San Diego

San Diego Scenic Tour

Badge of ExcellenceSan Diego, USA
San Diego Scenic Tour
  • 4 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

In just four hours, experience the scenic highlights of San Diego and its neighboring areas. Watch sea lions and pelicans on the beaches of La Jolla and capture fantastic views from the top of Mt Soledad. Soak up the Old World elegance of the mansions and Hotel Del on Coronado Island, and find peace in the urban oasis of Balboa Park. Wind through downtown and Old Town San Diego, learning about the city’s history along the way. Enjoy personalized attention on this small-group tour limited to just 14 people.
  • 4-hour sightseeing tour of San Diego and surrounding areas
  • See San Diego’s Little Italy, Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park and the Midway aircraft carrier
  • Learn about Old Town San Diego, considered the birthplace of California
  • Admire the beautiful beaches of La Jolla
  • Gaze at the historic Hotel del Coronado
  • Snacks included!

What's Included

  • Bottled water
  • Snacks
  • Driver/guide
  • Gratuities

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 500 W Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101, USA

    9.30AM: In front of The Guild Hotel (500 W. Broadway, 92101) . It's at the corner of Broadway & India street. There is a US Bank right next to it

Start time

09:30 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Your tour starts and ends on W Broadway at an easy-to-find meeting spot. From here you’ll be on your way to see some of the best spots in San Diego, hear about the city’s history, and learn some insider tips, too.

You’ll pass through Little Italy and hear about its history, and maybe a few culinary hotspots, too. Next you’ll visit the sea lions and pelicans who call La Jolla Cove their home. After around 20 minutes here, you’ll head out to see some awesome views at Mt. Soledad National Veterans Memorial.

You’ll also stop in Old Town to hear about Hispanic culture in the area, and then head to Balboa Park to check out the architecture. Each of these stops is around 25 minutes. Following this, you’ll head to the quaint Coronado Island to walk the beach. On the way back to your meeting spot, you’ll pass through the Gaslamp Quarter- a lively part of the city.

Little Italy (Pass By)

La Jolla Cove

20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Mt. Soledad National Veterans Memorial

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Old Town San Diego State Historic Park

25 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Balboa Park

25 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Coronado Island

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Gaslamp Quarter (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Infant meals not included
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
Operated by San Diego Ride Tours

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more

Reviews

4.5
456 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 456 reviews
First Time Visitor to San Diego
James_d, Apr 2024
Our tour guide, Roxane, was very knowledgeable and friendly. I recommend this tour for any first time visitors to San Diego.
Do this if you only have 1/2 a day .
Nigel_W, Apr 2024
Good tour with Roxane in her black van! Just right if you only have 1/2 day to spare.We found there was enough time at each stop to do the sight.
Overview of San Diego in four hours
andersoncl2002, Mar 2024
Terrific introduction to San Diego, overview and time in five locations. Guide Roxanne full of tips and advice for getting the most out of our stay — dining, best times for various sights and sites, parking, other transportation, museum experiences, beaches and views. All in all, the best way for time visitors to learn of the area. Tour of 7 and all of us on time at each stop/pickup — hooray!
Worth It!
Rebecca_C, Feb 2024
Roxane was an EXCELLENT tour guide! It was my first time in San Diego and this tour was a great way for me to see A LOT! I highly recommend this tour!
Great tour
Sarah_M, Feb 2024
Ron was a nice tour guide, and the tour offered a lot of fun stops. We enjoyed seeing many of the different areas of the city. I wished the guide was more knowledgeable about the history of some of the sights, we only got about 2 sentences about each location.
Nice for raining day
Robert_F, Feb 2024
Just looking w the surrounding area. The narrator supplied a good ongoing information. Could be better if restroom were open.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Hi Robert, thank you for your feedback, and I’m sorry if some restrooms were closed at some stops? It’s completely out of our control. But glad you enjoy the tour overall. If there is anything I can do to make your experience better, please feel free to reach out. Thank you
Good but disappointed given the cost
Ingrid_G, Jan 2024
It was a useful overview of what San Diego has to offer, however the information we received was not accurate, for example museums are free in Balboa Park on Tuesday, in fact a lot of them are shut! . Our guide was personable & his commentary between each location was good however in the locations we were left to our own devices.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Hello Ingrid, thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry you didn’t fully enjoyed the tour. However your tour guide gave you the right information. Museums are free on Tuesday only for San Diegan residents. So unless you live here, you do have to pay. And if some of them were closed, it’s completely out of our control. If there is anything I can do to make your experience better, please feel free to contact me. Thank you
Great tour of San Diego!
Jocelyn_V, Jan 2024
Roxanne’s very knowledgeable , thorough & pleasant☺️ Good overview of the city & it’s major highlights!
Xmas trip
Omaawattie_A, Dec 2023
Great trip am having a good insight off San Diego wish the time was more it’s limited time but my tour guy is awesome
No empathy
Spurgeon_S, Nov 2023
We didn’t get to do our San Diego tour because our ship got in late and we had clear customs and that didn’t happened until 12:45 PM. We messaged and/or text the company when we found out but they didn’t get our message until the day of the tour. That was the only tour that day so could not get a refund. Almost $200.00. It was not a good experience.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Hello, thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry that your ship was late and you had to clear customs, but we texted you the day before the tour and you had a cell phone number you could have had contacted, but you never did. You finally reached out 2h before the tour, to let us know you won’t be able to make it. As a result we told you, we couldn’t get a refund as we have a 24h cancellation policy, but we told you that we will honor your tickets next time you come San Diego! Thank you
Worth the money
Kathleen_D, Nov 2023
Covered a lot of areas, great tour guide and wished more time was allocated to Olde Town (barely had enough time to walk the entire street). And… Drop you off at the lobby for the Coronado hotel rather than walking along the beach or have pick up at lobby. One couple in our group, could not walk in the allocated time. I understand you are trying to cover multiple areas but w the botanical garden down at Balboa Park, could allocate more time to other areas. :-) Got a great flavor of areas to check out and some history of the towns was sweet too. Loved the snack and water was provided. :-)
A very nice tour
Susan_S, Nov 2023
Roxanne was an excellent tour guide. The Hotel del Coronado was a memorable stop… also La Jolla- Mt Soledad and Old Town.
Best tour offered!
Margaret_S, Nov 2023
Clean comfortable transport. Knowledgeable guide Roxanne. All drop points were clean, safe, and each was unique.
Overall, it’s a okay trip.
xiaofang_s, Oct 2023
The tour was good for someone who’s first time visitor to San Diego and who’s short of time. Our guide, Rosane, was very good. But overall it felt a rush journey, with no time to see/enjoy the scenery (after spending time in line for using the bathroom). Also, the program ads and Viator confirmation info mentioned “lunch” and/or “food tasting”, while no such things included. It’s misleading.
San Diego Tour
Lloyd_M, Oct 2023
Overall was a good tour. Unfortunately weather was foggy at the beaches but the rest of tour was good. Tour guide was knowledgeable but could engage with her customers more
This San Diego Scenic Tour was average...
Anna_E, Oct 2023
This San Diego Scenic Tour was average. Tour guide was excited and informative. There were stops that were just ok and then there were stops that were awesome to see and would have liked to have more time there. I think I ended up comparing San Francisco and San Diego. San Diego definitely has beautiful beaches, though San Francisco has a ton more areas of interest.
Too much in a short time
jainramb, Oct 2023
Not much fun. Rushing thru every thing. If I have to do it aga9n I will look for a longer tour That is it
Response from Host, Oct 2023
Hello Ram, I’m sorry you didn’t fully enjoy the tour. It is designed to show you all the highlights of San Diego, so you could go back to the places that you liked. On the tour description we give the exact time that you will spend at each location, so you know in advance how much time you will get. If there is anything that we can do to make your experience better, let me know. Thank you
Excellent tour guide and itinerary!
Sthephan_H, Oct 2023
Roxanne was our driver for the day and she had outstanding energy and knew a lot about San Diego. She went above and beyond to tell us all about the city, local facts and fun stories about her experience living in San Diego. I highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to get to know the city highlights.
Worth the money
Domenica_P, Oct 2023
Our tour guide Roxanne was great. We very much enjoyed our tour. We highly recommend it for an overview of San Diego.
This is the one must do tour for San Diego!
Alan_D, Oct 2023
Great tour with Roxanne super guide, probably the best city tour I have ever experienced. We had never been to San Diego before but this tour was a superb introduction Roxanne managed to pack in so much and still allow us to explore major stops enough we would never have got to La Jolla, Mount Soledad, or Coronado on our own. If you only do one thing in San Diego THIS IS IT. Four hours plus very well spent worth every penny.
...

From $85.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
San Diego Scenic Tour

456

4 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$85.00
No Photo
All Day San Diego Scenic Tour

4

7 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$125.00
No Photo
North Park Beerucation Tour

90

3 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$85.00
No Photo
San Diego City Lights Night Tour

94

1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$46.00

Explore Similar Things to Do