San Jose

Manuel Antonio National Park from San José

San Jose, Costa Rica
One Day Tour to Manuel Antonio
  • 12 to 13 hours
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English


Visit one of the top beaches in Costa Rica even if you have limited time with the convenience of a full-day tour from San Jose. Manuel Antonio National Park encompasses a rain forest that is home to monkeys, sloths, and other wildlife, and white-sand beaches on the Pacific Ocean. Get an early start to make the most of the day on a tour that includes two meals and transportation.
  • Spend the day at Manuel Antonio on a beach excursion from San Jose
  • Breakfast, lunch, and bottled water provided
  • Hear insightful commentary from the guide
  • Includes hotel pickup and drop-off

What's Included

  • All Fees and Taxes
  • National Park Entrance
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Lunch
  • Guide during the tour
  • Breakfast
  • Tips

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting points

Select a meeting point
Type to search

Start time

Confirm time with the local provider in advance of your experience.

Opening hours

  • 10/1/2023 - 3/18/2025

    Friday : 04:30 AM - 05:30 AM

    Saturday : 04:00 AM - 06:00 AM

    Sunday : 04:00 AM - 05:30 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

San Jose (Pass By)


45 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Playa Manuel Antonio

5 hours Admission Ticket Included

Manuel Antonio (Pass By)

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This option includes your entrance to the National Park. Please send or attach to your reservation at least 24 hours in advance the full names and passport numbers to add it to your ticket, otherwise we will not guarantee your entry.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
Operated by Inside Tours Costa Rica

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Victor did an awesome job on our tour!!! The beach was beautiful and the monkeys were sneaky!!! Beautiful day and had a great time!!


79 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 79 reviews
Manuel Antonio
Jennifer_P, Jan 2024
Victor did an awesome job on our tour!!! The beach was beautiful and the monkeys were sneaky!!! Beautiful day and had a great time!!
Long trip, long hours in...
Patrycja_P, Jan 2024
Long trip, long hours in the car totally not worth it. 30 minutes walk around the park, rest of the time we were supposed to spend on the beach. More animals you can see just casually walking in the costa rica roads than there. Totally overrated
Manuel Park
AsmaKhan, Dec 2023
The tour was alright; we barely encountered any animals at the park. However, the food and the beach were enjoyable.
Great day on the beach....
Audrey_M, Dec 2023
Great day on the beach. Do make sure to bring recycling bottle of water as it is forbidden inside the park.
Don’t recommend
Jason_S, Nov 2023
This tour is oversold - you do not see jaguars, snakes or anything exotic as the tour guides would lead you to believe. You’ll see an iguana and have a brief, short, “manufactured” pseudo-walk through what is tantamount to a man made plastic rainforest . Don’t believe the hype.
Response from Host, Nov 2023
Hello! You must take into account that Costa Rica does not keep wild animals in cages in its national parks, so sighting them is totally natural, you may be lucky to see them or not. This is one of the most visited National Parks in Costa Rica, so of course there is human intervention to provide accessible paths to tourists. I am sorry that the national park did not meet your expectations.
Great Park, Unnecessarily Long Day
Jaclyn_K, Oct 2023
Manuel Antonio is a beautiful park, and I got to see some amazing animals and sights during this day tour. We spent 3.5 hours at the park and I felt like this was about perfect. Unfortunately, the other 10+ hours of this day tour was not enjoyable. The breakfast and lunch were average quality and nothing made them an authentic Costa Rican experience. We spent way too much time at rest stops and food stops. This tour needs to lower the price so that we don’t feel obligated to eat average food, lessen the amount time spent at rest/food stops, and/or add another attraction to break up the long driving day.
Great service
Glendy_F, Sep 2023
The guides were very helpful and guided us great. I really enjoyed this trip a lot. Learned about Costa Rica
Very disappointed
Teresita_B, Aug 2023
We were so excited to see the number one national park in Costa Rica but we ended up being very disappointed with this tour to say the least. We paid for a guided tour through the national park so that we can get the full experience of the nature and animals but our guide was not prepared. According to him, he was not informed that he was going to be our guide so he did failed to bring his telescope which made spotting animals extremely difficult. We relied on only what our eyes could see and where the crowd was and even then, we barely saw much. The food provided was okay, nothing fantastic. The drive is lengthy from San Jose so be prepared. The park itself is beautiful with amazing views but I’m sure the experience would have been a thousand times better had the tour guide been prepared.
Response from Host, Sep 2023
Hello, At Inside Tours we are committed to training young people for a bright future in tourism. Josué, who is our newest guide, must develop himself to provide excellent experiences as we are usually used to providing. We have spoken with Josué because he indicated that he was not prepared for the tour due to a telescope, however the tour is carried out in this telescope since it is a walk with information about trails and sighting of animals in sight then it is given to the client a beach time I am very sorry for the misunderstanding, we will try to continue training Josué so that our clients have a nice experience.
National park
Deborah_H, Jul 2023
I met many great people on the tour. We did the hike and enjoyed the beach afterwards. Breakfast, lunch and evening beverages are provided. Special shout out to Roberto . He is very knowledgeable about the area.
Amazing beach
Marianna_T, Jun 2023
The park is 3h drive from San Jose, BUT it is soooo worth it. We had a group of monkeys playing in front of us on the trail, so close, we saw iguanas and other animals. But the beach is beyond amazing. It is picture perfect. I am glad this company provides these tours, they are doing great job, especially when you travel solo. Recommend!
National Park is great, maybe book through a different operator
Eileen_W, Jun 2023
It's been mentioned here before, but I'll repeat it: it's absolutely unclear why you would pay $90 to get to the National Park and *not* enter the National Park. The economic option makes little sense. I booked it because I read that you should always buy tickets with the park directly. Of course I had no idea that you needed to book them weeks in advance - my bad, though a notice would have been nice. So I got a ticket on the day for $40 in cash with one of the 'vendors' in front of the park. I should also mention that all people who booked the economic option got contacted by the operator to buy a National Park ticket for $25 (less than the listed 'full' option). Apart from the confusion around the economic option, the tour itself was just okay. The pickup around San José took 2 hours, so you might need to add that to the 3 hours of travel. Our tour guide was verbose about the logistics, sometimes basic facts like meeting times were unclear. Once you are in the National Park, everything is magical of course. I recommend *not* going on the guided tour, or at least going on a guided tour offered by someone from the National Park.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Hello, Sorry to hear your comment. But in the economic option, it says very clearly that IT DOES NOT INCLUDE ENTRANCE TO THE NATIONAL PARK. Many people who visit Manuel Antonio go to the public beach and there is also the option that if someone has purchased a ticket they can buy this package without the ticket. In addition to cheap to full, there is a difference of $45, which is the amount in which the resellers sell the tickets when they are sold out. When there are still tickets, we contact the customers of the economy as a courtesy in case they wish to buy the tickets, however when they are sold out we can no longer do so. We were trying to contact you to give you the option to buy it but we never received a response.
Day Well Spent
Danielle_T, Jun 2023
Be prepared to walk in the heat and the humidity through both the town and the national park. Van ride was comfortably air conditioned and the guide was friendly and informative, providing commentary in both Spanish and English. He had trouble understanding English spoken to him by any of us. We were served much bigger breakfast and lunch meals than I had expected. Quite a few choices. Too bad it takes quite a while to drive there and back (plus pick up and drop off the participants) because it makes for a long day. My tour was 13.5 hours, 5.5 hours of that in Manuel Antonio. The park has both a boardwalk and a well-maintained trail. It is best you buy the tour that includes the entrance to the park. If not, the guide did manage to buy tickets there in the town for 3 participants, but not at the park itself and their availability is not guaranteed (max numbers per day). I also don't know if they were being charged only face value for those tickets. Plus the rest of us were just standing in the hot street. If you don't go to the park, there is the town and a public beach.
Good but stressful
Shauna_H, Jun 2023
The tour was good however there is an option to book it without lunch or entry fees, we chose this option as we tought it was pretty steep to add on the lunch and entry fees for an extra €50. At no point did anyone tell us that you can't pay for entry to the national park on the day and you have to book online weeks in advance. We were lucky that we met someone with extra tickets if not we would have paid 85€ to be told when we arrived that we could only go to the beach and not the national park. This information should be stated somewhere or else you shouldn't sell the tour without the entry. Not very fair we would have driven 3.5hrs to go to a beach and wouldn't have seen the national park at all if it wasn't for the kind people we met.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Hello, You selected the package without entry, Economy Package. It is specified that it does not include lunch and does not include entrance to the National Park. It is a visit to a public beach as your package says. The information is specified from before your reservation.
1st time to Costa Rica
Jose_B, May 2023
I want to start off with.. I love the fact that this tour picks you up at your hotel. That was one of the factors when picking tours. Next, the communication was great. Thank you! That is extremely important. The bus was nice. The driver and guide were awesome. The food was very good too. =) I know some people like to rent a car and try to navigate to these places. But why? They are long trips. It’s nice to sit back and relax while others do the driving for you. I actually had the Tortuga Island tour with this same company the very next day. I will copy and paste this comment on that tour as well. Enjoy Costa Rica. Pure Vida!!
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Thank you for your valuable comments. 💚 Pura vida! 🇨🇷
A great place!
Irene_T, Apr 2023
Great landscape, enjoyable trip, fantastic tour guide, nice fellow travelers! One of the best beaches I have ever seen!
Manuel Antonio
Monica_S, Apr 2023
Beautiful beach but didn't see any animals except for a Scorpio in the water fountain. If you tire easily or have a heat intolerance, be careful. You have to walk a lot and nothing has a/c.
Very good tour, guide,...
ANNA_T, Mar 2023
Very good tour, guide, and food. On time pick up with comfortable seat. I saw blue iguana and monkeys interacting. No plastics allowed inside the park. Nice view of the beach. Easy trails to explore nature.
Fun at Manuel Antonio
Miguel_C, Mar 2023
The beach is amazing. The national park is great just make sure to be Rady to hike or you can stay at the beach. Our tour guide was awesome.
Great day!
Benjamin_Z, Mar 2023
Manuel Antonio park is beautiful. You walk through the forest seeing wildlife and end up at an amazing beach!
Paradise with the perfect tour guide!!
Nicole_B, May 2022
The most amazing day to finish up our trip in Costa Rica! The beach was absolutely stunning and the water was perfect. Best part was our guide Mariela. She was knowledgeable, fun and so friendly!! Best tour guide we had the entire trip!! Pura Vida for sure
Special Offer

From $139.50

$155.00 Save $15.50

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Special Offer
No Photo
Manuel Antonio National Park from San José


13 hours
Free Cancellation

Explore Similar Things to Do