Sunrise Sonoran Desert Hot Air Balloon Ride from Phoenix

Phoenix, USA
Sunrise Sonoran Desert Hot Air Balloon Ride from Phoenix
  • 4 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Wake up early to experience a Sonoran Desert sunrise, and transform it into a story by seeing it from a birds-eye view. This hot air balloon ride from Phoenix takes you into the air with a professional guide who will narrate your trip. You’ll learn about the wildlife and history of this unique desert, then celebrate with Champagne and breakfast hors d’oeuvres.
  • Perfect for solo travelers, couples or families
  • Champagne and gourmet hors d’oeuvres are ready to enjoy post-ride
  • Informative guide will tell you about the plants, animals and history of the Sonoran Desert
  • Photo opportunities: views of the landscape and sunrise will make excellent souvenirs

What's Included

  • Champagne and fresh fruit
  • Bottled water
  • Gratuities
  • Souvenir Champagne flute (available for purchase)

Meeting and Pickup

Meeting point

  • Starbucks
    2501 W Happy Valley Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85085, USA

    Starbucks is located directly across the parking lot from Lowes. IF you are late to pick up, we can't wait, you could be left behind! We have a tight timeline to fly. Please arrive 5 minutes early to ensure you’re not left. Customers who are late will not be refunded. Use bathroom before you arrive.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

McDowell Mountain Regional Park (Pass By)

Camelback Mountain (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • No open toed shoes or high heels
  • Dress comfortable for the outside weather
  • Due to comfort and weight / balance of the aircraft, passengers weighing over 220 lbs. will be required to pay additional fees. This is payable directly to the tour operator on the day of the the flight. Fee is $1 per lb over 220
  • No recent surgeries
  • No hip, leg, feet injury or issues
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
I was amazed at how fast they filled the balloon and had us in the air. This was a great experience for a first timmer.


184 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 184 reviews
Jason_B, Apr 2024
The Crew and Pilot were amazing, we had a great time and definitely checked off a bucket list item. I would overwhelmingly recommend to anyone wanting to try. The only issue I have is why did we wait so long in the parking lot before heading out to our take off spot. The instructions on the site were very clear about departing by 5:20am. Yet we waited an additional 20 mins for a group of 4 to show up before leaving the parking lot. Once we got to the take off spot our crew, again, was amazing and got us up as fast as they could. Unfortunately the sun had already come up by the time we got up in air. Why did we wait for 4 people that caused the rest of us to miss the actual sunrise from the air?
Beautiful scenic flight
Thomas_K, Apr 2024
Our pilot coped with changable winds and brought us over several parts of the desert floor whereas another company we could see flying in the same general area went up, stayed in that space and went down again. We were glad we chose the company we did.
Great flight with experienced pilot
Jermaine_W, Apr 2024
I’ve been on a hot air balloon before- what made this different is Shane took us close to the ground near the hiking trails on the mountain and high up as well so he didn’t just fly high. We got to get close to the animals on the hillside at different times and it was the smoothest landing - less jolting than a smooth elevator stop. I get where some reviews may slam Shane on his rudeness but really it’s just his dry, sharp, attitude and knowledge that prioritizes safety. When you’re as good as he is- it comes with a bit of an attitude. He loves it when you ask him about the rules of ballooning. lol He’s a great pilot so go in knowing that- he’s not a politician so won’t be kissing your baby and being all politician “fake nice” so just relax and you will have a great time. We will definitely come again and bring friends. Oh and by the end of the event you will see that Shane’s a great guy and you can see he’s really a softie - we see through you Shane!
Enjoy the whole experience
Vanessa_A, Apr 2024
I was amazed at how fast they filled the balloon and had us in the air. This was a great experience for a first timmer.
Natalie_M, Mar 2024
It was a very pleasurable experience. They knew how to keep us informed with take off and landing and everything in between.
An Experience Like No Other
Quinn_C, Mar 2024
Amazing views and an experience like no other! Very nice and accommodating staff. I would recommend to anyone who would like to see Phoenix and the Sonoran Desert from a brand new perspective.
$400 Life Lesson - don't do business with Viator
Francesca_R, Feb 2024
I experienced terrible customer service from Viator and the operator. I requested a refund due to inputting the wrong dates. Both parties stated that nothing could be done, but the operator had the final say. While I would have respected the operator's decision to reject the refund, they audaciously denied my request and even texted me directly, suggesting I book my replacement trip with them instead of Viator. I am extremely disappointed with Viator's non-existent approach to resolving customer issues, especially when their partners discredit them and attempt to take away business.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Sorry you feel the need to bad mouth Aerogelic when YOU booked with and paid Viator. Aerogelic, is not willing to front money for your mistake with another company…? And why you feel so entitled for someone else to pay money for your mistake with someone else is beyond our comprehension. We also never tried to discredit anyone. We explained our booking process to you when you asked about it… We are sad to hear your struggles.
Nit a sunrise tour
Beatrice_R, Feb 2024
Just because sunrise is in the name does not mean you will be in the hot air balloon at sunrise. We watched the sunrise from a empty lot along side the road. Was told we would leave at 625 sharp from Starbucks but didn't leave until 645. Balloon ride was great, staff was great but Shane is a bit full of himself.
Great 👍
Kim_P, Feb 2024
Great time — wonderful views & very peaceful! Knowledgeable crew/pilot ….. felt safe the entire trip including landing !!
Beautiful sunrise
Jacquie_S, Jan 2024
The view of the sun rising and being above the noise is calming and beautiful. It was a smooth ride that was peaceful in its simplicity. It was a new experience for me and I enjoyed it. I would love to get a chance to go farther in the area to see more. The area was a bit too "city".
Memorable- Must do!
Shannon_R, Jan 2024
Shane was so knowledgable about piloting as well as the area. He told us a lot of facts. Afterwards, he told us the story about the original hot air balloon which was interesting, said the prayer, and enjoyed the mimosa toast and fruit.
Never got to go. They...
Shirley_Z, Jan 2024
Never got to go. They canceled the ride due to weather and was perfect. Very disappointed. We saw other balloons up in the sky the same ifht
Unforgettable experience
Ana_J, Jan 2024
It was awesome. The views. We had perfect weather. The crew was extremely nice. It was sn unforgettable experience. Next time in Arizona it will do it again.
Great Christmas present
Monicca_G, Jan 2024
Amazing experience! My daughter is 9 and she loved it. The crew was a great group and the pilot had a charming rough-around-the-edges humor about him that provided some additional entertainment. Everyone should try this at least once in their life… but if I ever do it again, I would go back back to this company.
Jonathan_J, Dec 2023
Pilot was extremely knowledgable & welcoming.. He gave us tons of history facts about the state, desert, certain plants & animals. The overall flight was one of the most beautiful experiences I’ve had. The staff was friendly as well. While most balloons were landing because of bad takeoff routes we were high up just observing. The champagne toast/ ballon history was absolutely amazing. I’d for sure do this again. AMAZING EXPERIENCE.
Awesome experience beautiful sunrise views and desert view
Jitendra_C, Dec 2023
Professional and experienced crew, who knows what they are doing. They also share the history and explain things around it
Bucket list, adventure!
Christen_H, Dec 2023
AMAZING 🤩 I truly enjoyed my morning. This experience was fulled with smiles 😊. I would do this again. Staff were good. The pictures I was able to take will having me relive this day over and over again.
Must do in Phoenix
Susan_G, Dec 2023
The pilot was informative and made the trip lots of fun, we really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this adventure to others
Ballooning Pilot cancelled on us last minute
Christa, Nov 2023
Just be aware the pilot of the ballooning company can cancel on you last minute. The worst thing is that the pilot nor the ballooning company do not communicate with Viator that sell you the ticket so it's on you to try and get your refund. They want the pilots name to get a refund. I never asked for his name. Lucky I paid Amex they were sure to make sure I got my refund.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Why are giving us a bad review? Because if weather turns bad last minute; you want us to put you in flight regardless? As for your refund… Aerogelic has no control over your money when you give your money to a 3rd party agency. You have to get your money from whom you have it. Truly don’t understand why WE deserve the bad review… just decided to randomly hurt someone?
Great experience
Joel_S, Nov 2023
Great tour and definitely worth it. I would 100% recommend this company. Our balloon went the furthest of all of them that day. Awesome experience.

From $200.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
No Photo
Sunrise Sonoran Desert Hot Air Balloon Ride from Phoenix


4 hours
Free Cancellation
No Photo
Phoenix Hot Air Balloon Ride at Sunrise


4 hours
Free Cancellation
Likely to Sell Out
No Photo
Sunset Hot Air Balloon Ride Over Phoenix


3 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do