San Jose

San Jose: Insider Spots, City Highlights - small groups

San Jose, Costa Rica
San Jose City Walking Tour
  • 2 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


See the best of San Jose on this incredible walking tour that takes travelers through more than 40 different sites, including galleries, parks, art houses and iconic buildings. Whether you're a first time visitor or returning to this beautiful city this two-hour tour is the perfect way to hit all of the highlights.
  • Bird's Nest: 2-hour San Jose City Highlights Walking Tour
  • Experience a slice of local life while you tour the city
  • Learn about culture, history and politics from your professional guide
  • Tour some of the city’s top sites

What's Included

  • Professional guide
  • Gratuities

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • Parada Frente al Parque Morazan
    San José, El Carmen, 10101, Costa Rica

    we meet under the large, dome temple in Parque Morazan.

Start time

10:15 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

San Jose

2 hours Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 2 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos


66 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 66 reviews
A whole lot of nothing!
Ameya_P, Sep 2023
The tour operator didn’t not only “no-show” but also didn’t respond to any messages!! Luckily this trip was booked via Viator and they made a refund reversal..
Response from Host, Sep 2023
There was an error in the system and we did not have your tour noted. WE were the ones that issued the refund for your tour, not TripAdvisor. You are welcome :) safe travels.
Did not meet expectations
Jack_L, Feb 2023
While the tour guide was very nice, the content of the tour was mostly focused on architecture rather than understanding places to go and experience in San Jose. Even when asked about neighborhoods, cultural happenings, or places to go there was no real adaptation of the tour. Many of the buildings shown were abandoned. And if it were an architectural tour I would have expected more information about the architecture. Tour guide was younger and her English was ok but not great. Ultimately the tour was advertised as insider spots to learn about San Jose and it wasn't that.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
Hi Jack, thank you for your time and the feedback! We will follow up with the guide as it is an expectation to deliver on culture! - Safe travels, owner.
Very personal and informative tour!
Jol_W, Apr 2022
We did the tour with just the two of us. It was in fact a private tour. Our guide was very friendly and she knows everything about San José, the history, culture, etc. She made the tour personal. Thank you!
Response from Host, Apr 2022
We love that you had a great time! Our goal is always to show you the best San Jose - for you!
Great time!
John_M, Jul 2021
Angie was great! Very knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend to a first time visitor to San Jose
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Thank you for choosing us to learn about urban culture in San Jose!
Not interested neither interesting
Christine_M, Jan 2021
The guide never showed up and we were told that our booking was for the day before. We can take the blame, maybe we did book for the wrong day. But they never answered the phone number provided. And they never tried contacting us the previous day when our tour was supposedly booked for, never called, never emailed. When we asked for a compromise they flat out told us that they don’t make errors, our loss. Rude and unwilling to take care of their customers. Would absolutely not recommend.
Response from Host, Jan 2021
Christine booked the wrong date for the day that she wanted the tour. This was her booking error, she can see on the receipt the date she booked. She wanted us to offer her the tour on a different day without paying again. We pay our guides even when clients do not show up....this would have us losing money.
Christine_M, Jan 2021
Never showed up, never answered the phone calls, still waiting for a contact, a refund??? The lack of professionalism is absolutely disappointing in such a difficult time for tourism.
Response from Host, Jan 2021
Hello Christine, our tour guide was waiting for you. We recently discovered the TripAdvisor platform had changed the marker for our meeting point. It is now correct. As we did not hear from you we thought your plans had changed. My apologies. TA should refund you.
San Jose History Tour
Yan Y, Oct 2019
It was a great history learning experience to get to know San Jose. Lorena is very friendly a d for me snacks during the tour and provided great city sightseeing advice too. Highly recommended.
A perfect tour
Ellen H, Jul 2019
Alexandro was warm, knowledgeable, and interesting. Perhaps the best thing about the tour was how he customized it to meet our needs.
Highly Recommended
Wilhelmina_G, May 2019
Great tour! I went with my husband and 2year old. Very informative tour, comfortable, & fun. As a bonus our tour guide Alejandro was perfect. I highly value customer service and from booking our tour over the phone to our tour guide everyone was awesome, kind, and patient! Definitely a highlight of our trip.
Nice walk. Very interesting details...
Sally R, May 2017
Nice walk. Very interesting details that I would have missed otherwise. Sylvia was very knowledgable and pleasant. There were only five guests on the tour so it was very companionable. We were able to ask all questions and discuss some topics more deeply. All in all, highly recommended.
Silvia provided a very thorough...
Jenny_K, Feb 2017
Silvia provided a very thorough walking tour of San Jose on our first day in the city. She pointed out various historical, artistic and cultural sites while describing their importance to the growth and transition of the city over the years. She also gave us recommendations of other things to do and restaurants to visit during our stay. I highly recommend this experience!
As mentioned by previous reviewers...
Linda D, Mar 2016
As mentioned by previous reviewers, the tour was a friendly, chatty walkabout. Carla pointed out many interesting places and kept us amused with anecdotes about her own background. Pacing was easy for the group, and the coffee stop and lunch place were very well chosen. We even retraced the tour on our own a day or two later, and went to a concert at the theatre. Nice job! Thanks!
Pas sérieux du tout voire malhonnête
alain_d, Mar 2024
Nous avons attendu le guide pendant une 1/2 heureet nous ne l avons jamais vu, nous sommes retourné à notre hôtel pour avoir du WiFi, l agence nous indique qu il nous attend sous le chapiteau de la place, c était Impossible car sous le chapiteau accès interdit suite à des travaux Nous y retournons quand-même attendons encore 20 minutes et personne, et maintenant l agence ne nous a rien remboursé, pas sérieux de la part de viator !!!
Response from Host, Mar 2024
Our guide was waiting at the meeting point. We did our best to try and coordinate a meet up once client reached out but it was too late. We also offered this client another tour time. We do pay our guides regardless if clients show up and offered a refund beyond this cost, but TA system does not allow for partial refunds on the agency's side. We recommended client speak to TA directly. It is nearly impossible for the client to arrive at designated meeting point and the guide not find them, which leaves us to believe this client was somehow not in the right spot. We are always happy to be reasonable in terms of refund if this is the case. TA should allow us to issue partial refunds but it will need to go through them. Booking directly with us would eliminate this issue.
Yendri_V, Feb 2020
Muy agradecidas con Alejandro por la guía que tuvimos durante el recorrido. Fue una experiencia personalizada donde aprendimos de historia, arquitectura y un poco de gastronomía. Muy contentas con lo vivido y lo recomendamos a quién quiera adquirirlo.

From $35.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
San Jose: Insider Spots, City Highlights - small groups


2 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
San Jose Sightseeing City Tour


4 to 5 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do