Maui

Maui's Original Haleakala Down Hill Bike Tour

Paia, United States
Haleakala Express Bike Tour
  • 2 to 3 hours (approx.)
  • Mobile ticket
  • Offered in: English

Overview

Discover epic views from the highest volcano in Maui with this half-day downhill biking excursion. Learn about local history during an easy, downhill cycling trip from Haleakala with a guide leading the way. Bike along mountain switchbacks and stop for photographs during the trip. Bikes, helmets, use of windbreaker jackets, and free parking are all included.
  • Cycle downhill from the top of a dormant volcano in Maui
  • See epic views from Haleakala Volcano during a guided tour
  • Bike along mountain switchbacks and scenic roads
  • Free parking, bike rental, helmet, and jacket rental all included

What's Included

  • Use of Sportswear windbreaker jacket
  • Use of helmet and Worksman Downhill chrome cruiser bike
  • Pre-Qualification Guidelines for Bike ride
  • Free parking for MMC guests
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Gratuities
  • Backpack
  • Bottled water
  • Snacks
  • WiFi on board
  • All of our patrons must arrive and depart with own transportation or taxi service.

Meeting And Pickup

Meeting point

  • 497 Baldwin Ave
    497 Baldwin Ave, Paia, HI 96779, USA

Start time

08:15 AM

End point

This activity ends back at the meeting point.

What To Expect

Kula (Pass By)

Makawao

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Paia

30 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Paia

15 minutesAdmission Ticket Free

Additional Info

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Maximum weight approx. 270
  • Minimum height 4′ 10″
  • Not recommended for anyone with respiratory conditions, shortness of breath that require an inhaler or doctors care within last six months
  • Not recommended for anyone with prosthetic device not successfully used in bicycle riding within last thirty days
  • Not recommended for anyone with blood related disorders i.e diabetes, clotting medications, rare blood type, carrier of blood borne transmittable disease
  • Not recommended for anyone with any form of ataxia/vertigo within last six months
  • Not recommended for anyone with loss of consciousness or fainting within last six months
  • Not recommended for anyone with head trauma within last year or doctors care within last six months
  • Not recommended for anyone taking mood altering or stabilizing prescribed medications
  • Not recommended for anyone taking OTC medications with warnings of drowsiness
  • Not recommended for anyone who has used recreational drugs legal and or illegal within last 48 hours
  • Not recommended for anyone who has ingested alcohol within last 8 hours
  • Not recommended for anyone who has had broken bones within last six months
  • Not recommended for anyone who has had spinal injury within last year
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 13 travelers

Cancellation Policy

You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.

  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Traveler Photos

See more
Featured review
Daniel_G
Great experience!! The views are amazing coming down the hill and then finishing in upcountry is awesome! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about Maui history, it was like we got a 30 minute guided tour through upcountry on our way up the mountain. We will definitely do this again!

Reviews

3.5
60 reviews
Total review count and overall rating based on Viator and Tripadvisor reviews
0
0
0
0
0
Reviews by Viator travelers.
Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews
Unforgettable Self-Guided & Self-Paced Downhill Bike Tour in Maui
Natalie_M, Jan 2024
We had an amazing experience on our self-guided downhill bike tour! It felt like a private trip since there were no other people on our tour. Our guide, John, was not only humorous but incredibly knowledgeable about Hawaiian history and the area. We loved the freedom to travel at our own pace, unlike other faster-paced groups. The tour was reasonably priced and definitely a must-do activity in Maui! Although the downside was the closed shops in Makawao on New Year's Day, it's the perfect excuse to do it all over again and try those famous donuts next time!
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you for choosing MMC. We are happy you enjoyed and shared your tour with others. We enjoyed sharing this experience with you and look forward to meeting again in the future.
A piece of heaven
Edward_E, Sep 2023
Beautiful views and great guide. I would recommend to anyone coming to Maui. I wish the ride was longer.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you for choosing MMC. We are glad to have experienced this with you. We do apologize for the new laws imposed upon us, but the new regulations are out of our control. Thank you for choosing us and look forward to seeing you again.
Coasting Haleakala
Patrick_C, Jul 2023
Great activity. Beautiful scenery and a fun experience. Guide was a lifelong resident of Maui…tons of local knowledge. Coasting and braking 99% of the trip, only pedaled a couple of times for a very short distance. Sadly, this company is not allowed to access the top of the crater-thank you state of HI.
Response from Host, Feb 2024
Thank you for choosing MMC. We are glad you enjoyed your trip and we do apologize for the major inconvenience of the state. We appreciate you placing blame in the correct place. Until next time…Mahalo!
History & Fun!
Julie_R, Jul 2023
Our driver was fantastic sharing the history of Maui and background that you wouldn’t get in a standard bike tour!
Response from Host, Jul 2023
Thank you for letting us be a part of your Maui experience. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed yourself.
Completely waste of time
Ashish, Jul 2023
Terrible experience. My reservation was not there at the operator and when I arrived at the location, there was no body. I called several time and come back to the hotel. Called Viator for refund.
Response from Host, Jul 2023
We are very sorry that you missed your bike ride with us we have looked into this and it looks like you booked the day before and it did not get to our email till later that day that is error on the booking company that you used also that day was sold out from Monday before there was people there at the yard and you did speak to a manager and he tried to put you on bike ride one hour later at 9;30 you did not want to go so you were given a refund this was not our fault that day your statements are misleading and not true
Great way to start your day!
Debbie_B, Jun 2023
Loved talking to Caleb and Cheryl on the way up on the van😊. The views were breathtaking. Had a history lesson on the area before we took off on our ride about the area. Great fun! Thanks again to Dan and his family. 🍻
Beautiful view / knowledgeable guide
Emily_H, Apr 2023
Very Beautiful, knowledgable guide. Do not book it on a Wednesday during the school year. Kids get out early on Wednesday and you do not get to complete the ride when school is in session you only get to do half the tour. Our tour lasted from 8:15-10:00.
Response from Host, Jun 2023
Plz send your feelings on this to the county’s council on maui let them know that it’s unfair to all The roads belong to the people of maui not a hand full of Karen’s school is out for summer yet that was not even considered so it’s a vendetta against one industry
Amazing and Fun!
Shannon_P, Feb 2023
The entire trip was amazing! I loved hearing about the history of the town and the biking was awesome. We loved that we were not rushed and were encouraged to experience the area.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
We are glad you had a great time on our tour. We thank you for letting us be a part of your Maui experience and you being a part of ours.
The full rainbow at the...
Pamela_B, Feb 2023
The full rainbow at the top! Gorgeous! Loved the little town with Komodo’s donuts. John was very informative about Island history.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
Maui Mountain Cruisers wants to Thank you for choosing us on your Maui adventure. We are glad you had a great time and also found the beauty Maui has to offer. We appreciate sharing lasting memories with you. Thank you.
When my son crashed into...
Mary_J, Jan 2023
When my son crashed into my daughter cuz his breaks didn’t work!!both were injured and had to be taken back to the start.
Response from Host, Jan 2023
That is not true your brakes worked fine I saw the whole thing what happened is you did not listen to your instructions on how to safely ride down this mountain you pulled over riding side by side and you ran into each other the other rider crossed the yellow line of the road to see what the other riders from another company were doing that is also very dangerous had nothing to do with the brakes all rider error that fact that you would lie about this tells me what kind of person you are I hope your stay in hawaii is a nice one and that you leave your negative views home You were also told if you had any problems with the bikes on the way down you were just stop and wave your driver down which never happened I was driving right behind you all brakes were checked prior to leaving and all bikes were working fine some people just can’t own up to their own mistakes
Bike from Haleakala to Paia
Julia_D, Jan 2023
John was very informative with the history in the area. He was very knowledgeable about many topics relating to local sports, art, and current events. The ride down was fun, and it was a great trip fir the wonderful experience. The cars on the roads that day were very courteous, which also made the experience fabulous.
Response from Host, Mar 2023
We thank you for letting us be a part of your time in Maui and are glad you had a positive experience with us.
Fun morning spectacular views
Alexandra_W, Dec 2022
Great tour guide very informative , detailed history of Maui tour operator had lots of stories and gave good facts on the island and key sites
Fun Ride, 10/10 Would Recommend
Daniel_F, Dec 2022
My wife and I enjoyed our van ride to the top of the volcano, and loved the long ride down. We stopped and took pictures along the way, got some really great views.
Nice easy ride
Michele_A, Sep 2022
It was a fun ride! Not much pedaling needed. Cars were definitely on the look out for all of us but it can be a bit nerve wracking on those switchbacks all the same. Bikes were serviceable but not great. Tour guide does not ride with you but has a wealth of stories on the way up.
Exhilarating yet simple!
nicole_V, Aug 2022
Met this wonderfully knowledgeable local owner: John in a historic non pretentious abandoned bank building. Learned some great local history, then ventured to Haleakalā to ride downhill. Simple older bikes, but they work! Didn’t impact my view of the island the local landscape scenery and the drivers are very mindful of us bikers. Bring a small backpack to carry water and essentials you won’t “need” it but in case: you stop in an old town grab a local donut and keep going. Definitely an easy tour to fit in with another activity!
Read all the reviews… they are accurate!
Shannon_R, Aug 2022
Expect the unexpected! The tour started off about the history of the old bank! I was kind of confused and others were too! We thought we were on the WRONG Tour! The bikes were shoddy! Flat tires, non-functioning breaks, warped bike frames and old motorcycle helmets used in place of biking helmets! It was interesting to say the least!! SAFETY IS CLEARY NOT A PRIORITY!! On the flip side, the scenery was amazing!
Response from Host, Aug 2022
Are bikes are maintained daily we do not have warped frames the motorcycle helmets are much safer then bike helmets some people have never used one before and prefer the unsafe kind we will not do that been doing this for 40 years all the movie stars go with our company you can’t ride down on a flat tire so what are you speaking of sounds to me like you work for the other bike company
Our host was a wealth of...
Kenneth_C, Aug 2022
Our host was a wealth of information and history about the area. Would have been more fun to start at the top.
Great Experience
Daniel_G, Jul 2022
Great experience!! The views are amazing coming down the hill and then finishing in upcountry is awesome! Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about Maui history, it was like we got a 30 minute guided tour through upcountry on our way up the mountain. We will definitely do this again!
Overall really good experience
Jason_J, Jun 2022
Jack-John did a good job giving us local history. The bikes were solid. The donut on a stick recommendation was really good…the experience was definitely worth the money
Needs a lot of improvement.
Roger_w, Feb 2022
Beautiful views however the equipment and was not up to expectations. The bikes had excessive rust, brakes on my bike squeezed a lot, and my rear tire was bald. The bike shop was non existent. An old bank was being renovated in the future but there was no shop or accommodations. No care was taken to make sure our bikes were fitted properly or in good working order. Our tour guide John was very knowledgeable of the area being a life long resident with some interesting tales of people who developed the area. I didn’t realize that bike tours were not permitted to the top of the park so I was disappointed that we were unable to start from there. We did enjoy the donuts in the town we rode through. The web site is not reflective of the actual business.
Response from Host, May 2022
Hi I’m Shannon with Maui Mountain Cruisers. My apologies for the bald tire. As we are all experiencing with todays economy the ability to purchase and ship items are not as they should be. I appreciate your noticing so we could get that changed out quickly like we did. As far as the rust goes that is part of island life. I wish I had control over that situation but I can assure you there are no mechanical issues that can arise from a few spots of rust. If we feel a part on bike has rust to the point where safety would be an issue that bike would be removed from the fleet. We are with you also on being disappointed on no bike rides out of park. We wish we could return to those glorious days but the state has not allowed bikes in park for some time. My apologies. I hope you still enjoyed your ride and we appreciate you letting us be a part of your Maui memory. Mahalo

From $130.00

up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)

Compare Similar Experiences

1 / 3
Current
No Photo
Maui's Original Haleakala Down Hill Bike Tour

60

3 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$130.00
Special Offer
No Photo
Haleakala Sunrise Best Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui

195

8 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$274.55
$219.64
Special Offer
No Photo
Haleakala Express Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui

257

5 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$129.44
$90.60
Special Offer
No Photo
Haleakala Morning Best Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui

36

6 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$240.99
$192.79

Explore Similar Things to Do