Salalah City Tour: Nature, Culture, History, Food, Shopping

Salalah, Oman
Salalah City Tour Half Day

From $87.00

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 4 to 5 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Salalah serves up everything from impressive mosques to archaeological treasures, museums, markets, and palm-fringed beaches. With this half-day tour, skip negotiating with cabs and explore the city with a private driver-guide and air-conditioned vehicle. It means you can concentrate on the scenery, cover Salalah’s highlights without overlooking anything, and learn facts about the city you might not hear otherwise. A choice of time slots provides useful flexibility.
  • Skip the fuss of cabs with a private half-day tour of Salalah
  • Cover the sights with ease and learn more about them than if alone
  • Visit the Grand Mosque, Al Baleed’s ancient ruins, Haffa souk, and more
  • Pick from various timings, with hotel, port, or airport pickup and drop-off

What's Included

  • Bottled water
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Pick and Drop from hotel
  • Experienced Omani guide who can speak English and Arabic
  • Transport by private vehicle: 4x4 Car for up to 4 adults, van for 15 adults, coaster for 25 adults
  • Lunch
  • Anything not mentioned in Inclusions
  • Gratuities / Tips are welcomed but not included in mentioned price
  • Entrance fees to Al Baleed Archaeological site and Frankincense Land Museum

Meeting And Pickup

Pickup points

Select a pickup point

Pickup details

Pick up from Salalah and Hawana Salalah Hotels are compliemntary. From Alila Hino Bay and Mirbat Hotels, additional pick up charges are applicable (OMR 10)

What To Expect

Sultan Qaboos Mosque

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Al Hosn Palace (Pass By)

Al-Husn Souq

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Al Haffa beach

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Al Balid Archeological Site

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Museum of the Frankincense Land

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Salalah Gardens Mall

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Ain Garziz

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Ittin Cave كهف إتين

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Nabi Ayoub's Tomb

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Guide availability in some European languages, such as German, Italian, French, and Polish, are limited in numbers and might not be available for your tour date. In such situations, an Omani English-speaking guide will be arranged for your tour.
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Operated by Beautiful Salalah Tours

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos


21 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-5 of 21 reviews
Guides didn't know what was included in the tour and resisted takeing us to advertised sites.
William_H, Nov 2023
The frankensence museum was closed and the guides didn't know till we got there. Shopping seemed to be the target of our guides and they were more than happy to introduce us to their villagers. We finally convinced them that ending the tour one hour early was not acceptable and they wound up taking us to a water fall with no water and not to the falls on our agenda.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Dear William, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience during your tour. Regarding the Frankincense museum closure, we regret the unforeseen circumstance and it was closed without any earlier notification, which is beyond our control. Our itineraries mention that the waterfall is seasonal, and it was dry at your visit. You selected the group tour, and the group tour dynamic involves catering to various preferences. One passenger wasn't feeling well, and our guide accommodated their request to end the tour earlier, prioritizing their well-being. Passenger safety and health are important considerations. We value your input and will use it to enhance future experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more satisfying visit. Best regards, Hussain
Amazing guide Mohammed Ali
Irma_A, Nov 2023
Went to the Museum. Nice to see the Old Artifacts. Ships etc I had great tour guide Mohammed Ali On East of Salalah Wadi Darmat . etc. N yesterday City tour of Salalah
Salalah Trip
SyedFarazuddin_A, Oct 2023
Memorable trip with an excellent tour guide. We were lucky to have Mr. Salim as our tour guide is very and I would highly recommend him to tourists willing to explore Salalah and its history.
Could Not Connect With Driver
Meradene_G, Feb 2023
I’m so frustrated. We did not go on the tour. We could not connect with the tour driver. No wifi in the Port. Tried to contact driver via WhatsApp, but the phone number printed on our ticket was totally wrong. Finall some poor soul in Salalah texted me back and said approximately “I do not know who you are. “. “ Wrong number”. I am hoping we cannot get our money back through Viator without having to dispute with Bisa. Use caution in Salalah, Omán if you are on a cruise. Only book through the ship! Lesson learned the hard way. MG.
Response from Host, Apr 2023
We have communicated clearly on the chat of viator / tripadvisor regarding the guide phone number. We tried to call you, your number was off and there are many messages to you via inbox of viator / tripadvisor. Don't mislead other people by writing such review just to get a refund for the trip that you missed yourself. I am sorry but if you check the inbox you will find our messages. I don't have option to put a screenshot here, but if someone needs that I can share just to confirm that this review is wrong.
Fantastic tour on historical spot
MohammadAmin_A, Dec 2021
It was good trip for historical & religious specimen to see; guide was also good & helpful throughout the tour with lot of info.
Response from Host, Dec 2021
Thanks for liking the tour and exploring Salalah's historic sites with us. Looking forward to welcome you again

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Salalah City Tour: Nature, Culture, History, Food, Shopping


5 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Salalah City Food Tour


3 to 4 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Salalah City Half Day Tour ( Private Tour)


4 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Private Full Day Salalah Shopping and Entertainment Tour


10 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do