Athens

Acropolis Museum Guided Tour

Badge of ExcellenceAthens, Greece
Acropolis Museum Tour
  • 1 hour 15 minutes
  • Offered in: English

Overview

The Acropolis Museum is one of Athens’ highlights. Save time waiting in long visitor lines, by having a guarantee to skip-the-line to get your entrance ticket. There's so much to see in the Acropolis Museum and this tour takes the risk out of missing important artifacts by having a guide to show you around. You experience will be enriched by learning historical information as you explore.
  • Guaranteed to skip long visitor lines
  • A small-group tour means better access to your guide
  • Learn about the best bits to visit in Acropolis Museum from your guide
  • See incredible archaeological excavations and rare artifacts

What's Included

  • Local licensed English-speaking guide
  • Guaranteed to skip the long lines
  • Entrance fees to the Acropolis Museum (approx. €15 per adult / €10 concessions) payable in cash
  • Hotel pick-up and drop-off
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • Acropolis Museum
    Dionysiou Areopagitou 15, Athina 117 42, Greece

    At the Acropolis Museum Building (15, Dionysiou Areopagitou St), in front of the OWL statue, which is located inside the Acropolis Museum’s premises before entering the Museum on the left-hand side, right next to the “Exit” door.

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Acropolis Museum

1 hour 15 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ENTRANCE FEES (TICKETS) ARE NOT INCLUDED - Please make sure you have cash (euros) as well as hold a valid ID or Passport for verification of age and nationality to purchase the tickets
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Comfortable walking shoes, sun-screen and a hat are recommended
  • Dress according to weather
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
24 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews
Highly recommend Acropolis Museum
Holly_R, Jan 2024
Our guide was fantastic and covered so much. The museum is very well done. At the start of the tour there was some confusion on whether or not our tickets were paid for. Another person was there to collect the money for the tickets and wanted more than the price of the ticket that could be purchased direct from the museum. He backed down when we called him out and then we joined the tour and it went smoothly.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Dear Holly, Thank you for sharing your experience of our Skip the Line Acropolis Museum Tour. We're pleased to hear that you found the museum to be very well done and that you had a fantastic guide who covered a lot of ground during the tour. We apologize for the confusion at the start of the tour regarding the payment for tickets. Your feedback is important to us, and we will review our procedures to ensure smoother coordination in the future. We're glad to hear that the situation was resolved, and you were able to join the tour smoothly afterward. Thank you for recommending the Acropolis Museum tour, and we hope to welcome you back for another enriching experience in the future.
Worth the hike!
Martha_B, Nov 2023
Mind blowing experience! Grand History! It’s a good hike up the hill but worth the effort! Go with a guide to learn all the history. Our guide was fantastic. Smart and articulate!
Nice, informative tour
Edee_S, Sep 2023
Nice, informative tour. Well organized. I appreciated and understood what was being displayed much more than if I were to go through the museum by myself.
Great experience
Juan_P, Aug 2023
Worth every penny. You get skip the lines and our tour lady was amazing. She was very knowledgeable. I truly enjoyed this.
Interesting but disappointing
Jennifer_H, Aug 2023
I think this is a fabulous tour as you learn so much about the acropolis, its history and more importantly how the sites looked before being destroyed. It’s a good idea to do the tour before visiting the ruins so you can understand what you are viewing. However, my lower star rating is due to the guide we had on the day. She was extremely knowledgeable and really knew her stuff, however she seemed to be in a rush when speaking, moved the group around quickly, was impatient with visitors who were late and disorganised (understandably!!), didn’t invite questions until the end of the tour and wrapped it all up on the dot of the hour. We didn’t feel this was value for money. I think this is a fabulous tour as you learn so much about the acropolis, its history and more importantly how the sites looked before being destroyed. It’s a good idea to do the tour before visiting the ruins so you can understand what you are viewing. However, my lower star rating is due to the guide we had on the day. She was extremely knowledgeable and really knew her stuff, however she seemed to be in a rush when speaking, moved the group around quickly, was impatient with visitors who were late and disorganised (understandably), didn’t invite questions until the end of the tour and wrapped it all up on the dot of the hour. For the $$ we paid and the expected time frame of the tour (it was quoted as 1hr 15 approx) we don’t feel our tour was value for money.
Response from Host, Aug 2023
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're glad to hear you found value in the content and knowledge shared about the Acropolis and its rich history. Our intention is always to provide an enriching experience that enhances one's understanding of the sites. We sincerely apologize for the pace of the tour you experienced. Our guides, who are licensed local professionals, are meticulously chosen for their profound expertise. They are trained to be attentive, well-informed, and sensitive to our guests' needs. With a focus on small group tours, we ensure an intimate setting, allowing everyone the opportunity to directly engage and pose questions to our guides. Recognizing that each visitor has their own pace and interests, we strive to cater to every individual. Your feedback plays a crucial role in enhancing our services. As tour operators dedicated to Athens and holding the distinction of being the most highly-reviewed in Greece, we pledge to provide unforgettable experiences for all our guests. We appreciate your understanding and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again, providing a more fulfilling and enriching tour. Best Regards, Athens Walking Tours
Kelli did a wonderful job...
Timothy_P, Jul 2023
Kelli did a wonderful job of explaining the mythology and reality of ancient Greece. She made it interesting. I found the meeting point to be a challenge, but that could be me, my suggestion would be that once you come across the tram tracks, walk along the adjacent sidewalk, and you will arrive at the ticket booth, where tours guides are waiting.
Easy slow tour with AC
Jorge_C, Sep 2022
Nice tour. It was relaxed and unrushed. All indoors in nice ACs. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. It’s a little under 1.5 hours long
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave us a positive review, Jorge! We look forward to your next visit!
Quick highlights,
Cindy_S, Sep 2022
George gave informative presentation. One hour hit highlights. We did this before going to Acropolis—most people do the opposite. We liked knowing the stories first.
Response from Host, Oct 2022
Thank you so much for the feedback, Cindy! We loved being of service, and hope we can host you again soon.
Great experience for a solo travel
Tania_M, May 2022
Hermes was a very good guide. The group was of perfect size for the place. Pre-activity information precise and truthfull. The museum is a must visit.
Response from Host, May 2022
Reading your feedback warmed our hearts, dear Tania! Your kind words mean a lot to us; thank you for sharing them! Keep travelling the world, and please join us again soon!
Highly recommended
Paul_R, Sep 2021
An ideal way to experience the Acropolis Museum. It brings it to life. Highly recommended and we will be back. Thank you!
Response from Host, Oct 2021
Thank you, dear Paul, for your kind review. We are very happy you enjoyed the tour, and found everything to your liking. We will be happy to host you again in Athens for another fun activity!
Natasha was over 30...
Shara_F, Sep 2021
Natasha was over 30 minutes late for the meetup time inside museum. The tour was scheduled to start at 1:45pm but didn't start until after 2:15pm. The museum closed at 4pm so we had no time to enjoy it on our own after the tour ended.
Response from Host, Sep 2021
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write it. On that day Natasha was indeed a bit late, and we do understand your frustration with the situation, even though nor Natasha or anyone else on Athens Walking Tours was to blame for the delay. On that day, a new set of COVID regulations was issued and all museum guests had to go through on top of the normal security check, an additional check of proof of vaccination as well as a passport check. Since it was the first day there were many delays. Unfortunately, it was also Monday and the museum closes early on Mondays. Natasha made sure to give you the full 1,5hr guided tour of the Museum so you wouldn't miss any of the important artifacts inside the museum. We are sorry you did not have more free time at the museum but we made sure even with the small delay you would not miss out on anything of what you had paid for.
I am NOT a museum kind of person - this was awesome!
Linda F, May 2019
I am NOT a museum person - but to see a museum of precious artifacts built on top of an actual site was TOO cool! The guide was very very informative - made it interesting - 2 hours was perfect and in AC which was nice on a hot afternoon! We went to the Acropolis skip the line tour the previous afternoon and again, the guide made it very informative and fun!

From $38.58

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Acropolis Museum Guided Tour

24

1 hour 15 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$38.58
No Photo
Acropolis of Athens and Acropolis Museum Tour

789

3 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$61.87
No Photo
The Acropolis, Athens Walking City Tour and Acropolis Museum

394

5 hours 30 minutes
Free Cancellation
From
$74.02
No Photo
Athens: Acropolis, Parthenon & Acropolis Museum Guided Tour

371

3 to 4 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$60.76

Explore Similar Things to Do