_L, Apr 2024
Could not locate the guide and had to pay another guide. The experience was excellent with the other guide
Didn't like the Guide or Vendor at all - Papal Audience Great
CLAUDIA_P, Apr 2024
We had the tour my husband, my son (15) and me. We arrived 5 minutes late, and the guide told us (not friendly at all, rude) that she just have 2 radios only, and she wasn't sure we can join her group. This activity is only to let you in the Audience and get a good place. The group was in the line, and the guide only explain a couple of things about the Vatican. We didn't interrupted or delayed anything. was more the time she spent on calling the supervise to ask if she can accepted us, even though we were on her list, and it was a paid activity. So, the experience of the Papal Audience is amazing but that agent was very rude and not helping with us, her customers and tourist. Maybe was the vendor.....
Incredible Amazing
Tracy_P, Apr 2024
Guide was lovely - fun. The experience was worth the effort to get here Unbelievable experience. I would recommend. FANTASTIC and how did this even get built, planned and made, on such a grand scale.
Great and reccomended
Adel_M, Apr 2024
We like everything. It were as we aspected and read in the ticket. We like it. Thank you so much :))
Up lifting experience
Joseph_Y, Apr 2024
A wonderful experience, our tour guide from City of Wonders was your informative and helpful in guiding us to a nice area where we could see Pope Francis at a short distance.
Wouldn’t really say we...
ClintonZ, Dec 2023
Wouldn’t really say we had the best seats for what you paid for when they advertise you were going to have some of the best seats.
Papal Audience
Doreen_R, Dec 2023
Amazing! I told Veronica it was my daughter's 21st birthday. She set our tour in an ideal spot to see the Pope. Not only were we a few feet from Pope Francis, but he read my daughter's sign and acknowledged her birthday! Thank you
Elizabeth_V, Nov 2023
Our tour guide was perfect. She explained everything as we waited and lead us to our seats. Thank you.
Paid but not allowed in
MarcJoseph_M, Oct 2023
I wish no one would book this. I arrived 30 mins before the indicated meeting time, but I wasn't able to get in because the meetup point was behind the security checks. I was there at 7:00AM but the queue for security was almost a kilometre long that it would be impossible to get in in time. Had I been told to arrive at 6AM I would have made it to the meetup point by the indicated time of 7:30; but it appears to me that that information was concealed to minimize the number of goers. The refund was 24H before the meetup time so I was refused a refund. This is a terrible service and I hope no one will avail this.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Hi MarcJoseph_M, We're very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with the Papal Audience tickets and presentation. What you described is far from the level of service we aim to provide, and I apologize for any inconvenience you faced. The security procedures and crowd management for such events can indeed be challenging, and we understand the frustration you encountered. To make amends, we would like to offer you a refund for your booking. Please reach out to us at your earliest convenience, either via phone or email ( and we will initiate the refund process. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us continuously improve our services, and we regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with a more positive experience in the future. Thank you for your understanding. Best regards, Edgar J. City Wonders
Papal Audience
Elizabeth_I, Oct 2023
Papal Audience a special experience. So glad we chose to do this with a tour company who knew how to handle procuring the tickets and leading us to great seats.
Judy_F, Oct 2023
Helene was great! She secured us great location and I was very satisfied with my view of the pope. Very moving experience to be so close. I don’t expect more than was described and was satisfied.
Excellent guide and seats for papal audience
David_V, Oct 2023
Excellent way to experience papal audience for the first time. Guide stepped us thru security and early arrival at excellent seats. Pope was within a few feet of us as he entered the square. Our guide also shared great history and highlights.
Great experience!
Lisa_F, Sep 2023
Great experience. Our guide was on time and it was easy to find City Wonders (with the help of a phone call from City Wonders). Our guide did her best to get us as close possible. Thank you for the awesome experience!
Don’t do it. Biggest Rip off. Waste of money
Theresa_N, Sep 2023
This was the biggest waste of money. So disorganised. Absolutely no clue. Took us through security took us to seats where they said the Pope would pass. She then gave us an audio transmitter. Not sure why as she didn’t tell us anything no info no history. Then when it was over she had disappeared so we had to ring up to see where we could hand back the transmitter so we were not charged.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Hello Theresa_N, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your Papal Audience Experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the disorganization you encountered during your visit. We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, and we appreciate your candid comments. We understand that the lack of information and organization can be frustrating, and we will address these concerns with our team to ensure a smoother and more informative experience for future travelers. Regarding the audio transmitter, we apologize if it was not utilized effectively during your tour. Our intention is to provide additional information and insights to enhance your visit, and we will review our procedures to ensure it is used to its full potential in the future. Your feedback is invaluable as it helps us improve our services, and we appreciate your understanding. If you decide to give us another chance in the future, we hope to provide you with a more organized and fulfilling experience. Thank you for choosing City Wonders, and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit. Best regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
We missed the experience due to a late plane
Kim_J, Sep 2023
Our plane that was supposed to take us from Vienna to Rome was 2 hours late, so missed our flight to Rome and we had to stay in Vienna until the next day to take the first flight out in the morning. We did not arrive in Rome in time to attend the papal audience ☹️ Is it possible to get a refund for our tickets?
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Hi Kim_J, We're truly sorry to hear about the unfortunate circumstances that prevented you from attending the Papal Audience during your visit to Rome. We understand how disappointing this must have been for you. While we regret that we cannot offer a refund for missed experiences, we would like to offer you the opportunity to reschedule your Papal Audience tickets for a future date. We could also apply a tour credit that you may use later. You can do so by contacting us via email at or by calling our customer support team. We will do our best to accommodate your request and ensure you have the chance to experience this unique event during your next adventure. Thank you for your understanding, and we hope to welcome you to one of our tours in the near future. Best regards, Edgar J. Communications Manager City Wonders
Expensive, frustrating and maddening.
Lou_C, Sep 2023
The reminder of date and pick up time arrived 5 hours after our tour. It came too late. We were at the Vatican 45 minutes early and could not find where to pick up the tickets. After the group had left, we finally found the place, so we didn't get the full experience with the a guide. Directions need to be stated much more clearly. We were very disappointed. I'd happily accept a refund.
Tour disaster
nate1023, Aug 2023
Got to the meeting point on time at 7:30 am with my 7 family members and no one was there. Called the tour operator and was told the tour left. I asked if we could meet up. The tour operator said there was no way to know where he was and no way to get in touch with him. They couldn't call his cell phone? $300 dollars down the drain just to skip the line (entry was free! but they didn't tell you that on line) waited in the hot sun on a 95 degree day for about an hour and a half on a four block line to see the Pope. When we got in we were seated and had a great experience on our own without the tour! Waste of time and money. P:S they refused a refund.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Papal Audience Experience Tickets and Presentation with an Expert Guide


3 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Papal Audience


4 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Rome: Escorted Papal Audience Experience with Entry Ticket


2 to 3 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Papal Audience Experience with Pope Francis


3 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do