Atlanta

Dr. Martin Luther King Walking Tour with Local Historian

Atlanta, USA
Martin Luther King Jr Heritage Tour in Atlanta
  • 1 hour (approx.)
  • Offered in: English

Overview

    What's Included

    • Professional guide
    • Gratuities

    Meeting and Pickup

    Meeting point

    • Ebenezer Baptist Church
      101 Jackson St NE, Atlanta, GA 30312, USA

      Meet your guide under the blue sign outside the Ebenezer Baptist Church on 101 Jackson St NE, Atlanta, GA 30312 at 9:30 AM. Free parking is also available at the MLK Welcome Center. The entrance to the park's parking lot is located on John Wesley Dobbs Avenue (GPS 33°45'32.43"N, 84°22'24.00"W).

    Start time

    09:30 AM

    End point

    This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    What To Expect

    This educational sightseeing tour travels throughout Atlanta, exploring the civil rights movement and Martin Luther King, Jr.'s life.

    Begin the day at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change. The Center features more than 10,000 documents from Dr. King's personal collection and from the civil rights movement. Nearly a million people visit this National Historic Site each year to learn, be inspired, and pay their respects to Dr. King’s legacy.

    Then, visit the Atlanta University Center, the largest contiguous consortium of African Americans in higher education in the United States, consisting of four historically black colleges and universities. This is where Dr. King attended university.

    Also, visit Dr. King's favorite soul-food restaurant and one of Atlanta’s best-loved diners, the Busy Bee Cafe, for lunch; and the Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site, consisting of several buildings, including Dr. King's boyhood home and the original Ebenezer Baptist Church, where he was baptized and where both he and his father were pastors. It is also his final resting place.

    Ebenezer Baptist Church

    15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

    Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site

    30 minutesAdmission Ticket Not Included

    Birth Home of Martin Luther King, Jr

    10 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

    Additional Info

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • Minimum numbers of (4) guest to run tour. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
    • Please advise any specific dietary requirements in the (Special Reqirements Section) when checking out.
    • Tour start time is approximate and can be adjusted for traffic conditions and pick-up schedule
    • Please advise if wheelchair is required.
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travelers

    Cancellation Policy

    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Traveler Photos

    See more

    Reviews

    4.0
    42 reviews
    Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
    0
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Reviews by Viator travelers.
    Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews
    Such a great story teller of history!
    Christine_B, Oct 2023
    Loved it! Ms. Stephanie really brought it all to life. She had a great way of telling a story and I hung onto every word. Great way to start our Atlanta trip! Highly recommend.
    Response from Host, Oct 2023
    Hi Christine_B, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. You are more than welcome, we are very happy to hear that your experience with Stephanie was an amazing one!
    Disappointed!
    Sonia_B, Jun 2023
    I'm sad to say it didn't go well. To be honest I would like a refund. The highlight of the tour, which I could have done on my own, was to go into MLK home, that DIDN'T HAPPEN. The guide missed getting tickets for the 10 o'clock, then had us come back for the 2 o'clock, and she missed tickets for that too. Very disappointing. She said she was going to talk to someone about a refund, I certainly hope you come through. I've used you guys before and usually have good experiences, not this time.
    Response from Host, Jul 2023
    Greetings, We apologize for your inconvenience. Our guide is usually more timely with getting tickets. We have processed your refund.
    Stephanie was such a...
    Jennifer_B, May 2023
    Stephanie was such a wonderful guide. Very knowledgeable and informative of all that was seen.. Really enjoyed the tour with her
    Response from Host, May 2023
    Hi Jennifer_B, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. You are more than welcome, we are very happy to hear that your experience with Stephanie was an amazing one!
    Our tour guide was...
    Jennifer_M, Apr 2023
    Our tour guide was awesome her knowledge was so great. It was a great and experience and definitely something to do in ATL.
    Response from Host, May 2023
    Thank you, Jennifer_M for the amazing review! We put in the work to keep you and all of our clients happy. We hope to see you again. Have a nice day ahead!”
    Was very informative tour...
    Leticia_Z, Feb 2023
    Was very informative tour and an amazing experience. We definitely will bring our kids back to experience the amazing experience. The tour guide was amazing.
    Response from Host, Mar 2023
    Thank you, Leticia_Z. We value the positive review and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your travel with us.
    Touring The King Home
    Carla_P, Feb 2023
    We enjoyed the movie at the Visitor's Center, and then, we walked to the birth home and got to tour it also. Ms. Stephanie told us many interesting facts about the King family and also Atlanta during the Civil War. We did not get to tour the church because it was closed for some reason.
    Response from Host, Feb 2023
    Thank you, Carla_P. We value the positive review and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with Stephanie.
    Worst time ever
    Yolanda_B, Nov 2022
    The worst experience ever!! My husband and I visited Atlanta for our wedding anniversary and wanted to see the birth house of Dr. Martin L. King Jr. First, our tour was changed from 9:30am to noon. Inconvenient. Secondly, when we arrived the tour guide told us that we needed to be there for 12pm to see the house. Once ar the house a very rude Ranger named Cylde Anderson that work for that National Park said yall need to hurry up we got to go. We were not in the house a total of 5 minutes. We were not allowed to stop at all and look in any of the rooms. My husband and I and others traveled to far to be treated in such a way. I will never go back to the house and will not recommend anyone else to visit. I have requested a full refund.
    Worse Worse experience ever
    Asyia_W, Nov 2022
    Ms Stephanie was very nice But ARRIVED AT 11:55 and we had a five minute walk thru after RUNNING A BLOCK AND A HALF BEFORE THEY CLOSED THE HOME UP...Our scheduled purchased was for 9:30 it changed to 5 minutes before closing.To make it worse we drove from Chicago...it was all bad.
    Memories
    Donita_W, Oct 2022
    Our tour guide was amazing, Very knowledgeable, Once in a lifetime experience. Recommend that everyone should experience this history
    Response from Host, Feb 2023
    Hello Donita_W, thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! It was our absolute pleasure to bring you a memorable and smooth tour.
    Untold Stories of MLK JR.
    Carleen_H, Sep 2022
    I enjoyed hearing the stories told about Martin Luther King Jr. & his family… stories I had never heard & things they do not teach you in school. I definitely recommend this tour.
    Response from Host, Sep 2022
    Hi Carleen_H! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our guide take into heart what they do. We at Great Explorations tour ensure that our guest will have a memorable experience when they visit us here at Atlanta. We hope to see you again next time in your next tour with us.
    Sweet Old Auburn
    LaSheia_G, Sep 2022
    The house great experience,the memorial peaceful just being in sweet Auburn made me think how bless we are wonderful feeling ♥️..
    Response from Host, Sep 2022
    Hi LaSheia_G! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your Dr. Martin Luther King's tour with us. It is always nice to learn something new specially when the guide is very passionate and knowledgeable with what she does. We hope you can visit us here in Atlanta again soon.
    Beautiful ATL
    Tosha_V, Aug 2022
    I was awesome trip me and my kids really enjoyed visiting ATL and getting to see the House that Dr Martin Luther King Jr. grew up in. I will visit again
    Response from Host, Aug 2022
    Thank you, Tosha_V for the amazing review! We put in the work to keep you and all of our clients happy. We hope to see you again. Have a nice day ahead!
    It's a good experience to...
    Marcia_A, Jul 2022
    It's a good experience to know were Martin Luther Jr was born and I know he have a sister still at life it good was we can visit places
    Response from Host, Jul 2022
    “Thank you, Marcia_A. We value the positive review and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your travel with us. We hope to have you again in another exciting tour. We hope you can share your experience with us to your friends and family.
    Stephanie knows her history!
    Jamie_M, Jul 2022
    Stephanie (our tour guide) was very nice and knew the history! She was very thorough! You can tell this is not just a job for her this is something that she takes pride in doing! Would definitely recommend this tour!!
    Response from Host, Jul 2022
    Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Our tour guides including Stephanie are very knowledgeable and definitely loves doing her tours. We hope you can recommend us to your friends, family and colleagues so they can share the same memorable experience with us. Cheers!
    Stephaine was punctual...
    KowShara_T, Jul 2022
    Stephaine was punctual and very knowledgeable. It was storming and she was very patient and even went to pick up our passes to tour MLK home.
    Response from Host, Jul 2022
    Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us KowShara, it is very much appreciated by us. Stephanie really did an amazing job. We can’t wait to have you back with us!
    Awesome
    A_B, May 2022
    The tour guide was the best, very knowledgeable and fun. I highly recommend. You want be disappointed
    Informative, but brief
    YacQuina_R, May 2022
    The guide was very knowledgeable. However Ebenezer Church was closed and that was disappointing. I think the tour could have been longer (include more sites) at the same cost.
    Response from Host, May 2022
    Thank you so much for the review. Unfortunately the Ebenezer Baptist Church closed without any prior warning for repairs. We appreciate our guests taking the time to share their experiences - both positive and negative. In order to provide you with the most enjoyable tour. Thank you again.
    I love touring Marin...
    Deontae_B, May 2022
    I love touring Marin Luther kings house it was Amazing. Especially knowing all of the items in his sister room Was still 100% hers .. it was an amazing tour
    Full of it these people are not Dr Martin Luther King
    Patricia_C, Jan 2022
    Went to the house it was closed and they never told me that after paying $147.00 not even giving me a refund. Will be talking to some supervisor to get my full refund
    Response from Host, Jan 2022
    Greetings Ms. Patricia, It clearly states in our tour description. Although access to the buildings in the National Historic Park, (the Visitor Center, Ebenezer Baptist Church and Dr. King’s birth home) are closed, we are conducting a walking tour of the area and its legendary history. So until your review says, we do tell people prior to booking. Additionally, we email people the same information once they book, to ensure they understand. It is important that clients clearly read tour descriptions prior to booking. Furthermore our tour guide does an excellent job with sharing the history of the area.
    Bad trip waste of money
    Latanya_P, Nov 2021
    Visiting the tomb. Seeing the outside of church. There was nothing that I couldn't have done without a guide.
    Response from Host, Nov 2021
    Greetings Ms. Latanya, Thank you for taking our tour of the Historical National Park. Unfortunately do to Covid restrictions many of the buildings are closed. Clients are told in the tour description prior to booking and again in a email once booked . For whatever reason Clients ignore and don't read, then they complain about buildings closed. You received the following email days prior that explained the restrictions, which would have given opportunity to cancel the tour. Ebenezer Baptist Church and Dr. King’s birth home) are closed, we are conducting a walking tour of the area and its legendary history. Please note masks are required for the tour. We are excited to share our Atlanta Civil Rights History. Please note Our MLK, Jr. Heritage tour has been adapted due to Covid restrictions. Tour is conducted by local historian Ms. Stephanie, who has lived and worked in Atlanta for thirty plus years, and worked for Three Mayors. Thank you again for taking our tour.

    From $39.99

    Price varies by group size

    up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

    Compare Similar Experiences

    1 / 3
    Current
    No Photo
    Dr. Martin Luther King Walking Tour with Local Historian

    42

    1 hour
    Free Cancellation
    From
    $39.99
    No Photo
    Martin Luther King Jr. History Walking Tour

    500

    2 hours 30 minutes
    Free Cancellation
    From
    $40.00
    No Photo
    Ultimate Atlanta Walking Tour and Activities

    3

    2 to 5 hours
    Free Cancellation
    From
    $30.00
    No Photo
    Roundabout Atlanta Sightseeing City Tour

    86

    4 hours
    Free Cancellation
    From
    $69.00

    Explore Similar Things to Do