Ensenada

Ensenada Shore Excursion: Blowhole and La Bufadora Tour with Horseback Riding

Ensenada, Mexico
Ensenada Shore Excursion Blow Hole and La Bufadora Tour with Horseback Riding

From $81.00

Price varies by group size

Select Date and Travelers

up to 3 days in advance

  • 5 hours
  • Pickup offered
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

When your cruise ship docks in Ensenada, see some of Ensenada's top attractions during a private 5-hour shore excursion. Ride horses on the beach, snap photos of the world's largest blowhole, go shopping for souvenirs, sip a Margarita in the bar where the popular drink was invented, and more. Includes round-trip transport and all activities.
  • Ride horses on the beach and see water shoot into the sky from La Bufadora blowhole
  • Browse the handicrafts for sale in downtown Ensenada
  • Visit the place that created the Margarita drink
  • Includes tranportation, activities, and port pickup and drop-off

What's Included

  • Transportation Cruiseport – Blowhole – Cruise Port
  • Horse back riding at La Jolla Beach
  • 1 ½ hrs visit to La Bufadora
  • 1 hour visit to Ensenada’s downtown area
  • Transportation back to Cruise Port
  • Local guide
  • Gratuities

Meeting and Pickup

Pickup point

  • Malecon De Ensenada
    Bahia Ensenada, 22880 Ensenada, B.C., Mexico

What To Expect

After pickup at the port, travel in a private air-conditioned vehicle to Playa La Joya.

At Playa La Joya, your horseback riding guide selects a gentle horse for your 30-minute horseback ride along the beach. Afterward, continue by car on to the world's largest ocean geyser: La Bufadora. The water can reach a height of 65 feet (20 meters) after waves crash into a cave that is located at the bottom of the cliff.

Watch the natural waterworks, then go shopping at stores that carry Mexican handicrafts. You can also sip a refreshing drink and watch artisans at work making paintings on dishes or abalone shells.

Return to Ensenada to visit the Cultural and Convention Center Riviera del Pacifico. Take a guided tour of the handsome historical building, which is known for its 1930´s California colonial architecture. 

Top off your tour at the bar where the famous Margarita drink was invented. Your tour ends after five hours with drop-off at the port.

Rivera del Pacifico

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

La Bufadora

1 hour Admission Ticket Free

Ensenada

4 hours Admission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 7 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • About horseback riding, maximum wieght accepted: 235 lbs (105 kgs)
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Operated by Top Private Tours

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 3 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 3 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 3 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 3 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more

Reviews

4.0
39 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews
A little disappointing
Andrea_C, Mar 2024
If you are looking for a driver to take you from point A to point B, this is it. Our driver dropped us off at horseback riding which only lasted about 40 mins. total. Then we headed to La Bufadora which he gave us an option of spending 1-1.5 hrs. and then back to the boat. We asked to stop in downtown and he did accommodate. No inside information or interesting facts were shared along the way. Not sure if the price justifies the "experience".
Brenda was great!
Sarah_R, Jul 2023
We weren't sure where to meet tour guide but they answered phone and guided us to the entrance gate where the taxi and other shuttle cars were waiting. Breand was holding a sign with my name and took us to our van that was just for our family and Fernando was the driver. Brenda told us all about the sights we saw along the way to the blow hole. Once we arrived she took us down the strip and showed us the ropes. We went horse back riding on the beach after. My 6 yr old was on a horse by herself and her horse did buck a couple times thankfully she had rides before and was holding on good but it did shake her a bit. The tour guide didn't let go of the kids horses so we knew he had control of then. Then they drove us around downtown before Brenda gave us trivia questions and handed out prizes to us. She was very thoughtful! Thank you for a great tour of Ensenada!
Yes! You should do it!
Jon_D, Jun 2023
What a great experience in Ensenada! Horseback riding on the beach was the highlight of our whole trip! The Bufadora is truly spectacular- and the Taco shop at the top of the hill was authentic and delicious!! Our driver was very responsive- at our request, he stopped at a strawberry farm and we bought the riposte strawberries we've ever had! YUM! Highly recommended this tour!
Individual service from Jorge, our experienced guide
Mayreen_B, May 2023
Jorge was our travel guide. He was ready and waiting for us when we got off our ship. The car was nice, clean, and comfortable. He was great at pointing out the sites as we drove to our destination. It was great having our own tour guide. He had a connection with the restaurant at La Bufadora and made sure we got a table and didn't have to wait in line. He literally cleared and got the table ready for us, made sure we got menus and he got our drinks for us. We felt lucky to have such specialized service. Jorge really looked out for us and made sure we had a great experience. If we could have Jorge as our tour guide on every tour we take anywhere in the world that would be awesome! The horse back riding was fun and the young men who helped guide horses were awesome. The restaurant he recommended was as great as he said it was. We feel like we got individual service and had a wonderful experience. I'm so glad we booked through Viator on not through the cruise company.
Great times - and great service from Jorge
Brad_Y, Apr 2023
We had a great tour with Jorge as our guide. Came off the Royal Caribbean cruise, got picked up right in front of the ship, and rode was comfortable. Jorge told us about everything we passed on the ride, and talked us through what to buy, hat to negotiate, and what to avoid. Horse riding was beautiful (even if one of them gave one of us a race…), and the shops and blowhole were really cool. Don’t miss the tacos at Lidia’s - AMAZING! Book with confidence.
First the driver was not...
Carrie_R, Apr 2023
First the driver was not where they said he would be so we were over a half hour late. Then hit A LOT of traffic so took almost an hour to reach horseback riding. The ride it self was nice with all the wildflowers and the ride on the beach. But way too short. The ride to the blowhole was very pretty. The blowhole itself was a dud. ( not the tours fault) the ride back was also very long. Returned to the dock with like less than 10 minutes to walk to ship. Felt I didn’t really get my monies worth.
Excellent
Mirna_E, Apr 2023
Best package in Ensenada, must do!very friendly people. The horses, buffadora and the Ensenada downtown is something you have to do,
Great service! Subpar experience.
Amanda_J, Apr 2023
Our tour guide met us right off the ship and was very knowledge and friendly. He spoke fluent English. The blowhole is underwhelming but the shopping and street tacos were amazing. The beach where we rode horses was pretty trashy.
Horseback riding and shopping!!
Sherri_K, Mar 2023
A super fun day!! Great guide for the riding and a great driver for the rest of the activities. The blow hole was pretty cool!
Very Disappointing. Would not recommend..
barbarapratum, Feb 2023
1. Not being able to find the tour guide after being given several contradictory directions from the tour company. 2. No English speaking tour guide even though booking indicated that our tour guide would speak English. 3. Expected to spend 1 hour in downtown Ensenada as advertised. We did not. Instead, we were steered to certain vendors at our stop at Bufadora. 4. Expected to ride the horses longer and without guides leading the horses.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
The guide did not speak English, by mistake, it is unacceptable. We have sent you a refund.
Best day of the whole trip
christina_k, Feb 2023
Jorge was theeee best . Very friendly And accommodating. My guide for the horses was also super loved the entire day except when I lost my bag with my things in it for a while … definitely would recommend
Our guide was awesome....
Renee_G, Feb 2023
Our guide was awesome. However, when we got to the horseback riding, they only had 2 horses, when I booked for 3 people. Very disappointing. When we got to the blow hole, it was cool to see, but all of the vendors on the way to the blow hole were aggressive and made my niece very uncomfortable. I understand that they need to make a living, but they were obnoxious and off putting.
Response from Host, Feb 2023
I can add that after the Blow hole we return to the horseback riding and you have many horses availables. We only changed the order of the itinerary. Thank you !!
Wonderful
Amy_L, Jan 2023
Riding horses on the beach was amazing. The blowhole was nice, but busy. We were surprised by the flea market. There were so many great foods and drinks to try. Our tour guide Yoshiro made it a very fun day.
Great shore excursion - highly recommend
Deanne_P, Jan 2023
We loved our Viator shore excursion. Our guide was great and the whole afternoon was wonderful. Our ship was late getting into port but our guide was waiting for us when we arrived. We loved the horseback riding and the tour to see the blowhole. I was a little leery about booking a tour not through the cruise ship but this tour gave me the confidence to do it in the future. The Viator app worked perfectly and I was able to get in touch with my tour guides when needed. Thank you so much for a memorable experience!
Horrible experience.
James_P, Jan 2023
Rude representative; bad instructions. We went to the place where the instructions said to meet and no one was there. Very frustrating.
Our driver didn't show...
Roy_M, Jan 2023
Our driver didn't show up. Luckily we found another driver that knew who to call. Another driver was called that took us to 2 of the 3 places we were supposed to go to.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
Yes, after the initial issue, it was a great tour. It´s important to read the meeting instructions. Thank you very much.
Great day excursion for a family!
Rachel_F, Dec 2022
Brenda and Arturo was so great and patient with us. We had a hard time finding the meeting spot so definitely need to clarify that and be more specific but other than that it was smooth. Even our little ones (3 & 5) enjoyed the horseback ride. I was worried it would be too short but it was beautiful and perfect. And la bufadora and the surrounding shopping area gave us the perfect taste of Ensenada we were looking for!
Ensenada horse back riding and La Bufadora
Anonymous, Nov 2022
Jorge picked us up at the cruise port with waters and snacks for everyone, made sure we were all comfortable and asked if there was anything we needed before we headed off. He part of what made the day even more enjoyable. The drive was beautiful and for first time horse riders, had leads if we wanted that made it easier to enjoy the ride. Great views and clean beach. La Bufadora would have been a bit hectic if not for our guide to make it simple and easier to navigate, with no hassle and VIP treatment. Would definitely book again, made our day in Ensenada the best part of our vacation!
Unforgettable day
Sara_E, Nov 2022
Our driver was awesome! The traffic was stop and go, not sure how he managed to keep his cool. However, this gave him time to help me secure a pinata for my daughter from one of the street vendors running through traffic. The flea market was a blast. SO vibrant with colors and people offering samples of drinks and food. Found some amazing jewelry and blankets. The horses were a bust, but that was our choice, not the vendor's. The Blowhole water feature was not as grand as I had hoped or seen in pictures. With the little bumps-Still give this day 9/10.
Quick beach horse photo op, dedicated van, good flea market & food, friendly guide, low pressure
Natalie_L, Oct 2022
Friendly guide who was available to answer questions and offered recommendations but not too much pressure. Very nice to have our own dedicated van and to have the freedom to decide when and where to go during the whole tour. Horses were extremely docile and well trained, knew exactly where to go and needed zero riding experience, looked healthy. Very basic and short ride but a good photo opportunity to be on horses on the beach! La Bufadora is fun to see but not hugely spectacular, lots of people crowding around the area but everyone was cooperating to allow everyone to trade in and out to get a good look. Worth doing, just don't expect awe. Along the path to the blowhole, lots of vendors with typical Mexican tourist fare, some sales pressure but not unbearable. Food was varied and good. Prices are reasonable but not super cheap. Be sure to bargain with the vendors.

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Ensenada Shore Excursion: Blowhole and La Bufadora Tour with Horseback Riding

37

5 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$81.00
No Photo
Private Horseback and La Bufadora Shore Excursion

41

4 to 5 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$84.00

Explore Similar Things to Do