Big Island of Hawaii

Kona Haunted Hele ghost tour

Big Island of Hawaii, USA
Kona Haunted Hele ghost tour
  • 1 hour 30 minutes to 2 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Discover the dark side of Kailua-Kona as you explore the town by night. With this guided walking tour, explore the haunted houses and spooky sites along Ali'i Drive, visit little-known landmarks such as Hulihe'e Palace and Mokuaikaua Church, and hear stories about Hawaiian kings, gods, and luakini heiau (sacrificial temples).
  • Soak up the atmosphere after dark on an evening walking tour
  • Escape the crowds and visit little-known sites and landmarks
  • Convenient central meeting point in downtown Kona
  • Personalized small-group experience with a maximum of 10 people

What's Included

  • Professional guides

    Meeting and Pickup

    Meeting point

    • Big Island Ghost Tours
      75-5744 Ali‘i Dr, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA

      We gather and begin the tour at the Big Island Ghost Tours shop inside the Kona Inn Shopping Village (75-5744 Alii Drive, Suite #63, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740) across from Rokoff Gallery.

    End point

    • Kailua Pier
      Kaahumanu Pl, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA

      The tour will conclude at the Kailua Pier across from the King Kamehameha Kona Beach Hotel.

    What To Expect

    Kona Inn Shopping Village

    15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

    Hulihe'e Palace

    10 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

    Mokuaikaua Church

    10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

    Ahuena Heiau

    15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

    Kamakahonu Beach

    30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

    Kailua Pier

    20 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more
    Featured review
    Julie_G
    Loved hearing all the history in Kona in spots you would never know happened. Very informative and unique.

    Reviews

    4.5
    87 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews
    Fun history facts
    Julie_G, Apr 2024
    Loved hearing all the history in Kona in spots you would never know happened. Very informative and unique.
    Exceptional tour!
    Stephanie_B, Mar 2024
    Jenna was our tour guide and she was exceptional!!! We learned so much about the history of the island. Things are present that you walk by and don't even know. I highly rate this excursion.
    It was just ok. Our guides tablet died before the end of the tour. She did not have a lot of enthusiasm.
    Christina_C, Feb 2024
    We enjoyed hearing about the little girl that was washed away at the seawall, and we did get some orbs in our photos
    Rain cancelation
    Rebecca_a, Jan 2024
    The tour started out great but was stopped after 30 min due to rain . The tour guide was amazing and very informative.
    Great experience!
    Marc_M, Nov 2023
    Great experience! Zach is a very knowledgeable guide and had many interesting photos from previous tours.
    Awesome unique experience
    DoHyun_K, Oct 2023
    Had an awesome experience on the second day of my trip. Learned a lot about the island's historical background. Zach was super nice and really knew his stuff. I'd definitely be up for another tour!
    I enjoyed everything....
    Adrienne_O, Aug 2023
    I enjoyed everything. Guide was knowledgeable and allowed our group to explore throughout the entire tour. The sights are amazing.
    Thrilling and a little spooky.
    Crystal_V, Aug 2023
    The guide was very informative and engaging. Made the landscape feel alive. This photo looks to have a shadow ghost in it, right next to the emf detector.
    Great Tour!
    Emily_C, Jul 2023
    The background history and story telling was amazing. Everyone was included in the journey and investigation. One of the best tours in Kona for history. The whole family loved it!
    Rich History and Ghost stories
    Angela_N, Jul 2023
    Great tour and knowledgeable guide Zac, we all had fun hearing about rich history of the island. Bonus: Also includes signed book.
    Tour name misrepresented
    Gina_L, Mar 2023
    This is really a history tour done at night with a bit of ghost stories. Lady was nice but hard to hear and was not able to keep crowd entertained which would have been good since it was not truly a "ghost" tour.
    One of the BEST ghost tours we've ever been on
    Mustafa_R, Jan 2023
    One of the best ghost tours we've been on, and we've been on close to a dozen across numerous cities. Our guide was fantastic. He was informative and really knew the region. It was a great mix of history and paranormal exploration.
    So So not really exciting
    Linda_S, Nov 2022
    The history was interesting. I think our guide was trying to hard to make the paranormal more believable. Nothing happened on our tour so he was desperate to make us believe in hauntings.
    A very fun night!!
    Maria_P, Sep 2022
    All the historical information was very interesting and the videos and pictures that the guide showed us were fun to see!
    Zach is an excellent...
    Lisa_C, Sep 2022
    Zach is an excellent guide and is extremely knowledgeable about Hawaiian history and folklore. Our tour gave us an amazing educational and fun-filled evening visiting historical sites that came alive in his gifted storytelling and personal experiences.
    Good spooky 👻
    Olga_B, Jul 2022
    It was interesting and insightful. Lots of history and legends were told. Recommending to anyone who likes spooky stuff
    A fun paranormal tour
    Shelby_R, Jul 2022
    The best way to experience some history in Kona. Zack was an incredible tour guide and made our night fun and informative. We might have even seen something…
    SPOOKY
    Augustine_B, Jul 2022
    Experience very educational Fun Spooky!! Tour ZAKE GREAT would do again to see uf any thing new Tour of hotels & Churches history of town.
    The experience was very...
    Valarie_M, Jun 2022
    The experience was very disappointing. We spent an hour standing in a lighted parking lot with the narraitor talking but we couldn't hear him. We didn't finish the tour. We have requested a refund.
    Uninteresting and disappointing
    Diana_L, Jun 2022
    This is a tour of Zach's supposed experiences with the supernatural on ohter ghost tours. There is little of interest in his stories of moving beer bottles and suspicious shadows. Worst of all, he had a companion surreptitiously take photos of our group of minors and proceded to use those photos to promote himself on social media. The young ladies involved were completely creeped out and felt violated.
    Response from Host, Jun 2022
    We appreciate your participation and wish you would have notified us sooner (during the tour) about the alleged photos you mention. The ‘companion’ you mention is our backup tour guide and he saw a nice photo moment with the historical bay and heiau in the background. It was not done surreptitiously as you’ve suggested and it’s since been removed from our fan page. Despite your claim, the guests in the photo appear to be having a great time.

    From $49.00

    -You will not receive a refund if you cancel.

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    Current
    No Photo
    Kona Haunted Hele ghost tour

    87

    2 hours
    Free Cancellation
    From
    $49.00
    Special Offer
    No Photo
    Kailua-Kona Haunted History Walking Ghost Tour

    0

    2 hours
    Free Cancellation
    From
    $59.00
    $47.20
    No Photo
    Hilo Town Haunts Ghost Walk Tour

    0

    1 hour 30 minutes
    Free Cancellation
    From
    $49.00
    No Photo
    Hawaiian Salt Farm Tour Kona

    401

    1 hour
    Free Cancellation
    From
    $27.00

    Explore Similar Things to Do