San Jose

San Jose Like a Local: Customized Private Tour

San Jose, Costa Rica
San Jose Like a Local Customized Private Tour

From $35.00

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 2 to 6 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


    What's Included

    • Local guide ("Lokafyer"
    • Customized private walking tour
    • Personal expenses
    • Tips and gratuities (optional)
    • Optional activity costs
    • Food and drinks
    • Transportation to/from attractions (It’s a walking tour, car transportation isn’t included)

    Meeting and Pickup

    Meeting point

    • La Fuente De La Ave. Central
      Av. Central 3, San José, Catedral, Costa Rica

      Travelers can request the tour to start from any centrally located hotel. In case your hotel is outside the city center we will select a convenient meeting point in the city center.Tour may end at a different location from the departure point unless requested in advance of the tour.

    End point

    • San José Province, San José, Costa Rica

      Tour may end at a different location from the departure point, unless requested in advance of the tour.

    What To Expect

    La Fuente De La Ave. Central (Pass By)

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Lokafy tours provide a general overview of the city with practical information from a local’s perspective, not detailed historical facts
    • In case travellers would like to include a visit to an attraction, they would need to cover the cost of entrance for themselves and also the Lokafyer (local guide)
    • Tours are entirely personalized, please provide the start time, meeting place and information about you so that we can organize the tour
    • Service animals allowed
    • This is a walking tour. We recommend wearing comfortable shoes
    • Near public transportation
    • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
    • Children below 3 years old are free of charge
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos


    11 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-5 of 11 reviews
    Don’t waste your time
    Paul_D, Jan 2024
    I should’ve heeded other reviews. The guide did not show up at the scheduled meeting point and then ghosted us when we tried to reach him
    Missed the opportunity
    M_E, Dec 2023
    The tour guide did not show up. Viator customer service, however, was excellent. We were given an address that the local police were unsure of so we were running back and forth trying to find the right spot. We tried to call the Lokafy number and text the guide and email. Unfortunately, no one showed up. Viator customer service tried to contact the local service but also could not reach anyone so they refunded us the money.
    Guide did not show up
    Phong_V, Feb 2022
    The tour guide Mauricio confirmed meeting time and location the night before but he never showed up . He completely went silent on the day of the scheduled tour. It was too bad. They had to refund.
    Response from Host, Feb 2022
    Hello Phong, We'd like to extend our most sincere apologies for your experience in San Jose with us. This certainly is not the experience we want for our travelers. We do our very best to have a smooth tour confirmation process but there are certain aspects of the process over which we do not have control. After contacting Mauricio to know what happened, he told us that he did not check his emails to see the tour confirmation email that we had sent to him despite informing us that he was available to conduct the tour. As you can imagine, the Lokafyer not checking their email is not a factor that we can possibly control from our end. We had contacted Viator right away for providing you with a full refund. This is a real shame as we were so looking forward to your tour in San Jose and showing you what makes Lokafy experiences so wonderful. We hope that you feel confident to try us again in the future- we will make sure that we only match you with someone that meets your requirements so you can truly experience what Lokafy tours are about. We are active in more than 300+ cities around the world, so we hope to organize tours for you again. Safe Travels. Regards, Vinita
    Absolute disaster: the private tour guide who never came!
    Vagish_D, Sep 2019
    Having booked well ahead of time this private tour for 3 hours with 100% payment in advance, the least we expected was that the guide wouldn't come and that we would spend 45 minutes in making calls and a US$ 40 costing call of 20 mins, we were told that the guide's grandpa died and so he couldnt come. Whilst we have deep sympathy for the family of the bereaved but surely Viator knows how to support a guide replacement for a mishap 1 day ahead of tour. We had only 1 day in San Jose in the short tour of Costa Rica and Viator landed up completely messing it up! I would think 10 times before booking via Viator any more!
    Very informative
    Karsten_M, Apr 2019
    Mauricio did a very good tour through San Jose with us, he showed as the key sights including the central market and explained very well.
    Response from Host, Feb 2022
    Hi Karsten, Hope you are well. We apologize for taking so long to respond, but we appreciate you sharing this wonderful review with us. We're so glad to hear you had an exceptional time exploring this exceptional place with Mauricio. He was really happy to read your feedback. We now offer Lokafy tours in almost 300+ cities around the world, so we look forward to connecting you with more locals on your next travel adventure. Safe Travels! Regards, Vinita

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 2
    No Photo
    San Jose Like a Local: Customized Private Tour


    6 hours
    Free Cancellation

    Explore Similar Things to Do