San Diego

Haunted San Diego Ghost Tour

Badge of ExcellenceSan Diego, United States
Haunted San Diego Ghost Tour
  • 1 hour 55 minutes (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Hear spine-tingling stories about San Diego’s history and infamous residents during a ghost tour led by an entertaining guide. Visit five locations with supernatural tales behind their facades, and learn why San Diego is known as one of the most haunted cities in the west. You’ll join a small group that is limited to 14 people, traveling by bus and on foot.
  • See San Diego on foot and by bus
  • Combines history, humor, and hauntings
  • Small-group tour with a maximum of 14 people
  • Hear insightful commentary from the guide

What's Included

  • Haunted San Diego Ghost Tour
  • Experience the Ghost Coach, our Coffin on Wheels.
  • Historically Accurate Ghost Stories
  • Spooky and Haunted Locations
  • World-Class Storytellers and Trained Thespians
  • Disembark at All Locations and Enter the Majority of Them
  • Intimate Tour with Limited Seats
  • Due to our bus size and the older nature of our locations we are not wheel chair accessible. If you have a member with ambulatory challenges, please call us (619.255.6170) to go over it.
  • Children under 10 are not recommended. If you have a child under 10, please call us (619.255.6170) to make sure this is a good fit.

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 2415 San Diego Ave
    2415 San Diego Ave, San Diego, CA 92110, USA

    Old Town Corral Plaza - 2415 San Diego Ave, San Diego, CA 92110 Directions: Tour departs from Old Town Corral Plaza (across the street from the Cemetery, next to the Mermaid Store and the cowboy figures in the plaza). Please arrive 20 minutes before your tour time and use the bathroom before.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Meet up with your small group, limited to just 14 people, and allow your guide to introduce you to haunted San Diego.

Travel by bus and on foot, arriving at your first of five eerie locations. Immerse yourself in the history that has earned San Diego its reputation as one of the most haunted cities in the west.

As you continue moving to various locations, enjoy hearing stories, jokes, and commentary from your guide. Walk through each destination and learn about infamous residents of the city.

Return back to your starting point after both getting your steps in and getting spooked during the experience.

Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Horton Grand Hotel

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Included

Villa Montezuma Museum

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Whaley House Museum

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

El Campo Santo Cemetery

10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Our Haunted Guided Tour is small and intimate. We have only 14 seats available per tour. As such we require at least 8 people/ghost hunter in our to run. If for some reason it looks like the tour will not go (this is rare but does occasionally happen), we will personally call you with a tour update 2-3 hours before your tour is set to go. If your tour does not go, again very rare, we will refund you or move you to another date. Feel free to call (619.255.6170) us or email us with any questions or if you just want an update on how many have signed up so far. If we don't pick up immediately we will get back to you shortly.
  • Please make sure to be at the plaza 15 minutes before you tour embarks. We operate out of and pick you up from Plaza Guanajuato | 2415 San Diego Ave, San Diego, CA 92110. It is the plaza across the street and down a store front from the Old Town Graveyard (El Campo Santo Graveyard official name). You'll see our purple bus.
  • Service animals allowed
  • Please make sure to use the bathroom before your tour. You will be going to historic locations which have no bathroom access, and your party definitely should use the bathroom before joining us. Bathrooms can be found in the neighboring restaurants and businesses. There is a public restroom at the back of Cafe Coyote a block away. Just walk to the very back of their plaza.
  • Near public transportation
  • If you are driving, please show up early to get parking.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Service animals are allowed provided they are small and do not disturb the other attendees. If you have a larger animal like a German Sheppard you would need to purchase an additional seat and may not be able to enter some of the locations as there are antique and very valuable, fragile historic artifacts in them.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 4 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Reviews

4.5
400 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 400 reviews
Overall a fun time....
Michael_K, Feb 2024
Overall a fun time. Josephine the host / tour guide was very engaging and quite funny. Not an overly scary tour but fun to see some behind the scenes history of frights in san diego.
Fun and exciting
Joseph_L, Feb 2024
This was a fun and informative tour. Cowboy Pete definitely made this enjoyable. You will not be disappointed.
Would have liked to gone on this but…
Mark_B, Feb 2024
Tour was cancelled just a few hours prior. Was looking forward but tour operator could not find another guide.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Good day Mark Bur.. We recently faced an unexpected situation where our host tested positive for COVID-19, shortly after their roommate received a positive diagnosis. Despite our efforts, finding a replacement host on Super Bowl Sunday proved impossible, which is a rarity for us as we usually manage to find substitutes when someone falls ill. We understand the inconvenience this has caused you, and it's clear from your review that you're extremely displeased. I can only read the harshness of the rating meaning that the tour should have gone suggesting that we should have proceeded with the tour despite the host's illness. We've noted similar sentiments from others; however, we prioritize safety above all. Conducting the tour with a contagious host not only poses a health risk but also legal ramifications for endangering our group, which we cannot ignore. Your dissatisfaction and the resulting review have taken us by surprise, especially considering our previous friendly exchanges via text. Given the severity of your review and rating, clearly aiming to put us out of business, and believing firmly that we made the responsible decision for everyone's safety, we feel compelled to take further action. We will be submitting your review, alongside the details of the events and our text conversations, to an industry database. This will allow them to assess the fairness of your review and potentially flag it for other service providers to consider. We regret that it has come to this, as we always aim for our tours to be enjoyable and safe for everyone involved. We would have much rather toured that night. Your feedback is important to us, and we take such measures with a heavy heart, but we must stand by our commitment to safety and legality.
Josephine was a wonderful...
Kris_H, Feb 2024
Josephine was a wonderful host. Informative and fun. We really enjoyed the Villa Montezuma and the Whaley house. This was the first Ghost tour we have done and it was fantastic.
Cowboy Pete made this not only Fun but Spooky
Yany_c, Feb 2024
From the time you get on the bus the decor sets the tone to what is about to come. Cowboy Pete made the entire experience to die for. He remained in character the entire time. The places we went to had a ton amount of history. The narration and history was phenomenal. Our driver kept us save at all times. Finishing at the cemetery really did it for me. Afterwards looking at some of our videos we did find some paranormal activities that we could not explain.
A good end to a stressful day
Anastasia_S, Jan 2024
During some holiday traveling, I had 1 day to spend in San Diego. I did a few other activities, but this was by far my favorite, even with it being the end of the day and tired. Got to see some very interesting places with lots of history and spirits, and walking was at a minimum due to having the ghost trolley, great driver too, to get us from place to place.
The last hotel in Gas...
Lisa_M, Dec 2023
The last hotel in Gas Lamp, interested in the hotel room that is haunted. very comfortable seats on the bus
Like the history of the...
David_M, Nov 2023
Like the history of the area and the info of the place we went. Cowboy Pete was fun and interactive.
Very good
Christina_R, Nov 2023
Tour guide was excellent. He stayed in character the whole time all the stories he told were great. He was funny and fun
Amazing
Anahi_C, Nov 2023
Omg we loved are tour he was very fun and made it very interesting even though was raining before we started he reassure us going to be amazing thank god stop raining though but was so much fun.
Great experience with an amazing tour guide.
Daniel_P, Nov 2023
Daunte was amazing. Highly informative and great locations visited. This is the only Ghost your you should book.
Great Tour
James_C, Oct 2023
Our tour guide was incredible and great at storytelling. Incredibly knowledgeable about the area and all the locations we went to.
I have lived in San Diego...
Cindy_D, Oct 2023
I have lived in San Diego all my life, We visited places that I did not know existed. It was fun, informative and historical. Our tour guide was funny and animated. I would recommend this tour to visitors and well as San Diego residents.
Archie was very...
Diane_H, Oct 2023
Archie was very informative and engaging. He had great information at each stop and gave us plenty of time to explore
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thanks. I will pass this on to Archie. Deep gratitude - Brian
Fantastic
Todd_P, Oct 2023
Lots of great info and Rosalina was awesome. She really sold the experience and knew her stuff. I’d recommend this to all my friends and family
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thanks Todd :) After responding to that last review Rosalinda really appreciates it. Deep gratitude.
Great story teller but didn’t recognize needs of older folks in group.
Lori_A, Sep 2023
The tour guide was a great story teller and knew the part well but there was no interaction with guests. Our group had older folks in it and they were not offered a place to sit during presentations that were a bit long.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Good day, Lori Akle... I'm truly sorry to hear that your experience was less than optimal. Typically, Rosalinda receives positive feedback. See the reviews before and after this for examples. Our marketing and onboarding materials emphasize the physical aspects of the tour. I genuinely attempt to deter individuals who might find the physicality challenging. Physicality: Please note that participants get on and off the bus at every stop to interact with each location. This involves ascending and descending bus steps. Some locations have stairs, and there's standing and moving at every stop. The walk spans approximately four city blocks, excluding the distance to the meeting point. The tour requires a degree of physical exertion. You'll spend roughly a third of the two-hour tour on the bus, which is traditionally considered a break, since you get on the bus between most stops. If you require more downtime, this tour might not be the best fit. The only location with additional seating is the patio at the Davis-Horton house. Rosalinda mentioned she offered this seating option that evening. She cannot offer seating at other locations as they contain period-piece decorations meant for preservation. These antiques are intrinsic to the site's history and aren't meant for general use. Interaction: There's an abundance of content for our hosts to cover—a multitude of stories. While Rosalinda does accommodate questions periodically, she and other hosts might not pose them frequently. Extensive Q&A sessions can be prolonged, potentially monopolized by one participant, meaning that they then have to shorten or cut stories out all together. This affects everyone else's experience. Given the constraints of time, complaints arise if the tour exceeds two hours. Most guests anticipate a tour lasting around an hour and forty-five minutes. Hence, our hosts are always mindful of the duration. Rosalinda mentioned she provided an extended Q&A opportunity inside the Davis-Horton house. However, she noted that it wasn't fully utilized by your group. I'll convey your feedback to our director for further consideration. For anyone reading this, please recognize that our tour might not cater to all. We offer a satisfaction guarantee for those who communicate with us directly, providing insights on their experience and suggesting improvements. We're committed to excellence. As one of the last two remaining local tours in San Diego, achieving the pinnacle of success remains our priority.
Fun time for the family
Todd_N, Sep 2023
Rosalinda was fantastic! She was very entertaining as she recounted the ghost stories of old San Diego, and it was fun to be able to get inside a few of the haunted sites of the city after hours. My entire family enjoyed it, and it wasn't too scary for my 10-year-old. Thanks for adding another positive experience to our family vacation.
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thank - deepest gratitude. :) Passing this on.
Best haunted tour ever!!!
Jackie_B, Sep 2023
Josephine was amazing!!! She not only took us on a tour of haunted places she kept us entertained and enthralled the entire time. Best tour in San Diego!!!!
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Thanks Jackie love your enthusiasm!! You rock!!!! Big smile. :))
Canceled one hour before
vanessa_q, Sep 2023
Canceled one hour before! Said this only happens once a year which is probably a lie. Super disappointed!
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Good day Vanessa Q - when our driver got to the yard right before the tour, the bus would not start, and he could not get it to. We can not take you on a bus tour without a bus. Something random like this seems to happen about once a year, maybe twice. Last year, a tree fell and caused a closure and blockage. Little acts of god, and I am happy nothing happened when the tour was going. I am so thankful. Calling me a liar does not make that untrue. I do hope you find joy in kicking someone when they are down review; at least there is that. We are the small business local tour in San Diego run by actual San Diegans, and we can not afford multiple buses. Insurance is insane. It was a complete disaster and absolute stress for us, the worst night this year, and I am sorry you were involved. Anyone reading this, please understand that life sometimes happens and can prevent a tour. It is hyper-rare, but it can happen. Please, please only take our tour if you have the capacity for forgiveness if life happens. Gratitude - Brian This is the text that was sent when I found out. "Good day - Brian from the ghost tour. Unfortunately, we are expeiening a terrible night. This happens about once a year and unfortunately it is tonight. Ugly - no go tonight. I am so sorry for the late text. Our driver is at the yard with the bus and we recently had repairs done. Something must have happen as it will not start. Even if we can get it to start at this point it would be illegal and dangerous to take you all out tonight. I do not have a replacement. There are no other options with us tonight. The competitors we do like are Michael Brown (Old Towns Most Haunted is his website). Ghost and Gravestones is also good. Other competitors are out-of-town companies that have no roots in San Diego and do not tell the history truthfully. I would go with one of the two I mentioned here. I so sorry for this miss and mess. I like to think we will have this fixed and going tomorrow so if you are interested in tomorrow do reach out to me. We are getting fully refunded with our apologies. If you do come back to town at a later date - reach out to me directly and remind me of this horrible night and I will get you a personal discount. Appreciate you all, - Brian
An absolute spooky experience
Meredith_F, Sep 2023
Josephine was absolutely magnificent!! She brought so much energy as she guided the tour. The “coffin driver” (I think his name was Mike) was superb. I would take this tour a million times over. There are not enough stars to rate how much I loved this experience!!
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Awesome Meredith - thank you. I will pass this on to both of them and thank you for calling out Mike. Gratitude.
...

From $58.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Haunted San Diego Ghost Tour

395

1 hour 55 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$58.00
No Photo
San Diego Ghost Tours

0

45 minutes to 1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$25.00
No Photo
Paranormal Investigation History & Ghost Tour Old Town San Diego

0

1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$55.00
No Photo
San Diego Tour

49

3 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$159.00

Explore Similar Things to Do