Montepulciano: Wine Tasting & Lunch in a typical winery

Montepulciano, Italy
Montepulciano Wine Tasting and Lunch in a typical winery

From $59.74

Select Date and Travelers

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

  • 1 hour 30 minutes
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Combine a sommelier-led wine tasting with a traditional Tuscan lunch during this gourmet Montepulciano excursion. Sample four local wines paired with regional products from within an authentic, centuries-old underground wine cellar. Then, sit down to a two-course Italian meal of cold cuts, cheeses, and fresh pasta, with vegetarian options available.
  • A Tuscan wine tasting and traditional lunch combo tour
  • Learn the ins and outs of local wine production from an expert sommelier
  • Listen to in-depth commentary as you sample four regional wine varieties
  • Dig into a tasty, traditional lunch made up of fresh, locally sourced products

Sample Menu


Selection of cold cuts & cheeses


Example of main dishes according to seasonality

Lasagna, Cannelloni, Ribollita, Pappa al Pomodoro, etc.

What's Included

  • Winery Tour
  • Professional Sommelier
  • Wine tasting
  • Lunch
  • Food & drinks
  • Gratuities (optional)
  • Pick-up/Drop-off hotel
  • Extras

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • Via Talosa, 8, 53045 Montepulciano SI, Italy

    Please arrive at least 10 minutes prior starting time. Meeting point: Talosa Cantina Storica (at the Wine Shop in Via Talosa 8 - 53045 Montepulciano)

Start time

01:00 PM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Wheelchairs
  • People with impaired mobility
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
What a wonderfully unique experience! The winery below street level was so amazing. Barbara, our guide was knowledgeable and fun. We enjoyed learning about wine production and tasting the differences. Lasagna lunch was excellent too.


31 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews
Michael_K, Sep 2023
Great wine tasting experience, very good wines. Amazing wine tunnels. Very knowledgeable sommelier. Highly recommend
Diane_S, Sep 2023
History and quality of wines and food We’re absolutely wonderful and the experience was memorable I would recommend this tour to all my friends
Don’t waste your money
rhodejl72, Aug 2023
Tour guide Nicola could not have been more disinterested in leading the tour. There are many free wine tasting options in Montepulciano and you can have a fantastic lunch at most any restaurant with a full bottle of wine for much less than the cost of this tour. I don’t like giving negative reviews, but don’t waste your money on this tour.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear rhodejl72 We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our experience, as other previous 5* guests. The winery is an historical place, with Ethruscan thumbs. You have tasted the wines produced by the winery and you had lunch as per tour descriptions. Montepulciano is full of free wine tastings and you are free to choose is pay or not to have those tastings. Obviously, is pretty different tasting 4 types of wine during lunch in comparison with having just one bottle at the restaurant. This is the main difference between wine tasting and drinking wine. Anyhow, we'd like to hear better from you about what happened during the wine tasting & lunch. You can write us an email at to better explain what was the issue. Best regards, IHE Team
Unique Tuscan experience!
Susan_Z, May 2023
What a wonderfully unique experience! The winery below street level was so amazing. Barbara, our guide was knowledgeable and fun. We enjoyed learning about wine production and tasting the differences. Lasagna lunch was excellent too.
Wine tasting with lunch in the cellars of old Montepulciano
Sheena_S, Jan 2023
Amazing , organized experience in the cellars in old Montepulciano where the wines for the winery are stored in massive barrels. Nice food, and they were able to accommodate 3 of my family who are gluten free. Luigi gave a great explanination of the superior wines served to us. Would recommend you give your self extra time to get parking!
Enjoyable tour and tasting
Lisa_B, Oct 2022
The winery is in the old city of Montepulciano, with an interesting history and a lot of steps (of course). Our guide, Luigi, was friendly, knowledgeable and spoke English well. He helped make the tasting for my partner and three adult children educational and special! We tasted four wines, and enjoyed each one.
Tour of the cellar with a...
Thomas_S, Oct 2022
Tour of the cellar with a sommelier and wine tasting and lunch at the end, the wines were all good and the lasagna was amazing!
Wine tasting in Montepulciano
Briana_R, Oct 2022
We enjoied the wine tasting and the sommelier, however there were 50+ people on this tour. Made it difficult to hear and see. We would have prefered a smaller group. It would be helpful to have a discription of how many people would be in on a tour to set the expectation.
Great wine tasting and lunch 😁
Henrik_K, Jul 2022
Good wine, good host and a beautful wine celler. Easy information about the wine. Very small group of peoole so easy to ask questions and small talk. Recommand! 😊
Richard_S, Jul 2022
The hostess. She was so knowledgeable and friendly. She brought the winery to life!!! Give her a big raise!!!!!
A bad experience, stay away to avoid getting cheated.
Atiqur_R, Jul 2022
The staff behaviour was lacking in courtesy with distinct hints of racism. No welcoming words; instead questions on why we were there made the start unpleasant. We wondered too; what we were there. Not more than 2-3 ozs of wine for each, a few slices of salumi, and a piece of stale lasagna each was all that they offered for our 51 euro each and a much hyped wine testing cum dinner. There was no other customer, except one other family. The place was no attracting crowds.
Response from Host, Jul 2022
Dear Atiqur_R, We are sorry to hear you had such a bad experience in comparison with our previous 4* & 5* guests reviews. It is quite strange for us to read a review like yours, as you can see, many other people found out this tour a 4* & 5* ones. Anyhow, we’re very sorry if the lasagna was not as hotter as you wanted. We already apologized for that the day of the experience. Furthermore your statement of "The staff behaviour was lacking in courtesy with distinct hints of racism" is pretty offending and defamatory. It seems that the information you wrote in your complaint are false. Firstly, You stayed more than 30 minutes inside the wine shop with our colleague talking about the story of your life. If you were so unsatisfied, why when our colleague asked to you and your family is everything was fine, you replied “YES” and you said that the wines you tasted were delicious? Anyhow, if you'd like to clarify us better the previous points, please write us to Have a nice time in Italy Best regards Italy Hidden Experiences Team
An amazing experience!
heather_T, Jun 2022
We enjoyed very much learning about the wines of Montepulciano with our amazing hostess. She was knowledgeable, kind and funny! And the location is stunning!
So so experience
GeorgeWayne_E, May 2022
We have taken many Viator tours over the years and have always been very pleased, but this tour was not up to Viator standards. It was average at best. It started 15-20 minutes late, and while the wine cellar tour was interesting and informative, the wine tasting and lunch were disappointing. It seemed that everyone else took priority over our group- the staff was too busy with other people to properly handle our tour, so we waited. Perhaps they were short staffed.
Amazing space for tasting and lunch
Lisa_C, Apr 2022
The contrast of ancient and modern was gorgeous! Wines delicious. Barbara was a great guide, we had a great time.
Non consigliabile
mauro_d, Oct 2022
Prezzi vini fuori mercato. Prezzo degustazione per quello che abbiamo mangiato e bevuto fuori mercato. Mescita vini con anti goccia in plastica liso (!)
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Cara mauro_d, Siamo spiacenti di apprendere che hai avuto un'esperienza così negativa rispetto alle nostre precedenti recensioni di ospiti 5*. Abbiamo esaminato a fondo il tuo reclamo e vorremmo chiarire alcuni punti: - Avete acquistato una visita in cantina con degustazione e pranzo. L'esperienza include, oltre alla visita in cantina, degustazione di 4 vini locali, antipasto con affettati e pecorino locale, oltre ad un primo piatto. Il prezzo ci pare corretto ed in linea con il mercato, se tenete conto di tutto ciò che vi è stato offerto. - "Avete mangiato e bevuto fuori mercato": dove esattamente pensavate di andare? In un posto con formula all you can eat? Vi ricordiamo che l'esperienza si svolge in cantina e avete acquistato una visita con DEGUSTAZIONE. Avete letto cosa includeva l'esperienza? E avete visto il costo finale? Se non vi andava bene, perchè a vostro avviso era troppo, potevate semplicemente passare oltre e prenotare qualcosa più affine alle vostre tasche. - Prezzi dei vini fuori mercato: il costo del vino è, anche quello, in linea con il mercato locale. Purtroppo se credete di acquistare vino DOC e DOCG Montepulciano a poco prezzo, avete sbagliato destinazione. Non avete mai pensato che dietro la creazione di un prodotto ci sono diversi passaggi? Evidentemente a voi non noti e dati per scontato. Ci dispiace purtroppo dirvi, che forse avete sbagliato destinazione se pretendevate di venire a Montepulciano e non pagare nulla per visita con pranzo oltre che aspettarsi di pagare una bottiglia di Montepulciano DOCG poco ... sarebbe come andare nelle Langhe e pretendere di acquistare una bottiglia di vino Barolo a meno di 20€. Se volevate pagare niente o poco, forse dovevate recarvi al reparto vini del supermercato vicino casa e acquistare vino in cartone. Abbiamo sempre accettato ogni recensione, positiva e negativa, purché queste siano costruttive. Se queste, invece, devono essere una pretesa per pagare poco o nulla un prodotto conosciuto in tutto il mondo, allora ci dispiace, ma non le accettiamo. Forse dovreste semplicemente starvene a casa vostra. Vi consigliamo di farvi una cultura enologica, oltre che ad un bagno di umiltà! Cordiali saluti
La visita in sé è andata...
Alessandra_M, Nov 2021
La visita in sé è andata bene tutto buono e bello. ma il costo attraverso la vs prenotazione è vergognosamente alto.La coppia che si è unita a noi ha pagato 30 euro(costo onesto e giusto) pagando in cantina . Noi esattamente il doppio!!!!!! Fa pensare no?

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Montepulciano: Wine Tasting & Lunch in a typical winery


1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Montepulciano: Winery Tour & Tasting Experience


1 hour 20 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Wine Tasting with light lunch in Montepulciano


1 hour 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Montepulciano: Wine Tour and tasting


1 hour
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do